Showing 12 reviews for JBL W12GTi-MkII

Customer Review Summary for JBL W12GTi-MkII
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
8%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
4.4
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 27, 2012 powehouse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
anthony from virginia beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
wow, what can you say. for starters this sub is rated at 700Watts RMS, but it is quite capable of handling much more! i did contact jbl's tech support and engineering department when i hooked this sub up to my planet audio BB2400.1, i told them that i was sending ~1200 watts to this sub. there response was something along the lines of "oh yeah i know it can handle power." it does get hot but then again this was a subwoofer engineered to take heat. simply put, this is an amazing product. i would recommend this to anyone who is looking for loads of bass in a relatively small package ( it needs 11" mounting depth!). i have had it in ported and sealed boxes built to spec and either way you will be impressed. i hope this review helps and clears up any confusion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 FTW
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vinny Burrr from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned a single JBL GTi for little over a year when i was first starting out. I had it hooked up to a rockford fosgate 800.1 amp, little did i know this subwoofer could handle so much more power. I finally upgraded to a audiopipe ap3000.1 class d amplifier and wow can this subwoofer handle power!! I've been running about 1200 rms though it for a few months, never any burning of the voicecoils or anything, always a very clean sounding sub. Everytime a new person has entered my ride and heard my system they see my massive amp and always ask how many 15's you got back there? You just have to laugh. I'm upgrading to about 6 of these bad boys with 3 of these audiopipe 3000.1 amps. You will probably hear me from where you live. JBL FTW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2011 Great SQ/SPL
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Swanny from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I upgraded from a 10" Alpine Type X in a ported enclosure to this MkII in a ported, spec'd enclosure powered by an MRP-M1000. I have the gain set about 60% and the low pass filter set at 80Hz. I usually listen to country, rock, and rap at moderate levels, but this sub sounds great even when I want to rage.

Blends beautifully with the front stage, and the response in the ported enclosure seems fairly flat (good thing) and surprisingly quick. Definitely a huge upgrade from my Type X. Remains undistorted even at very loud levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2010 john paul
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Audio Head from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This SUB is by far the best sub i have worked/heard. i have been an installer for 8+ years now and this sub blows away anything i have worked with JL W7 had 2 of them this one is way better in SQL and SPL have it in a ported enclosure port tuned to 36.5 hz internally braced box with 10+ braces just listen to it or check the reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2010 Amazing
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Speman from San Jose ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I strongly recommend these subs. I put four in an 03 impala upgraded my alternator from Ohio generators. Extreme competition I recommend getting the JBL GTO1400.1 seeing how that amp was meant for those. If you have two use zero gauge monster wire or Fosgate wire nothing else will do these subs justice. I've hit 174.3 at competitions with the meter in the kick panel and the seats up. Heck, I think I may go to 15's in my next car. Beats Rockfords t2 and JL's w7 and hecka cheap compared to both of them. I wish I checked prices here though. No worries, this sub is bangin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2010 Subs are bad azz
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Killa u from Oahu hi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your looking for sq and spl u got it I have 2 mk2 12s I'm hitting 145dbs with 500 watts each I'm running a jbl bpx 2200 the only thing I don't like is the 3 olm config if it was d2 I could max out these sub with my amp but the new amp I'm getting is gonna fix that problem hopping to get at least 1500 each wit my new amp anyways get dis sub if u wanna shutum down in spl an sq
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2009 AWSOME
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ya kno who it is from everywhere
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 4 of these 12" monsters, and all i can say is wow, im glad i didnt get the 4 15"s, i compete at a local audio shop, and im killin the competition, ova here, im hittin 151.9 db, wit the amps cranked half way, im runnin 2, 3000watt powerbass amps, and they can handle way more, if u wanna win comps, this is the subs to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2009 Stunning
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jon Brown from Sontag, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JBL is definitely the best in the business. There is a reason their products always hold the top spots at sound competition. I have this sub in a 1.0 cu. ft. box, stuffed, running on a JBL GTO 1200.1 and I must say impressed is an understatement. The clarity and output of this sub in such a small enclosure is simply amazing. The thing reproduces notes so low, you gone need a winter coat. If disappointment plagues your life, it's time to change that. Makes yourself happy. Buy JBL and forget what it means to be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 JBL W12GTI MKII RAWX!!!!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
curtis from Chula Vista, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After owning several dozen different subwoofers over the past 15 years, I came across the JBL W12GTI MKII and was completely blown away. Unbelievable SQ and SPL in such a small space. Reminds me of the good old days when I had 2 15" Kickers in my back seat and this one sub hit just as hard or harder than those two together! And sound twice as good. I love this sub and am buying this one for myself. Can't wait. The only thing I don't like really is the 3 ohm configuration kind of limits my amplifier use of my Zapco c2k 6.0. I can't get it modded now to 1200 watts like planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 L7 vs GTi
Review by
ALLEY CAT from TUCSON
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two gti's when they first came out and got sick of them blowing out. Then i got 2 L7 12" kickers. Not only have they out lived the gti with same power output but they bank way harder way longer, sound better, etc. Buy this speaker at your own risk and if you do purchase a jbl amp. They last longer and are under rated. I did have those for a while and were cheaper and put out for a long time before they gave up on me. Good luck use your head and go with another brand. Kicker is the way to go there is a reason why they are the hottest seller QUALITY and the higher up you go the biger bang you are going to get. L3, L5, L7, SOLO X, also CVX is sweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2011 Second to none!
Review by
Luke from Leesburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these breathtaking beasts and they are simply flawless JBL doesn't lie when they say the ultimate woofer, sure there are subs out there that can take 3500 rms but this gti doesn't slack when I first got this I didn't have the 2nd one so I hooked it up to my bpx 2200.1 all by it's self and gave it 2200 rms in this small little sealed box I had laying around and it took it for a good half hour, I wouldn't do it often but it will take a lot more than 700 if you have good voltage and no distortion I've got them each in a ported 2.2 cu box now and they are just amazing. Extremely loud super clean really low deep violent brutal bass!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2009 Good Sub
Review by
Brent from Fort Worth, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have not had much time with this sub yet other than installing it. The woofer was installed on my boat and our opening weekend is upcoming. From all the tests i have run, this thing is a beast. Its very heavy! Very clean and will give you the sound you need. I recommend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz