Showing 22 reviews for Infinity 682.9cf

Customer Review Summary for Infinity 682.9cf
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 68 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
32%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
August 10, 2011 Great for the price
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gil from Bradenton, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these for my 2011 F150. They were a massive upgrade from the stock garbage Ford put in there. I'm only running them off of the factory stereo, and they are loud and clear enough to make your ears hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2012 good speakers
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Grimshaw, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered 2 sets for my 2011 F150, front and back doors. First, hooked them up on stock head unit with no amp, and they definitely sounded much better than the stock junk speakers. Since then, I have them hooked up to an amp running about 85watt RMS to each, and they sound even better. Had them for over a year now and no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 Bass-y replacement speakers.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BeeMan458 from Magalia, CA (Sierras)
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers were purchased to replace a front/back set of speakers in a 99 F-250 King Cab. The speakers are being driven by a JVC KD-R810 receiver.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_21996_JVC-KD-R810.html

The truck is like most trucks, noisy and hard on sound quality. I find these speakers to be "very" bass-y. Being bass-y is both good and bad as it's hard to find a balance between sound enhancing bass and sound distorting bass; overriding the treble.

I find the highs to be clean but the equalizer has to be carefully set so the bass-y nature of the speakers doesn't overwhelm the treble as I have old man ears (I'm 59) and typically, old men lose the highs in their hearing so the highs have to be boosted via the equalizer to compensate for this natural hearing loss.

Overall, I find these to be pricey but with a sensitivity of 94db, a response range of 40Hz - 25,000Hz, an impedance of only 2 Ohms with an adjustable tweeter, I find these speakers to be well designed and very efficient so as to assure you'll get the most out typically underpowered, in-dash receivers like the one I have.

A word to the wise, these are "STIFF" speakers to they will take some time to break-in and become flexible or responsive to the signal you're going be feeding them. You need to give them a hundred hours or so of play time before they'll loosen up and come into their own. Also, I like how well they're designed to deal with the affects of door water that typically leaks into the doorway.

Hope the above helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2014 good speaker for the money
Review by
billyZ from mesa az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
hard to say since i don't have them hooked up to my amp right now. can't really hear mid range as compared to alpine type Rs. i haven't blown them yet so thats a good sign
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2014 Audiophile quality for entry level price.
Review by
alex from west fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far the 6*8 coaxial speakers sound great. I purchased these to go along with my front 6*8 component set in my ford focus. These are a great addition. One noticeable problem is that the tweeter was loose on one of the speakers and the only way to tighten the screw is to remove the sicker voiding the warranty. This series of infinity kappa's have very limited low end anything 80hz and below is quiet. If you adjust the bass higher on an equalizer the mids become muddy. If you plan on adding these to your car for more bass don't! You'll definitely need a sub. The quality and power handling of these is quite good but they are hungry. Factory radio power is not enough to get true definition. I have my front components currently hooked up to a 45 watt amp they sound crystal clear up until distortion. My rear coaxial are being powered by the an aftermarket pioneer head unit and they just can't keep up. I recommend you purchase an amp with these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2013 Decent
Review by
Matt from New Mexico, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The external thingy is annoying. Probably not a good option for doors.
I mounted them on the rear deck; no complaints otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 Good pick
Review by
Chadspeed from St joe, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers, much better than stock f250 speakers. Would be better on a amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 infinity door speakers
Review by
pipelinerz from fort collins co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are amazing and have great sound quality and clear percussions. Great deal for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2013 excellent product
Review by
fred from aberdeen wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
excellent sounding speaker. very clear with good bass. handles wide range of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2012 Good punch
Review by
Erik from Kristiansand, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers fit snuggly in my Mazda 6 2006 hatchback. I hooked these up with a 500 watt 4-channel amp which in turn is connected through the speaker level inputs to the stock head unit. It must be said that the sound quality from the stock non-bose head unit is extremely poor.
The speakers are nevertheless very responsive, crisp and punchy and they stay that way at any volume. Also the ability to rotate the tweeter proved to be a very useful feature. I'm sure that with a proper head unit these speakers would really shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2012 good speakers
Review by
Tecknodude180 from East Bethel, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are clean and loud hooked up to a Kenwood KDC-HD548U. I have them installed in an '06 Ford Crown Vic and they are loud, but not very much bass even though I have XTC 5" x 7" Foam Speaker Baffles installed behind the speakers.

If you're not worried about bass because you have subs to add to the set up, then these speakers will do just fine for ya. I would recommend using an amp to power these speakers, especially if you're running 500W RMS or more in your subs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2012 Dial them down on the high end....
Review by
Just me from Alpharetta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 4 of these for the 4 positions in my F150 std cab. I found the resulting image very muddled, and WAY too bright.

With some tuning however, the results are now very good.

The short version of my "formula" is to keep the door-mounted speakers as full range, with the tweeters set to the lower output setting on the units. The rear speakers are being used as subwoofers for the moment, crossed over at 80 hz, which I can easily set up by the Pioneer head unit I have.

The muddled imaging is Ford's problem due to speaker placement, but was underscored by the much increased presence and brightness of the Kappas. I could simply clearly hear the placement distortion issues I'd always had.

The brightness is easily controlled - I think again it's a function of what vehicle these will go into. If this was a large SUV with a much bigger internal volume, and speakers mounted low on the doors, the extra tweeter output would be welcome.

You can dial down what you have to fit, but you can't dial up what's not there. No points deduction for Infinity - this only means one can arrive at crisp clean highs and mids in about any vehicle, if one takes the effort to tune the results.

These don't have a profound low end, but that is again at least partly a Ford thing. The door and rear mounts have cutouts right by them, and also scattered near them, so you can't really get much bass from any speaker. It's like a free-air mount; the back waves cancel the front to some degree as they aren't seperated, so much of the bass is cancelled.

That said, it's ok, especially with the rears at least trying to help out.

Once they get back in stock (and one day they wil...) I will add a JL Audio CP108LG-W3v3 (8" sub-in-a-box), and a RF monoblock amp for real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2012 Great Speaker
Review by
Tyrone from Apo, AE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speaker, awesome sound and easy installation. Just pay attention where you mount the crossover module because I mounted it in the wrong place and my window damaged it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 nice
Review by
aaron from saint paul, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speakers, not much better than my factory's but a good price for a pair of infinites. Running them with a jvc avx77 in a 2k Lincoln LS, plan to install an amplifier as well, nice highs and decent lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2010 good
Review by
Kenneth from El Mirage, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good speakers for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2010 Good for the Highs
Review by
jsneed22 from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are pretty good although I'm not sure if its the amp or maybe I don't have it adjusted right but these speakers do what they are designed to do I hear sounds and instruments I could not hear with factories installed A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2010 Great sound..... low price
Review by
Rod L from Fayetteville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of Infinity Kappa 682.9cf in the rear of an '02 mustang and a pair of Infinity components(6830cs) in the front running off of a JL Audio 300/4 and they sound amazing. I would recommend these speakers to anyone who wants clean and brilliant highs. The only thing about these speakers that could be viewed as negative is they are not good with producing any bass, but I didn't get them for bass. I only wanted what they give me now, great sounding highs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2010 Good Value
Review by
MJ from New Orleans, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice highs, little lacking in midbass. Good value choice if you're pairing with aftermarket subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2010 I hope this isn't the case.
Review by
Max from Saint Paul, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are some good sounding speakers, quality construction for the most part. I bought 4 for my 95 T-Bird, and although I am very pleased with the sound, I do believe I'm starting to hear a bad buzz in the front right. I haven't checked to see if it's blown or has some separation or something, but it's not sounding good. I don't play my music too incredibly loud, and the bass isn't too bad. So if this isn't something other than a damaged speaker, then i am very displeased with the quality of these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2009 Good
Review by
Casey from Huntsville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great with an amp and the right HU. I would not recommend them for a factory stereo though. The highs are a little harsh, but they still sound good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2009 worth the money,great speakers
Review by
Timothy from Abington, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers sound great plenty of high range and just enough Bass. they fit perfectly and with the adapters I was able to use the factory wires without cutting anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 infinity kappa 682.9cf
Review by
Spencer from Ronald, Wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great speaker. My personal setup is two 6x8 infinities hooked up to a 440w amp, and two infinity 4 inch round dash speakers in a ranger. These speakers work great and are very crisp. They work great for country and classical music. I am personally going to put in a subwoofer to get the full body behind the music. If you are putting these in ranger, make sure to tighten down all of your panels and you should probably put sound deadening mat behind the speakers because there is alot of power with these speakers, they give a good punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz