Showing 22 reviews for Polk Audio MM651UM

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM651UM
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 22 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
82%
4 star:
.
.
9%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
9%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
5.0
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 19, 2014 Great product!!!!
Review by
Jason from Denham springs, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are a really great buy, sound great and look great
Strongly suggestion buying these. I plan on buying another pair. The guys at Sonic Electronic were very helpful and order was received very quickly
Thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2014 Great Marine Speaker!
Review by
Davey from British Columbia, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a JL Audio guy all the way, but these speakers beat the M series JL Marine speaker on Top Ten Reviews so I had to try them out! They deliver! They are clean, clear and Crisp. And they Bump! Insane base response. For the price you cant go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Pok Audio MM651UM Marine Speakers
Review by
lowtones from Rohnert Park
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these as upgrades to the stock speakers in my boat. These are exposed to the elements on every outing. I am actually overdriving these speakers with more power than recommended so as to have the headroom for a clean, undistorted sound from my amp. And these speakers handle it beautifully. They have a remarkable low end for their size and as I adjust the crossover on my amp, the speakers do not seem to have a dead spot. So much so that I have adjusted my crossover to accommodate the sweet spot of my Kickers because these Polks can handle the full range. I wish the grill offered a little more protection but it would do so at the expense of sound quality so I'm very happy with these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2013 Great SOUND
Review by
Greg from Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers, look great and sound great. standing up so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2013 Great marine speakers. Onboard crossovers, great sound.
Review by
Donnie E. from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This coax's have dedicated crossovers that are attached to speaker itself. Gets loud and plays clear. Comes with everything you need to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2013 you get what you pay 4
Review by
jackson lake ooogah club from covington ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
installed 4 in my 98 mariah talari last season and very pleased. paired them with an jbl amp and the clarity/volume is very very good. i did blow 1 tweet towards the end of the seaon.[sitting still,90+heat,direct sunlight,at near full power for extended ammount of time] but that was my error.the only real problem is that the magnet housing is a bit larger than standard 6.5's,some careful dremelling might be required.but still a solid investment indeed.if i could change anything about this product,it would made in the USA!!!! [example.JL audio subs] as far as sonic electronix goes, it's a no brainer. there shipping times,and price point is spot on. thank you sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 Awesome Speakers!
Review by
Scott from Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered these to install on the swim deck of my AR230 Yamaha boat. They sound amazing! Water rushes over them and drowns them every single time the boat stops and they have never skipped a beat. No disappointments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2012 Great quality!
Review by
Boat Boy from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These look good, and sound amazing. Add an amp to them and you'll be even more impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2011 Motorcycle
Review by
Rudy from bakersfield ,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these on my dead center motorcycle fairing wit the bikertronics amp. The speakers blew out within 3wks. Do not recommended for motorcycle fairings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2011 Boat speakers
Review by
Skydog from Byron,IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great great speaker very happy!!!! And it is hard to please me!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 Excellent Speakers - amazing sound from such a small speaker
Review by
MastercraftX2 from Cheshire, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers after searching through many manufacturers products. I was comparing impedance, output, noise levels, size, etc and for their money there was nothing close to these. I have since installed them on my boat powered by a 2 channel 400W Amp (100W RMS / channel @ 4 ohm) and the sound completely blows me away. Wakeboarders at the end of an 80 foot line can hear the speakers loud and clear yet due to their position on the boat tower the people in the boat can still hold a conversation. I've seen speakers twice this size unable to match the performance of these units. If you want a loud and clear speaker look no further - they are truely amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2011 They're great!
Review by
Jim Lee from Anacortes WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We build LED lights, iPod stereos and sailboats. We needed a speaker, to install in our sailboats, to work with our stereos that was lightweight, water proof, and 100 watts or less. On top of this, it had to sound good.

These Polk Audio MM651UM speakers fit the ticket perfectly. They work great, sound great and we've never had a problem with any of them that we've installed. And they live in boats sitting in sea water all year.

My biggest fear is that they might be discontinued and we'll have to go through all the searching yet again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2011 GREAT SOUND
Review by
Beanno from LaMarque,TX.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers have a unique look and the have a great sound. Have not owned them long enough to know about the durability of the speaker being in a boat, but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2011 Excellent Marine Speakers
Review by
Bob from East Greenwich, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the four outside original Clarion speakers in my Sea Ray 33 foot 330 Sundancer with the Polk Audio MM651UM speakers. They fit in the existing openings and only required re-drilling for the mounting screws. The sound is excellent. I am not an audio snob but I do appreciate good quality sound and I am extremely happy with these speakers. I investigated the DXi650 model speakers and was very disappointed with the sound quality from them. I highly recommend spending the extra money on the MM series as they sound much, much better and they are completely water proof. The only negative I can find is that the speaker grill leaves much of the cone exposed. If you have young children that might poke their finger into the speaker or if the speakers will be mounted in an active area where something might puncture the speaker then that might be an issue. Otherwise, they are great. You will not be disappointed with the sound and you cannot beat Sonic Electronix price either. They are a great deal through this vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2010 Satisfied
Review by
gds from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I upgraded the stock radio and speakers in my boat with a pair of Polk MM651UM speakers. I chose this pair based on size, power rating to match the new stereo unit, and assumed quality. I am sure they could provide extra kick if I installed an amp but they do just fine without and I dont want to add anymore load to the electrical system. I am satisfied with the look, power, and sound that I get from these speakers, they sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2010 Great sound. Good value
Review by
Crabman from Maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced two old speakers on my center console Carolina Skiff. They are exposed to slot of weather and hold up very well. The sound is excellent. Very deep base and no distortion. I would highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2010 Great speakers
Review by
skyskier from Md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are true marine speakers. The silk dome tweeter keeps the treble very smooth yet detailed. The bass is better than the WetSounds speakers I compared them to. Feed them with plenty of the highest quality watts you can afford and you will be richly rewarded. At the price Sonic sells them for, this purchase is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2010 Be Aware
Review by
Mike from Kingsville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these and used them 3 times before one speaker started acting up. It quit working so I called to have it replaced and they said it would take 3-5 weeks to fix. The person talked me out of buying JL Audio and said these are just as good, my mistake!!! I am now buying from a local company because I can't go without music for 3-5 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2010 Great Sound, Smooth and Balance, Durable, Candy for the Ears!
Review by
TheMofo from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great sounding speakers! I am very picky on audio and visual. I used these speakers on the outside of my toyhauler. The sound is superb with great bass and clear highs. Overall tonal balance is natural and smooth. People and friends tell me how nice the music sounds and I have to agree! I really enjoy listening to music in camp as long as the surrounding area is quiet. These speakers would also fit a boat nicely as well. I would even put them in a car but you are overpaying for the Ultra Marine qualities. I wash my RV after every trip and the speakers hold up well to water spray(I try and avoid direct hose streams). They also hold up well to wind as the speakers see freeway speeds while towing. If you need a durable speaker with awesome sound quality then look no further! If you are strictly into sound quality competition then you probably need separates which would provide minimal gains in SQ. I have them hooked up to a Soundstream Rubicon amp but they sounded impressive playing off the Pioneer Premier head unit as well! I highly recommend them for a marine environment or exposure to outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2009 Excellent sound and low end range
Review by
Thurston, III from Houston TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend these speakers as they sound wonderful with a great low end punch. I bought these for my boat and will be buying 2 more pair to put in my car. Great value and incredible sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2009 Polk Speakers
Review by
dino from Vancouver, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound out of these speakers crystal clear run it with a APLINE PDX amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2009 Great product
Review by
Miguel from Tampa, Fl.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the stock speakers in my Searay Select with four of these along with Clarion amps. They installed in minutes with the built-in crossovers. The sound is amazing! Clean, crisp and loud. I now have the best sounding boat around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz