Showing 15 reviews for Polk Audio MM1040

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM1040
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
20%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
5.0
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
5.0
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 24, 2012 great sub!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ian breh from cincinnati
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought the sub after having owned two sets of the mm series 6.5 components for a year and being more than pleased with their performance. I was looking for a 90 plus efficiency sub with small enclosure needs to maximize my space and power. When I the mm series had subs, and the specs were in line, I bought them with confidence. I was blown away again! I was first going to build the spec sealed enclosure for a 12. But when I saw the ported specs for the 10 were similar in size I went for the 10. Then before I built I found that the Absolute 10 ported 10 box for sale here had close enough specs for me to role the dice for 54 bucks. BINGO! Great combo! You will definitely want to tune with polyfill or acoustic foam after purchase. If you want to dump 1000 watts into a hog of a speaker for minimal gains buy something else. If you wanna hear what 350rms really can do with a good sub in the proper box, buy this and build the spec ported box. You won't be disappointed. I'd buy two if I had the space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2012 great sub!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ian breh from cincinnati
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought the sub after having owned two sets of the mm series 6.5 components for a year and being more than pleased with their performance. I was looking for a 90 plus efficiency sub with small enclosure needs to maximize my space and power. When I the mm series had subs, and the specs were in line, I bought them with confidence. I was blown away again! I was first going to build the spec sealed enclosure for a 12. But when I saw the ported specs for the 10 were similar in size I went for the 10. Then before I built I found that the Absolute 10 ported 10 box for sale here had close enough specs for me to role the dice for 54 bucks. BINGO! Great combo! You will definitely want to tune with polyfill or acoustic foam after purchase. If you want to dump 1000 watts into a hog of a speaker for minimal gains buy something else. If you wanna hear what 350rms really can do with a good sub in the proper box, buy this and build the spec ported box. You won't be disappointed. I'd buy two if I had the space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2012 Pretty Potent Subs!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Uchina from Overseas, Japan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cannot beat these Polk MM Series subs for the price and power handling. Would be more dynamic if installed in a slightly larger enclosure however due to space limitations in my vehicle, Can't quite get the wider range I was hoping for. Other than that, they are awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Great sound quality
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steven from Cave Creek, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in a sealed box. I waited a few weeks to break them in a bit before I wrote a review. They have a tight, clean, crisp sound to them. They go pretty low as well. They will get louder after about 40 hours of play time. I've already heard a difference. My mirrors shake like crazy. If you want sound quality but don't want to spend JL Audio prices then these are for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 excellent build quality.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
crystal from campbell river, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought these, and would recommend them to anybody who wants a very well built sub for a very decent price. Sound is great out of a small enclosure, goes low, hits hard, everything i was expecting and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2010 Packs a punch, and crystal clear
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jermag from Denver, Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been running the MM1040 for 6 months now, and am always impressed with how powerful it is, while maintaining the clean sound Polk Audio is known for. I've since replaced all of my stock speakers with Polk Audio db Series speakers, and will stick with these from now on. I also love the clean look these subs have, what's with the cheesy deformed look of most subs these days? I get a ton of compliments on this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2010 Great Sub
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Dayton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The polk mm1040s replaced my jl 10w3s due to coils being burnt. I have to say the polks are louder and sound better than jl 10w3. I was skeptical at first due to jl's high quality and repetition. I tried the polk because their sensitivity rating was 7 points higher so i tried them. Now I believe I'm a polk fan. Just awesome subs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2010 Nice slim design sub!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dimitri from Keene, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed one of these in a truck an made a sealed box for it, and it sounded great! The quality was good, and for a slim sub woofer it hit hard. If you compare this slim design sub with others in its price range, you will see its rms power, sensitivity, and frequency response, is on average better. Great value, would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 Excellent shallowish-depth subwoofer
Review by
None from The Dalles, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is the thinnest depth full xmax driver i have found. Excellent sound quality, plenty of excursion- although i beleve the xmax listed is 2 way not 1 way making it closer to 14mm. Klippel says the 25mm xmax figure is actually p-p. Xmax is 14ish on the Polk as well according to klippel. Very happy with results on 2-300w rms. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Great Bass
Review by
Robert from Pickerington, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted a sub that would give me tight solid bass and this sub met my expectations and beyond. Installed in a closed 1.0 cu ft box with 600watt RMS Mono Alpine amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2010 Polk MM1040
Review by
JB from 50th state
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The 10" is a shallow sub with a full spider, magnet, and cone. Not a squashed version of a sub like other brands but, a true subwoofer built with a shallow mount. The sub produces true, deep lows as a subwoofer should. It's too bad that Polk audio discontinued this line. It is one of the better, shallow subwoofers. Feed it the specified watts and it will perform!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2009 Good sound quality
Review by
semi-detached from Texas City
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have this sub running off a Crunch 500.2 and it sounds great, could use at least 100 watts more to push it but it's doing fine.

It hits some very distinguishable notes not noticed in 12" subs, it would be better to have range of bass than just the one, as 12" only allots for deeper notes and not some of the higher bass notes some music can utilize.

Got this hooked-up in a F150 and the sound resonates near perfect, plenty of room behind the seat so I could either purchase another to complement or get another range of bass with 8's or a 12, or both.

All in all 10" sub for this price is a good deal, will be looking up more Polk audio products here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2009 Excellent Sound for the Buck
Review by
Lloyd from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This woofer was easy to install and the sound out of it is fantastic. Only wish they would include the grill as you have to purchase that seperate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2009 Out with the Polk Momo in with the Mobile Monitor series
Review by
John Doe from Austin, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't usually write reviews, but I am so pleased with the performance of this subwoofer. Also there are not many reviews on it since its fairly new. I had a Polk Momo before this sub which bumped hard, but not as hard and clean as this subwoofer for being practically a shallow mount speaker. I have it in a 2005 F150 firing down under the rear seat. The box is built exactly to the specs of the sub. It is being fed 380 watts RMS and it pounds. The only negatives I can say is of course it doesn't hit the super low notes, but that is to be expected and I had trouble with the sub bottoming out on the floor on hard bass notes. I put a spacer under the box and problem fixed. Can't rate the durability on this review yet, but I would imagine that if its like my old momo it will last me a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2009 Great Sound for Size
Review by
Jon from Overland Park, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently came out of a Honda Accord with two 12" subs in the trunk, and moved into a Truck. I didn't want to lose my back seats so I was forced to downsize my speakers to 10" subs that would fit under my seat. For having as shallow of a mount as these speakers do, they sound really good and i am very pleased with the sound. Of course they don't catch the same lows as 12" do but they definitely do their job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz