Showing 23 reviews for Kenwood KFC-P680C

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KFC-P680C
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
26%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.5
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 24, 2014 KFC-P680C
Review by
vic from cloquet,mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice speakers sounds great well built and will take power and sound clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2014 Ken wood speakers
Review by
Amber from Ontario, toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used these to replace some boss fronts. That we're blown. They are excellenct quality and good value. I especially like the plate design,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2014 Kenwood KFC-P680C Review
Review by
Cody from Port Arthur, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had different brands of speakers ranging from pioneer to alpine. I have had Kenwoods before and I remember the quality sounds they provide. I decided to go with the speakers because I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. I also purchased the dynamat 2 speaker installation kit and let me tell you these really have got the mid bass and highs I was looking for! I am powering this with a 200.4 Kicker Amp that gives about 40 watts for channel at 4 ohms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2014 Great sound
Review by
Mike from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have tried several different speakers of this size, Polk, Infinity, these have the best sound by far. Excellent base and very accurate highs. Easy to install and a reasonable price, highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2014 Not recomended
Review by
Michael from 92311
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just another cheap pair of speakers. No bass all high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2014 Great Product for the Price
Review by
Joshua from Crothersville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a great upgrade for the base stereo system in my 2013 Mustang. Easy install and the sound quality is a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2014 Smooth, even, quality sound without the high price!
Review by
Alex from Greenwood, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed a set of these in the doors of my 99 F250 Super-duty diesel truck matched up with the Pioneer DEHX8600BH for power.

No amp, just head unit power so far, and I cant see a reason to add an amplifier for these.

I should mention that these are loud trucks, the motor is loud, the turbo whistles and the exhaust is loud. I wanted a door speaker that could keep up and was still under $100.

I was skeptical about these due to the smallish looking driver but they actually looked like they had a decent looking x-over and I figured I would take the gamble and I am glad that I did.
The soft dome tweeter is crossed over perfectly, these speakers have a great presence with a natural sound without the tweeter sounding harsh or overly bright. You can hear the highs without the brash, bright sound that you typically get with a hard dome tweeters on a cheaply made speaker. These sound more like a quality in-wall for your living room or a vintage A.D.S plate speaker.

Hard dome tweeters are fine for a horn loaded system or maybe a stage speaker, but in an up close environment like a car you really want a soft dome with a good x-over, and these deliver.

The low end is about what you would expect from a driver of this size, not bloated and these are voiced with a natural sound. For county music these nail it, not bass heavy to alter the sound but enough presence to compliment a sub without a huge hole in the sound range.
I don't think I will need a mid-bass driver in the rear doors to match these Kenwood speakers up with a 8"-10" sub. I will just get another set of these.

I do have a set of the Pioneer TS-D6802R 6x8 in my wife's Milan and these Kenwoods just out perform them at every turn, no comparison in sound quality. The Pioneers sound harsh and bright while these have a distinct audiophile sound without the high cost one would typically pay for sound like this.

For the extra $5 these speakers from Kenwood are a no brainer!

I would really suggest that you try a set of these if you have a Ford with that goofy 5x7/ 6x8 opening, I think this may be the best speaker option for a Ford car without modifying the opening.

Some assembly required, you will need to mount the plate in the opening first and then mount the woofer to the plate. Everything fit as it should and Kenwood even includes wires with spade lug connectors for easy installation.

Get em, you wont be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Recommended
Review by
Todd from Little Rock, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these as an upgrade to the stock speakers in a 2006 F150. The difference is astounding! My factory radio really does put out highs! The bass was a little improved, but not much. No matter, I plan to install an under-the-back-seat 10" sub soon for the lows. Overall, I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2013 Solid Choice
Review by
GottaBolt from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in a 2002 Ford Lightning. Install was easy and the speakers were a direct replacement in both the doors and behind the seats. I used the wiring adapter (Metra 72-5600) and it all worked like a charm. Quality is solid. I am using the factory head unit with no amp and the speakers accomplish exactly what I wanted, which was a good quality sound and no significant distortion. Now I can listen to music with the windows down. I am sure that with more power they would be better, but for someone who just wants a good value drop-in replacement, you cant go wrong. To get better, I think you would have to go with components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2013 Good speakers for the price
Review by
Fire469 from Central, WA State
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed them in my 2010 F-150 to replace the stock junk speakers. It really livened up the sound and gave it more bass. The stock F-150 radio sucks, but the speakers help get more out of the system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Go buy here Go
Review by
Franck from Quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simple, fast shipping, perfect confition , that is all you need !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2012 Kenwood KFC-P680C
Review by
Jacob from Tukwila, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
took a few weeks for brake-in. Then they became louder and had more range. I liked the fact of separate speakers like components!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 Kenwood Perfection
Review by
Richard from Buckeye, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My 2005 F150 STX was missing something and Kenwood had the answer for it. Installing these works of art was simple and easy. The second I played music through these speakers. You could hear a complete difference. The clarity is Beautiful, the mids completed the whole sound from my no amp system, the tweeters were icing on the cake. Kenwood has never failed to satisfy my needs, and this product doesn't change my support and customer loyalty to Kenwood. Feel like "Bass is great n all but I feel like I'm missing something" or "do I really want to make holes in my dash or buy a custom panel for tweeters" Well this is the answer, I give my 5 stars for this product without a doubt, and you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 All I Need
Review by
T-Bone from Beantown
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product, it's all I need as far as my sound goes. Loud, clear, and smooth. I have four speakers front and back hooked up to this amp, and man does it kick butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2012 Best sound for the money
Review by
rebeldriver from kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these for doors of my 08 f150. Using the factory 6 disk/MP3 head unit. So much of an improvement in sound quality. Its amazing. Hooked to a matched amp they sound even better. The bass is nice but don't expectthem to hit the lows well. Its only a 6 inch cone, size does matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2012 Great Speakers!
Review by
David from Chesapeake Beach, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these because they're listed as a direct fit for the 2011 mustang gt. They fit very well, and have crisp highs and pretty good mids. Overall, a massive improvement over stock. If you're an audiophile, you're better off with components, but they definitely won't be anywhere close to the price points of these speakers. I'd rate installation as a 2 out of 10 on level of difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2011 kenwood speakers
Review by
Andy Denver from denver co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers for the front doors on my 2000 Ranger. No complaints. Highs are crisp and there's enough bass to require some padding to be added to all the parts that have rattled loose as a result of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2010 Sound Fantastic
Review by
bleu from Warren, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Paired with KAC-6404 crystal clear highs decent mids sounds good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2009 Amazing Sound
Review by
Rick from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things sound AMAZING, I heard them at a local car audio shop because Im in the market for some 6x8, Im a fan of the infinity's but I really like the way these have the mid drive and tweet all in one with out having to cut a hole in your door panel. They have a very clear and sharp sound and a great mid bass. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2009 nice build quality
Review by
brent from washougal, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
bought a set to replace the miserable excuses for speakers in the wife's '08 mustang. The kenwoods fit perfectly in the factory 6x8 hole and sound very good off the stock deck power. The build quality is very good also, a nice looking pr. of speakers. Thanks sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2009 Kenwood KFC P680C - Perfect Fit, Awesome Sound
Review by
Super Dave from Regina, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in an 02 Mazda Protege 5. Perfect fit, smooth sound, excellent frequency response. High's are smoothly delivered, with the smaller mid bass driver the lows are subtle.

Overall given the fitment form my vehicle and the price I was prepared to pay, these are overall excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2009 Never Seen A Componet Set Like This!!
Review by
Jay from Pasadena, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got a pair of these a week ago and I never knew that component sets came like this. I love these for the reason that I made my custom installer say he was jealous. They are loud and crisp the only problem I see so far is the mid range driver. I might have too much bass to them cause they slightly distort at high volume but that might be due to the bass setting on my stereo so don't let that fool you. I would highly recommend you see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2009 KFC-P8680C review
Review by
Rich from Scottsdale,AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased from Sonic. Great price fast delivery well packaged. No problem. To replace rear deck speakers in 2008 Mustang Bullitt Shaker 500.

Much nicer than factory speakers. Installing in rear deck is a pain. Could not bottom mount these but fit perfectly the same way as factory. Only problem is rear window and deck cramped. You are supposed to mount the plate first and then screw the woofer into the plate. Could not do this as no room. Had to screw on woofer to plate first and then mount the entire thing. The woofer covers 2 screw holes on the plate, so could only screw in 2 screws on each speaker to mount on deck. I don't think this is a problem though.

Anyway these are nice speakers sound great and I'm happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz