Showing 12 reviews for JBL GTO1514D

Customer Review Summary for JBL GTO1514D
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.7
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 5, 2014 Vented 11.3cft, 320L Sono tube
21 of 37 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Mission Viejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Testing my first sonotube build on a budget for home theater. Tried the first 9 minutes of Star trek, ITD. Testing with a condenser mic it recorded .8 % of the time between 16 to 27Hz. The box was tuned to 20Hz. Infrasonic filter set to 13Hz so the cone would not surpass it's excursion. It still picked up Hz from 8 to 15. I got in trouble for playing this in my apartment. Lot of audio people say you can't use a car sub for HT. JBL has published data on the specs that is very important to the decision to purchase this sub. Before you buy a sub model it with WinISD and compare. This one comes out on top for the price and performance. The appearance and quality of the sub is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2012 I love this sub
20 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from gallatin, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had mine for about 2 months now. At first i received the singe voice coil version by mistake but i was able to ship it back fast and no cost to me (thanks sonic!)

But anyway, i running 450 rms to it and i think it could handle at least 500. But even though i have it wired to 2 ohms i measured it with my multi-meter and its reading about 2.8. I know its not going to be exactly 2 ohms but 2.8 seems a bit high to me so im not possitive its getting a full 450 watts rms. But for what it is getting it sounds pretty darn good. My amp is what is limiting it because it clips but im getting a new amp soon so it should be alot louder! I got this on sale but i think it is worth the regular price.
I also have it in the ported Sonic box and although i think it needs to be bigger for better lows, it sounds pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2011 Best Bang for the buck...
18 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
TaZ from St. Louis , Missouri
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It has been over a month since the install. They are just now breaking. I use 2 of them in a sealed (1.5 cubic ft per chamber) box. Matched the subs with JBL GTO 700.1 @ 2ohm. Gain is about 3/4 and bass boost less than half way. My ears hurt. They hit so hard the whole car(02 Accord 4dr) shakes so much. I get the great lows which i really wanted. I would recommend this subs to anyone. I do not have any cons so far. I will update my review in 6 months or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2010 jbl gto1514d
20 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Q-Ball from Cocoa,Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought theses a while ago and still hitting hard as b4, nice product, neighbors hear me coming and i only have a 1800watt amp and a 2farad cap...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2015 Big Bang For The Buck!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Yoshi Miago from Antioch, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed my new 15" JBL's in my suburban and can't believe how good they sound on just a 500 watt amp! I can put a lighter out sitting in my front seat and not even turned up halfway. Best deal I've ever found for hard hitting subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2015 HOme speaker
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
retired from Flag, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers worked great for our in-home system. We did not want anything that would be too loud and these were perfect. Installation was very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2013 Great subwoofer
17 of 34 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zach from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this sub for about 8 months and have had no problems at all. When i bought it it was only like $130 but now its $199. For what i paid it cant be beat. I also have 2 Memphis PR 15's and this JBL has much better sound quality. But for $200 i would probably buy a Type R. This sub is great though dont get me wrong. I have it in a ported Sonic sub box from this website as well. If it had a bigger box it would sound much better in my opinion.

Also i had about 400 watts going to it with my old amp and i knew it could take more so when i got my new amp i had it hooked up by its self getting about 700-800 watts and it took it well but it was definatly maxing out but no distortion. Great sub JBL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2015 Very Impressed
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brook from Palestine, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased two of these woofers for use in a small room EDM application. I mounted them in single 1.5 cu. ft. boxes and am running them in series at 8 ohms and have 800 watts of power going to each one. They pound the walls roof and floor quite well. I couldn't imagine how nice they would sound in a car? One would be sufficient, two would probably foam bile up your throat if you where driving a sub compact car! Just make sure you look for the RMS wattage on your amp and don't skimp on power!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2015 JBL 15 Inches Woofer
19 of 40 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Repair Studio and DJ Equipment 347-463-5990 from Brooklyn, New York NYC, No bench fee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Anyone looking for a four ohms fifteen inches woofer for a car, home or professional audio installation this is a good woofer to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2015 Early bird gets the worm.
20 of 42 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Shawn from Portville, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off. It says JBL right on the dust cap. It's beautiful and massive. I want to give a good review. But I don't have cons. It sounds deep rattles everything that gets in it's way and is not gonna cr*p out anytime soon. Runnin it on a 900 watt pioneer amp and it isn't a power hungry beast. Well my lights dim very badly but it is a fifteen. If you don't love bass please get the 12 of this series. This is for bass heads only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2011 Awesome sub!
15 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matt from Bentonville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought this sub and gotta say it is CRUSHINN! Had some JBL's about 6yrs ago and they were good then and they HIT still. For the price this is a hella deal. I've got in a ported custom box built to make my trunk area flush and its awesome. will definitely buy more of these. awesome product!! A++++

and this company will answer all ur questions about the sub and wiring suggestions. very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 nice subwoofer
13 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rashid from Kansas CityRaytown, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had two of these subwoofers and they really pound. I had them in a sealed enclosures and it was still shaking everything. This is a nice entry level subwoofer. Would reccomend this to anyone that us just getting into car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz