Showing 27 reviews for Pioneer FH-P8000BT

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer FH-P8000BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
63%
4 star:
.
.
30%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.7
Design
4.3
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Sweet Receiver with some limitations

This receiver is very good for the price. i am impressed with the sound quality and the the convenient options like bluetooth and the usb. i have this hooked up in a toyota corolla, it fit as though it was stock. i owned an older pioneer reciver that had more options but at the same time for the price it is worth it. its pretty especially at night and it will make your system blast as i said before it lacks only in tweeking capabilty.

VS
Not all its cracked up to be

I have encounter problems with this unit. It has issues where the system jumps from tuner to blue tooth to telephone functions at a random time. At that point, I lose control of the stereo funtions (as if it has a mind of its own) It's very annoying. It will then shut off, then turn on and do the whole process all over again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 16, 2011 Sweet Receiver with some limitations
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Varon from Chaguanas, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This receiver is very good for the price. i am impressed with the sound quality and the the convenient options like bluetooth and the usb. i have this hooked up in a toyota corolla, it fit as though it was stock. i owned an older pioneer reciver that had more options but at the same time for the price it is worth it. its pretty especially at night and it will make your system blast as i said before it lacks only in tweeking capabilty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2011 Great Reciever
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joyserve from Jacksonville,FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned Pioneer car audio products for almost 15 years and I've always been satisfied with the quality of H/U that have been on the market over time. The Pioneer FH-P8000BT is a very nice system, I have a 2006 Dodge Caravan the I redone the dash opening to DD for the unit.(I gave up my DEH-P7700MP single din for this one) Bluetooth is smooth, I have 5.1 sound in my van and a pioneer DEQ9200 EQ and this H/U is by far nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 Good looking, high quality, great purchase
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joe from Ellensburg, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this HU to anyone looking to upgrade a double din from stock HU. The display is great, sound quality is outstanding. I paired it with some 5-1/4 pioneer component speakers and some pioneer 4x6's and all for 400 bucks. Outstanding performance and overall quality. There is almost too many options on it, but not in the sense that it will confuse some not electronic saavy. The bluetooth works fantastic and just takes a few minutes to sync with phone, but after that it paris automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2012 awesome
Review by
djwhitegirl23 from menlo park, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love it , bluetooth sort of hard to connect sometimes. so is usb port for phones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2012 awesome
Review by
Kevin from normal, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've always been a Pioneer H/U fan. This thing is awesome! The Bluetooth music streaming allows me to play Pandora, Spotify, or MP3s from my phone. I commute 52 miles each way to work and have this bangin the whole way and it never misses a beat. Clean, clear, and powerful. You cant beat this for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Great Entertainment
Review by
Steve from Fullerton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo worked out great! I have it in my toy hauler with an amp. The ipod setup is easy. Fit great in it too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 Pioneer FH-P8000BT
Review by
Hannes from New Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good radio for the price. Sound quality is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2012 Good to consider
Review by
Sam from Visalia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installation went well and I'm really happy with the performance. I particularly like the bluetooth, satellite radio and i-pod functions. I don't like the complexity of the manual. I feel it inhibits using everything I paid for because I can't figure it out. Overall, I like it and it serves its function well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Very difficult to navigate
Review by
Brian from Glendora, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound is great! Navigation is confusing and cumbersome. Would be nice if display colors could be changed. Major issues with Bluetooth degrading sound quality with Samsung Android Charge phone. Pioneer says phone not supported??? Will try other phone as I need this feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2012 Not all its cracked up to be
Review by
Chris from Duarte, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have encounter problems with this unit. It has issues where the system jumps from tuner to blue tooth to telephone functions at a random time. At that point, I lose control of the stereo funtions (as if it has a mind of its own) It's very annoying. It will then shut off, then turn on and do the whole process all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2011 Great value
Review by
THOMAS from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros- awesome unit
Cons- none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2011 Excellent Product
Review by
David from Alexandria, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the sound, the looks and basic functions. Very pleased. Some of the menus are not very intuitive however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 Great Deal...
Review by
Bill, from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this radio for my wife mini van and she loves it, espically the one main control knob. But it's a bit too hi-tech, the equalizer is in htz not like a regular up and down. Aside that it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Pioneer FH-P8000BT
Review by
Trouble from Baton Rouge, LA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great Head Unit. It takes a little getting use to, but over-all I very satified. I put this in my 2008 Chevy Silverado. The dash kit & the antanna adapter that came with it all a perfect fit for my truck. I was trying to keep my truck as close to the stock look as possible and I don't think you can get closer than this with any other after market "high end" Head Unit.

Pros: Great Sound, fits perfect, Just about any feature you can think of, Remote Control, Total control of your ipod thru the Head Unit.

Cons: Interface takes a little getting use to. no aux input. Face plate scratches very easily and picks up finger prints very very easily.

Once you learn the interface, you'll love this Head Unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 Awesome Features...Slow Learning Curve
Review by
Meat from Philadelphia, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this HU for several months and have found it to be exactly what I was looking for (Bluetooth, USB, Aux) with a sleek design. The Shuttle wheel menu system takes a little to get used to but once you use it for a while it becomes second nature. Menus, submenus, and more submenus can get confusing but one push of a button and your back out. I haven't hooked up my subwoofer yet so I can't comment on that function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Great Radio
Review by
FRED from NEW CASTLE, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been amazed with this Pioneer radio every time I use it. I was planning to use an amplifier and subs, but I am not trying to entertain someone a block away. The audio power from this unit is more than adequate for someone who wants really high quality audio and not blast their ears off. I have very high quality 6X9's in the rear deck of a '97 Buick and Polk 6 1/2 up front with the separate tweeter. I love the MP3 ability, USB option and BlueTooth. The price is better from Sonic than eBay or Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2011 Best deck unit I've ever had
Review by
Joshua from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There's a pretty hefty learning curve in regards to how to access the different functions and program the deck. After you get things set up, though, and after you learn how to quickly use the features you use the most, this deck rocks! I have used it for about 2 years now and I have virtually zero complaints. The lack of buttons on the unit is one of the things that gives it such a clean look, but is also one of the reason it can be difficult to navigate, as every button has multiple functions, so that's a necessary trade-off, and worth it in my opinion. Having the inputs in the rear of the deck leans itself toward permanent set up like running the cables through the console or into the glove box. It makes changing the set up difficult but again, very clean and professional because with a little work you can hide all wires and inputs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 I hate this radio
Review by
Alex from Danville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not only is it buggy but its just horribly laid out. Getting it to pair with my wifes iPhone (3GS w/iOS4) is a crap shoot. Sometimes it goes, sometimes not. It NEVER streams BT audio. You also think that it would pair with the first phone it notices that it has a relationship with. Not the case. If you connect to one phone it wont connect to a different phone until you tell it to. Again, that is a crap shoot.

As far as the interface goes everything is controlled by the center knob. What item you actually have selected is weird at first since there is no indicator. Its just the item on the middle line of the display. Pushing the knob selects things. Small things like navigating preset stations is in the form of a list and picking the one in the middle via pushing, while navigating up or down, selects it. There are no preset buttons which is a huge pain. Everything is multiple pushes. Nothing is fast and easy.

The lights are a BRIGHT blue. We have it in a Toyota Sequoia and it just looks odd. I could have sworn it had illumination color but I guess that was the Clarion I was looking at that I should have purchased. My mistake but an ugly one.

Trying to find any menu items is difficult at best. Do I press up, down, right? Ugh, wrong choice how to I exit out? How do I go back to the root menu? Nope that is another button. There was no usability testing by Pioneer on this and I am wondering how much QA. There have also been no updates to address any bugs.

I wish I could return this radio because I am not happy. I will be selling it on Craigslist I guess. I hate using it so I cant expect my wife to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2011 Definately a great purchase!
Review by
Barrett from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have an 05 Mustang and I wanted something that looked factory but still had the features I needed like blutooth (I drive stick), and the iPod capability. This deck honestly looks factory in my car and the wiring was super easy! Only thing is with the factory amp it makes a pop when you turn it on which I don't really mind and all you need in to solder a 5 amp regulator on one of the wires. I think the price is great too for what you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2011 Pioneer Deck
Review by
Nix from Bergen County, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I did a lot of research before this purchase , for my Nissan Altima 2004. I wanted a deck that wasn't to noticeable and would be too flashy for the criminals. I bought this because of the many many features, you can control the subs all for speakers from the head unit, the remote control is amazing & the Bluetooth setup is unbelievable, this system is what I expected it to be, lovely. I do recommend to all!
I have only had installed for 2 weeks, its to early to notice problems, I'll check back in around summer, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2011 Love it
Review by
brian from Auburn, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best all around head unit i ever owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2010 great radio
Review by
Anthony from Laval, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is fantastic, in the light it is hard to see the name of songs but in the night it looks amazing, the functions all work very well and the radio has everything you would want in a radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 Great head unit!!
Review by
Joseph from Niceville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this now for about 2 years and I love it. It may not be the most visually appealing but I love how much control I have over my system. It has so many options like BT, aux input, 3 sets of outputs, USB port, etc. It has performed great and made my system sound great also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2009 Pleased with it
Review by
A Guy from Gray, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm very happy with the radio. It has lots of options and its relatively easy to use. There are so many settings, that you can make most any source sound good. Bluetooth worked fine with my phones.

If you like options and don't mind learning a little, I think you will like the radio. If you are a "keep it simple" kind a person, I would stay away.

Installation was very tough on my car. The radio fit the hole, but the connections are all at the bottom of the unit which interfered with some supports.

Here is my setup:
2001 Impala
Metra GMOS-04 - converter necessary for GM Car
PAC SWI-PSv1 - Steering wheel controls
iPod Classic
XM SkiFi3 radio used through Aux port
Alpine MRP-F300 amp
Kenwood KFC-X1710 front speakers
Kenwood KFC-X692 rear speakers
Bluetooth with Sprint Mogul phone & Motorolla RAZR phone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 Pretty good
Review by
Joseph from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this head unit 6 months ago and have enjoyed it since. I personally installed it in my "07 WRX and it fit very nicely in the Double-DIN slot without adapters.

I produces clear strong sound and I like the blue color of the display.

I hooked up the included microphone and use the Blue tooth feature often, although it was a little tricky to get it to recognize my phone (LG ENV). The people I talk to all say they can hear me just fine, and it plays their voice through the car speakers.

The USB connectivity is the best feature in my opinion because it was so easy to set up and it works great, although it takes a little while to search for the song you want if you have a big library on your MP3 player.

The only bad thing I find with it is that the display isn't OEL. That would make the head unit perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2009 Awesome Unit
Review by
Steve from Fairfax, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Piece, bluetooth is super handy, looks really nice in the double din slot, glad I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2009 Great but be careful
Review by
Widgit from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great 2-Din CD receiver with the looks that are not overstated and not as cluttered as many 2-Din receivers with buttons. The screen is bright and quick to respond. The only downside to this product is that Pioneer put in a pico fuse for the RCAs in the back. Once that fuse is blown the radio whines through the speakers and the receiver must be repaired by a specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz