Showing 34 reviews for Pioneer TS-D1720C

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-D1720C
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 50 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.4
Design
4.8
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 3, 2010 very clear soundquality
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
kenny from west grove, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are very clear and loud! These are a must get. and at 120 shipped? Awesome! I have these hooked up to a 4 channel eclipse EA3422 amp and the rear channel bridged to a pioneer champion series PRO 12.. and no back speakers. I just wanted a good front stage. I def. recommend these speakers to anyone who wants to hear there music as the artist intended it to sound. i have heard CDT and boston pro components befor and these sounds just as good as they do. but dont buy them unless you plan on powering them with there full rms power. outherwise you could be wasting your time. a clean amp that pushes atleast 45-75 watts RMS is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2010 Amazing Product
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zameer from Queens, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these components since they came out and they are still among the best I've ever heard. The mids and highs are terrific and they can handle bass really well. A factory or aftermarket radio won't do this component justice so an amp is a must if you truly want to hear what these speakers can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2011 Bang for the buck.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Winston-Salem, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These were installed into a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo and only powered form an Alpine head unit, so I can't attest to their overall sound quality if driven from an amp..

Overall the install was fairly straight forward (had to modify mounting locations, but nothing a Dremel and some time couldn't fix). The adapter rings are a nice touch if you have the depth to use them.

Compared to the original factory component setup these are vastly better. Like many other have said the tweeter can be a bit bright, and my wife and I don't like ear bleeding highs, so it was wired at the -3db setup. The bass if good, not overly pronounced, sometimes lacking on the low, low end, but given what I'm working with and no amp it sounds pretty good.

The midrange can be a bit more deceiving. And this might just completely be the issue of no amp, so take this part with a complete grain of salt. Compared to a similar head unit driving a set of 6x8 3 way Pioneers with a Sony amp I had in a previous vehicle these seem a bit lacking. It is hard to describe. The transition is very smooth between the woofer and tweeter, but it's almost like it lacks clarity. Again miles better than the factory setup, could just be an amp thing.

Over all very good component setup for the price. I would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2014 Good sounding, worth buying!
Review by
Olav from Sulitjelma,, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component kit is a very good sounding and very loud for it's price
Tested out on a Magnat Black Core Four amplifier, and these speakers goes loud.. VERY LOUD!
In the same time: sound quality is not the best, but the high range is clear while the mid-range tends to fall a bit behind.. (maybe due to preference in sound image) Either way.. it's a good buy for this price..
Note: These speakers goes under the name TS-E 1702Ci in the EU region! (and to be honest.. The price you pay for a set in Norway is way over-expensed - they cost like $400 over here)
So yes.. bottom line is.. Definitively worth buying if you are looking for the great balance between price and performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2014 Great Sounds Great Price
Review by
Allan from Port Moresby, 0, Papua New Guinea
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My first purchase from Sonic Electronix. The 25-day wait was a killer but hey I live halfway across the Pacific ocean in Papua New Guinea.

These speakers are sounding great on a Jensen Power 760.4. Thank you sonic for an excellent sounding product at a price I can afford and great customers support. You have a repeat customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 best there is at this price
Review by
Gary from Singapore, Singapore
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All I needed for simple, cheap but superb sound speakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2013 Great speakers
Review by
Paco from Mty, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excelent speakers great bang for buck, would recommend 100% very clear sound amazing midbass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2013 Best budget mids
Review by
mustardgas from Spokane, Wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these for an install in an 04 Interceptor, and I love them.

The supplied mounting brackets they came with are excellent and the material and build quality of these thing's clearly over-reaches their price range.

The blending between driver and tweeter definitely ascribes to Pioneers "Open and Smooth" Philosophy. Nice punchy mids without trying to go too low or sound un-natural, and the highs are very clean with an excellent presence.

Fun fact: These are the same tweeters that Pioneers uses with their eight hundred dollar plus stage 4 component set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2013 component set
Review by
Chris from Lincoln, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice set for the price. When i was in the market for a component set i was reading in the past reviews on this set that alot of people were setting these up on the -3db connection and so went ahead and did that and they sound clear as day. A little afraid to hook 'em up on the +3db may be too much tweeter for the sound quality that i would be looking for. I realize this is a rookie move but if you have aftermarket tint on your windows make sure that the mid speaker will clear the window other wise you will be scratching your tint. Nice crossover, was able to conceal them perfectly. Out of sight out of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2013 No Regrets Whatsoever !
Review by
friky19 from Managua, Nicaragua
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I usually bought Pioneer only in headunits and in 4 channel amps... But I decided to give these a shot over some Rockford or Polks due to some reviews I had read/heard on the internet. I'll admit that I was blown away after powering them with a Pioneer GM-D8604. Great speakers, great price! Stop reading and just buy them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 Great speakers, Great price
Review by
Kevin from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So, I installed these speakers in my bosses Chevrolet truck after he asked me to make his truck sound more like my car. He has them powered simply by the after market headunit I installed last year and he loves them. I too, have these in my car powered by a 60x4 modest amp and like them. Easy to install, and the speakers sound incredible regardless of the power source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 Where to begin !!!
Review by
kevin from Grand island Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a pair of these .. and what i have to say is wow crisp clean and very attractive speaker .. i suggest you be running a 4 channel amp pushing at least 45watts rms in order to really here what these got to show off .. i got a mtx te404 and it does the job for these .. mids are good to if your wondering ... heck for this price ... i highly recommend everyone to buy these crossovers are pretty compact size easy to show or hide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2012 Excellent Speaker for the Price
Review by
KH from Orange County, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price these components are tough to beat. The upper mid range is a little bright but otherwise an excellent set of speakers. The mounting adapters are a nice addition for easy installation. I only have one complaint; the tweeters have a non-removable housing and are a bit cumbersome to take back apart once assembled. Would recommend to anyone looking for components in the $150 range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2012 Incredibly Loud
Review by
Tyler from Freehold, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these installed in my 07 Tiburon attached to a Kenwood KAC-1502S (60 watts each) and they are fantastic speakers. They are unimaginably better than my friend's premium Bose system, and almost compare to my home theater setup. They handle highs and mids amazingly, and can get up to about 90% of my JVC headunit's volume without distorting. The bass and extreme low ends aren't exactly what I'd call amazing, but I'm also so used to my 2 Pioneer TS-W3002D4s. The greatest part about these speakers has to be the clarity at high volumes. I dropped my little sister off at school one day, and she said after about 3 minutes of me driving down the road she could still hear my music. I highly recommend these speakers if you like incredible quality or insanely loud music. If you love bass as much as me, just pair them with a subwoofer and you're golden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2012 Excellent value, good quality
Review by
AKA from Mocksville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this product to work as the front speakers while overhauling my 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse stereo system. They work great and after tuned in, I have had no problems with them.

I had to set the tweeters to -3db to keep them from being harsh or shrill, but they reproduce the sound the way the artist intended.

At high levels using the full 65W RMS potential, they can distort sound. If you use an amp with them and turn it all the way up, they can get fuzzy. Wiring them directly from the head unit (50-52W), they are fine.

Fellow audiophiles:
If you plan on adding an extra bass to your car and turning it up going down the road, I would suggest you use these in conjunction with other mid to high range woofer sets. They have good sound and will fill a car, but at higher levels (needed with extra bass and windows down, even when powered by an amp), they could use help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2012 Great speakers!
Review by
Rufnf from Montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers really do sound great right out of the box! I have them hooked up to an alpine mrpf300 amp and the mids and highs are spectacular!!

I didn't even buy the speakers at the place I installed them and the installers were really impressed!

The tweeters are NOT too bright, I have it wired in the -3 db and they are mounted off axis....sound amazing!

I had infinity reference 6030cs before these and these sound nicer!

Go for them!! Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2012 |Great product
Review by
SUZANNE from ESSEX, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding speakers. Great value. Installation instruction are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2012 Stupid good
Review by
Mad Magnetic from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really amazing speaker set. I'm 6 months into ownership and I'm considering another pair to replace the CDTs I have that are supposed to be my mid bass speakers. I've got a JL 300/4 driving these pioneers in my doors and the aforementioned CDTs, which are mounted behind the B pillar in an FJ. These speakers put the CDTs to shame (same size but not component). The price point on these is absurd considering the quality of sound. Easily the best buy in this class.
Are the tweeters harsh ? Depends on placement and tuning IMHO. I'd call 'em bright. If you don't like them, replace them - it's still a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2012 the best 6 3/4 component set
Review by
million d from milwaukee, wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best components ever. They are so clear and loud make sure you put a amplifer on these bad boys...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2012 AMAZING SPEAKERS
Review by
TheBro from dt napes
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put these speakers in the doors of my MR2, they are being powered by a Crunch 5-channel amp and sound amazing!! They take a lot of RMS and as long as the bass isn't too much they sounds really clean. The crossover is large but also adjustable. Has an extra wire that lowers the volume of the tweeters. The woofers are pretty big and heavy but only because these things are built well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 excellent speakers
Review by
nunetoon from brooklyn N.Y
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This pioneer ts-D172C sound awesome built in crossover super great i have them in my 2006 Lincoln Navigator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 5, 2011 Great sound amazing price
Review by
Cory from West Harrison, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these speakers. The tweeters are amazing. Ive had many compliments on them. They have gotten water on them and still work great. Would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2011 Pioneer TS-D1720C
Review by
Tyson from Syracuse, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are absolutely amazing especially for how cheap they are. I am pushing them with the Pioneer GM-D9500F and they are rated at 65RMS and I am pushing 100rms each and they can get loud enough to where they will make your ears ring. They are extremely clean sounding speakers, I have owned 4 different pairs of aftermarket 6.5" and 6x9 speakers and these by far are the clearest and best sounding speakers I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2011 Great speakers
Review by
Skinny from Houston, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love the highs and perfect mids!!! I have them hooked up with an amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 great speakers
Review by
bernie from new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They sound great on my stock radio. I bet they will sound better with an amp and aftermarket radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 great speakers
Review by
bernie from new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They sound great on my stock radio. I bet they will sound better with an amp and aftermarket radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2011 TS-D1720C A+++
Review by
Percy from Queensland, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best speakers I have ever owned I am going to replace the rest of my speakers with these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 Awesome speaker
Review by
Daniel from Coomera, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just an all round great speaker. I've got barely any bass running through them, but with a high pass filter these things have awesome clarity and great depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2011 Great and clean Sound
Review by
Carlo from Cali - Valle, Colombia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound, balanced and clean.
Easy installation and all for an affordable price.
Shipping within the time and product arrived in excellent condition.
I recommend this product.
If you are looking for sound quality is a really good item, go for it. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2011 Loved these speakers!
Review by
Abigail from Temple, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Pioneer component speakers have a great quality to them and the tweeters have a nice, clear sound to them. Fit in my Accord great. I would definitely recommend to anyone in the market for component speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2010 Great Component set
Review by
Jeremy O. from Delano, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend this component set, it has awesome sound, great looks and a great price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2009 awesome product
Review by
puppychow from mt vernon indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have these speakers in a 2008 grand prix. i broke them in and my goodness they rock great mids and highs if you are looking for a great speaker at a reasonable price you can't go wrong with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2009 super value
Review by
Doug from El Paso,Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The build quality and sound are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2010 great!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
fab26k from Quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
fast shipping!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz