Showing 16 reviews for JL Audio 6W3V3-4

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 6W3V3-4
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
94%
4 star:
.
.
6%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
5.0
Value
4.8
Features
4.9
Design
5.0
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
June 9, 2014 Make your box to these specs for Awesomeness...
Review by
TheGDog from (West) Garden Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had one of these from a prior project. Using 1/2" MDF Made a box 7 x 14 x 13 (.5417 cu ft) w/ a Precision 2" Flared Port kit cut-down to 10" total assembled length (Tune is about 36-37 Hz) firing out the side. Before closing the box... I put rubber Self-Adhesive Roof-flashing (avail at HDepot, Lowes) on all sides except (top-firing) baffle, be sure to use a roller to push-out any and all air pockets. Staple 1 layer of High-Loft Quilt Batting on all sides except baffle (avail at JOANN's Fabrics). On baffle I also glued some 1" x 6" strips in the middle of the open spaces to either side of the centered woofer cutout hole on the baffle to add rigidity. You'll need 6 Bar Clamps, and at least 2 90 degree clamps. I just used Tite Bond II Wood Glue. The only screws are to mount the sub, and on the Banana plugs Terminal plate I put on. In my ofc room I was underwhelmed and at low-to-mid 20Hz's I could hear a bit of port noise running off a 50 Wattt plate amp. But OH MAN when I put it in her XTERRA using 140 Watts Bridged at 4 Ohms... DAYUM!! I shocked the heck outta myself. The output was almost on par with the Infinity Ref 860W in 1.02 cu ft I had in their before she wanted a smaller setup. This lil booger really impressed me even more in this particular setup. The specs JL gives for the .25 cu ft slot-ported box suck because it has WAY too much port noise with those specs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Amazing
Review by
John from Doha, Qatar
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 4 of the them to but under my back seat in my 2009 Ford F-150 Super Crew Cab. I made a custom box to fit. The hit hard and sound great. Small enough not to have to change any sitting.
Had them shipped to a location in the US and then shipped to me in the Middle East. Nothing else around like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Little beast behind the seat.
Review by
Maximillian from Christchurch, 0, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub packs a punch, and if set up right inside a well constructed box, outperforms the cheaper, 8" and 10" that I've heard. Looks amazing reversed as well. But the real winner on this amp is the size, for a sealed enclosure it only requires .15cf! You could put this thing under your kids bed and give him nightmares, 'cause this sub is a monster!

Perfect for small cars with little to no room like my MR2 Rev.2, MX-5 etc.

Great for precision and filling out the bottom end of your frequencies, but can't compete with the larger, properly installed and powered 8 and 10" subs but still a stunner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 awesome little speaker
Review by
jon from delaware
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price, fast shipping, speaker works great and performs better than expected. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2012 Excellente!
Review by
Usman Carlucci from Grand Prairie, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Performed beyond my expectations, simply excellent! The bass is just right, not enough to be a nuisance to other road user but enough to really enjoy music. I am buying another one for my other car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2012 small and sweet
Review by
PAUL from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my little motorhome. It works great with my alpine head and amp. I put it in a little oak cabinet, behind the driver's seat.
It is very good audio quality, not just a big boom box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2011 Wow... can take a beating!
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok, so powering this sub together with the 2 4" drivers was just a lil too much for my MoTo's electrical system. So I decided to quickly build a Ported box to manufacturer specs. Figured I'd use this in my Ford SportTrac for those time when I need to remove my Alpine Type-R 12" Enclosure I usually have seat-belted in behind the drivers seat.

Powering this 4-Ohm sub with my Pioneer GM-D8500M equates to a possible 300 Watts RMS. I didn't have to adjust my gains at all. It sounds great! Obviously a significant drop in output from having a Type-R 12" right behind me... but I'll bet you with all the windows down you could still piss-off a lotta folks!

I slid the little enclosure underneath the passenger rear seat no problem.

The amount of output you're getting... from such a small device... it's totally UNREAL though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2010 Nice Bump for my MoTo!
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put one of these in a sealed, molded, form-fitting fiberclass enclosure 0.20 - 0.25 cu. ft. I hand-made to fit in the trunk of my MoTo. It's being powered by 2 rear channels of Eclipse EA4200 amp with those 2 channels set to Mono and LPF. (140 watts @ 4 Ohms),

Front channels of amp are full-range powering 2 4" Polk Audio db401's in the fairing.

I've been steadily getting astonished looks and comments about how good my system sounds, and people are shocked it's coming from my moto!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2010 The Perfect Woofer
Review by
Jmejm from Los Angeles
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have an MR2 Spyder with NO ROOM FOR ANYTHING so i decided to put two of these bad boys in my doors. I've never been so satisfied with something so small in my life. Beautifully defined sound when coupled with my Memphis monoblock. Highly recommended to anyone who needs bass but doesn't have the room for a box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2010 Bass Monster!
Review by
Tyler from Iron Station, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one from Sonic and built the recommended sealed enclosure. This thing slams for it's size, it's comparable, if not better than some 8" subs. I'm running it on 170 watts rms and it sounds incredibly clean. It blends with my RF Power series coaxials nicely. You won't be disappointed with this sub if your looking for tight and accurate sound. Don't forget to buy the grille too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2009 wow
Review by
Jason from MI, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a 2007 frontier and they sound great. I really hate giving up space that is why I got these very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2009 A++++++++++++++++++++++++
Review by
dan the man from san antonio tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this 6w3v3-4 in the back of my single cab pick up where the jack was in a custom box it fit like a glove an the seat still slides all the way back it sounds like if i have two 10"s in the back this is one bad a** sub. very happy A ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2009 Amazing subwoofer
Review by
Eldar from Bergen, 0, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these, and i am stunned.. They play amazing, considering there size.. They can handle any tone without getting "tired".........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2009 Amazing subwoofer
Review by
Edgar from Bergen, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these, and they are amazing. They really bounce considering their size...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2008 wow!
Review by
Shea from Kirbyville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my friend has two of these in the truck of his car and when i sat in the car i thought he had 12's. These things beat hard for their size... im gettin a wall of them put in my suv
very good subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2011 Outstanding Customer Service
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kenny J from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a speaker to replace a blown factory sub. I purchased one that was too deep for my factory enclosure. My sales rep was a big help in finding a speaker that fit into my shallow factory enclosure. Took the original purchase back with no questions asked and got the new one out right away. Back to enjoying some bass to go along with the treble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz