Showing 15 reviews for JBL GTO1214D

Customer Review Summary for JBL GTO1214D
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
73%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 3, 2012 Works like a champ
35 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jason from Moncton, NB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had one of these in my truck for a little over a month now. It's crazy loud, goes really low, and can handle a lot of power. I highly recommend this product! This is definitely the best sub at this price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2014 5 Stars without a doubt
33 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me cut to the chase here! These subs are the bomb! All of JBLs products are wickedley underrated! The old saying is "You get what you pay for" this is not the case at all here!! You get wayyyy more than what you pay for! I have two of these hooked up on a Kenwood Kac-9106d ( 1000 watts rms) at damn near full power! That's almost 500 w rms a piecmye! They're onlyrated at 350 w rms a piece I'm pretty sure you can do themath! Jus sayin this product is well worth the bread!!! You couldn't go wrong at allll!!! Very happy with the product! I will now shop at sonic anytime I need anything for my vehicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2015 Hits hard
14 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juice from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I unerder estimated these subs power these with the right amp and you'll
Be heard from a block away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2014 Sounds great
33 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Austin from Chattanooga, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sub for the money. It is well built. Not quite as potent as my Alpine Type R, but that was expected, and this is much cheaper than that subwoofer. It has good sound quality. Currectly running in a ported box at 34hz, but I think it would sound better sealed in my setup. Seems to be a bit power hungry. Good addition to any system, but don't expect to shake the block with only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2015 Not Bad for the Price
26 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
sirbOOm from Pantsareoptionalville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Powering one of these in a 1 cu. ft. sealed box at a 2-ohm final load to a PPI ION 5-channel theoretically providing 350 watts. While there is a clear difference in SQ compared to the very high-end subs in my other vehicle, this sub is a good performer (especially when factoring in price). I find them to be smooth, fast-acting overall, and it will get loud off of just "350 watts" (or whatever the little PPI ION realistically produces. At least in my box and vehicle with my amp, it doesn't get as low as I'd expect a 12" sub to go but everywhere else it's pretty flat and natural sounding. As for build/finishing quality, this is where I am not impressed. Properly built subwoofers will have a screw hole that is perfectly directly under the center of the dust cap when the logo is level. In my case, when the logo is level, the lowest screw is slightly to the right. In addition, the ribs on the cone also do not make sense. It is as if this wasn't assembled with alignment in mind. This is something I notice but nobody else will notice, I'm sure. I really don't get the continuing use of dual voice coils in car audio when a single voice coil can achieve the same thing, but the speaker wire terminals were of the banana plug screw down variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2011 Sounds awesome
36 of 69 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Barberton, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this in my 2010 Subaru Legacy to replace the horrible sounding factory Harman Kardon sub. This one is great, especially if you like SQ! Hits hard, fast, and you can feel it. Very accurate sound, and a great price! Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2009 Solid, powerful low end from JBL
32 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Darrin / C.Y. from Crestview, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I actually have two of the 8-ohm units run in parallel to a 4-ohm plate amp in my home entertainment center. The units do not benefit from the acoustics of an automobile; they have to fill my 435 square foot living room with bass from movie soundtracks and do a fantastic job of it!
PROS: They look great, they sound great, build quality is very, very nice and solid
CONS: none that I found

I would definitely buy these again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2015 love Jbl subs
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jonathon from Corry, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs hit hard. I have them in a sealed box and they pound. I am using them with a Crunch 3500.1 and I actuly need to do the Big Three Upgrade as well as a battery and alternator ugrade. I am wired in at 2 ohm and these subs are taking the hit. They sound awesome. DO NOT FORGET TO BREAK THEM IN PROPERLY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2010 these things rock
29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LONDOG from TULARE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these two subwoofers about a month ago been breaking them in. Today was the the first day that i cranked them up and they were slamming. they are hooked up to a soundstorm 2500 watt amp. These subs are GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2015 Excellent
10 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Tyler, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought one of these to replace 2 Kicker Comp10s that I've had for 4-5 yrs. I have it hooked up to 300w (Kicker ZX300.1) and this one pounds louder and sounds much smoother and much better overall than the Kickers did together. I absolutely love this subwoofer. What makes it better is I got this on a great deal (20% off $79). I cannot comment on durability as I haven't had it long. I would for sure recommend this subwoofer and Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2013 Best sounding subwoofer
31 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Pulse from Fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Over the last 7 years ive owned over 30 different brands, sizes and models of woofers. For 100 bucks this woofer will sound better, thump deeper and last longer then most within price range. @ 350 watts rms you can easily power two and quake the dead, If your looking for good juicy full thick lows, Heres your woofer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2010 Great Sound
34 of 69 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DAM from New Braunfels, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speaker has proven to be excellent quality and sound.
Well worth the purchase for those looking for a sub of this size.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2009 This is a great buy
29 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
#6 Bass Bro from West Hills, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This puppy, pushes 350RMS, I have two powered on a 1200 peak amp, they really get the job done, after a while you should turn it down though, because it gets extremely loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2011 It is GOOD
32 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mess from Odessa, Ukraine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome subwoofers! I have 2 of them and i put 900W -145 DB in 72 liters of box! My car is Nissan SILVIA S-13 (sound POWERED by Kixc 1900 amp. & 2 bat.-Optima Ellow top 55a & Stinger 1500
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2015 JBL. GTO1214d
12 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
sexyteo from south Dakota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product.
It has great sound easy to follow instructions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz