Showing 31 reviews for Infinity Kappa 60.9cs

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 42 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
12%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.5
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 1, 2014 Hard as hell to beat product
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gene from Woodbridge, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The pros. Once you adjust the DB bottom to - 6 db on the tweeters these infinity kappa 60.9cs will sing sweet music from your vehicle to your ears.who sad they didn't have bass or midbass. (Haters). For the size of a 6.5 diameter woofer there's plenty mid-bass . Keep in mind I just had my speakers installed today NO break in time and they sound wonderful. I listened to focal ps-165 which sound ONLY good if all your songs are just vocal or opera. Jazz blues funk or classic rock the infinity SMOKE them. JL audio c5-650 great speakers but seriously to damm over price. Alpine sr-60c damm good speakers for the money but the infinity sound and perform better. The cons if you don't adjust the DB level on the tweeters they sound harsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Excellent value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Toledo, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It seems a lot of people complain about the highs coming from the tweeters. Well buy a decent head unit and the right amp ,and that problem is easily fixed. When tuned right these speakers have great drive and fantastic highs! Just make sure you buy from sonic best prices and service I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 Real SOUND!
Review by
euroro from EL PASO, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers whent into my 4runner, I wanted better sound and like all the instrumments in my music, I do not like to play my music too loud! The highs are perfect for my ears, I am 54 years old and I have been in the music/ nightclub industry in my younger years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2014 Great mid bass
Review by
spencer from safford, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recomend these for the value I have done any better than this!
These are just ran off the kenwood head unit with no subs and they sound impressive I dont know what people are saying about not have any lows because we played some songs that I couldnt believe they kept of with the bass with with out sounding distorted...great buy, can only imagine what they would sound like on a good amp running active.

yes the tweeters are harsh at 6dbs and sound much better at -6, but its a push of a button on the crossover not with the complaint...I would like just a bit more tweet and usually run my tweeters at -3db so that would have been nice...these look very well put together and nothing felt cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2014 good deal for a good product.
Review by
cholo from Diboll, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product because of its clear crisp sound. When I do installation I always recommend this brand to my customers. I always put this brand in my vehicles to demonstrate the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Awesome components
Review by
Tj from Chesapeake, Virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These components can take an insane amount of power while still sounding great. Excellent price for what these 6.5's can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 1st day impressions
Review by
07hwkeye from Glendale, AZ.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a pair of the kappa60.9cs installed today, amp of choice jx360/2. I'm very impressed, I'm literally grinning ear to ear typing this review. As most have noted, the tweeters are bright. However, I like it bright. Not at all harsh, at least for my hearing preferences. The mid-bass preforms well and helps fill in the notes the sub can't hit. All in all I'm extremely satisfied...so far.
Note** only 1 star for durability, speakers installed today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2013 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Steve from Buffalo, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great. I made up some speaker boxes and i am using them in my boat cabin of my 28 ft. Searay. The sound out of these speakers blew my polks away. The only difficult part was wiring the tweeter and mounting the crossover in the speaker box. But well worth the extra time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2013 Great speakers for the price.
Review by
brett from Gig Harbor, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good quality sound. Not a high end speaker, but great sound for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2013 You got to allow room
Review by
ComaBlack1969 from Louisville Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these for my 2010 Kia Forte Koup a week ago and installed them. This website said they would fit no problem... Big problem! The magnets on them extended so far I couldnt even roll my window down half way. But with some power tools and thinking, I was able to intall them by making my door speaker well deeper by pushing them out and fastening them to the door. So the protrude out a bit but looks plush with the car door, Wish I could upload a picture. But they sound great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Tyler from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought these components because I had Infinity reference coaxials in the front of my car, I put the coaxials in the rear and these component woofers in the front. I had to cut a hole to mount the tweeter but I already had that planned the the crossover fit perfect inside my door panel. These are not amped they are just hooked up to the head unit. Since these tweeters can handle up to 35kHz, they produce VERY loud frequencies and make my ears ring for a long time without listening to a complete song. My head unit is set at Sub: 10, Bass: -2, Treble: 7. You cannot go wrong with infinity they have amazing quality and a 3 year warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 CLARITY!!!
Review by
Ez-G from Tyler, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These components are have the most clarity possible unless you want to spend over $500 for just a pair midrange speakers. They handle a decent amount of power too! With the Kappa 6x9s too paired with my Boston 704 mids and highs amp I have sound that goes farrrr over a football field away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2012 Kappa Compenents
Review by
Dennis from Durango, Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these about 4 months ago running off a Rockford Fosgate P400-4 amplifier. Let me start off by saying that the tweeters are huge! Seriously, do not expect to be able to fit these in factory tweeter locations without a good amount of modification (that's why I gave them 3 stars on ease of use). I ended up just cutting holes in my doors and mounting them in the swivel mounts (which are awesome for pointing them any direction you want) but the tweeters are amazing, voices sound great and I never hear any of that strong horrible "ssss" sound with S's that most tweeters do. I have them set to -6 on the crossover and they sound magnificent. I hear many tones other tweeters totally miss out on.

On to the speaker, it has a very large magnet and the cone is made out of nice woven material. The speaker does go pretty deep in the door panel so make sure you measure how much depth you have to work with before you buy. The mid bass was lacking at first, but after the speaker breaks in a bit it has great mid bass. I have subwoofers so I can't comment on bass reproduction, but these keep up with my Sundown SA-12's on 2000 watts all day long. I have all Infinity speakers in my car and they sound amazing. To the people who think I'm just nuthugging Infinity, last weekend I won 1st place in Sound Quality at the Texas Showdown car show. The judge pointed specifically at these components and told me he was "very impressed" with them.

All I have to say for the people that are not getting the quality sound these can produce, mess with the settings on your amplifier/head unit. Use the High Pass Filter on your deck, mess with every little detail in the "Settings" menu until it is perfect. I have my mids boosted at 500 hertz and it made such a difference from the factory settings.

One last note, if you don't have an amplifier to power these, don't even bother buying them. If you're looking for components to be powered off just a head unit, look for speakers in the 25-40 watt RMS range. These will not sound good off just a head unit. Hope this review helped, I love these components. I put the Value at 4 stars because $200 is a LOT of money! But hey if you have the money and a 4 channel amp go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2012 to infinity and beyond
Review by
Amanda from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Infinity had went beyond what most brands do... These are amazing they are so fresh and so clean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2011 Amazing
Review by
scott from parma, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are for sure the best crisp sounding component speakers I've ever heard and prety loud to I would definetly recommend these after hearing these Infinity speakers are the only speakers il buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 loud and crisp
Review by
Jacob from Fishers, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers lil deeper than i thought just had to use an extra spacer for each door speaker but besides that theses shake my mirrors even with it at -6db and havent been able to put them to their max output makes my ears ring half way up...couldnt pass up a great deal from sonicelectronix....CFL (customer for life)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2011 First set of Components
Review by
Sean from Cleveland, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You should all be aware that this set of component speakers is the first I have ever installed, and the first that haave been installed in this car. I would rather talk about Inifinity as a brand. The Kappa series of Infinity uses quality material which translates into clear precise sound. I have a lot of tuning capability in my car ( AudioControl DQXS), but even when I hook these speakers up to my 5 Band EQ headunit you can hear the quality resonating from these speakers. If you are looking for quality over quanitity, I would suggest these speakers. The RMS rating is higher or as high as most component speaker sets in this price range. I have 150 watts RMS going to each set of woofer and tweeter. With plenty of power you can hear these speakers at their peak. Higher volumes you begin to get distortio, vibration..etc., but if you do not plan on dynamating your doors than you will get background noise like that regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Chris from Roseburg, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced my Fosgate Punch components, this is an amazing upgrade! much better sound quality and the speakers are 2.6 Ohms so your amp is going to push more power (if it is rated) I would recomend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2011 Infinity kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Jmoney from Westwood, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in the front and rear doors in a Chevy Tahoe. They are powered by a Kenwood Kac 8405 and they sound great(not even tunes yet).

Pro. Great sound and complements the Alpine Type X I have
Con. Tweeter input requires a microscopic allen key that if you loose ur in trouble.

Im going to be putting these in my kickpannels and maybe some 4 inch kappas with the treeter in my a pillers. will definately recommend. Especially send SonicElectronix more business, the prices are great and shipping is on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2011 Kappa sound is brilliant... make no mistake
Review by
Beau from Ashland City, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Kappa components sound a lot "brighter" than my old Polk Audio set. Very detailed and crisp sound for the money. I have not found the tweeters to sound harsh.. It's all in the location/angle you have them mounted, besides there is that 6 db mute button on the X-over if desired to use, but I like the sound without it. These crossovers are quality built and look great. If you know what you're doing and have installed components before, you'll be happy with these. Keep them out of direct sunlight if your car is parked in the sun all week long. A towel works fine to protect them from UV rays. Click "add to cart." and you'll enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2010 Nice Sound. Really Loud.
Review by
Luis from Laredo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned many other brands of car audio but these just blow them away. The highs are at times a bit too much but the clarity is just incredible. I can hear melodies I never heard before. I would recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 Best sound possible!!!!
Review by
Hugo from Caguas, 0, Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this component speakers, absolutely.

Great mid bass and highs are awesome.

Best option for your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2010 Good highs & Midrange.......
Review by
chris from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just want to clear up the fact that these speakers are listed as 2ohm on most web sites and when you get them they say 4ohm on the box. The fact is they are 3ohm give or take .4ohm, tested with a Fluke multi-meter. I mention this because a low quality amp or even mid-line amp may cut off and heat up at higher volume even if the MFG says they work with 2ohm. The speakers sound very good at high volume and I recommend you get the Infinity Kappa 4 amp to go with these puppys. They have very rich highs. Anyone who has owned Infinity speakers for car or home know the quality. I would recommned this product for mid to high systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2010 very high quality
Review by
shawn from Manvel, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these speakers are of impressive quality. And they can handle high watts, i have a kicker 350.4 bridged to 2-ch pushing a pair of these. They even sound better than the 6.5 jbl gti speakers i had hooked up and that's the top of the line jbls! Plus they look as cool as they sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2010 Awesome Sounding Speakers
Review by
Mikee Mike from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really love these speakers. When you adjust the sound from your head unit, you can make these speakers truly shine. They have right amount of bass, midrange, and highs too. They are a bit bright, but like I said, you adjust it with your head unit, and it takes care of itself. The crossover also has a -6db switch on it (most of them that have an attenuator on it usually has it to -3db). As a result, you can make them sizzle, you can make them sound very flat, or custom tune it to your liking.
The only thing I do not like about these is just cosmetic. The tweeters are rather big. I don't care for the chrome grilles on the tweeters either. This should not deter you from giving these a test drive though. For the price of these speakers, they are truly hard to beat. I have a Kicker 5 channel amp that yields 70 watts in to each channel, but because these speakers are 2 ohm speakers (another huge plus), I can get 90 watts RMS from my Kicker amp. More volume, less distortion, better clarity are the result. I do not know how these sound without an amplifier, but IMO, if you are going to go with components, then why are you running them off of deck power???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2009 Great value and sound
Review by
Ben from Easton, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great upgrade from factory speakers especially for 2 ohm Bose speakers. The quality is top notch. The highs are smooth. Base response is good. Sound quality improves immensely with an amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2009 Infinity Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
dizzle from Chi Town, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got them from sonic and installed them. I knew infinity was known for good car speakers, but these and the Infinity Kappa 693.9I 6x9s together make my music sound 100 times better than any speakers i have ever owned!!!!! just buy them and the Infinity Kappa 693.9I 6x9s and you will be happy!!!! just buy them!!! and buy a really good amp (kappa 4 channel) they need power!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 Kappa 60.9cs
Review by
Jason from Luling, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this component system in my Honda Prelude for about six month. Infinity makes phenomenal speakers for the price and this set is no exception. I have the speakers powered by a Power Acoustic 4 channel amp rated at 100 watts to 4 channels @2 ohms and an Alpine head unit. The tweeters scream and the woofers produce adequate mid bass. I would recommend a better amplifier for these speakers, but they still perform well for receiving power from small and cheap amp. Kudos to Infinity for a great product and to Sonic for a great price and speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2008 EXELENT Sound
Review by
Austin from Mandan, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these speakers. Thats how simple it is. Bye them, bye them NOW. you will not regret it. They sound amazing and I highly recomend pushing these with a good amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2008 great speakers
Review by
dan from fairbanks, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers have wonderful sound quality, and can handle all the power you want to throw at them. I have a set of these in my Yukon,and they sound fantastic. I am pushing them with a Hifonics 5 channel 740 watt amp hooked to an eclipse 5000. the mid bass woofers pound out some serious bass and the tweeters are accurate and ear shattering. as a side comment make sure that when you buy this product, you are prepared to spend some time on install, because the tweeters are mammoth in size, check them out at the infinity site. I had to flush mount them in holes I cut in my doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 VERY GOOD SPEAKER
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
CHARLES from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I always like infinity speaker, 2yraers ago my truck got stolen, they took everything. Started shopping around and found Sonic Eletronix online. God bless me in this direction now i get all my stuff from them. These speaker are on hit, great value at great price.

Thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz