Showing 37 reviews for Polk Audio MM651

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM651
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 37 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 19, 2014 Great value
Review by
bigB from BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the speakers. They were a snap to install fits into an exact 5 inch hole with a 1 1/2 inch lip great sound for my music. I'm 57 years old. They sound great low, medium, high crystal-clear for some of my kids music it distorts a little on maximum volume, so I have to back off just a teeny bit only on some songs, but great value great look I would most definitely buy them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2014 Great value
Review by
bigB from BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
. The product is easy to install it fits into an exactly 5 inch hole and has an inch and a half lip product performs great low, medium, high all sound crystal clear and precise. Also I think the design looks sexy after installing it in my boat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2014 Overpriced, But Good.
Review by
Richie from Damascus, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
as soon as I got my car back from the shop (I was getting other work done so I figured just let them do it) I immediately tested out the speakers. the default sound as some insanely high treble, but its not hard to fix that. just had to turn down the treble in the radio settings. I have a 1999 Chevy Camaro, and although it says it will not fit my car, it does. it just bulges out the paneling slightly. I do have to say it was overpriced, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Polk nailed these speakers
Review by
dan from bellefontaine, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sound quality with these speakers is amazing. Would recommend these to anyone wanting to upgrade. 5 stars polk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 Good sound quality
Review by
Arthur from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always had a fond place in my heart for Polk Audio. I installed these speakers in the rear doors of my 2012 F-150 SuperCrew. I had to remove the crossover housing and mount the crossover electronics in the doors using 3M double stick adhesive tape. Driving the speakers with an MB Quard Mykro RM 440.4 and they sound great! Painfully loud while staying crystal clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2013 Polk Audio MM651 Speakers For Boat/Motorcycle
Review by
Lowtones from Rohnert Park, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Theses speakers kick butt. They have a very full bass sound and exceptional highs. The full frequency range can be heard at all levels and even on windy high-speed passes. The sound better than The JL's that they replaced. Great bang for the buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 AWESOME!!!
Review by
Joseph from Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I know everyone has their "brand" but Polk is a sleeper. I put 4 of these in my Trailblazer and they're amazing. Nice full rich sound (when hooked up with amp) I have my sub waiting to be installed. I want to do some customization and add 2 more of these. They're so clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2013 Great Speakers!!
Review by
rbferg from Asheville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have the Polk MM651's paired up with a Rockford Fosgate PBR300x2 amp installed on my HD Street Glide and am pushing over 150 watts per channel. The speakers sound fantastic in a 2ch motorcycle environment and have more than enough volume and clarity on the road. I don't believe you will find a better 2ch Harley set-up than this for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 Great Speaker
Review by
rcrull from FREMONT, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered this speaker for my HD Street Glide, I wish these were the first one I bought, the sound is very clear and crisp compared to the Infinity Kappa 60.9c. MM61 is lighter and produce better bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 Loud, clear, and great sounding coaxials
Review by
DonnieE from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love Polk products for their sound quality and value. These coaxes have a 2.7ohm imp to help draw more power from your amp, have high rms handling, a directional tweeter, are marine certified, come with everything you need to install and have a fantastic outboard in line crossover. The result is a great sounding speaker with an incredible value. Polk always gives you great quality and more bang for your buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2012 Awsome is an understatement!
Review by
Keith from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best sounding speakers out there for the money BAR NONE! These were installed in my 2007 Harley Davidson bat wing fairing with the Rockford Fosgate PBR300X2 amplifier. I'm hearing notes to songs I've been playing for years that I never knew existed at 70 MPH! I've had much more expensive speakers in my bikes over the years and these outperform every last one of them! If you ride a Harley and you are on the speaker merry go round. . . Go out and get these now!! Make sure you amp these speakers with a 2 ohm compatible amp pushing at least 50-75 RMS as they are 2.7 ohms. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2012 F%@kin Awesome!
Review by
Ant from Upper Marlboro, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just finished installing these and WOW! Every sound, every note is crystal clear... I'm driving 160 watts per channel to these speakers and WOW! At first i was going to get the 6x8, but the RMS was higher for the 6 1/2. The 6 1/2 are 100watts RMS, so i just bought the speaker adapters. Slight mod, but it came out perfect. These are the best speakers i have ever had and i listen to all kinds of music. I sat in the driveway and listen to 32 CDs, from rock, hip hop, country, Jaz, R&B and Go Go. Just an amazing sound... Thank you Sonic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2012 Good High Guality Speakers
Review by
Josh from Mississippi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very, Very good speaker, krystal clear mids and highs, they sounds amazing in my 96 Tacoma extended cab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2012 Great Speakers
Review by
Bradley from Ames, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had these along with the matching 6 x 9s. All around great sound - high sensitivity and power handling. Very clear highs and as capable as anything I've owned in a 6.5" for bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2012 polk audio
Review by
brett from metairie, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would not recommend because after 2 weeks in my truck the outside rubber pieces of the speaker came apart and i had to change them out with morel spekers and it cost me money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 Great sound
Review by
Joe from Sparwood bc, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to install into my Polaris rzr into the factory Polaris pods. I had to trim the openings of the pods a bit to make them fit but running off of deck power they are plenty loud. They have been covered in mud an snow. I have cleaned them with indirect spray from a pressure washer. They still look and sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Polk MM651 Excellent
Review by
MJM from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound from a small magnet 6 1/2. Really delivers on the low end and great clarity on the mids & highs.

Small magnet size also allows for installation in tight spaces. Highly recommended for a coax install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 Wow... Smooth... Accurate..,Polk quality
Review by
Now sold on Polk !!! from Comox BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are incredible, so smooth and accurate, my music selection is from hard rock to classical and these baby's perform!! I have these in the rear doors and the mm6501 components in the front and the punch these deliver is hard hitting if you crank them and mellow and full stage for my classical music at a moderate volume. I love these speakers and are my first choice from now on!!! I highly recommend these speakers, the quality is all Polk and as in the name "Mobile Moniters" you will not be dissatisfied. Rating: FIVE STARS They are worth the price!!and they have individual cross overs also to help with the sound image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2011 Great Sound!
Review by
barbb0 from Pearland, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Son installed these in his boat. Great sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 you can't go wrong
Review by
reason from Madison, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
With these speakers. They handle alot of power and sound great while doing it. these are some of the best sounding 6.5's that I've had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2011 Great speakers for your accord
Review by
Will from Palmdale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers for my 99 Accord LX 4 door. Warning they will not fit without modification to your speaker grille in your door. I had to cut out most of the speaker grille to get them to fit. I used a 3/4 inch plastic speaker spacer so the magnet wouldn't hit the window. You probably could use a 1/2 inch spacer but you will still need to cut your speaker grille out. These speakers sound better and throw out a lot more bass then the stock speakers. I current only have them wired to my Alpine cd player so I'm sure they will sound a lot better wired to an amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2011 Good sounding speakers
Review by
Marshall from Kirksville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought two pairs of these and they sound great and get loud. I have them ampd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2011 really nice speakers
Review by
Don from Douglasville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sound really good , i suggest using an amp to power them to get the full potential. 100 watts per channel is all you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2011 amazing speakers
Review by
redfox from Springfield Gardens, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a real amazing speakers
high quality POLK Audio product

strong buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2011 polk mm651
Review by
tbsslarry from greensboro northcarolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money there ok. I got rid of them and got the momo 6.5 and these suckers freaking rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 Best Value!!!
Review by
Ayotte4life from SLC, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
100 watts RMS handeling! These speaker are being powered by 100 watts per channel and I only have the gains up 1/3 of the way and it's loud. My front stage keeps up with the subs. I only wish that the subs were a little louder however, my hearing is worth more than 130db in my car. You should try them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2010 Excellent Speaker
Review by
J. C. from Washington, DC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in a Beneteau Flyer 12 (Cabin Cruiser) to replace the Pioneers that came from the factory.

These are absolutely fantastic. The sound is crisp and clear, with very balanced mids and highs. The bass response is good at first, and gets much better as the speakers are broken in. They sound better than the Focal Access 6.5'' my friend put in his Antares 12.

The carbon composite basket and high quality materials make these speakers a good bet for a boat (the inside portion at least) as they will not degrade with the salty air. They look absolutely amazing too.

The only problem was that the crossovers where difficult to place. I glued them to the inside bulkhead near the speaker using silicone glue, which secures them with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2010 Rockin my HD Streetglide
Review by
Big D from A Town, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers really started rockin after a short break-in period. Pushin them with the Arc 125.2 mini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2010 Polk Audio MM651 In a Boat
Review by
[email protected] from Parker, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in my new boat which had 3 pairs of them driven by an Alpine 4x 125 digital amp. They are some of the cleanest 61/2 in speakers I have ever heard I would buy them again they are awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2010 Great for boats.
Review by
Mayo from Mississippi River
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 3 pairs of these to put in an open bow boat to replace the stock Sony marine grade speakers. Although I did have to pilot drill new mounting holes on each speaker, they fit perfectly into the boat's speaker cutouts. Not too tight, not too loose. (I had Alpine type R's in the last boat and they were a very tight fit) They look and sound great in the boat! Remember that you'll need to also find a place to mount the external crossover block which can be tricky in a boat. The open air environment of a boat requires that a system be able to play loud, and these achieve that well. I run them down to about 100 Hz and I have them matched with a 12 inch sealed Alpine type R. I have about 75 watts RMS running to these speakers through their own amp. I would highly recommend these speakers for marine use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2010 Great Speakers for Price
Review by
JT from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding two way components. Can handle the power well and sound great at any volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2009 Great Speakers
Review by
John from Orlando, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these speakers in today and they sound really clear and good mid bass ..these speakers are a really great buy and i would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2009 Great
Review by
Stef from Stockholm, Sweden
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value and crystal clear sound, to match high amp output
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2009 ok
Review by
JSSD123 from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these thinking they were more than they are. They are ok but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2009 Excellent, The Best you can Buy for the Price
Review by
Eglide 1 from Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these for Motorcycle 05 Ultra Classic Harley, and used the Loud Lids amp set up OMG the difference. You can compare it to August in Arizona and Winter in the North Pole, From stock to this setup there is that much of a difference. Yes I have tried 4 other companies used there speaker but these are Quality (Products) not just some B.S. you will notice a difference.
Oh yeah, and I'm pushing 425 watts out of them with NO DISTORTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 Polk Audio MM651
Review by
Adrian from Highland, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound and value. Very satisfied with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Great price!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
richard from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was new and what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz