Showing 12 reviews for JBL P662s

Customer Review Summary for JBL P662s
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
5.0
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 14, 2013 Good replacement for factory Bose in 2014 Altima
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Blaine from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose these based on the need for a 2 Ohm speaker and the good reviews on this site and others. JBL and Infinity both make 2 Ohm speakers and this would allow me to use the Bose amplifier and head unit in my 2014 Altima Sedan to keep the expense down. My car is one week old so I was not too eager to rip out a lot of stuff (or spend $$$$ after just spending $$$$$ for the car). I bought 10 JBL speakers for under $400 from Sonic Electronix (2x GTO329, 2x P662s, 1x P963)

These speakers fit, they sound very musical to my ears, and they have great highs and solid "kick". I am not into a lot of bass, but I want to hear the sharp attack of a drum and I find that is a good test of the realism of speakers. I can hear snare drums and high vocals and keyboard notes clearly now.

[Note: The Bose system definitely sends midrange and high frequencies to the doors. I didn't know for sure because Bose does things differently than other audio manufacturers. They make cheap speakers sound as good as possible, but that is still far short of musical.]

I also changed out the corner dash speakers (tweeters) with the tweeters from a pair of JBL GTO329's. The GTO329 does not fit into the corners of the dash - too deep. So in desperation I clipped the tweeters off and made my own mounting plate to put them in. The Bose tweeters I pulled out were mounted on a square plate and was less than 1 inch deep from the underside of the plate down. I also disconnected the middle dash speaker.

This evaluation is based on the sound produced by both the P662's and the tweeters from the GTO329. I would buy both again. I listen to Classic Rock, Christian Rock, and Acoustic Guitar. SuperTramp, Styx, Pink Floyd, Acoustic Alchemy, Third Day, Chris Tomlin, Selah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2014 Good speakers with great mid bass.
Review by
Sam from Chehalis, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I might be a bit biased because of my set up. Pioneer deck into pioneer 2 channel with 2 sets of these in each door in custom mdf door panels. Each pair is wired series @ 4 ohms and is getting 150w rms. Even without a HPF on, these will get loud and clean. There's enough midbass that I can feel the drums in the floor of the car with my set up. (no subs yet, rebuilding system after going 2 years without)

I will say these speakers were a little dark sounding on the first listen but that's a plus because when you really crank it there are no harsh frequency spikes to be heard. Piano and acoustic guitar sound really good on these in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2014 JBLP662 speakers
Review by
hotrodgk from Ontario,Ca.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are easy to install and offer awesome sound. What more could you ask for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2014 JBL P662S
Review by
Charles from punta gorda, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these for my rear fill in a complete JBL system needed something shallow to fit under my rear deck pannel. They are hooked up to the 804ez amp and they scream. they are over powered to say the least....i have them crossed over high and the fade is to the front otherwise you would only hear these!lol, but they do what i want them to and they sound good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2013 Great Speakers No Regrets
Review by
Octavio from Southern, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these after eliminating other car speakers on Sonic by what I was looking for: 6.5", Shallow mount (My 1989 civic sedan had very little space in the front doors), 2 ohms (to get more power out of my 4 channel amp). These and the JBL GTO were left and I picked these. After hooking them up to my Punch P4004, These things were LOUD and very clear. I had these for a while with no subwoofer, kept them on a HP filter of 100hz and I was still turning heads and I listen to Hip Hop which is often bass heavy. Not to mention they are pretty inexpensive when compared to their Infinity Brand cousins. I'm sure there are better speakers that handle more power but if that's what you are looking for, you wouldn't have checked out this speaker. You will be happy with these and they perform awesome for the price.
TIP: If possible, always try to amp your speakers. You often get better sound quality and High pass crossovers help greatly with the sound out of your speakers, not to mention their ability to play clearly at higher volume levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Awesome sound
Review by
Brodey from N/a
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are amazing. They don't have that low bass which if you're looking for buy some 3-ways anyway. I recommend these to anyone who wants powerful speakers that have amazing clarity and loudness. Flawless. Hands down buy these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2012 Superior
Review by
Mike from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a set of these for my miata, and all i can say is wow! They are loud enough to make your ears bleed, and they sound crystal clear. Ive been beating them for over a year now and they still look and sound like new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 25, 2011 Solid Upgrade from OEM
Review by
Fuelish from Orchard Park, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these for my Honda Accord door panels. I needed to make some small modifications to the factory mountings to make the new speakers fit. But Wow. JBL sound and 3x louder than the factory speakers. These things really work well with the factory head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 JBL P662 Speaker
Review by
Dan from Odenton, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this speaker as a replacement for a blown one in my van. The old one just blew. Their was more work in removing the panel that hooking up the speaker. Only needed one and will use the other when the time comes. Overall, a positive experience with a good product. The dealer replacement cost was simply too expensive. The price I paid was fair and reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2011 Great for Silverado W/bose
Review by
bob from dayton ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sound great and were a great replacement speaker for a Silverado with the Bose system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 Excellent Speakers
Review by
Bob from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned JBL Power Series speakers before, so the excellent performance of these P662s speakers didn't surprise me. The textile tweeters are an improvement over JBL's old titanium tweeters and play with the same clarity, but without the ear fatigue caused by the old metal tweeters. These tweeters are very smooth-sounding and the reproduction is lifelike.

The bass is very deep for a 6 1/2" speaker, well-defined, and doesn't muddy the treble of the tweeters thanks to the external crossovers. These speakers are a distinct improvement over my old Infinity Reference 6 1/2" speakers. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2009 awesome value!!!
Review by
ben from commerce, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are very high quality. If you look in stores you'll see these for 130-150 dollars!! Now these are the shallow version not requiring as much power as the P662. I have them running off my kenwood deck and they're very loud with some decent bass. Off course better with an amp. The sensitivity is up there and I would say they're just as good as the Kappas if not better. They also have a built in crossover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz