Showing 34 reviews for Kenwood KAC-8104D

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KAC-8104D
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 49 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
69%
4 star:
.
.
20%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
August 10, 2011 Clean Trouble Free Power To my JL Audio 10" Sub.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rob S from Lawrenceville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Currently using this amp to power a 10" JL Audio W1V2 Sub in a sealed enclosure in the back of a Scion TC hatchback. I was skeptical with using this amp with some of the reviews stating it runs hot. After getting it setup I am amazed at the power, clarity and clean base response I am getting from the subwoofer. With the volume at medium to high listening levels for over an hour the amp was still cool to the touch. I think this may be due to the fact that I am running it at about 1/2 to 2/3 gain as any more than that would be too much power/base for the interior of my car. I suspect if the amp was run at 2ohm and the gain turned full up and really played loud for an extended period it might get hot, if this is the case then I would say don't blame the amp as your pushing it to the max, just get a larger amp that can power the sub to the level you need without having to max it out all the time. Anyway, this amp when run responsibly is incredible and well worth the price. Completley satisified and would recommend the amp to anyone who uses their subwoofer sensibly and within specifications. Excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2011 solid
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Paul from Tewksbury, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My brother has this amp pushing 2 10" Alpine Type-E's in a center port box and they slam. Most people don't believe it when he says hes only running 500 watts. Does get a little hot but has never overheated even after hours of use. Definitely recommend this amp to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Great amp and delivers true rms power!
Review by
Michael from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use to have this hooked up to a 10" mtx sub and this amp delivers the power! Puts out a true 300w at 4 ohms and made my sub slam! Very reliable, had it for over a year with no problems at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2010 Kenwood KAC-8104D
Review by
Aaron from Maple Grove, Minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this amp for about a month know on 2 12" kicker comps. Never Cut out or anything! Stays nice and cool and pounds hard! great amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2010 Great Amp
Review by
1985cutty from Fair Oaks, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for about a year now, I've had 4 systems since then; 2 12" duals, 2 12" kicker comps, 2 12" kenwoods, and 3 12" rf p1's wired about 1.34ohms and this amp has handled every one of these. I'm definitely keeping this amp around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2010 No problems
Review by
Nick from Manhattan beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for about 6 months now and have not had one problem with it. works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2010 For the money, cannot go wrong
Review by
apollo from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this amp for almost a year and overall considering the price I would recommend it. I have it hooked up to 2 10" Polk Momo (300 rms) series subs at 4 ohms and have recently put it in my car setup with same speakers but set at 2 ohms. Both configurations run well. The amp has only gone into protect mode once at high volume. Only had to turn it off for 10 seconds and all was well again. It never gets hot unlike my 4 channel Hifonics amp. The one thing that would make it better but I guess for more cost would be to have screw type 4 gauge wire inputs for both the ground and power. Also wish the gain & freq controls were on the top. Once you put the top cover on, the controls are next to impossible to get to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2010 great amp
Review by
Tyler Wilson from dundalk maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend this amp. I have had it for 6 months so far, its powering three 10" subs, this amp has enough power to get the job done at an extra level than what you would expect. Very loud, strong hits, I really like that it is simple to install and adjust the sound on. Good amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2010 this boom boom is great
Review by
heavensonic from ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have had this amp for almost 2 yrs and man this amp pushes my subs like crazy! I like the way it drives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2010 Great bass!
Review by
kenneth r from Gravois Mills, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp primarily because it matches the KAC-8404 and they look so nice mounted side by side in my truck! It certainly does the job with the JBL CS110! I love good bass! I love my system! I love my system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2009 Solid amp
Review by
Gentriginus from Walnut Creek, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im using this to push a 12" P3, and this definitely gets the job done. I'm breaking the sub and the whole car rattles at half volume. Powers the sub really well, and has yet to overheat. The red and blue lights on the amp look tight in my trunk too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2009 Nice amp
Review by
David from KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought two of these amps to power my 4 mtx 10" subs. the amps delivered nice clean power and is a perfect fit for the subs. i would recommend these subs to anyone good price and great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2009 KAC-8104D
Review by
Maxwell from sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amplifier. I have been running this amp @ 2 oms for a year it works perfectly very reliable. very good value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2009 Great Amp!!!!
Review by
Brandon from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought this amp off of Craigslist for $50 and let me tell you this thing bumps!!!! I have it hooked to a Rockford Fosgate Punch 12" HX2 running 500 watts rms @ 2-ohms. I would highly recommend this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2009 NIce amp
Review by
MTX from Louisville, Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought 2 of these amps to power my 4 mtx subs in my truck. The amps deliver clean power and are easily tweaked. over all its a good amp and is worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2009 Best amp I have ever used
Review by
Jerry rosales from Ventura ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp a couple days ago. I had the amp lift (2) 12" kicker comp subwoofers on a 2004 gmc yukon ... 10 MIN AFTER I GOT IT INSTALLED I GOT PULLED OVER AND GOT A TICKET FOR LOUD MUSIC the police officer told me he could hear it from blocks away.. Sounds excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2009 awesome amp
Review by
Floyd from St Louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got it and love it. It hits hard, Got it pushing my lanzar max12s and my back windows flex. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2009 Awesome amp
Review by
Floyd from St Louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got it hooked up and it pounds my 12"s hard and deep. Still can get that deep bass for not an expensive price. Small size is perfect for putting it in that tight out of site space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2009 GREAT BUY!
Review by
JARED from TUCSON, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
EXCELLENT BUY! WORKS GREAT! GOOD SOUND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2009 Great!
Review by
Eric from Lynden, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp works awesome for my 8" MA sub. The speaker level inputs are a good touch for someone who doesn't have moeny to spend on a new deck with pre-amp outputs. I've yet to have any trouble with overheating. Great amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2009 Very Nice! It should cost more!
Review by
Tyler Durban from Boise Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm very happy with the 8104D. Powers a pair of 10 inch medium duty Kenwood subs very well. My subs aren't capable of bass that would blow out windows, and I didn't expect the amp would change that. The amp make the subs hit with good volume and quality though. For the money, I don't think you could do any better. This model doesn't have an internal cooling fan, but I've never had any sound cut out, and it's never felt more than warm to the touch.
It is my first Kenwood amp, but I've installed several amps over the years.
My ratings below take into account the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2009 SWEET
Review by
randolph from bermuda, 0, Bermuda
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THIS AMP SHOCKED ME. IT GIVES NICE BASS BUT IM A MAN WHO LIKES POWER ACOUSTIK AMPS BUT MY MATE WANTED ALL KENWOOD IN HIS CAR. SOUNDS GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2009 great
Review by
Shafer from Madisonville, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this pushing two kicker 12' in a bandpass box and it sounds great, amazing amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2009 Great Amplifier
Review by
Andrew from Norman, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I push my 2 12" Kicker Subwoofers with this amp and it does the job well. I also hooked up a 2 farad Tsunami Capacitor and this amplifier will deliver the power for its wattage rating. Durable product. Easy to set up. had no problems with it. Great low price. highly recommend this amp. I give this amp 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2009 non-stop beat!!!!
Review by
Fred from fresno,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had many amps before, somehow or another they ended up dying..i guess i like to push these amps to the limit..this amp has the the watts to take it..i drove 10 hours to Oregon non-stop with the beat knocking ,not once did it let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2009 Quality Product
Review by
TOOLŪ from Castries, Saint Lucia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp teamed up with the audiocontrol epicenter, kicker kx3 and a 1200W 12" pioneer sub in a vented enclosure tuned to 24hz and this thing rocks. What more can I ask for; looking for quality and not quantity, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2009 Amazing
Review by
Logan from Las Cruces, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this and I'm using it with two Kenwood KFC-W3011 1200w 12" subs, and wow, this powers them so well they rattle your teeth loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2008 Better then KAC 8103D
Review by
Rafal from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The before amp I blow the voice coils of it and I thought that it supposed to protect itself but it did not. It was kind of my fault that I wired it up using one OHM and it over powered without heating. I learned my lesson and this amp works better and louder and cleaner. The problem that one person had was that the person did not set the amp up because I had the same problem with it turning off after one song. If you set it right it will last a really long time without even heating and still pounding hard. I even was able to set it so that my lights don't dim when it is pounding hard because I don't have a capacitor yet. I love my new amp and how it is smaller than the other one I had. So be careful and follow instructions and remember to wire up the amp right and set it right to make it last longer. At almost max volume, I believe like 75% this thing was shacking everything in my garage and house and my garage is not attached to my house there is a 15' difference between my house and garage. For future reference don't play two amps without a capacitor for long because it will try to kill your car because of the overload on the Alternator. This is only at peak performance of the amps. So now I am running a 400 watt Kenwood four channel amp powering four 60 watt Kenwood speakers and 1000 watts Kenwood duel mono amp powering two 500 watts 12" subs and no overheating if set right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2008 A foxes favorite
Review by
Alexander from South Bend, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I Have 2 of these amplifiers in my corolla running two MTX 7515-4 subwoofers, beats hard and sounds good, im not complaining! ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2008 unbeatable
Review by
Brandon from Corbin, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Since this amp is a Kenwood i knew it would be good, so I bought one. I ran it to 4 10's and it done pretty darn good. But I figured at this price lets get another. So now i got 2 of these badboys but I traded the Lincoln in for a Mustang so I had to lose the big box with 4 10's. I'm pushing two MB Quart 12's now (rhs something) the motor actually comes through the speaker. You guys git em for 119.00 a piece which is somewhat lower than what i paid (naturally) shoulda checked here 1st. Anyway these amps are giving my 12's all they can handle. The great part is I've stayed under $600.00 which was my limit, but now I gotta buy some dynamat. Thanks for a great product at an unbeatable price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2008 great amp for anyone who loves bass
Review by
jaime from Desert Hot Springs, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ok first off i live in the desert so its hot 24/7...so the amp and everything in the car is gonna be before i even start it.

looks- the amp looks sleek and sexy...small but packs a punch...dont be fooled by its size..thats all i can say about that.

durability-this amp hits pretty hard..im running it at 2ohms ..i have two 12' sony xplods in a bandpass box and every thing in my car is falling apart from the bass..but you gotta remember not to turn the gain all the way up..halfway will do...the guy who left the review saying his amp overheats after one song!!!..come on ,,he probably has his gain all the way up. and f.y.i. i beat this amp everytime i drive...my neighbors say they can hear me coming a block away...and at stop lights people are always looking behind them to see whos making all the noise...i love this amp.

bottom line its a sweet amp..if your a bass junkie like me and want some thump when you drive then this amp is for you...if you want to win bass competitions then your gonna need something more powerful than this...but hey 500 watts rms is ok wit me...p.s. careful, police dont like all the noise this amp makes...ive gotten two tickets for disturbing the peace..lol..so pound your subs wisely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2008 recomended by a friend
Review by
Eric from Baytown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
add a little thump to a stock civic lx for about 200, that was the challenge. I wanted to stress quality over quantity on the bass side and room in the trunk was also a consideration. so a bandpass box with a kicker cvr 10 dvc 4ohm paralleled to 2 ohms and a kenwood kac-8104d pushing 500 watts. sound quality is excellent and it will vibrate the trunk, rear window, dash , seats if needed. i originally ordered the 8103d, because of all the good reviews, but due to backorder i was sent the 8104d being a little unsure as it just came out in Feb 08, i decided to give it a try. its about 30% smaller than its predecessor with the same watt rating and also has auto amp on when you use the high level inputs. I ran it really hard for about 20 minutes and it didn't even show any signs of warming, very impressed with this amp now get your own!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2011 GREAT AMP...... LOVE IT
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
IGGY from Orang Country,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing my 10" Kenwood sub, and it hits people cant people its a 10".... I recommand this amp to anyone great amp overall and for the price its a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2011 GREAT AMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RC from Trafford, Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for almost a year now I'm running 2 10" Kicker Comps in a band bass box. This amp pushes my 10's so hard that the amp cuts itself off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz