Showing 12 reviews for Pioneer TS-D1720C

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-D1720C
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 50 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.4
Design
4.8
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
February 17, 2014 Great speaker for the price
Review by
Robert from FPO, AP
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Theses speakers are very clear if you us the right amp. If you are looking for a good speaker with good sound get these. Pioneer rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2013 Great woofer, OK tweeter
Review by
Kent from Orange County, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to replace the Bose paper speakers in my 2009 Mazdaspeed3. I have a been using Pioneer hardware for over a decade and knew the D series components would be a solid investment. This is the first time I've been slightly disappointed.

The 6.5" woofers have been great. Plenty of punch and accuracy down to 50-60 hz. The tweeters however leave a little to be desired. There is a nasty bright spot around 3.5 khz. In other words, female voices are "ear-piercing" at moderate level. I'm awaiting delivery of a new HU and will try to adjust tuning through the on-board EQ.

What I like most about this set is that Pioneer includes a decent set of lightweight baffle plates for those of us with 6x8 enclosures. Allowed me to drop in the 6.5's with no modification. With a bit of deadening, these handle the cone movement just fine. Tweeter pods a bit bulky but not horrible. Once assembled, they take some finesse to pull back apart (should you want to adjust your listening position).

For $110, you can't really go wrong with the Pioneers. But be prepared to do some serious tuning. In the future I might spend the extra $50-60 to go JBL P660C, Focal A 165 or Polk MM6501.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Nice for the price
Review by
Eric from Campbell, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed the mids in the doors of a 2006 Acura Type-S. Tweeters are in original location in the dash and they are powered by a Rubicon RUB2-250 amp. So they have plenty of power (speakers 60w RMS/amp 75wRMS) and have the amp dialed back a little.

The tweeters are a bit bright and I still need to plug into the -3db port. The mids play pretty good but get muddy at higher levels. I can't complain as the JVC deck I have is not the best, I am over driving a bit, and I am sure that I could adjust the EQ better.

Only real complaint is the tweeters have the wires preinstalled and they could be a little longer for easier mounting of the crossovers. Yes there are better comps on the market that sound better. But these are pretty good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2012 not bad
Review by
big buda from thunder bay, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
there good just not wow good. maybe its where i installed the tweeters ( higher in the door panels) or maybe its cause of my amp (power acoustic) or both i dont know. deffenetaly a good bang for yer buck tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2012 Quality sound and construction
Review by
Ben from Chanute, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tweeters are not harsh when set @ -3db level. Also, 90% of the sound quality complaints w/tweeters is due to people mounting them in the wrong place. Be smart when installing these things and don't use the supplied horns. I listed to rock, NOT rap, and was not overwhelmed w/8K freq bashing when I turned up the volume. These components are very good quality for the price. Don't let the naysayers scare you away from these. My only complaint would be that installation is a little janky. It would be nice if they had more than 10" of wire for the tweeter and throw in some freakn connectors for heaven sakes! That was for Pioneer...

If you are a hip hop kinda person, then set the tweeters @ normal level. They will tink your ears to your hearts desire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Very Bright Tweeter
Review by
Michael from Pacific NW
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm not sure what the people at Pioneer were thinking, but the tweeters are very BRIGHT. I used the -3db setting and still had to EQ down the treble -4 or -6 to get it listenable. I eventually replaced he tweeters with Pioneer TS-T15 I was a little upset that I needed to replace the tweeter to get them to sound correct. If you have 4 15" subs and a thousand watts of amps you might like the tweeters. You know who you are. The woofers are very nice not too bassy and not too thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 great
Review by
danny from long beach, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Extremely good at mids and highs. Just don't expect lows to come through. You should use thse with a subwofer or to complimante another set of speakers with lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 Good so far
Review by
Digdug18 from bristol, pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good overall component speakers. The sound I'm getting out of them is better then the infinity component speakers I previously was using. I do not like the plastic surrounds of the woofers however, they feel cheap and flex if overtightened, hopefully they won't break but only time will tell. I am going to be using these speakers again in the future for another project of mine as well.

Btw I'm running these speakers off a Kenwood head unit and through an amp. The amp is pushing 250 watts per channel for these speakers in my front soundstage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2011 Great Speakers
Review by
Cristopher from Santiago, 0, Chile
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Maybe there are the best speakers components that you´ll find at this price, the highs are pretty good, mids are awesome reproducing the lyrics, and the bass is not the same than a 6x9 in the trunk, but it does a pretty good job, more bass than any other door speaker. I installed these on a 2010 Suzuki Swift, that´s like a SX4.

I recommend those, to who wants hi-fi sound at low cost.

Cons: The case of the crossover control is not that flat, and in a compact car generates a problem when you´re installing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 Grea product
Review by
Stephen from Tom Price, Western Australia, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great quality and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2011 Good Speakers....
Review by
James from Lees Summit, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers back in October 2010. Have an 05 F150. Installed woofers in the doors and drilled the dash to flush mount the tweets. Almost sent them back and bought Bostons instead because the tweeters were so harsh. Took a bit of playing with in the settings but finally got them where I like them. Either the harshness has mellowed over time or my ears have adjusted as I am truly pleased with them at present. Have one problem...one of the tweeters just failed. No warning just ... no sound. Hopefully the replacement process will go as smooth and quick as the initial order. Would buy again, and am considering another pair for the rear...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2010 Excllent buy!
Review by
SpartanII from Montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned these for about 6 month now, and I am TOTALY satisfied! Excellent speaker set, 'was blown away by the clarity and naturalness... The fact that the crossover point is set to 2800hz (which is quite low...) makes them cover more of the hight vocals and makes them come alive!

No major peaks or holes in the frequency coverd, plays pretty flat (to all of you, people that don't know much about audio, a flat response is a perfect response... Flat doesn't mean dull sound....).

Recommend to use the -3db tweeter slot on the crossover if the tweeters are use OnAxis, otherwise they are a little bright... The woofers gives out nice clean hits! After a good break in, I set the the HPF to 60hz and I can crank it up, no distorsion! Just smooth clean bass! I have mine hooked on a Pioneer GM-D9500F (wich gives them about 75w/rms) and they love it!

Bottom line, awsome component set, highly recommended for any standard and even SQ install! Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz