Showing 12 reviews for Polk Audio MM1240DVC

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM1240DVC
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
17%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
.
8%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.6
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 20, 2009 Polk mobile moniter 12" woofer Review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tom from Apex, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This has been the most amazing sub i have herd in a long time. For a 12" woofer it has the response of a 10", very crisp, very clear, has not distorted them, but i only have a 800w. But I have had no problems, and will definitely buy more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2014 High end subwoofer, low end price.
Review by
Anthony from Los Angele, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in my regular cab truck, this thing pounds hard and the sound quality is amazing. Only thing is they are very power hungry, I first ran mine with a 300 w rms amp and the sub didn't sound clean or loud. Now I'm giving it 500w rms and it sounds amazing, loud and clear. I have owned a JL Audio w3 before and I actually like this one better and the price is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Hard hitting Bass in a low cubic space.
Review by
wiremyamp from Dorchester
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub rumbles my F150 in a small .88 cu of space. the only thing I have to say negative about the sub is at 70hz. it does not produce 70hz very well for some reason. besides that, it pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2013 Great Sub
Review by
Drew from Peoria, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub. Have it mounted under my rear seat of my 2010 f150 super cab. Wired down to 2 ohm with 500 rms Alpine amp powering it. This sub sounds amazing. Definitely worth every penny. After it breaks in, it just opens up and sounds great! This is an awesome shallow mount sub. You won't go wrong buying one of these. Only problem with mine, the sub is in a down firing box. It hits so hard the sub bottoms out on my carpet. I had to shove shims under the box to lift it a good inch or so. Now it's giving me the deep booming bass I enjoy. Sounds good with rock, good with rap, and sounds best pounding out house/techno. Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2013 good stuff
Review by
bear from fresno ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers sound crisp and clean. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2013 Nice budget friendly SQ sub
Review by
Brandon from Hays, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked up one of these and have it in a .8 CUFT enclosure with a little Polyfil to make up the difference. It's powered off an Infinity 611a at 2 ohms with the gain set for 450RMS using a 0dB test tone and DMM.

Sub plays nice and clean, with a very punchy response. Sounds nice with rock music, but even with rap and hip hop it seems to hold it's own. Definitely not an SPL sub, so don't even think of getting it if you are looking to shake the car next to you.

If you want a clean accurate sub that takes up very little space, for a 12" sub, and merely need enough output to fill YOUR car, this may be the ticket. It's not the cleanest sub I've heard and far from the loudest, but for the price, it's decent well rounded sub aimed at SQ over SPL.

I've only been using it for 5 months, so I can't really confirm or dispute the poor longevity claims.

Overall - 3
Value - 4 Good sub for the money, better SQ and louder subs can be had, but not usually for this price.
Look/Design - 4 (I find it's looks kind of classy)
Durability - 3 (only due to not really having it too long)
Features - 5 (Sub has a decent xMax, low mounting depth, rubber surround, Marine Certification)
Ease of use - It doesn't take a genius to wire up a speaker/sub properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2013 AWESOME!
Review by
Chris from Collierville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned Polk subs in the past and this one did not let me down. Sounds GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2012 Best Value Ever!
Review by
dferg1 from Rock Hill, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is highly efficient & hits really hard. It is definately the best sub I have ever owned hands down. No cons & I recommend it to anyone who needs a small box type sub in order to save space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2012 MM1240DVC
Review by
AB from MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great subs. have them on a polk 1200.1 amp and they do pretty well. pretty clear for only being in a vented box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2011 Awesome sub...
Review by
Chris from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought a single cab Toyota p/u that has two of these installed behind the seat. The seat still slides all the way back, so no loss of leg room. They sound great even with them being way under powered. Polk used a different material for the magnets enabling them to significantly reduce the size of the magnets, which is great for fitting a sub in tight space without going with a shallow mount sub. Overall I'm very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2010 Not what I expected.......
Review by
Apollloshep from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these and around 1.5 months one died then the other 2 weeks later. I may have gotton a bad batch since I have had Polks before. When they worked they sounded great. I decided to return these for another brand. For an extra 10 bucks you can get a set of 12"s that weigh 8 to 10 pounds more per sub and better voice coils and magnets. So far I have been happy with the new subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2010 Don't rely on Polk's home audio reputation
Review by
Shannon from Columbus, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own several thousand dollars worth of Polk audio home equipment and it is top notch. I assumed that their car audio would follow suit. This speaker sounds great, but did not last very long. I have owned JL audio subs for years without any failures, but this sub failed after 6 months. Buy Polk audio for your home, but stick to JL audio for your cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz