Showing 39 reviews for MTX Audio Terminator TNP212D

Customer Review Summary for MTX Audio Terminator TNP212D
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 39 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
23%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.9
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
okay

These subs can bang. Ive had one thing go wrong on them and that the terminal which came loose and now has to be replaced.

VS
Great subs, questionable amp

Installed this set in a 1994 suburban and dose ok. The subs look at first glance like real ponders and are for the most part. MTX was not thinking on the amp though. The amp only puts out 250 watts rms total, and the subs handle 200 watts a piece. The amp can only handle one sub and over heating is an issue. I only had this system for two weeks now and anticipate total amp failure. Over all, if the amp included would actualy put out 400 watts rms this product would be one for the record books. Despite the setbacks with the amp, I am looking foward to instal another set of these beasts for a total of four and a 800 watt rms amp. All and all though, this product hits hard,sounds great, and delivers what you pay for.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 21, 2009 okay
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Will from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs can bang. Ive had one thing go wrong on them and that the terminal which came loose and now has to be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 Great job MTX
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matt from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This system is very good, sounds decent and really has potential to slam. One thing i hate is the amp that comes with it, mine blew after one two weeks. I upgraded the amp and it sounds much better. I can push alot of bass to these and they will handle them. If you purchase this system ditch the amp and get a better MTX amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2009 Great while they lasted
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Philly from Providence RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recomend the subs to any small car owner. i had them in my jetta and it was plenty loud enough even with amp it comes with. the amp however was horrible. the amp burnt up on me about 3 months after i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2013 well worth the $$$$$$
Review by
William from Camden Alabam
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have this setup in my 05 Yukon great sound all in all with 2000 watt monoblock amp I had two sets with four 12s in an extended cab ranger a had to run hook ups for fans to cool the amps to keep them from overheating but other than that well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2013 Wonderful!
Review by
Snowman from Gardner, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was an amazing buy! If you are new to the sound game, and dont want to spend too much money, this is a great buy! Impressively loud, and looks great in your car. The amp isnt bad, you'll just need a new one because it'll overheat and blow quickly. But its great for a starter kit, and i'd easily recommend this to anybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2012 2 12" MTX Terminators 600 watts each
Review by
jesseRYU from Olive Branch, Mississippi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best purchase I ever made. Of course it only came with the subs in the none ported box. These things bang like charlie sheen, and I'm still 200 watts shy. Of course it's no Rockford Fosgate but it's still got plenty of push to it. I would recommend them to anyone looking for good sound at a fair price. I'm rating the features 5, but they are subs. Only feature is awesome sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2012 Great subs, questionable amp
Review by
Dylan S from Gillette WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this set in a 1994 suburban and dose ok. The subs look at first glance like real ponders and are for the most part. MTX was not thinking on the amp though. The amp only puts out 250 watts rms total, and the subs handle 200 watts a piece. The amp can only handle one sub and over heating is an issue. I only had this system for two weeks now and anticipate total amp failure. Over all, if the amp included would actualy put out 400 watts rms this product would be one for the record books. Despite the setbacks with the amp, I am looking foward to instal another set of these beasts for a total of four and a 800 watt rms amp. All and all though, this product hits hard,sounds great, and delivers what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2011 low
Review by
phil from natick ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bass low, doesn't pick up much high stuff but that could be my crappy amp (had a higher power output, so I use over the given amp). No distortion, tight beating bass. small box, big sound. Fills my h3 and is louder than my friends Cherokee that has a pair of cvrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2011 WOW
Review by
Austin from Rocky Mount, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have the terminator package and the hit harder than some of my friends kickers! Its pretty insane! They hit so hard one day it unlatched my trunk in my 94 Acura Integra! I RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2010 MTX termanatior
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Noah from Ashkum, Ill
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for some subs to put into my car. I had tons of offers and tons of choices, but I was on a low budget. I saw these 2 12" subs in a box, with a 1200 watt amp, and everything needed to install for 250. I bought them, installed them, then went deaf! These subs are INSANE!!!!! They are extremely loud, and are excellent for the buy. We had a test done, and it went a little over 100 DB. For 2 12's that's pretty good. The down side, is that there amp seems to overheat easily depending on the gain setting. I do suggest getting a cap, so they will hit a lot harder. I always thought MTX was just a name, but it proved me wrong. another down side (well, not really) is that it was a sealed box, and the box is very small for housing 2 speakers. everything in my car shakes. and everything around it shakes too. the last downside, is that it has a preset to 2 OHM's. you can get it changed, but i kept it the way it was. i will say, that if you get this system, and it doesn't have the 1200 watt amp, you will be missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2010 good buy
Review by
breez from md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this set up in an extended cab Dakota. They hit hard. I have them on a 1600 watt bmw- nitro 125 amp and a brand x head unit and they slam. They constantly change the positions of my mirrors and can easily be heard from 1/4 mile away and my amp's only putting out 200 watts to each sub right now. They have a separate port for each sub which I like better than the single port in the newer model. The connectors are spring loaded for easy installation and the sealed box makes them sound crisp and clean on every hit. I would defintely recommend these to anyone who wants be be able to drive their vehicle while their subs are turned up but also wants to be heard. mtx makes good quality equipment at all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2010 its amazing!!!
Review by
GMAN from Long Beach CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is very good for this price. The only problem i had was that the amp does not push the way you might not want it to but it is still a super good deal. If your looking for some good bass this would be it. This is a great deal and i promise you it will keep a smile on ur face!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2010 great product
Review by
D-rok from Hayden, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are pretty good. Even with the amp. Im happy with them and have had them for 6 months now and everything is still workin fine. If you are having second thoughts about buying these because they are so cheap dont worry. They aren't cheap and bump good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2010 Sounds like a movie theater in my car
Review by
Steve from Hamden, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best bang for the buck. Just buy this system and save hundreds elsewhere. So easy to install. The box is rock solid and the two 12" speakers hit hard! A lot of people think the amp that came with it is underpowered but I think it is just fine. I don't even have it turned half way up and it puts a smile on my face. Give yourself a treat and get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2010 AMAZING SUBS!
Review by
QB15 from Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I absolutely love these subs! They hit hard in my '01 Grand prix. They have made my Rear view mirror fall off on some subs. And im using the Amp that came in the package. Imagine if you hooked a more powerful amp to these babies! These things hit HARD. Ill admit i was a little leery before i bought these because there wasn't many reviews on them. But i took the plunge and did and im sooo happy i did and still very happy with them after owning them for about 4 months now. GREAT SUBS! Definitely recommend these if you want a good set up for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2010 Depends strongly on what you drive
Review by
2ShotTuck from OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a great set up but it really depends on what type of vehicle you put it in. I used to have a 1990 Toyota extra cab pickup truck and in there this thing slammed and made the tail gate rattle but i recently had to sell it..
I just bought a 1994 Toyota 4Runner and put this system in and i thought it would sound absolutely incredible. but since there is so much more room in this SUV they are just an audible humm. so if you got a lot of space in your rig I would recommend a stronger amp. other than that they are very clean clear and hit the lows great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2010 Great price
Review by
Jim from Fraser, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price it's amazing, the only thing I did was get a better amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2010 Great Starter Package
Review by
RossGo from Cold Spring, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do a lot of stereo installs in my area, so I have seen a lot of various qualities of products. I have installed nearly 100 setups in all spectrum's of vehicles, and have installed 4 of this exact setup, and 1 of this kit with the amp upgrade.
For the price, this kit cannot be beat! Hands down the best bang for the buck. However, it is not the typical cheap kit. It has great sound, and nice aesthetics. Hits lows strong, and has a wonderful range of crystal clear notes. Even when close to full gain, the system displayed little audible distortion.
I would strongly recommend this package.
The only con that I can think of is that one of the kits I installed had an amp die, but it was replaced at no charge under warranty. Make sure to keep your proof of purchase in case it happens to you.

Still strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2010 great value!
Review by
wilbur from baltimore, md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
overall a good product. the box and subs are excellent. the amp is a little under powered for the two 12s. but if bridged sounds pretty good. with only turned up half way it has lasted me six months. there is a lot of reports about this amp going out but ive been lucky so far. keeping my fingers crossed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2010 MTX Audio Terminator TNP212D
Review by
javi from Quincy, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great product. It is a good deal for the amount of power that it delivers. It puts out power that can be heard from blocks away. I recommend this basic setup. It has not failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2009 great deal!
Review by
ant from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just got these subs today in my altima. these things bump really good. for 250 its the best deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2009 They are awesome
Review by
PIMPSTICK from ATL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So i got these and a 4 gauge wiring kit off of your ebay store for about 245 dollars. So first off, that is an incredible deal. Second, I installed them and wow. On lower volumes these sound so crisp and precise and when you turn it up it stays crisp and precise. And when you turn it up it gets loud as hell with no distortion. I can rattle the windows of my house when it is turned up loud. I haven't even tried maxing out the volume or something. Bottom LINE: THEY POUND AND SOUND CLEAN ON ALL VOLUME LEVELS. Just get them. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2009 Well worth the Price
Review by
Oscar from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these for a little over a year now and I must say they are a really good pair of subs for the price. Only problem is the amp is trash I think its too weak for these subs I bought a 1200w jackhammer mono amp and hook the subs up to that thing, and started setting car alarms off easily with these things. Don't sleep on the price of these things thinking that there just some cheap small time subs there still MTX, probably the best brand in car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2009 i LOVE them
Review by
Halstud from Fulton NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my buddy has these in his car and boy do they bump, we got pulled over twice because they were rattling a stores windows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2009 Good Product
Review by
James from chicago.illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
got this package on time hooked it up and it hits good and is loud on the outside of the car 2 the amp, is good have had no problem with it it rattles the whole car so i think this package is good anyone who is looking for bang its prolly not the best but for your own personal enjoyment i would say its ok . by the way u can make it the install look sweet if you have the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2009 perfect
Review by
chad from las vegas nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs pound! didnt get them through this site but for this price i wish i did. they really do pack a hard punch. i would definitely recommend this package to any first time buyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2009 Great
Review by
sss from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this package is awesome i bought it over a year ago and there still great very loud, i would recommend getting them professionally installed i have never had any problems with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2009 sick!!!!!
Review by
Erik from minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this system is kicken! jus got it and would recommend it to any and all! It rattles my car while still puttin out good frequencies and beats! love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2009 Awesome
Review by
drake from franklin, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recommend this to anyone. i have them in a 2008 nissan altima and they slam! if your not looking to spend alot of money but want big bass at exellent quality, this deal is what you need. i never was a big mtx fan but man, i am now! and im highly impressed. the only down side to this combo is the amp. the only complaint is that you cant bridge the amp. but i hooked them up normally at 4 ohms and they still SLAM! but besides the amp its a really good price and awesome quality! This one get an A+ in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2009 SUPER FAST SHIPPING SUPER LOUD
Review by
Johnny from Carrollton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs will wake up your neighbors two houses down. I have a stock head unit and it still rocking. Its well worth it buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2009 nice bumps
Review by
jefe from Bozeman MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing pacage super loud clear sounds good defanitely worth the money had it about 8 months now still workin perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2009 smacccczzzz
Review by
JROC from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This package is pretty nice had it about a month now it hits pretty hard in my mazda it was way smaller then i though but it hits like its bigger tho the amp is kinda under powered but its not really a difference but i was blasting it half way and it was settin car alarms off.. the only problem i had was connecting wires but thats usually everywhere slap a cap on it n get a amp kit and its the perfet package especially for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2009 sweet system
Review by
SLABBBBBin from Van city, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
slaps hell a good condition fast shipping. worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2009 GREAT BUY
Review by
John from Leland, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my very first system and it didn't disappoint. Just give it about a week to break in and your good to go. Buy these if you want something that'll have you beating up the block...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2009 Great for anyone
Review by
ilovemetal from Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these a few weeks back, and i have to admit these aren't that loud. You can't hear them outside of your car very well (I have a Toyota 6GC), but in my opinion that is PERFECT because if you want something that will BLOW you away inside your car, then these are superb! They rattle everything in my trunk. The amp is a little weak but it does its job and makes your ears bleed. I love these, they are cheap, and perfect for individual pleasure! I would buy these if I were you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2008 Impressive for the price
Review by
Woodard from Lancaster, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have just installed this setup in my friends 4 dr cavalier and it hits. i have a tight kicker system that i am very used to so i was skeptic in buying these subs. Cost was the biggest issue for my buddy but you would not even be able to tell that these subs came at 270, tack on a cap and it's the total package. Very pleased with the quality and the shape they were in when received, great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 20, 2008
Review by
Kyree from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This package is tight, i got them in my civic right now and i cant even turn the subs up all the way. Thats how loud they are !

the enclosure is really small so gives you a little more room then another enclosure would.

The amp doesn't heat up fast because of the built in fan.

IF your thinking of getting the Terminator, stop thinking get it!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 this is a reeally good pakage
Review by
Andrew from Conyers, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it gives you a really good amp a cool looking box and a 2 terminator subs you cant even buy in any store
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2010 big beats
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nick from Fairport Harbor, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
for an off brand system these two subs i put in the back of my honda civic are great! no one in my town had heard of MTX Terminator speakers before, i got "well what about sony explode" or "dude i can get you some Alpines for pretty cheap" but now everyone in my town has "heard" of MTX Terminator speakers (from my trunk). now i got kids copying my brand of speakers.

*Admin Note: MTX is not an off brand, it is one of the leading manufactures in car audio.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz