Showing 8 reviews for Power Acoustik PCX-10F

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik PCX-10F
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
38%
4 star:
.
.
25%
3 star:
.
.
25%
2 star:
.
.
13%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.6
Value
4.1
Features
3.9
Design
4.1
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 27, 2009 Overall a Steal of a deal!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
The Audio Guy from Wichita, Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All in all this is a good value and product. For the price range its in, I don't think it can be beat. I have had higher priced brands that made a bigger difference in headlight dimming comparing fared for fared, but this stopped by headlight dimming almost completely. Before my headlights would dim almost completely, Kind of rare never owned a car that did that. By the way its a 2003 Mazda 6i. I'm running a 1st generation Kicker KX1200.1 that's pulling 100amps of power. My alternator is a stock unit putting out maybe 90amps. So you crunch the numbers and come to a conclusion. There are higher priced brands, but for the price and performance you cant go wrong. I would highly recommend this product if your not looking to spend more than $100 on a stiffening capacitor. One thing to note: it does look kind of cheap and crappy ( I mean the outer casing) , but the performance is there so that's all that counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Power cap
Review by
Birdman from Providence RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works good, does what it's meant to do. For the people having problems, maybe the cap needs to be charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2010 Good Product
Review by
Bob from spring grove, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product and it is priced reasonably. I have this cap for 2000 RMS in my car and it does what it is supposed to. It works and doesn't allow my lights to get super dim. I would recommend it to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2010 nice
Review by
bang1 from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got this from a friend only to see the voltage of my system. For a real cap helper i got that kinetic battery. This helps a little when the kinetic battery is unplugged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2009 Good price
Review by
Jamison. M from Gurnee, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this cap on a MEI amp I no that's old school! But it's all power. It may say 10-frad but i will say 6 but still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2009 Over-rated, but it does work and won't cost you a fortune
Review by
SimpleCJ from Cedar City, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this cap along with two of the smaller 5F caps all in parallel to weld together battery packs.

I would be really surprised if the ACTUAL capacity is half what it says it is. I had a 1F cap that seemed to pack almost as much punch as one of the 5F Power Acoustik caps.

That said, they were cheap so I'm not surprised it's over rated and for the low price I can ignore the deficiency in capacity.

One thing I noticed is that the terminals on the 5F cap would spin the plastic mount when it got nearly tightened, so I had to grab it with a channel lock to tighten it down. This larger 10F unit had much better solid set-screw terminals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2009 Decent cap
Review by
Edward from Mishawaka, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this cap hooked up to a Power Acoustik PS1-5500D amplifier and my amp was hooked up to an MA Audio EHO152 subwoofer in a 1999 Chevy Tahoe. My headlights, interior lights, and even the lighting on the capacitor all still dimmed to the bass notes but not nearly as bad as they would without the cap hooked up. I like how this cap looks and how easy it was to hook up, but it does not get the job done as I expected. From this experience I would either spend a litle more money and get a higher rated cap or try a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 i dont know
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Raymond from Spruce Grove, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this and have yet to use it. i got it for my last car but i have sold that one and have not installed it in my new car as im only running a jl audio 250/1 didnt feel the need to use this yet. when i got it i was kind of unhappy with it. it feels very cheap the hole casing to it is cheap plastic and with a brand name like this you can no for sure it is under rated. if your in the market for a cap i would just buy a good brand name 1 farad. its all you need. dont let big numbers fool you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz