Showing 25 reviews for JBL P660C

Customer Review Summary for JBL P660C
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
89%
4 star:
.
.
7%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
February 1, 2009 Pretty Good for the Price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jeffrey from Colorado Springs, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these into the front doors of a 1998 Mercedes C-230 (they donít fit without a lot of cutting), but the trouble it took to get them into the doors was well worth it. The volume has to be pretty insane before you begin to notice the first hints of distortion, these are great speakers. The only complaint I have is that the mounting for the tweeters didnít fit right and I needed to trim down excess material that should have been removed by JBL, but other than that I am satisfied with My purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2008 Great Buy
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nathan from Weatherford, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are awesome. They are super crisp and clear. I am running them off a kicker 150. I would recommend these speakers to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2013 best bang for you $
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Minersville, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned these for 6 months ... started running them off a Clarion XR2420 .. which i was very impressed by they sound... and yes .. they get LOUD! ... doing a full system rebuild so after getting my new Rockford Fosgate T600-4 "bithsheet 195w @ 2ohms X 4" I hooked them up.. they handle the power like nothing and sounded even better .. Been into car audio for over 20yr .. and for the price .. never heard anything even close to these they play loud and clear!

To hear a sound demo search youtube "JBL P660C Sound Demo"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2014 Amazing speakers
Review by
audiomankc from kansas city mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
replaced my factory bose speakers with these things and thay are absolutely amazing had them powered by a boss amp and they don't distort until you start getting stupid with them did have to do a little bit of trimming but it was all well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2014 Loud and Clear
Review by
Teddy from Milwaukee,WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are outstanding! Replaced the factory premium Rockford Fosgate system, which did sound pretty good but would distort at higher volumes. Now I can crank these to the point where it hurts my ears and still no distortion. Amped them with 100w/channel front only and no sub yet. I was planning on installing rears as well, but the fronts sound so good alone I don't want rears anymore. I will be installing a sub soon, but even without one the sound is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 Sound Great!
Review by
CW from Houston,tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A very good buy! I replaced the blown factory components in my wife's 06 Seqouia and what a huge difference. Very easy swap out. I bought the 6.5" set and what comes with the car are 8"s in the front doors. Took a bit of creativity but not a big deal. Very good sound especially for $129.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2013 JBL rocks!
Review by
dan from grandjunction, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers were put behind a JVC deck with 50watts per channel and no amp or woofer in my motorhome. I am in awe how good they sound at any price. The expensive Infinity's can't hold a candle. These JBL's have a 94 sensitivity rating!! Buy them, you won't possibly be disappointed and Sonic thru in all the mounting hardware free!! I'm 61 years old and have installed many systems. This setup rocks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 Loud And Powerful
Review by
Kabazz from Chester, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding very loud. Music sounds good and they will make the front doors tell you to deaden them. After about 8 months,i heard rattling from the speakers and they didn't sound the same. Took the speakers out and they were coming apart at the surrounds. If you get these, they are very well built and heavy but don't throw no more than 110 rms or they will come apart. 150 rms is too much for these but they took it as long as they could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Unbelievable for the price
Review by
Dan from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers cannot be beaten for the price. Great highs, mids, and lows. Can take anything you throw at them. I have mine running off a rockford p500-2. They get extremely loud, while retaining great sound quality. No complaints other than the giant crossovers that were a pain to fit under the door panels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 jbl p660c
Review by
beto from parana, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very good. great quality good price fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 So powerful! So precise!
Review by
Luke from Leesburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would absolutely recommend these components to anyone who is looking to go big with their mids and highs and forbid anything else. I have these in my accord along with the power series 6x9's and the Gto 1004 behind them. Wow do they please. I'm all for pure loud don't get me wrong but these can effortlessly be too loud and sound crystal clean while doing it. I actually had a problem at first and both tweeters quit working, sent them back and got new ones,, still nothing. Found out it was the tweeter output on both crossover's so I sent everything back and of course sonic was true to their word and replaced them. Since then everything's been great and it's been months. I thought I over powered them but each woofer says 90 rms and each tweeter says 60 rms so that's 150 rms per pair...if the crossover does it's job. All in all they're perfect and oh so crispy, clean, and loud! GET THEM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 JBL P660C - Awesome
Review by
Mike from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in Pontiac Torrent with Pioneer 7 speaker sound system. Replaced standard HU with Kenwood DDX-419. Very impressed with these. Can be turned up much louder than the stock. 2ohm impedance works very well with the stock pioneer amplifier. Replaced rears with P662 coaxial. Kept stock amp and sub. Very nice tight bass, not overpowering. One of the reasons I purchased is also the high sensitivity so my stock amp has no problem driving them. Overall, very impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2012 Go for these, very under-priced! And can handle 2x the power
Review by
Arsenal from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Whey underrated speakers - Could not believe they sound this good at a 2 ohm load design. Very focused mids and midbass in the front. )But then again I made special fiberglass pods in my van front doors which have small 1.5 inch wide ports that are three inches long - so I am getting the studio-monitor speaker sound). I can easily get concert level loudness with no breakup whatsoever because I am Currently feeding them over 300 watts RMS each channel from Rockford T600-2 amps (highly recommended for these speakers) - with gains at 3 and still going for 6-months now. Crazy dynamics Previously had cheaper older rockford amps driving these before and they distorted a bit, but now with the new amps, even with the new amp gains at 6-7, very clean and no distortion at all unless everything is maxed out. And the textile tweeters are smoother than aluminum, although not quite as smooth as silk but still quality. I dont understand why these were so cheap because they sound like 600 dollar value speakers easily.

The only thing i am wondering about is that the specs say 90 watts RMS - but i think thats just for one mid-driver because the back of the tweeter says 60 Watts RMS - so added up per channel i think this really is a 150 RMS x 2 set!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2012 Extremely High Quality
Review by
B from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything is so sturdy and heavy in this set. The build quality is insane for what you pay. Sound amazing with the tweeter attenuation on the crossover at -6db. I tend to like my highs more mellow but I like to keep my deck's EQ flat. I prefer to just feed my amps an unaltered signal, so having the attenuation on the crossover is a great way for me to decrease the volume for the whole frequency range of the tweeter, as opposed to only knocking down part of its range with my pioneer deck's parametric EQ.

The midbass is nice, although this may also be due to the extensive dynamat job I did on my doors.

I'm only feeding these bad boys the front two channels from my 2000 Camry's JBL amp that came with the car's premium system. I'm sure this thing is only sending 20-40 clean watts to each but they are singing loud, clean and undistorted. The premium system's speakers were 2 ohm and since these were too I figured why not just swap em in. Sure enough they are as loud as I would ever want them (louder actually). These speakers have high sensitivity so they will work on low power but they are also built like tanks and have meaty voice coils so they will handle high power if you want them to really sing. This makes these very upgrade friendly for those who are saving up for big boy amps.

The SQ of my car stereo is epic along with the JBL PB1220 enclosed subwoofer in the trunk. These speakers were made to go with that subwoofer as they are from the same JBL lineup. The SQ is unlike anything I've heard and I've heard plenty of systems. When I first gave the setup a listen my jaw dropped. The highs have authority without being harsh, the mids have depth and the midbass is a big step up from what I'm used to. Buy these, however I would advise not running them off a head unit. I've ran 2ohm speakers off of a head unit in the past and it got extremely hot. It was a single din with a pocket beneath so I could feel that it was getting abnormally hot. If you do run off of a head unit be aware of this and don't get silly with that volume control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2012 Sound quality
Review by
Eli from Pickerington, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JBL knocked it out of the park with these things. Great clean sound, durable, and attractive. What else could you want out of a speaker?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2011 Thank you for your items
Review by
DAN from KOBE, Japan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got the JBL speake from SONIC. I'm so satisfied with these items. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 JBL Speakers Rock!!!
Review by
Ed in Mooresville from Mooresville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been a JBL fan for a long time. So when it came time to change out the stereo in my 2007 GMC Sierra I knew what brand I was going to use. I searched the internet and found Sonic. They are really good to work with on package deals. I ended up buying the JBL 660C, Infinity Kappa 5 amp, and a Infinity Kappa 100.9w sub. I already had the JBL P662 for the rears and a Pioneer AVH 3300BT head unit. The speakers were a piece of cake to install with all of the universal hardware JBl supplies. I have 75 watts RMS going to each corner and 300 watts to the sub. One word WOW! Cystal clear and as loud as anyone could stand. That is on 15 on the dial and it goes to 40!!! You will not be disappointed. One last thing, I have a little over $1,300 in the entire set up including a sub box, all of the wiring harnesses to keep the steering wheel controls and all warning signals, 3 sets of RCA's and the amp install kit. The local shop wanted $2,300 for a similar setup. It was a lot of work but with a little research and dedication you can do it. Saved me over $1,000. ROCK ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2011 Great speakers
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Liam from Murrieta CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good all around. Loud, clear, good midbass and tweeters nice on the ears. No complaints. Find them at a good price. Gave durability a 4 star because I have only had them installed for about 2 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2011 Unbelievable.
Review by
Steven from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers. Cut the rear cone on the Honda S2000's door speaker holsters and mounted these bad boys in. Windows still come down with plenty of room for them to glide past without touching the speakers. Hooked them up to just the head unit and was amazed at the sound quality, but I felt I that I just needed more power. So I recently amp'ed them, and WOW. I can't even explain how happy I am. Running them full power on my amp (150watts x 2 @ 2ohm) and its just amazing. And the weird thing is they want to play louder, but maxing out my amp and then hitting 35-40 (out of 62 on the volume dial) causes the sound quality to drop. I think these puppies could easily handle twice what I am giving it, and I can't wait to get a new amp to test that theory. These don't even stand up to my old 2008 Kicker coaxial, These blew my mind and I am sold on JBL quality.

VALUE NOTE: Gave value a 5 because I got them when Sonic had them for only 149.99 on sale :D

LOOK/DESIGN NOTE: They look fantastic, all black with the honey comb laminate is just sweet, too bad my doors grills cover them!

DURABILITY NOTE: 150 watts to each side when the specs state only 90 per side, and they just eat the power and stay crystal clear!

FEATURES NOTE: I found that the tweeter -6 db cut was a nice feature but for my personal tastes I like the tweets to hit the highest possible so I keep this feature off. My brother has more sensitive ears he prefers the db cut on. The main 6.5inch speaker has pre-wired terminals attached to a wire that is hardwired into the speaker, Its kind of like an extension cable and works great for not needing to solder for a good connection.

EASE OF USE: Gave it a 5 because the product is easy to install as long as it fits. My car should only accept 2" speakers but cutting the rear baffle off the speaker holder gave me (I think) 3 inches of room, and these happen to fit without even getting near the window when its rolled down. I wouldn't degrade this though just because of my own personal fitment issues. I knew going in I would need to customize so it is not worth deducting a point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2011 Nice budget Comps
Review by
Tip from akron
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound fantastic for the money, nice mid bass and crisp tweeter. 94db sensitivity and 2 ohms= loud on 100watts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2011 Wow, I just had a really good time
Review by
R from turlock, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price, Great Product.
The last speakers I bought were mb quarts, they cost more and the sound quality was horrible. The JBL P660C are better made, these speakers will make you believe that you are at a concert.
The only thing left to ask yourself is, are you ready to have a really good time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2010 Excellent
Review by
jp from Goldsboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers jam. Loud and clear. Highs could be smoother but over the sound that comes from these is just excellent. Great power handling too. I have the powered off a 550.3 kicker amp getting 85+ watts at 2ohms. Sound excellent in free air setup in my door though I wish that I could have fit baffles in the doors of my Chevy Colorado. Bass and mid bass would have been much better. I have that covered with a 10" Solo Classic Kicker behind my driver seat. Strongly recommend placing the tweeters off axis. I put mine low on the front pillars near the windshield and the staging is great. Fills the cabin with sounds from floor to ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2010 JBL 660c
Review by
MJ from JANESVILLE WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are awesome. Clear crisp & can handle anythying you can throw at them. Well constructed & the kit comes complete with all the mounting hardware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2010 AWESOME!!!!
Review by
topher from janesville, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this set of speakers. I bought this set to replace my factory installation and the money I spent is well worth it. Very easy to install and hook-up. Very versatile mounting options for the tweeters. Crisp clear highs but they don't hurt your ears, and great mid-bass. Would recommend this set to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2010 Great Sound & Quality
Review by
907cc from Northeast
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component set is definitely worth the price and of very high quality. I replaced the Kicker KS650 coaxs in my front door with this JBL component set. The JBL speakers were obviously of very high quality and looked awesome right out of the box. The external crossovers and woofer cone especially are eye candy. There are several tweeter mounting options included with the set and I liked the versatility of being able to choose the best one for my install. After a couple of days of listening and tweaking my crossover I have to say I am very happy with these components. They are able to play midbass better than the Kickers they replaced and the imaging and detail is superior as well. I built my own MDF baffles and these speakers mounted up easily. The 2 ohm impedance is a bonus as well - my pair are seeing 160 watts X 2 and handle it very well with no breakup even at high volume levels. FWIW I did engage the 6db high end tweeter cut switch that is on each crossover - I found the highs to be much less fatiguing afterward. Highly recommended components!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz