Showing 8 reviews for Polk Audio MM1040DVC

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM1040DVC
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
88%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
.
13%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
5.0
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 22, 2011 great bang for the buck
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ofe from Crosby, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love polk audio so when i decide to add some bass to my car i wasn't sure if going with the db or the MM series. i got the MM1040DVC pairing them with a PA400.1 on mono and a little cap. Great decision it sounds great more than what i expected. Due to the fact that i still want to use my trunk i just got a single 10".

If you want the whole neighborhood to hear you don't get them, but if you want to enjoy your sound on your car they are the best quality construction and great care on details. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2013 Product review
Review by
Todd from Horseshoe Bay, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product and fair price with fast shipping. This sub has very nice
base sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Great subwoofer!
Review by
Chuck from Bowie, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub has some pretty good bass!. Even though its not considered a shallow mount, its compact design will allow to be mounted in most shallow boxes. Dual voice coil allows for different wiring setups. I use this in an 04 Denali paired to an Alpine amp and I get so much more bass than the stock setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Excelent sub
Review by
Norman from Visalia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the third sub I have placed into my 2005 Nissan 350Z roadster, and for once I am impressed. I build a custom .75 cu ft box to fit in the factory location, and powered it with a Rockford Fosgate BRT 500 watt amp, pushing roughly 350 watts at two ohms.
Overall, the bass is deep, and the tightness of the hits is there. It gets plenty loud, enough to where you feel it in your throat. In my car since July, I have had no issues, but I will warn to ensure clearance for the cone, as the excursion is long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2013 This is a 10 on the scale of 8
Review by
Rafal from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this thing thumps (pressure isn't there but the bass is awesome and SQ i from beyond)

whether is hip hop on the radio or heavy rock (obituary sounds good as HELL) this thing DELIVERS you dig that?

excursion is not the 1" they advertise (not without over-driving this little monster) but with no over excursion (you will know when that is) the cone can easily go 7/8" and that displaces Helluva lot of air.

did i mentioned Sound Quality ---------------

play some symphony - great
play rap - even better
rock / heavy metal - just right (Nickleback sounds wonderful)
jazz is unbelievable

the more you throw at it the more it ask's for! At about (solid) 475 you will notice slight over excursion go higher and it will scare you but anything under 460 you can put your ear right to it and you will not hear anything that is not supposed to be there!

iv'e seen drivers with 3 times the motor sound half as good
owned PA SR-102 and this thing does not separate from the SR at all
as a matter of fact the SR series had that annoying tinsel slap above a certain level --- vs this one does NOT

i'm tired of writing get it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2013 A Year Later....Update
Review by
Killav from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok so I have been using this subwoofer for an entire year. This thing is still sounding fantastic. I have really put this little 10" through the ringer, and it still sounds perfect. This is a very musical, accurate sub. And it will belt out REALLY low notes as well. You will need two of them for the neighbor's to hear you, but musically, one 10 will be more than enough. I listen to everything, and bass guitar's sound just as good as some 25hz bass from your favorite bass CD. I do have it in a slightly larger sealed box than recommended (about .9 cubic feet), but it sounds extremely good in this volume. Highly recommend a sealed box with .9 cubic feet. I am powering it with a P300-1 (also purchased from Sonic E.) and it could take even more power with ease. Everything I have bought from Sonic Electronix's over the last two years is still going strong FYI. Nothing has broke. Zero issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Excellent sounding relatively low mounting depth large xmax sub
Review by
anonymous from the dalles, or
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub has a large xmax for such a low mounting depth, as required in my situation. The basket is plastic, but robust. The spyder is very large on the 12" speaker, for good cone control. Like it very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2012 Was a good deal.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
killav from Dallas, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a decent woofer, lots of X-max. Produces deep bass for their size. I have mine in a sealed box at .9 cubic feet. I have always been a ported box guy so I plan on porting this box in the near future. I am pushing a single 10 with a Mono Rockford Fosgate P300-1. The birthsheet stated 416 watts at 2 ohms mono. The woofer handles the power very well.

This was a smokin hot deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz