Showing 29 reviews for The Install Bay AK4

Customer Review Summary for The Install Bay AK4
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 83 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.3
Design
4.5
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
November 8, 2014 A good cheap install kit.
Review by
Kyle from Yakima, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not sure what else to say. Wireing is all the actual guage, fuse/connectors are included. Wire is Aluminum coated with copper but your not going to find solid copper for this price. I dident use the RCA's but they look decent.

Very flexable and easy to run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2014 Great Value
Review by
Diplomat85 from San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hooked up my Rockford Forsgate P3 12 inch sub Powered by my Cadence ampwith this baby.. The sound quality was superb. No distortions or power interruptions. Good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2014 Great value
Review by
joseph from montebello, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
love the product ok wired Like the the stuff that comes in the package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2014 Not bad
Review by
Andre from Burlington, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall it's a sick kit. The power/ground are 4awg, the rca's work great, fuse / fuse holder is great, the speaker wire was not sufficient for my application. Amp required min. 12 gauge and the speaker wire in this is a small 16 gauge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2014 Good wires for the price
Review by
Nutjob from New york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The wires are actually pretty good. The only problem I have is the RCA wires. They are pretty cheap looking and I recommend you crimp the ends a little before u install them, they tend to unplug from the amp. All in all good wiring for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2014 worked perfect
Review by
kenneth from st pete, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
super easy to install everything i needed was included made for easy install .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Basic Kit, served its purpose
Review by
Chance from Monroe, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nothing to complain, or rave about, basic kit that served its purpose. although the wire did not properly fit into the fuse holder(i upgraded to a kicker anl/afs 4/0 gauge).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2012 Great beginner's amp kit!
Review by
Joe B. from Grosse Pointe, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The wire size was adequate for my first amplifier install, and it works great. I do have a problem with the RCA cable that is included though, as it gives a high pitch sort of a buzz at all times; the one included with my BOSS amp kit (surprisingly) doesn't buzz at all. The speaker wire is OK, but pretty thin.

Overall I recommend this kit, but maybe get a new RCA if yours buzzes like mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2012 not bad
Review by
Kyle from Homosassa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The power and ground wire seem like they are true 4 guage. The speaker wire could be a little bigger and the RCA cable seem a little thin. Overall not bad kit for what ya pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2012 Ok kit for the money.
Review by
Justin from Homer, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had ok luck with the kit. The connectors for the big power wire and ground kind of suck to crimp and I've had a little bit of the copper strands come apart at the connections but I'm not sure if thats my fault or not. Im not an expert installer but i did take electrical in college so I'm not doing too much wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2012 great for the price what can i say
Review by
Kimchee from Aurora, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this kit 7 months ago running 500 watts and 2 x 10's it works for me and is cheaper vs the $160 amp kit i got in the other car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 half decent for the price
Review by
justin from lebanon oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The wire is not really 4 gauge its more like inbetween 6 and 4 gauge, but its good for hooking up an amp for up to about 1500 rms. Good little kit that comes with everything needed but a little heads up, it could have been a fluke with mine but the agu fuse that came with the fuse holder fell apart. literally the glass, fuse element, and end caps all seperated. Anyways its a good kit and would probably buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2011 Good Product, Great Prie!
Review by
Juan from New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your looking to save money on a wiring kit, this is definitely the item for you. Ive been using it on my 1000 watt amp and ive never had a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2011 i runing over 1000 watts througth this cable
Review by
Mike from peabody
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros/Cons: All and all great wire and kit but this is not true 4 gauge but is very close. i have not had any problems with my system and my local audio shop only carrys this. this is great for the money. i have the 4 and 8 gauge kits. I recommend these but stay away from 2 and 0. Brands that are true are Kicker, Monster, and Street Wire. Stay away from Absolute. Tsunami i bought a 4 gauge ground wire and thats how i found out that its not true 4 gauge so i recommend these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2011 Great product
Review by
Miguel from Glendale, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had enough length for all my connections. The only cons would be upgrade the speaker wire and get a bigger fuse holder because the wire seems to be bigger than the holes. Other than that a must buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 Great Wiring Kit
Review by
SAMAR from GRAND RAPIDS, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this kit it has all they essentials and easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 Doing the job
Review by
Pat from Wichita Falls, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this about 2 years ago to install my Kicker 500.1. The amount of wire provided was just right, and the speaker wire has actually lasted through 2 of my installations. Good cheap way to get your amp hooked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 Great Value
Review by
Josh from Tallahassee, fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Durable, cheap instillation kit,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2011 install kit
Review by
rocaso from hayward c
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it has all the stuff u really need to install and amp not bad for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2011 Decent kit for the cost
Review by
Dakota from Lees Summit, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything you would need in a wiring kit. Only downside is the ground and power connectors were too small for the battery post and ground point, had to go and find larger size (which were difficult to find)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2011 AK4
Review by
image from san antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought the Installbay AK4, pretty decent pricing although its wire is very brittle and falls apart when splicing it so be careful. Also remember your going to need a crimping tool so look for one before getting too excited. Overall good product, no problems encountered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Its good for the price i have to buy a second power wire
Review by
Travis from Newhall, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchase this kit 2 times once for my subwoofer and amp setup and the second time for my speaker and amp setup. Only problems I have are that this kit is not sufficient enough for SUV owners there needs to be around 20 ft or more of amp wire.

Pro
- Amp wire and speaker wire very flexible
- Reliable kit
- Has 25ft of speaker wire even though i need like 60ft
- Zero issues with my system cutting in and out due to wire quality

Cons
- I ran out of speaker and amp wire cause I have a Cherokee XJ
- The Hitron amp wire i bought seemed to be a tad bit thicker in leading me to think this may be a little less than true 4gauge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2010 pretty good
Review by
Austin from jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the couplings arent that good. get it right the first time and you'll be good. i dont think the 4 gauge is true 4 gauge but it gets the job done. works fine for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2010 not bad
Review by
jo from savannah ,ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got this kit for GMC Sierra, i have a kicker comp to it, going to a dual amp, i didn't want to much power, but this kit can handle about 700 watts, the RCA's are OK, and my truck does seem to be electrically stable, everything fit well, the terminals sucked though, it wasn't a true 4 gauge but for what i paid for it i was impressed... liked it, if you are on budget go for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2010 Does job for the money
Review by
Trip from Sioux City, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp kit is decent, it does the job for the money paid. Only complaints would be that the speaker wire is very cheap and does not hold up very good. It rips easily. I have it powering an 800 watt mono block amp...For the money it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2010 Great Kit!! Not to cheap Not to expensive
Review by
Cody from Port Orchard, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not a professional in the car audio area but from what i do know these are great at least first time buyer wires. This kit comes with everything you need and the speaker wire is a bonus plus since its 25ft!. I used all 17ft of the power wire through out my ford ranger, very flexible too. Ground wire is a little to short but some say 3ft is about all you need to be safe. Good set of RCA cables too. Overall if your on a budget like i was then id go with this other than that if your looking for cheap stuff dont look for real real quality like this kit has without spending a little bit more than someones range of cheap 20$ wiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2009 good kit
Review by
Anthony from Flagstaff, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've used this kit in two different installs and the wire is very flexible the only problem i have with the kit are the pack of terminals that it comes with you might as well throw it away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2009 Very Good Kit
Review by
James from Salisbury, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This kit is a very good choice fo rsomeone that does not know too much about running wire though their vehicle. The cable itself is very soft and flexible which makes it easy to hide under carpets or behind kit panels. The only thing this kit lacks are the fork terminals you would use on certain amps. However this is not too big a deal where as most amplifier manufactures seem to be going to the allen scew down terminals so you wouldn't need the forks anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2009 Acceptable
Review by
Johnny Boy from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This kit has just about everything you need, I would only make a couple minor changes.
The power/ground wire isn't true 4gauge, its closer to 6.
The kit comes with one black fork terminal, I needed to pick up another one for the positive hookup to my amp.
Other than that, there was a good amount of length for all the wiring and came with wireties that I didn't use due to how i hid the wires in the doorjam. Also came with grommets that I didn't use (I just pushed through a factory one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz