Showing 8 reviews for Polk Audio MM1240

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM1240
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
5.0
Value
5.0
Features
4.9
Design
4.9
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 24, 2012 the shallow speaker that could -- (rock your world)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PALGUME from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
installed 2 of those in chevy sierra 1500 extended under rear seat matched with kicker zx750.1 under 2 ohm load and while i normaly don't waste my time reviewing anything ----- those 2 deserve review enought for me to actualy sit down and type (i hate TYPING)

dont get me wrong they are NOT as good as SR series (no longer manufactured) but not very far behind ----- they handle anything from rap to rock right through some of the heaviest base hitting electronic !
you set your amp gain and eq right and you can and will switch betwen music genere without touching any controls in your head unit or adjusting eq (some older ROCK might require a little base boost)

if you are looking for SQ with some awesome pressure look no further they are not going to win against DD's or other 75 lb monstrocity designed for nothing but monster pressure under very narrow frequency band!!!

but any main stream (good Brand SUB) is going to have to work extra HARD to hold their own against MM series and it's a losing battle

i've compared them to several others and no JL, RF, RA, KICKER, MA is comming close to versatility of sound being reproduced (some get slightly louder but at much higher price bracket)

the recesed magnet is an awesome idea !!

dont forget your poly fill (10-20 oz. bag pet chamber) and take POLK.s advide and make your Bafle 1" thick MDF your ears will apreciate this very much and so will your amp !!!

P.S. i've tried those 2 powered by Hifonics Brutus BRZ-1200.1D and the efect was just as astounding !!!!!! and just my observation is the those subs do better in wel designed sealed enclosure of at least .7 to 1.2 cu ft per chamber ! - although i've installed a single mm 1240 under HIFONICS BRZ 1200.1D in sealed .62 cu ft (in my 2012 Toyota Yaris) in 4 ohm configuration with amp mounted upside down above my doughnut spare and absolutely love the result The sub POUNDS very hard and amp under 4 OHM load NEVER gets warm on normal weather and warm to touch durring the summer on the hotest of days !!!!


hope this helps some of you in making the decision to moove towards one of the best speaker out there from a manufacturer who is bent on SQ since they started in AUDIO !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2011 The Best Sound
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
E-Dub from Lincoln ne
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these about 6 months ago and boy do they sound good. I did research on many name brand subs before finally deciding on these and I am very satisfied. The price was good but nothing can beat the base sounds that they put out, not even the price. I will never get any other subs but Polk. If you want nice sounding subs go with another brand but if you want the best sounding subs then pick up a pair of Polk Audio subs. From a man that's been listenning to bass all his life, you will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Wonderful
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from St. Paul, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are incredible. I paired them with a 5000 watt (at 1 ohm) amp and they kick like a mother. I put 2 of them in an angled double 12" sealed sub box and they sound amazing. I love the sound they make in the sealed box, it is incredibly tight. They hit like no other sub i have heard. Every time i give people rides they are overwhelmed by them, they can easily get louder than your ears can take it you want haha. I see no cons to these subs, incredibly well built, i all most hated to put them in the box because they look so good all around. Pair them with polk mid woofers and tweeters and you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2011 the thump is back
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
manju from goa, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was using 2 jbl gt5 s12 sub's in my toyota innova, read about this sub on various sites believe me it deserves 5 star rating. It can out perform my 2 jbl subs with a ease, it sounds clean and can go very deep even with sealed enclosure. It is a only sub that can perform good with less power. My search for the best sub is over with this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2009 Love It!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex from Towson, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in my dodge durango running on a AP1200 Profile Amp and it hits hard and loud not to mention it also can hit bass in every range. I highly recommend this sub along with any of polk's products, thats all i have and they havent let me down whatsoever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 The best money can buy
Review by
M.D.M from Goa, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first of all this is the best sub money can buy, highly recommended for those who love music, specially some deep bass.
Pros: can handle all types of music, has good SPL potential, highly reliable, don't need much power even a small amp will do, looks cool, needs little space as compare to other subs, one is equal to 2 normal subs.
cons: please provide a grill
i am a SPL fan, I was using two jbl subs for a while, but the space and power requirement was a major concern.
i started searching for a sub which can deliver deep bass. After searching on various websites, i finally come across this sub, read reviews on various websites.
I bought one sub in a sealed box, believe me my first impression was "this is the sub i was waiting for", it took my breath away, it is a complete sub. one sub is equal to 2 jbl subs, great sub. All my friends were amazed by the pressure level and sound quality of this sub.
My system is updated on regular bases but this is the only thing which remains unchanged almost for three years. Finally if you love music this is a sub for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2009 WOW
Review by
oBEA5To from Santa Fe, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome! i bought two of them and they hit hard now i am gonna have to buy Dyanamat from sonic cuz they rattle the whole car! awesome sub in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2013 Polk Audio MM1240
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Hammer from Rohnert Park Ca.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have a Pioneer head unit with 4 Kenwood 6x9s, a 1000 watts 5 channel and a 1200 watt mono amp. this MM1240 has great deep sound and hits hard. Go out and buy it you may like it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz