Showing 16 reviews for JL Audio C5-650

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio C5-650
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 16 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 19, 2014 JL C5 gets an A+
Review by
Soundaddict from Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very impressed at the sound quality of these. Mounted in a 96 4Runner, stock location woofer and tweeter. Made semi custom mount to flush mount the tweeter so i could use the JL tweeter grill. Fully deadened doors, I think this made a huge improvement in bass response. Tweeter is excellent, never harsh at high volume. Crossed at 90hz, getting 110 rms watts. I have a high quality Boston G5 sub getting 400+ and they blend beautifully. I would certainly recommend these, I was more than impressed at their sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2013 Great sound!
Review by
MT from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in the rear doors of a VW that had two way components from the factory. The speakers fit in the factory locations with minimal behind the panel modifications. I had to make 1.5" thick adapters for the woofers. These speakers sound incredible. I am also running a pair of C5-653's in the front - even more impressive. I'm using a JL HD900 amp and running a single JL 10W7AE sub. Without a doubt, the best sounding car stereo I have had. Super clean and accurate. Plenty loud too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2013 I Love These Speakers!
Review by
ChrisB from Lafayette, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off, I am depth limited by the 2011 Subaru WRX doors, so it ruled a lot of other drivers out of the equation without severe customization. The tweeter dropped right into the stock location with very little effort and the woofer only took a 3/4" spacer to fit in the door. Based on these limitations, I don't think a better set of components exists on the market! Another plus is that I love the way they sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2013 Excellent Sound
Review by
K from Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The tweeters are excellent with really clear highs while the woofers do a solid job of the mids. I would recommend these to anyone. However to get the most out of these you should consider an amp and sub woofer in addition.

Pros: Excellent highs, clarity
Cons: May be slightly pricey for some
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 8, 2012 Good product
Review by
Steini from Kirkenes, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product because it is easy to mount in if u know what u are doing and it gives a clear and good sound when everything is done proper

downsides: a little deep design

upsides: great sound, easy to mount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2012 Absolutely fantastic buy!!!
Review by
Jaci from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers and could not be happier! I actually replaced the Bose speakers that my car came with and the sound quality is unmatched IMO. Of course I prefer JL so I may be biased. ;) I'd recommend these to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2012 Excellent sound, no need to shop any farther
Review by
Jason from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 sets of theese in my Tahoe and all i can say is wow. I have a crappy infinity reference amp rated at 111x4 rms and theese things are loud n crisp even with an average amp. They blend well with my 2 jlw7 12s. Akon sounds awesome and any jazzy music sounds concert hallish awesome. Rap is my main music and for this price trust my review they are worth it just buy them. I've been installing and around car stereo for 18yrs and these are the best ive heard. Its all in the installation of how your speakers sound. These sound great in any installation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2012 amazing for the price!
Review by
Spencer from Los AngelesLos, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in a Mini cooper powered by a JL xd400/4. The sq of these is unmatched. The highs are crisp, clear, and powerful and the mids and lows are warm and clean. Perfect speaker for my listening taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 love em!!
Review by
th72 from bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed a pair of these in my 2009 chevy silverado crew cab and all i can say is wow!! i have these in the front and the c2 6.5" components in the back door, and i dont have them running on a good amp right now but im buying the xd 600/6 soon! Doing custom door panels in the front and putting two of these c5s in the door, and put a pair in the back. Clear no distortion, it was hard for me to swicth from the rockford t1 components but these are amazing! The tweeter its self lights up my truck, but im not gonna lie, i need louder!! haha i think that im used to them now i wanna go louder which i am soon. Buy them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2011 Amazing!!!
Review by
Jonboy from Monroe, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My fiancÚ bought these for me for Christmas and all I can say is WOW! I have them hooked up to JL Audio 300/4 and the sound is so amazing. Amidst all the other music coming through the speakers, the tweeters are able to still make every hit of the snare perfectly audible. (the snare usually gets drowned out by all the other music) The crossover options make fine tuning of the system even better by being able to adjust the presence of the tweeter and mid-woofer individually.

I will be buying a set of the coaxial version of these speakers for my rear doors very soon and would not buy them from anywhere else other than Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2011 Sit back and enjoy
Review by
Rock N Roll from Edgewood Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought theC5-650 for the front doors of my Dodge Durango already haveing tweeters in my doors the product did fit In the rear doors I installed a pair of JL C2-650X powered by a JL XD400/4 amp Behind the third seat installed a JL audio PWM110-WXJX sub Removed the factory radio and installed a Kenwood KDC348-U radio I am 58 years old never write reviews but was so blown away by this system I felt the need to let EVERYONE know what a value and quality sound will do for a person not to forget the service and knowledge from Sonic They had the right answer for all my questons I am happy with my purchase and their willingness to be there at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2011 JL c5 650
Review by
chevy from Red bank NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have ran the focal k2 power series probably in 2003. I went to the local shop that always did my installs, they didnt have the c5's hooked up but my guy Greg he told me to trust him. I bought a pair and they ran on a 300/4 for the front and a 300/2 for the rears and its insane, bight, clear, loud, painful. If u like clear loud music, get these speakers. I have only used focal k2 power which were 799.00 a pair. These speakers are insane,,they are easily worth the 599.00 retail tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2010 Love JL Audio
Review by
Joseph from Lompoc , CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these speakers paired with the C5-650x and the C2-690tx, all powered by a JL Audio 6-channel amp inside my Honda Ridgeline. I also have a Kicker 10" shallow mount sub with a Kicker amp. I upgraded from Pioneer "A" series speakers, and could not be happier. The JL Audio's put out Crisp, Clean sound. The 6x9's thump so hard, who needs a sub. Ok really, but they are that good.

Sonic Electronix stayed on the phone with me for quite some time helping me out. Their customer service is awesome. When somebody does me right, I become a spokes person for them. I have sent many people their way and will continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2010 An amazing set of speakers!
Review by
Zakko from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these running as my fronts on a 350Z. Even installed in the factory locations, they sound amazing. The tweeters are crystal clear and lifelike and the midtones coming out of the woofers are sublime. The crossovers offer a huge number of sound combinations (three for the woofers, four for the tweeters). It's like having an external equalizer that processes sound off the headunit. These speakers sound just about as good as my expensive Polks in the house. I tried the Infinity reference series on my car before going with these, and honestly, the difference is night and day. Don't even get me started about the HORRIBLE Bose speakers the car came with. I have no doubt that even though they're pricey, the JL's are worth every penny. I couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2009 Amazing
Review by
Konig from Palm harbor fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
6. Months ago I purchased the jl audio c5 comps for my maxima and wow. Great clarity. Loud. Rich bass. Def. Worth the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2008 Great sounding speakers
Review by
Steven from Quesnel, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two sets of these speakers hooked up and powered by a JL Audio 300/4. The mids are nice, even cranked these speakers sound amazing. The tweeters are unbelievable. I know these speakers are capable of so much but I can't even turn them up all the way. Eventually you turn them up so loud that you can not even bare to turn them up anymore and they still sound perfect. They never sound distorted, or crackly. I am very pleased with these speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz