Showing 33 reviews for Infinity Kappa 652.9i

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Kappa 652.9i
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 33 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.7
Design
4.6
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great Sound

Great Sound Overall, like the ability to tone down the high's using the db boost button on the tweeters. Running off head unit at the moment, crystal clear up to about 65% volume. Definitely needs an amp to see full potential, wiring up a Infinity Reference 4 chan to do that job, have high hopes for SQ out of these little coaxials. Picked these up a couple days ago, apparently was on sale because now I see the price is 30 dollars more than what I payed. Definitely worth picking up if your not in the market for components. And for those of you wondering about using the HU to power them since they are 2ohms, I have a kenwood x993 and it does a good job of it, headunit does not run any warmer than normal pushing these 2 ohm speakers. Plan on adding a set of the kappa 6x9's in the next couple of weeks.

VS
Not a bad speaker but no base whatsoever

I would recommend this speakers for its quality and highs, but if you are looking to have some bass as well then this is not the speaker you want. I installed them to replace my bose speakers after one of them blew out after 10 years of use and had to take them back out because the bass was way too low. I had read that this was the case with these speakers on other reviews but didnt think it would be as bad as it was with the bass. Anyway the speakers are of excellent quality if you are looking for crisp, clean highs.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 10, 2010 Great Sound
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Sound Overall, like the ability to tone down the high's using the db boost button on the tweeters. Running off head unit at the moment, crystal clear up to about 65% volume. Definitely needs an amp to see full potential, wiring up a Infinity Reference 4 chan to do that job, have high hopes for SQ out of these little coaxials. Picked these up a couple days ago, apparently was on sale because now I see the price is 30 dollars more than what I payed.
Definitely worth picking up if your not in the market for components.
And for those of you wondering about using the HU to power them since they are 2ohms, I have a kenwood x993 and it does a good job of it, headunit does not run any warmer than normal pushing these 2 ohm speakers.
Plan on adding a set of the kappa 6x9's in the next couple of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2009 Great Sound and Great Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tim from Owensboro Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers have great high's and the bass is better than expected.I installed these in the front doors of an 06 honda civic and they sound great just on the head unit power. The install was a little more time consuming than expected, as they did not just drop in, but everything worked out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
Olgive from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds great in my van! Perfect addition. Fast service at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2013 Not a bad speaker but no base whatsoever
Review by
large from lyndhurst nj
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this speakers for its quality and highs, but if you are looking to have some bass as well then this is not the speaker you want. I installed them to replace my bose speakers after one of them blew out after 10 years of use and had to take them back out because the bass was way too low. I had read that this was the case with these speakers on other reviews but didnt think it would be as bad as it was with the bass. Anyway the speakers are of excellent quality if you are looking for crisp, clean highs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2012 Very Nice
Review by
Rocky from Berwick, Maine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers are clean and clear. These are a far cry from the oem speakers! They can hit high and they can hit low. The only issue I've noticed is when it is trying to hit low and mid at the same time the mid hits and the low gets muddied. I recommend buying with the infinity sub to keep the lows off the woofer. Also they look very nice and have pods for attaching wires making them super easy to hook up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2012 Excellent Speaker
Review by
Matt from North Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put these in the doors on my 2001 Camaro SS with the monsoon system. My stock passenger side door speaker started popping/crackling/etc and I replaced them with the Kappa's.

The difference was amazing. The sound was so much more clear and the highs were nice and crisp. If you have a monsoon system, don't be afraid to run these speakers with the stock setup. Not only are they the correct ohm setup for the stock amp, they fit perfectly. It's amazing how much a small upgrade in speakers can do for a stock system.

(I didn't get an entire sound system because I race the car and didn't want to add a bunch of weight so I just bought new speakers with the stock AM/FM/CD and amp and it sounds worlds better than before)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2012 Great sound
Review by
Stumpy from Statesboro, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have four of them in the doors of a pathfinder,and they are just now starting to break in only after a few months.they sound great even with just a head unit. Eventually I plan to install a four channel amp, because I was told that more power would make them sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2012 Perfect
Review by
francois from LAVAL, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
That's a perfect example of durable speakers for that cheap price! I'm still confusing about the sound quality versus the price! Nice speakers and I totally recommend them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2012 excellent
Review by
jon from ventura, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good range with crisp highs and decent lows, bass frequency is better than most 6.5" drivers. I give them a 9.1 out of 10 max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2012 Don't buy
Review by
Gabriel from Blainville, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't recommend because it sounds great at first but after 2 weeks, all the cables are getting poopy.
All the plugs in the speakers come from one spot and they are all attached to each other. I installed them without problems but after 2 weeks, no more sounds, i took a look and all the plugs were scratched and there was no way I could repair it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Now these are infinity!
Review by
Ryan from Dover, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought two sets of these for my new Kia Optima. They're being pushed by a Rockford 4x75watt boosted rail amp. They sound great for highs, mids and some lows. I will be adding a sub soon to round it out. I highly recommend Kappa's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 Excellent quality speakers by infinity but...
Review by
Billy Bob from Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchased infinity speakers for a while now. I like their design with the built-in crossover for easy installs. I originally had the infinity kappa 62.9i for the front speakers which were fine I just had to use the adapter rings that comes with the speakers to mount to the doors. My door trim was touching the rubber speaker surround and caused both to tear. So I bought these slightly bigger speakers which unfortunately did not fit right to the door frame as hoped. But with some modifications and ingenuity they fit better than the smaller infinity ones and sound just as infinitys should. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Sound great
Review by
Joe from Clovis, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had alot of 6.5s over the years and these rank as well as the high end stuff when wired up to decent wire and amp. They are 2.6 ohm and do not sound as well on deck power and factory wire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Great speakers under a $100!
Review by
B91Z28 from Lake Hughes, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love em! Could not be happier for the price I paid. These sound great without an amplifier. But when you give some power to them, dang! These things scream. Awesome lows, mids, and highs. If your looking for a factory replacement or even planning your next killer system go with these you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2012 Acceptable replacement for car speakers
Review by
GaryDoug from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had to replace the door speakers in a 1998 Firebird with 2 ohm stock speakers that are no longer available. These worked nicely as replacements. I can't really rate the durability as these are only about 6 months old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 Kappa 652.9i speakers
Review by
Mike O from Tinley Park, Il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price, fast shipping, great website. Great quality speakers. I would recommend to my friends. This website will tell you if the speakers you wish to purchase are going to be a simple replacement. Invaluable information. Perfect fit. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2012 Simply Amazing, and Unbelievable.
Review by
Tandy from Jacksons Gap, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these today in my 95 Civic's rear deck. I have them powered by a Polk Audio PA660 on an Alpine 9886. I had some Pioneer 5way 6x9s in boxes which I thought were great speakers until I installed these. I still can't believe how much Detail I'm hearing from my old favorites. It makes me feel like I'm hearing these songs for the first time. Don't be concerned w/ them only being 2 way speakers because they have crisp and clear high without being ear piercing. I'm still not sure if they are metal, or softdome tweeters but they have the brightness of a metal tweeter but the silkyness, warm, smoothness of a softdome. I'd had Kappa speakers in the past I can't remember the models but these are the best I've ever owned. My all time favorites were the Kappa of the late 90s w/ the white dot looking tweeter, these new ones make the older speakers sound ancient.

The tweeters simply rotate around so you can focus the awesome sound they make where you want. I also love the speaker terminals as they are in the inline crossover. The screwheads are Philips so you're not having to hunt up an Allen wrench to install these. They allow for very solid connections w/ a very large wire. I have true 16ga ran throughout my entire vehicle and these look like they could handle 8-10ga which would be way overkill.

I measured the resistance again after allowing them to warm up and my Fluke is reading 2.3ohms. I have Kenwood Components in the front which read 2.5ohms so my Polk PA660 should be able to deliever 85watts to each driver. I never have to increase the volume past 15 out of 35. So I'm not giving them somewhere around 35-40watts and they continue to make my ears thirst for more.

I couldn't be any happier w/ this purchuse and if you're in the market for some high quality, clean, easy to install speakers ... Look No Further!

I always recommend using an external amp, and ALWAYS use baffles when installing speakers. You will save the life of the speaker, and you will allow the speaker to sound like it's suppose to. Having a speaker just mounted in an open door/reardeck will cause the speaker to work harder than it should, and you will limit the sounds they can produce. Baffles are only around $10 and will pay for themselves many times over thoughout the lifetime of your system.

Sonic is always easy to deal with and they don't hesitate to ship your items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2012 infinity kappa
Review by
Remi from Hamilton City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would totally recommend these speakers to anybody I've been an infinity person for 15 years and never had a problem crystal clear sound and trust me I've had pioneer and kicker and even mb quart and still no competition I would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Sound Great!
Review by
Aaron from Danvers, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great, and I can turn the volume all the way up on them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2011 infinity speakers
Review by
gonzo from Gilbert az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Six months with them and they been great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2011 infinity speakers
Review by
gonzo from Gilbert az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Six months with them and they been great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2011 great sound
Review by
bob from canton, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After installing these speakers, I find that the design is very good for smooth sound. These speakers are not too bright and were a good value. The only complaint is the wiring harness. I would rather have the standard speaker posts that I can solder to. The speaker connections are bulky and require thought to place in a non vibrating spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2011 Good Buy
Review by
eddy from FT MYERS,FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a set of speakers for 6 mos and no problem so far. I put this set on 94' Toyota Celica and the only thing, was that the cut out of the factory hole is like 1/2 bigger.I used some brackets and problem solve. Im very satisfied with Infinity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 Great speakers
Review by
Stefan from Naples, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love them but just wish the tweeters would have moved like some of the Infinitys do. But these don't and I found that out after indenting one of mine...still sound great but I have lots of sub bass too so I really can't tell if its distorting. I love these speakers have them in my door panels and my back window panel. I have good mids and highs due to kappa and its 6.5s Thanks again Sonic for your great business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2010 Great sound good value!
Review by
Lenny from Lambertville, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased these speakers on a recommendation from a friend and and am not disappointed. They sound great, the installation was easy and they were a good replacement for my worn out OEM speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2010 Moneys Worth!
Review by
Kappachino from Clovis, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two sets of Infinity's 652.9i for a great price. now they cost almost twice as much. I have been through many brands of high quality speakers and this purchase was for my wife's car. A downgrade in quality and spending for speakers, so I thought. I was amazed at the clarity and range of these speakers. I recommended these speakers numerous times for quality basic systems, even after the price increased. Great to run off the deck with 200-300 watt for subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2010 Greater upgrade for the dodge ram, big bass
Review by
Joseph from Madison, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am glad that I got these speakers for my friends truck. He had to discard the old infinity speakers that were an older model and decided to fail. The newer infinity speakers I would recommend because all Infinity products have stepped up with their equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2010 Infinity Kappa 652.9i
Review by
Trenton from Panama City, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speakers would recommend them to friends. I like that they fit pretty much anything with little modification. I like the highs and mids. Most important thing with these is to hook them up with amp or make sure receiver can support them to their potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2010 Excellent Value
Review by
Eric from The Moon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered these a few months ago and they work as advertised. Handles 30W fine and better than stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2010 Great sounding speakers!!!
Review by
Don from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced all four factory speakers in a '98 Saturn with these. Installation was extremely easy, as these fit directly into the factory openings and the hole pattern matched what was already there. The push button boost on the tweeter is a very nice feature. The difference it makes is noticeable, but it does not make the high end overpowering. I've always liked infinity speakers, and these did not disappoint. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2009 Worth more than its price!
Review by
Jeromeo from TEXAS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a Elite 404 hooked up to these and a pair of 6-9s they are clear and bassful when you need it! At Sonics price these are a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2009 It's Infinity, what would you expect?
Review by
Brian from Florissant, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are some really nice coaxial speakers. They even come with a crossover to help separate the high and low frequencies. Infinity always makes a good speaker and I highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2009 GREAT SPEAKERS
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Deblee from Adel, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put all 4 of my speakers to Infinity Kappas. The best sound I have heard from speakers for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz