Showing 35 reviews for Kicker Solo-Baric S12L74 (08S12L74)

Customer Review Summary for Kicker Solo-Baric S12L74 (08S12L74)
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 35 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
94%
4 star:
.
3%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 9, 2013 get it
Review by
jay from grand rapids, mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Listening this sub right now in a ported box at 2ohms and it rattles everything. Pushing it with a planet audio 4000.1d amp and 0awg wire. Slams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2011 Love Kicker
Review by
Thad from Columbus, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 3000.1 Rockford Fosgate amp and two T212 speaker. The bass isn't like the Kicker. Kicker bass goes in and out my body, and Rockford T212 just go around it. I feel the bass of Kicker like I try to do with the T212, but it wont do that. I will always buy Kicker L7 over the T212 because of the way the bass feels. T212 is 1200watts rms, Kicker L7 is 750rms and the Kicker bass is somehow better for the price. Love Kicker bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2011 INSANE!!!!!
Review by
Demarkamo from Brainard, Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THESE BEASTS ARE INSANE!!!!! I owned the same system for the last 3 previous years, which was two 12 inch 1200 watt Xplods in a 4 cubic foot vented box and a 2400 watt American legacy amp, and i thought that was loud, and so did others. But i bought a set of 2008 Kicker L7s dual 4 ohm, a 5 cubic foot double chambered slotted TRANSMISSION box, and a 5000 watt SSL FORCE F5000D amp from my buddy, with the subs wired down to 1 ohm, with all my gains set on 0 on the amp, and just using my bass remote to raise the bass on the amp, and these things are disastrous!!! They shake everything and i can scare the crap out of people when i am behind them in traffic!!!! It seriously takes your breath away, and im scared to turn my amp level up from 0 cuz idk if my car can stay in one piece!! ALL I GOT TO SAY IS SCREW WAT EVERYONE SAYS!! KICKER SOLOBARICS ARE THE WAY TO GO!!!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED AND IF YOU ARE YOU HAVE MESSED UP EXPECTATIONS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2011 very pleased!!!!!!
Review by
dale from mcminnville, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub blows away many of the dual twelve inch setups that i have had. I'm running a single 12" l7 dvc 4ohm sub in a slot port with 750matts rms from a Hifonics amp in a Mitsubishi Eclipse. It has broken my rear view mirror off twice. This sub follows in Kickers tradition of building subs that you can beat to hell and still expect them to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 Amazing!!!
Review by
vincent from poway, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this sub for over six months and so far I have yet to find and thing wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 chad,,lafayette La,
Review by
chado,, from Lafayette,La
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these things wired up to a Planet Audio RXD2400 in a slot ported box and these things slam...my amp is 3000 watts max and I never turned it up past 25%...they play really clean deep bass...I broke my rearview mirror 3 times...my doors and roof flex, I was behind my friend at a red light and he said the inside of his car was vibrating...these are some of the best speakers I have had...don't have anything bad to say about them except for some breathing difficulties and hearing loss.lol..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2010 monster of a sub
Review by
yuie from Pella, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A lot of people hardcore into car audio nowadays always seem to say "squares are bad, they sound like crap, theyre over priced" etc etc. well i have four of these powered by a sundown saz 3500 and let me tell you they do not sound like crap, ported box tuned to 30. the sundown wired to .5ohm puts out 4k plus rms with proper electrical and i have proper electrical. im not cranking my gain/bass boost by any means but these things can take a beating. one thing is they love huge boxes. 4-5 cubes per sub 14-16 inches of port area per sub. thats when they really start to shine. my box is 23 cubes before port/sub/bracing displacement with 250 square inches of port. true there are lower priced subs out there that are equivalent in performance but these are very good subs. plus kicker has awesome customer service and warranty :D i cant give five stars for everything because i havent had them long enough to tell. one bad thing is that the terminals are a bit small for 2 12awg wires (wiring parallel/parallel)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2010 this thing is awesome!!!!!
Review by
ty from pampa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this subwoofer. It beats my old TWO twelves without even struggling. I have it in a sealed 1.2 cu ft. enclosure and it sound awesome! I'll rate the lows, mids, and highs for you.. ten being best

Highs 10 out of 10
Lows 9 out of 10
Mids 10 out of 10


It quakes my single cab f150 and I love it like crazy. Eventually I'm going to get another.

PS i am feeding it 1080 watts RMS and it takes all the power like a champ.

All in all i recommend this product 100% great value, great service and great performance. Thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2010 Kicker
Review by
william from Crescent Citycrescent city, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hands down this is the best sub I have ever had it hits harder and cleaner than any pair of 12s I have ever seen. I got one l7 to a zx1000.1 at 4ohm to get 500w rms just getting broke in still but the w7 is way better but way spendie too. For the price l7s are the best speaker i think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2010 very nice
Review by
Reyes from Lincoln Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these at one ohm hooked up to an audiofonix (for now) and they are just being broken in and the they are incredible. They are the best subs I have owned. The bass is very solid. 5/5 hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2010 Good Clean BASS
Review by
jeff from saugus, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the kicker L7, the day I installed it it has added a full and rich sound to my entire system. Plus it was amazing that i got it to fit under the seat of my 2000 2500 ext cab Chevy. I am currently pushing the woofer with a matching kicker 08ZX750.1 amp. This by far is the best sub I have ever had the pleasure of owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2010 BASSSSSSSSS
Review by
Nick McCougar!!!!!!!! from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I helped my friend order a new system, including this and a MTX JH1200. Hooked up at 2 ohms for a total RMS of 800 or so in a 2007 Grand Prix. It banged but we only had it at like half gain and a quarter bass boost. The lows are crazy on it for just one twelve. I told him to get another so we could wire them at 1 ohm to get 1200+ RMS. Great Sub, don't hesitate. I give the Ease of Use a 4/5 because the coil springs are hard to wire, it would be easier to have them all together. But all the others are 5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2010 bass monster
Review by
O.D. from Lockport, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these are some amazing subs

they hit so hard and clean with a ported box and they still keep up with rock music

and amazing for hitting low notes real hard

I power them with a tma 1000 at 1 ohm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2010 blocks away
Review by
matt from milford, nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When i finally got these hooked up in my 2010 Camaro they were amazing. I got 2 12 l7s and 2 zx 750. 1 amps with a stock 150 amp alternator and we tried a distance test and my friend could hear me from 3/4 of a mile and they are in a sealed box with the amps only half way up. I would definitely recommend these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2010 Amazing
Review by
Ryan from memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one 12" L7 in the ported box that it came with pushed by a Kicker zx 1000.1 and it is unbelievable! It hits very hard and the quality is great. If you get this sub do not get a cheap amp to push it. Best subwoofer I have ever had and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2010 Awesome
Review by
Larry from Osseo, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've got 2 of these in a vented box in my Saturn running with a Bamf 4000/1D at 1-ohm and it hits hard I would very well recommend this sub or anything kicker throws at us bass heads! Awesome product but like me i still would like it louder soon will get the solo x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2009 Very Loud
Review by
Luke from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My brother had this in a custom 3 cubic ft ported box and it pounded. It lacks a little on sound quality, but if you are looking to be really loud, buy this one. It is louder than a 15. Just make sure that if you port it, dont give it more than 600 rms, It wont handle it. Its a pretty good price too. I would definitely recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2009 Best square out!!!!!!!!!
Review by
Kickinam from WDM, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been a fan of kicker products for over 6 years now. i have owned many different kicker models and now presently own this sub. it is the best sub i have found for the money. i have it paired with the kicker zx750.1 in the biggest specs that kicker says for it and people here me coming from blocks away. this sub looks really nice and performs much better. the spl output is loud and makes everything shake and its clarity is amazing for its spl output. not to mention for it being a square sub it moves more air compared to a matching round sub that is comparable with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2009 Serious
Review by
Rubo from Atlanta,GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 of these in a vented 2.5 cubic ft box and they are the loudest and toughest subs i ever had and believe me i have had alot of good stuff, and it didnt take long for me to break them in either. i have a 1100 rms @ 1 ohm pushin good clean power. my setup sounds like good spl and sq together these are not one sided, dont believe it when they say they dont have good sq. i recommend these to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2009 Very very cheap!! Ya!!!
Review by
James from Saipan, northern mariana islands, Northern Mariana Islands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this for people who are craving for bass!!! Don't go to any other websites!! Such as c**********!! They suck at car audio and their price is such a rip off!! I have two of these on an rf t1000bd and am planning on buyin one more and maybe gettin a rf t2000 or the kicker zx2500!!! Buy from here!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2009 Good for Output.
Review by
Big D from Honolulu, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For those of you that like to get loud, like 45hz tuning on your box burps this is the way to go. For those of you that like some sort of quality in your music, please look far away from square woofers. I love SPL but these seriously just sound like a fart rolling down the road. Give em 1k-rms and smell the voice coil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2009 This kicker sub is insane.
Review by
Jorge P from Little Ferry NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
OMG is the only thing I can say this sub is its crazy loud. I'm still breaking it in. At only half power it is easily 2 or three times stronger than my old 10'' solobaric. I played it for a half hour straight and I had a headache for hours. I love it!! I got the Kicker ZX 750.1 amp to go with it. I have an old 1992 300e Mercedes. I did not have to install a cap or get a new alternator. If you have a small car all you need is one of these. I also got the 12" Square Hole, Long Rear Slot Ported Enclosure for Kicker Solo-Baric L5 / L7 Subwoofers (121KP). I got it on this web site. They have the lowest prices. C*****field is a rip off. Also I recommend calling them and placing an order. Dial extension 2122 talk to Joe. Great guy hooked me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2009 AWSOME
Review by
Alexander from Los Angles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These woofers are the way to go. Exceptional sound and look amazing. Sonic Electronix is the only way to go fast shipping and great prices and products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2009 cant wait to get it
Review by
Mick from Way up north
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my friend has one of these in a ported box with only 450 watts approximatly and it was making his trunk flex and that sold me...i was standing outside the car and it was difficult to breathe and i want one so bad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2009 Great Product at a Great Price
Review by
Trey from Union, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned the last model of these in a ported box and it was awsome. I decided to upgrade to two of the new ones in a sealed box and it is even better. I sounds great with any music. I can have all the windows up in my extended cab F-150 and it still rattles the pictures in my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2009 One solobaric as loud as 2 JL Audio w3v3's
Review by
Mike from daleville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
replaced my JL Audio w3v3's with this and one solobaric is as loud as both JL's. but not as punchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2009 wow, deep base
Review by
Marley from MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this sub in a custom built large ported box. I have it connected to a kenwood 850Watt RMS single channel amp. This produces some of the deepest base i've ever heard. Although not the cheapest sub, it was well worth the money. One of these is powerful enough for me. I've had it for about 6 months and i had to get a capacitor because it draws more power than my old subs. Now that i have the cap installed i dont have any problems with power draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2009 great sub!!
Review by
bode from algona iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own 2 of these and they are very loud!!! very good over all but the only down side to them is they draw a lot of power and it has made me go threw 2 batteries lol but well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2009 excellent price for excellent sound
Review by
Arthur from Soldotna, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i am a professional installer and have come across every product and manufacturer. kicker makes excellent subs, and they're price is what's nice. they sound just as good as some $800 subs I've heard. for the price, you can't beat kicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2009 Two words: the best
Review by
Ross Spock from Niceville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this sub last week and blew out my amp in the next hour. I recommend this sub to anyone who ... actually anyone at all. It has amazing SPL (looouuddd) while also maintaining one of the best SQ (highs and lows)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2008 i just hooked these up and WOW
Review by
justin from lawrenceville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
wtf is all i got to say these subs hit so hard i have 1 hooked to a zx 750.1 kicker amp and i cant turn the gain past negative 4 without haveing my hears hurt i mean it hits so hard i didnt exspect this from 1 12" sub im just breaking it in for a week im scared to turn it up past 0 i mean seariously its rediculous....if ur looking for sq this is not the sub for you lmao becuse once u turn it up u cant hear anythng but bass better have some good tweeters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2008 Eye Opener.
Review by
Thomas from Orem, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Somebody I know has these subs and when he heard I was lookin' at subs, he let me listen. I didn't even know subs could hit that hard. I've never felt anything vibrate more in my life. His whole car was flexing. These subs hit so hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2008 2008 KICKER L7 750 WATTS RMS REVIEW
Review by
Hilda from Mira Loma, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
GREAT SUBWOOFER
BETTER DESIGN THAN THE PAST L7 SUBS
NEVER HEATS UP AT ALL
HITS ALMOST AS HARD AS MY PAST 15 INCH L7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2008 buy it before every one else has them
Review by
patrick from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these in a cut cab in the
back of my s10 the box i have for them
is ported and go's about 3 feet back and as wide
as my bed the bass is so loud it hurts if
your in the cab for more than a minute and
most subs dont do that 2 me they can hit
the lows like 15 and still hit the highs like
a 12 way cooler looking sounding and louder!!!!
then the old l7's soon as i can get 4 more i am
doing it lol... crunch 3000.1 1ch amp = bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2011 what a big hype
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
carlos from houston, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sub is not built with quality, cheap parts, can't even handle 1500rms without it smelling like burnt coil, and no it was not distorting. I have my amp tuned perfectly (using an oscope to match the voltage from the headunit to the amps gain knob). People talking about breaking windows with this subs is just false and lies. I have 3500rms going to my DC audio level 5 15 and I got no problem with my car falling apart. Why? Because I don't make up stories about stuff braking, but I do get some flex for sure. Amp I had it connected with the L7 was a crescendo bc3500 @2 ohms, now wih my dc level 5, I have it wired to .7 ohm(yes this amp stable under 1 ohm) and will not even get warm. Don't buy this sub, its a waste of money. Get yourself a DC sound lab sub, you will not regret it for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz