Showing 43 reviews for Infinity Kappa 60.9cs

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 43 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
12%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Hard as hell to beat product

The pros. Once you adjust the DB bottom to - 6 db on the tweeters these infinity kappa 60.9cs will sing sweet music from your vehicle to your ears.who sad they didn't have bass or midbass. (Haters). For the size of a 6.5 diameter woofer there's plenty mid-bass . Keep in mind I just had my speakers installed today NO break in time and they sound wonderful. I listened to focal ps-165 which sound ONLY good if all your songs are just vocal or opera. Jazz blues funk or classic rock the infinity SMOKE them. JL audio c5-650 great speakers but seriously to damm over price. Alpine sr-60c damm good speakers for the money but the infinity sound and perform better. The cons if you don't adjust the DB level on the tweeters they sound harsh.

VS
Not the best for the price

Well i wanted something louder than my focal A1 and it is but not really as good a quality, so if u want something cheap buy it

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 1, 2014 Hard as hell to beat product
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gene from Woodbridge, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The pros. Once you adjust the DB bottom to - 6 db on the tweeters these infinity kappa 60.9cs will sing sweet music from your vehicle to your ears.who sad they didn't have bass or midbass. (Haters). For the size of a 6.5 diameter woofer there's plenty mid-bass . Keep in mind I just had my speakers installed today NO break in time and they sound wonderful. I listened to focal ps-165 which sound ONLY good if all your songs are just vocal or opera. Jazz blues funk or classic rock the infinity SMOKE them. JL audio c5-650 great speakers but seriously to damm over price. Alpine sr-60c damm good speakers for the money but the infinity sound and perform better. The cons if you don't adjust the DB level on the tweeters they sound harsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Excellent value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Toledo, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It seems a lot of people complain about the highs coming from the tweeters. Well buy a decent head unit and the right amp ,and that problem is easily fixed. When tuned right these speakers have great drive and fantastic highs! Just make sure you buy from sonic best prices and service I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2014 worth every penny!
Review by
gdglover1 from san marcos, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
totally pleased with the performance of the speakers! my only complaint is that i feel the wire connections on the tweeters couldve been done better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 Real SOUND!
Review by
euroro from EL PASO, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers whent into my 4runner, I wanted better sound and like all the instrumments in my music, I do not like to play my music too loud! The highs are perfect for my ears, I am 54 years old and I have been in the music/ nightclub industry in my younger years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2014 Crazy
Review by
Stefan from Parma Heights, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm happy and mad with these speakers. I'm happy because they have a lot of dynamic range. You wont want for bass or highs because they have enough of both so you can trim and tune for perfection. I'm mad for two reasons; 1. I wont have a reason to replace these speakers next year, they sound so good I'm gonna have to keep-em until they self destruct. 2. The tweeters are huge and the connector that hangs from the speaker is a bunch of baloney! be careful when choosing these speakers cause the tweeters should be installed in a bus. Seriously, unless you plan to cut and modify you may want to avoid these. You'll be hard pressed to get them into the pods that the factory has at the top of your door pannel next to the rearview mirror. It can be done but not easily. Then theres the connector that hangs from the speaker thats has no way of bolting to. It just flops in there and then rattles against the metal inside the door. I wrapped mine in foam and then taped them down. dont know how long that will last.

Overall these speakers are over engineered, you will love them but Harmon makes you pay for a bunch of stuff that half of us will never use. The intire time I was installing these speakers I kept wondering if the designer ever did an install? Did he ever stop to think about how size would be a factor? or did he think everyone would pay a pro to do the install?

My recommendation is to go to their web site and download the install manual and look at the size of the crossover and tweeter and the mounting hardware. then think about where your going to put it all. You may change your mind about buying these. If size isnt a factor or you know what your doing then these speakers will reward you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2014 Great mid bass
Review by
spencer from safford, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recomend these for the value I have done any better than this!
These are just ran off the kenwood head unit with no subs and they sound impressive I dont know what people are saying about not have any lows because we played some songs that I couldnt believe they kept of with the bass with with out sounding distorted...great buy, can only imagine what they would sound like on a good amp running active.

yes the tweeters are harsh at 6dbs and sound much better at -6, but its a push of a button on the crossover not with the complaint...I would like just a bit more tweet and usually run my tweeters at -3db so that would have been nice...these look very well put together and nothing felt cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2014 Not bad for the $
Review by
Old School Audio from Romulus , MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money they are a good sounding set, with a CLEAN amplifier. But absolutely NO COMPARISON TO FOCAL PS165. The review that was written comparing the two really isn't fair in two ways. The first, when comparing speakers it should be done with the same set up, head unit, amplifier, and so on. Second, the speakers are in two different price categories, & my personal opinion the older Infinity speakers beat them hands down in every category. For the money l think these are one of the better sounding in this price range, if you can hold out and save a little more I strongly recommend the Focal's, or the Rockford T1's or T2's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2014 good deal for a good product.
Review by
cholo from Diboll, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product because of its clear crisp sound. When I do installation I always recommend this brand to my customers. I always put this brand in my vehicles to demonstrate the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Awesome components
Review by
Tj from Chesapeake, Virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These components can take an insane amount of power while still sounding great. Excellent price for what these 6.5's can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 1st day impressions
Review by
07hwkeye from Glendale, AZ.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a pair of the kappa60.9cs installed today, amp of choice jx360/2. I'm very impressed, I'm literally grinning ear to ear typing this review. As most have noted, the tweeters are bright. However, I like it bright. Not at all harsh, at least for my hearing preferences. The mid-bass preforms well and helps fill in the notes the sub can't hit. All in all I'm extremely satisfied...so far.
Note** only 1 star for durability, speakers installed today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2013 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Steve from Buffalo, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great. I made up some speaker boxes and i am using them in my boat cabin of my 28 ft. Searay. The sound out of these speakers blew my polks away. The only difficult part was wiring the tweeter and mounting the crossover in the speaker box. But well worth the extra time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2013 Great speakers for the price.
Review by
brett from Gig Harbor, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good quality sound. Not a high end speaker, but great sound for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2013 You got to allow room
Review by
ComaBlack1969 from Louisville Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these for my 2010 Kia Forte Koup a week ago and installed them. This website said they would fit no problem... Big problem! The magnets on them extended so far I couldnt even roll my window down half way. But with some power tools and thinking, I was able to intall them by making my door speaker well deeper by pushing them out and fastening them to the door. So the protrude out a bit but looks plush with the car door, Wish I could upload a picture. But they sound great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 No Bass
Review by
RONALD from FREMONT, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this for my HD Street glide and I did not like the outcome. No bass and very harsh when you turn up the volume, too much highs. Tweets were too big and hard to mount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Tyler from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought these components because I had Infinity reference coaxials in the front of my car, I put the coaxials in the rear and these component woofers in the front. I had to cut a hole to mount the tweeter but I already had that planned the the crossover fit perfect inside my door panel. These are not amped they are just hooked up to the head unit. Since these tweeters can handle up to 35kHz, they produce VERY loud frequencies and make my ears ring for a long time without listening to a complete song. My head unit is set at Sub: 10, Bass: -2, Treble: 7. You cannot go wrong with infinity they have amazing quality and a 3 year warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2012 Better can be had
Review by
Tony from High Point, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Where to begin... This is definitely one of the poorer performing component sets that I have ever owned. The tweeters are extremely bright sounding, almost to the point of having a "piercing" sound to them. Not to mention the size is a bit awkward. As well, the connection points for the tweets are very difficult to use since it requires a nearly microscopic sized alan wrench. This makes it very difficult to establish a secure connection when using anything larger than 18 gauge wire, when can be a problem when trying to maintain a fluid wiring look for your install.
Onto the mids. On two separate occasions I had one of my midrange driver fail. The spider separated completely from the base of the speaker. This was not done from overpowering, or excessive heat, but the glue joints just undid themselves; in the springtime no less. Additionally, the mounting brackets that come with this set, did not fit either of my two vehicles, therefore I had to resort to making custom MDF spacers in order to make a secure mount. Really the only positive to this set is the fact that they come in a two ohm configuration. Aside from that, I can't think of anything positive to write about. I most certainly would not get another set, or recommend them. I understand that this is an entry-line offering from Infinity, yet other companies offer entry-level components at the same price point that are made of a much better quality and much more user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 CLARITY!!!
Review by
Ez-G from Tyler, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These components are have the most clarity possible unless you want to spend over $500 for just a pair midrange speakers. They handle a decent amount of power too! With the Kappa 6x9s too paired with my Boston 704 mids and highs amp I have sound that goes farrrr over a football field away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2012 Kappa Compenents
Review by
Dennis from Durango, Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these about 4 months ago running off a Rockford Fosgate P400-4 amplifier. Let me start off by saying that the tweeters are huge! Seriously, do not expect to be able to fit these in factory tweeter locations without a good amount of modification (that's why I gave them 3 stars on ease of use). I ended up just cutting holes in my doors and mounting them in the swivel mounts (which are awesome for pointing them any direction you want) but the tweeters are amazing, voices sound great and I never hear any of that strong horrible "ssss" sound with S's that most tweeters do. I have them set to -6 on the crossover and they sound magnificent. I hear many tones other tweeters totally miss out on.

On to the speaker, it has a very large magnet and the cone is made out of nice woven material. The speaker does go pretty deep in the door panel so make sure you measure how much depth you have to work with before you buy. The mid bass was lacking at first, but after the speaker breaks in a bit it has great mid bass. I have subwoofers so I can't comment on bass reproduction, but these keep up with my Sundown SA-12's on 2000 watts all day long. I have all Infinity speakers in my car and they sound amazing. To the people who think I'm just nuthugging Infinity, last weekend I won 1st place in Sound Quality at the Texas Showdown car show. The judge pointed specifically at these components and told me he was "very impressed" with them.

All I have to say for the people that are not getting the quality sound these can produce, mess with the settings on your amplifier/head unit. Use the High Pass Filter on your deck, mess with every little detail in the "Settings" menu until it is perfect. I have my mids boosted at 500 hertz and it made such a difference from the factory settings.

One last note, if you don't have an amplifier to power these, don't even bother buying them. If you're looking for components to be powered off just a head unit, look for speakers in the 25-40 watt RMS range. These will not sound good off just a head unit. Hope this review helped, I love these components. I put the Value at 4 stars because $200 is a LOT of money! But hey if you have the money and a 4 channel amp go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2012 to infinity and beyond
Review by
Amanda from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Infinity had went beyond what most brands do... These are amazing they are so fresh and so clean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2011 Amazing
Review by
scott from parma, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are for sure the best crisp sounding component speakers I've ever heard and prety loud to I would definetly recommend these after hearing these Infinity speakers are the only speakers il buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 loud and crisp
Review by
Jacob from Fishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers lil deeper than i thought just had to use an extra spacer for each door speaker but besides that theses shake my mirrors even with it at -6db and havent been able to put them to their max output makes my ears ring half way up...couldnt pass up a great deal from sonicelectronix....CFL (customer for life)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2011 Large, Bright Tweeters
Review by
Joseph from Downers Grove, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First, I want to say these are extremely good 6.5" drivers for the cost; well worth it if you have the room for them. Great bass response and mid range. Great looking product.

Secondly-- importantly-- all of the components are very large compared to their peers. If you think you may have limited space, this probably is not the kit for you. The tweeters are so large and deep, they make a hard fit. They are extremely bright and I have my tuned down -6db. The crossovers are way large. The drivers are larger than your typical 6.5"-- I'd say a true 6.75"+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Great clarity, quality and value. Not perfect though.
Review by
Andrew from Nashville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall, a really nice set of components for the price. Quality seems great. Mid to highs are very clear and precise, but as other reviewers mentioned, the highs (S's especially) can be a little harsh at times, even with the -6db mute button pressed on the crossover. The tweeter body's and mounting cups are rather large, which may or may not limit your mounting locations. It forced me to put mine in the door panel, which could explain some of the harshness due to poor angle. They are listed as 2 ohm impedance, but like one reviewer mentioned mine are ~3.2ohms at the speaker, and a little more when measured through the speaker wire. The crossovers are really nice... count on losing that tiny hex key though. These things shine with a little juice... it would be a great injustice to power these by the headunit or a poor quality cheap amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2011 First set of Components
Review by
Sean from Cleveland, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You should all be aware that this set of component speakers is the first I have ever installed, and the first that haave been installed in this car. I would rather talk about Inifinity as a brand. The Kappa series of Infinity uses quality material which translates into clear precise sound. I have a lot of tuning capability in my car ( AudioControl DQXS), but even when I hook these speakers up to my 5 Band EQ headunit you can hear the quality resonating from these speakers. If you are looking for quality over quanitity, I would suggest these speakers. The RMS rating is higher or as high as most component speaker sets in this price range. I have 150 watts RMS going to each set of woofer and tweeter. With plenty of power you can hear these speakers at their peak. Higher volumes you begin to get distortio, vibration..etc., but if you do not plan on dynamating your doors than you will get background noise like that regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Chris from Roseburg, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced my Fosgate Punch components, this is an amazing upgrade! much better sound quality and the speakers are 2.6 Ohms so your amp is going to push more power (if it is rated) I would recomend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2011 Infinity kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Jmoney from Westwood, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in the front and rear doors in a Chevy Tahoe. They are powered by a Kenwood Kac 8405 and they sound great(not even tunes yet).

Pro. Great sound and complements the Alpine Type X I have
Con. Tweeter input requires a microscopic allen key that if you loose ur in trouble.

Im going to be putting these in my kickpannels and maybe some 4 inch kappas with the treeter in my a pillers. will definately recommend. Especially send SonicElectronix more business, the prices are great and shipping is on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2011 Kappa sound is brilliant... make no mistake
Review by
Beau from Ashland City, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Kappa components sound a lot "brighter" than my old Polk Audio set. Very detailed and crisp sound for the money. I have not found the tweeters to sound harsh.. It's all in the location/angle you have them mounted, besides there is that 6 db mute button on the X-over if desired to use, but I like the sound without it. These crossovers are quality built and look great. If you know what you're doing and have installed components before, you'll be happy with these. Keep them out of direct sunlight if your car is parked in the sun all week long. A towel works fine to protect them from UV rays. Click "add to cart." and you'll enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2010 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs Review
Review by
Beav from Salina,Ks.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned several different models in the kappa line over the years and these are the least satisfying tweeters. They have a really harsh sound to them with no clarity. I would not recommend at all for sound quality. Good midrange sound and durable components that play very loud. They also have a very large tweeter which is difficult to mount due to depth and diameter otherwise I would give design and features a five star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2010 Nice Sound. Really Loud.
Review by
Luis from Laredo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned many other brands of car audio but these just blow them away. The highs are at times a bit too much but the clarity is just incredible. I can hear melodies I never heard before. I would recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 Best sound possible!!!!
Review by
Hugo from Caguas, 0, Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this component speakers, absolutely.

Great mid bass and highs are awesome.

Best option for your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2010 Good highs & Midrange.......
Review by
chris from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just want to clear up the fact that these speakers are listed as 2ohm on most web sites and when you get them they say 4ohm on the box. The fact is they are 3ohm give or take .4ohm, tested with a Fluke multi-meter. I mention this because a low quality amp or even mid-line amp may cut off and heat up at higher volume even if the MFG says they work with 2ohm. The speakers sound very good at high volume and I recommend you get the Infinity Kappa 4 amp to go with these puppys. They have very rich highs. Anyone who has owned Infinity speakers for car or home know the quality. I would recommned this product for mid to high systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2010 very high quality
Review by
shawn from Manvel, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers are of impressive quality. And they can handle high watts, i have a kicker 350.4 bridged to 2-ch pushing a pair of these. They even sound better than the 6.5 jbl gti speakers i had hooked up and that's the top of the line jbls! Plus they look as cool as they sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2010 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
vwbum1 from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I installed the tweeters in some custom A pillar pods and the mids in the doors in my 94 silverado ext cab. I found the tweeters to be overpowering in relation to the mids even with the -6db switch activated on the x-over. I remounted them in some plates to fit in the factory dash location and have them firing towards the rear view mirror and the -6db switch still on. Huge difference! very well balanced and surprisingly the imaging was still quite good. They fit the Infinity reputation of good, accurate sound reproduction. They are only running on the deck power of an Alpine 9886 right now, but they are very clear and full sounding at a moderate volume level. I can't wait to amp them.

The tweeter mounting hardware is VERY big for only having a 1" dome. Mounting locations are very limited. They do have the capability of pivoting a large degree in their pods, so that helps. The grills for the mids look very nice and upscale, but do not blend in with the interior very well. They kind of look aftermarket. The tweeters look stupid to me. They are now hidden under the factory speaker grills, so now it doesn't matter.

Don't let the "Engineered in the USA" label throw you off. They may be "engineered" in the US, but they are unfortunately made in China like most everything else (like my Alpine deck). However, the quality seems to be well controlled. They look well built and so far have lived up to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2010 Awesome Sounding Speakers
Review by
Mikee Mike from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really love these speakers. When you adjust the sound from your head unit, you can make these speakers truly shine. They have right amount of bass, midrange, and highs too. They are a bit bright, but like I said, you adjust it with your head unit, and it takes care of itself. The crossover also has a -6db switch on it (most of them that have an attenuator on it usually has it to -3db). As a result, you can make them sizzle, you can make them sound very flat, or custom tune it to your liking.
The only thing I do not like about these is just cosmetic. The tweeters are rather big. I don't care for the chrome grilles on the tweeters either. This should not deter you from giving these a test drive though. For the price of these speakers, they are truly hard to beat. I have a Kicker 5 channel amp that yields 70 watts in to each channel, but because these speakers are 2 ohm speakers (another huge plus), I can get 90 watts RMS from my Kicker amp. More volume, less distortion, better clarity are the result. I do not know how these sound without an amplifier, but IMO, if you are going to go with components, then why are you running them off of deck power???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2009 Great value and sound
Review by
Ben from Easton, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great upgrade from factory speakers especially for 2 ohm Bose speakers. The quality is top notch. The highs are smooth. Base response is good. Sound quality improves immensely with an amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2009 Sound Fantastic!....but
Review by
PbFlinger from West central Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had these in the front doors of my Chevy crew cab for about 6 months. They sound FANTASTIC! Very accurate & natural sound. Loud enough to scare my wife even though powered by OEM head unit (the 2 ohm impedance really helps here). The tweets are smooth & sparkling to my ears-very good (I set my crosovers flat on the tweeter EQ). Lots of supplied adapters for many mounting options. HOWEVER-I did not give these 5 stars because the wire terminals on the tweeters have allen set screws that are smaller than the screws in a pair of eyeglasses (1.0 or so mm, don't remember). They are so tiny that it is impossible to get any meaningful torque on them before the (supplied) allen wrench rounds the flats (partially because of the crappy metal EVERYTHING from China is made from). I have had to disassemble my door panels several times to retighten them-a MAJOR pain. I wound up buying a new wrench, putting some valve grinding compound on the wrench for grip, and using some blue loctite on the screw threads. They cannot be soldered because of the design. I have been a professional aircraft mechanic for 25 years, so all of this wasn't that big of a deal for me, but an inexperienced installer might have a problem getting a good connection. They sound so good that at this price it's worth the hassle, but it would have been SO easy to make them with some proper terminals. All of this being said I am buying another set for my son's car. SONIC ELECTRONIX SERVICE ROCKS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2009 Great for the price
Review by
Anthony from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these sets in my eagle talon (along with 1 alpine spr-17ref set) and the midbass speakers can produce good sound quality at high levels. I have them crossed over really low n they can handle the sound range. The tweeters can be harsh if not tuned correctly. Overall a good component set for the price. Plus ther american speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2009 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
dizzle from Chi Town, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got them from sonic and installed them. I knew infinity was known for good car speakers, but these and the Infinity Kappa 693.9I 6x9s together make my music sound 100 times better than any speakers i have ever owned!!!!! just buy them and the Infinity Kappa 693.9I 6x9s and you will be happy!!!! just buy them!!! and buy a really good amp (kappa 4 channel) they need power!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Jason from Luling, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this component system in my Honda Prelude for about six month. Infinity makes phenomenal speakers for the price and this set is no exception. I have the speakers powered by a Power Acoustic 4 channel amp rated at 100 watts to 4 channels @2 ohms and an Alpine head unit. The tweeters scream and the woofers produce adequate mid bass. I would recommend a better amplifier for these speakers, but they still perform well for receiving power from small and cheap amp. Kudos to Infinity for a great product and to Sonic for a great price and speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2008 EXELENT Sound
Review by
Austin from Mandan, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these speakers. Thats how simple it is. Bye them, bye them NOW. you will not regret it. They sound amazing and I highly recomend pushing these with a good amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2008 great speakers
Review by
dan from fairbanks, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers have wonderful sound quality, and can handle all the power you want to throw at them. I have a set of these in my Yukon,and they sound fantastic. I am pushing them with a Hifonics 5 channel 740 watt amp hooked to an eclipse 5000. the mid bass woofers pound out some serious bass and the tweeters are accurate and ear shattering. as a side comment make sure that when you buy this product, you are prepared to spend some time on install, because the tweeters are mammoth in size, check them out at the infinity site. I had to flush mount them in holes I cut in my doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 VERY GOOD SPEAKER
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
CHARLES from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I always like infinity speaker, 2yraers ago my truck got stolen, they took everything. Started shopping around and found Sonic Eletronix online. God bless me in this direction now i get all my stuff from them. These speaker are on hit, great value at great price.

Thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2010 Not the best for the price
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
fotis from athens, Greece
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well i wanted something louder than my focal A1 and it is but not really as good a quality, so if u want something cheap buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz