Showing 25 reviews for Kenwood KCA-BT200

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KCA-BT200
Average Customer Rating is 4.0 out of 5 stars:
4.0
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
28%
4 star:
.
.
48%
3 star:
.
.
20%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.0
Features
4.0
Design
4.1
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 2, 2010 KCA-BT200
Review by
Sniper P229 from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installation was easy, as is operation. Using the product is easy but the audio quality so far is poor. Placed microphone on steering column as advised but audio quality is still bad enough to get complaints from people on the other end of conversation. Not sure if mic is picking up vibrations or just poor audio characteristics of the mic itself. People say audio cuts out or is choppy like a cheap BT headset. There is no rating for audio quality in the STAR graph ratings... so, over all it is an OK unit, kinda spendy for the audio quality.... Not sure I would recommend this unit unless used in a very quiet environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2010 awesome product
Review by
turner from kelowna b.c., Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great product, works excellent, found sometimes the connection between head unit and module comes undone, glued them together and works flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2010 Solid Unit
Review by
Eric from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I very much enjoy this unit in my car. The blue tooth works very well however I have had some difficulty keeping a consistent link between the two items. The Garmin navigation is extremely helpful and accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2010 Feedback
Review by
Eddie from Honolulu, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Bluetooth item is great! Sound is clear and had no problems. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2010 KCA-BT200
Review by
Mike from Santa Rosa ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this Bluetooth unit for about six months. When talking while driving which is the point of the unit the person your talking to you can barely hear or understand you. I no longer use it to talk I only use it for music from my iPhone. Playing music that way is definitely convenient. But overall I would not recommend someone to purchase the KCA-BT200

*Admin Note: The placement of the microphone is crucial for voice quality. Try placing it right above the steering wheel to get better quality.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2010 The Right Product!
Review by
Ant from Virginia Beach
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was just what I needed for the best price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2010 Great product
Review by
Bird from Lake Charles la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this product works great with Iphone someone calls while music is playing mutes vol and can hear conversation very well can even play music with iPod app would recommend to anyone only problem is the mic wire is not long enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2010 Kenwood KCA-BT200-Good deal
Review by
BBQChief from Elk Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice unit...works well with my Blackberry Storm and Tour. Best to turn volume of the phone to 3 bars. Buy it from Sonic Electronix was a great pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2010 good item
Review by
dave from el centro
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i recommend it good item easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2010 kenwood kca-bt 200
Review by
vince from hacienda heights , CA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
installed product myself and worked fine just sometimes when the other party says that i sound like i'm in a cave so I just move closer to the mic. overall good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2010 Not a bad unit, but strange UI
Review by
Moon from Ashburn, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit installs easily, looks good and sounds good. But it has a very strange user interface. Kenwood definitely needs to get some new UI talent...

The Garmin GPS part of the UI looks great -- very much like portable Garmin units. Navigation is fast and easy. Selection of destination is via touchscreen (typical Garmin). The default female voice is a little robotic sounding, but definitely passable. Combined with a huge and bright screen, this is probably the best part of this Kenwood unit.

I added both the Bluetooth speakerphone module and the Sirius satellite radio module. The individual boxes are small (about 1.5" thick and 4" x 4" width. But the cabling -- holy cow. I think I've got 12+ total feet of interconnect cabling that I had to fold up and zip tie. That is in addition to the Sirius, GPS and microphone cables.

The Kenwood Bluetooth module is a little disappointing. Even with the nice microphone they provide (it is on the end of a 8' thin wire, so you can put it just about anywhere), the sound quality is pretty tinny. You can hear the other party on the call quite well through the passenger front speaker only -- they do this to reduce feedback -- and it sounds ok. But most people you talk to will complain that they can hear a lot of background and engine noise. There is no noise cancellation or VOX, so they will even hear the background noise when you are not talking. Not suitable for conference calls unless you mute...

The Sirius module works great -- excellent signal reception even if you put the antenna inside the windshield. Occasionally will drop signal if under a bridge -- I'm sure it would be better if antenna were outside. But again, the user interface on the head unit makes use of Sirius a little frustrating. You can save favorites, scroll through the channel listings, etc., but it just isn't as easy to use as Sirius units I've had in my BMW or my Stilletto2.

You can easily short the parking indicator wire, so it is easy to enable DVD playback for your passengers. But aside from testing, I've never needed to watch a DVD while driving (probably a good thing).

I didn't buy the iPod adapter, but given my experience so far, I would guess that it would probably sound fine, but be frustrating to use. Again, the UI is the major disappointment with this unit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2010 Kenwood KCA-BT200
Review by
CallMeColt from CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great add on for your vehicles head unit! I use a Blackberry, and can't use the text messaging option, but everything else works great. I had a little bit of trouble hooking it up and getting my unit to work with it right away, but it all worked out in the end. I recommend anyone to get this as an add on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2009 Kenwood KCA-BT200
Review by
George from Athens, Greece
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very good service, price and item! Fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2009 Ok
Review by
Zacc from Lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's not too bad. I would buy a unit that has built-in blue tooth because this is pretty bulky. For the price, it's definitely much better than the blue tooth that transmits through an FM channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2009 Great Product
Review by
chris from azle, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is really cool. you get in your car and start it and it connects automatically. and you can set it to answer and go hands free. it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2009 Great value
Review by
Andy from San Antonio, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think that this product is great. I made the mistake of buying the kca bt100. Otherwise the 200 works wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2009 Kenwood KCA-BT200
Review by
Bob from Pawtucket, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ater shopping around for a Kenwood stereo after mine was maliciously stolen, I found the model I wanted at a a local store which of course was sold out. I did an online search and found Sonic Electronix had the same model for $30 cheaper. I am very pleased with the product. It's illuminations are fantastic at night and the ease of a flash drive did away with the constant changing of CD's and the affordable Bluetooth adapter which I also purchased makes this stereo among the best I ever bought. The remote control makes it so much easier to use with no reaching for buttons.. Yes, a great product and simple to use. Very pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2009 iPhone 3G S and BT200
Review by
RadarR from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The old iPhone worked fine on my Kenwood KVT-514 and KCA-BT200. The new iPhone 3G S could make calls, however the called party could hear me, I couldn't hear them. The steps I took:
Reset the Kenwood received (have you had any battery problems or electrical work done on your car lately?)
Reset the iPod/iPhone (Settings/General/Reset/Reset Network Settings)
Then the Kenwood saw the iPhone (iPhone could see the BT200 all along)
On the iPhone 3G S the default from Apple is streaming audio over bluetooth, so you need to turn that off. Of course if you are using stereo Bluetooth headphones like a Moto S9, then you will have to turn that back on to use the headset. Apple needs to fix this “feature”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2009 Works Great for me
Review by
Steven from Perth, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product works great for me. Hands free through your radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2009 great device
Review by
ray from los gatos, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This works outstanding with the iphone, no drops, with the new 3.0 software from apple streams music flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2009 Excellent for hand-free calling. but nothing else
Review by
Douglas from Doylestown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit works very well with phone calls from my DNX 5120. Sound quality is good and the interface is adequate. It doesn't provide any tones to let you know you've done something (like answer an incoming call).

This unit didn't let me do any text message functions (not a big deal for me, but I was surprised that it didn't support that functionality). Also, the voice recognition is clunky, but I only tried it once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2009 works great, but not with all phones
Review by
Phil from San Bernardino
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This worked perfectly with my old phone. What a great convenience when driving. But does not work with my 3G Iphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2009 Decent Bluetooth
Review by
Joseph from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Once you get this working it performs well. If you have an older laptop, it is difficult to perform the updates to the software. The only way to update the software is to use a bluetooth connection. My laptop doesn't have a bluetooth connection, so I had to go out and purchase a usb bluetooth device. Once you get the unit updated, it performs fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2009 great value
Review by
mikakis from nicosia, Cyprus
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use it every day since I got it ,it works perfectly ok ,with no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2009 Kenwood KCA-BT200
Review by
G-Money from Renton, Wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product because it is the safest way to talk and drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz