Showing 20 reviews for Infinity Kappa 680.9cs

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Kappa 680.9cs
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
95%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.4
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 15, 2012 terrible service
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jjandros from Raleigh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are going to under power these speakers then you should be fine. However, my personal experience with this product has been pretty awful. I've had these speakers running at 90 watt rms each for about three weeks. I Never turn my volume all the way up and yet the tweeters already sound terrible. I usually listen to my radio at about 40-50% volume. The first week I had these speakers they worked outstanding. However, after about a week I started to here a baffle, I thought it might be a panel shaking so I forgot about it. I'm now at the three week mark after install and the tweeters sound awful. When a song with no bass comes on it's fine but when something like "Candy Shop" for example comes on it's distorted and crackles. I'm running 682.9cf in the rear and this has lasted 8 months so far (pretty nice product). My real beef has to be with the service. SAVE YOUR RECIEPT! There's always a fine print with warrantys and Infinity is no different. I ordered these componenets a few months ago and installed three weeks ago after getting the car all set up. I beleive that either the crossovers or the tweeters are bad (probably the filter on the crossover). However, Infinity doesn't do replacements, only the dealer you buy it from. And they can't sell replecement parts such as just the crossovers and tweeters. The 680.9cs has it's pros and cons. The woofer design is amazing and gives great mids! However, the crossover is huge and gives the tweeter too much low frequency which destroyed my tweeters. I recommend the 682.9cf by Infinity If your looking for good sound without a headache. It's cheaper, sound just as good and I havn't had a problem with them after 8 months of being amped to the RMS spec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2013 SO LOUD AND CLEAR!!! :-o
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eddie Gtz from Laredo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THESE COMPONENTS ARE AMAZING! I have 2 sets of these on a 2005 Lincoln LS, and may I say, WOW!! they are very power hungy, I have them hooked up to an Infinty kappa four amp.. I would highly recommend this product.. The tweeters are pretty big so mounting space may be an issue.. but overall these Speakers are Loud and Clear and the price is awesome.. thanks, Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2013 Great value!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex T from west fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sounding speakers for the price I already reviewed this earlier I am the Alex T from west fargo. These speakers still sound great. They work well even in extremely cold temperatures. They still have great mids and highs without a change in sound depending on the temp! With the lower impedance and high sensitivity these get loud with little power! I love these and if i had the money i would install them for my rear door speakers! The bass response is still limited but they are good down to about 80hz. Im sure these would be much more bassy in a rear deck of a car instead of doors. As i mentioned earlier tweeters are hard to install but the wires haven't fallen out yet so the tiny screws seem to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2012 Crisp clear good value
Review by
Alex T from West Fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are amazing for the price. i bought them when they were 180$ and that was a good deal. These are comparable to speakers in the 300-400$ range. If you plan on replacing factory speakers without installing a subwoofer might want to think otherwise. Bass response under 100hz is weak. Tweeters are large yes but if i can make them fit in my ford focus you can probably fit them in your car with a little modification. Only complaint is that the terminals on the tweeters have extremely tiny screws and its difficult to screw in the wires without striping the screws. Have them powered off of a pioneer head unit it works great. Definitely buy these are worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2012 kappa 5x7
Review by
brino from columbia,mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers are by far the best I have ever bought. I had the 68.2 kicker components an they do not stand a chance against the kappas. The only I would change is put a bigger set screw on twetters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 Infinity Kappa 680.9cs SPEAKERS
Review by
kiwi from ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these speaker for my Escape and puchaced a new Stereo
What great sound would recomened these speakers to any one who want great sound tweeters are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2012 Crisp and clear
Review by
Hammered 150 from Watsonville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are crisp clean and clear even at high volume levels. Would recommend them to anyone who loves clean highs and clear
mids. Perfect fit in my 2009 f150. Would have preferred a bigger set screw on the tweeters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Best for the money
Review by
Mike from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have tried many different speakers over the years and for the money these are simply amazing. Great clarity, power handling, and value. The tweeters are a tad large compared to some and the crossover are a bit bulky but all hid in the door panels fine with some thought. I would get them again without hesitation. I have 5x7 components with 90 rms to each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 still going strong
Review by
Stephen from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers, great seperations all around excellent sound. You must have at least the rated power to push them. Very happy with what i have. I wish they (infinity) will find a way to get more sound out but, so far its great. If and when they manage to do that, more sound that is, i will be the first ordering them. There is always the need for more clean mid bass, without having to modify your vehicle. You people in engineering, get to work!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 I'm impressed!
Review by
Spungus X from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wow, I'm very impressed! Sound nearly, if not just, as good as the Diamond Audio Hex's in my other car. Better bass than the Diamonds (both Miata's so this is a true apples to apples comparison). Keep in mind, this review is after hearing the speakers the first time after my purchase. They will sound better after they break in. The size of the tweeters made the install tricky; nothing a Dremel couldn't fix. For the money (I paid much less than $250), I don't think there is a better speaker available. As usual, Sonic is THE place to buy car audio. Thank you Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2011 Good product
Review by
VICTOR from LAS VEGAS, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound crystal clear. Really good highs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2010 amazing!!!!
Review by
Jerms from escondido, california
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the tweeters on this are pretty amazing, if you mount them in the right spot the mids and highs match pin point. I'm very satisfied with this product. The best part is that they aren't even amped yet so I'm waiting to see how they sound after the upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2010 Great Sound
Review by
Gregory from Germantown, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Anyone who is in the market for some great speakers should try Infinity Kappa's. These are some of the best that you can buy. The sound is unbeliveable and you can find them at a very reasonable price. Sonic has them at a fair price and also with a good warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2010 Big Tweeter
Review by
Wesley from League City, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I returned them before installation because of the unsightly and awkwardly big tweeters. I know the component system is high quality because I had the coax version already installed. I sent these back and ordered the more conventional looking reference comp.'s instead. I am happy with the ref.'s appearance, however the mid bass doesn't hit as hard as the kappas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2009 Kappa 680.9cs Components
Review by
Brad from Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Here's my system for a clearer picture of what you may experience...
Head unit: Pioneer DEH-P7600MP
Amp: Infinity Kappa 4-channel (111w x 4)

These speakers are definitely a step up from my last set of Kappas (which I believe I bought in '03, but don't remember the model number). The magnets are almost twice as heavy, which produces some great bass, and the highs from the separate tweeters is incredible. I heard frequencies I've never noticed before from songs I've heard a hundred times.

Overall, highly recommended after 6 months of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2009 COMPONENT
Review by
Enox from Donna, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had the previous version of this component system, and can barely hear the difference. other than the great sound quality is that mine came with a messed up tweeter, it sounds very very harsh. i would still recommend them tho...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 Best Speaker I've Had
Review by
Todd from Ridgewood, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are great! The first thing I have done to my car was change the head unit then speakers and my car is just as loud and crystal clear as I wanted them to be. I would definitely recommend these speakers to anyone who wants there system to blast as such a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2008 Crisp, Clear, and Loud
Review by
lewog from brookfield, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I needed some better midrange to keep up with my W7 at high volume levels. These speakers do the trick. There is no need whatsoever for anything more (expensive) then these. I'm running an Eclipse 50.4 to these and some reference 6x9's(rear). Overall this combination is more than enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2008 Infinity Kappa 680.9cs on my Ford fiesta
Review by
Sathish from Chennai, 0, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these speakers for my ford fiesta, powered them with the JBL 1004e. If you are looking for SQ these speakers are worth every penny spent. The clarity levels of these speakers are simply amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2010 Infinity Kappa 680.9cs's are Fabulous in my 2010 F-150 Supercrew
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ken from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 2 pairs, one set for the front doors and one for the back. Tagged them up with Pioneer GT300 Amps (one front/one Back) - the Pioneers take a high power input so I could keep the satellite radio and Ford Sync system - cut the original speaker lines and spliced into monster cables back to the amp. Enough room to push the amp out monster cables below the rear door wiring harness, through the rubber boot into the back doors but no such luck on the front doors (I ran the monster cables from the amp back up to the cut wires and used the Ford wiring to get power back to the front door speakers) . Front woofers need 1/4 inch(+) spacers, otherwise the power windows will lightly bump the speakers, back speakers are OK. Tweeters are swivel flush mounted at the top front front of the door panels - up by the vents on the front - drill with a circular bit from the back side of the panel so you are sure to have enough room to get the plastic nut on. Scosche power lines make it from battery straight back to the firewall through a pre-existing hole (pull the factory grommet plug and replace with the Scosche grommet hole cable protector) down into the passenger side wiring tray underneath the plastic Ford covers all the way back to behind the rear seat where I mounted my power distribution block to power both amps. Note: I stole switched power from the rear power window terminal (I don't have a power back window). This was a massive improvement over the factory Ford setup. Only downside was the size of the crossovers which I mounted on the outside of the door panels just below the armrests on the speaker covers. Just have to build my Pioneer TS-SW251 subwoofer speaker box and install my Kicker KX2 crossover and another Pioneer power AMP and I will be completely happy. I live in Canada but the Sonic folks were just great to deal with. Picked this up at their shop just across from Six Flags Magic Mountain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz