Showing 14 reviews for Power Acoustik BAMF-5500/1D (BAMF55001/D)

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik BAMF-5500/1D (BAMF55001/D)
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 49 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.4
Features
4.0
Design
4.2
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
January 24, 2012 Great amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Cleveland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this amp to power two MTX 15" 9500 (1500 watts RMS each 3000 watts total) and it did a great job. I run competition and saw this was cheap and figured it was worth the $200 to test it out and write a review.

This powered both of my 9500s very well, for the price you can't beat it, if your not running competition I highly recommend it. For the record it will not output 3200 watts rms at 1 ohm. Even with me running 10 awg speaker wire it's more like 2500 watts rms which is still worth it.

I have actually bought another one of these amps because I have not had a single issue (first amp being over one year old) and I use it with my first bamf 5500 to push two 15" re audio xxx's in my non competition car. So you know the REs are 2000watts rms each (4000 watts rms total) and again both of these subs push with no problem.

And for you guys running more than one of these (like me) this amp has a cool stack option for multiple amps and also has double RCAs so you don't need to buy an RCA "Y" splitter. Pretty convenient.

Other than that don't be fooled by these people saying they fail, neither of mine have failed, but you do need to run an extra high current Kinetik battery or have a damn good alternator ($700 plus) because you can't say just cuz it's cheap it doesn't use a lot of power, the double power and ground terminals helps but at the end of the day watts are still watts volts are still volts and that all effects your battery/alternator. I hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2014 Not sure yet
Review by
seth from huron, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is ok.. i have it running at 4 ohm right now so I haven't fully opened it up yet, but it seems decent for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2014 Love it
Review by
Tyler from Surprise, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is awesome. I've got it powering 2 Power Acoustik 154 mofos and it does the job pretty well. I'm not goin to gaurantee that it actually puts out the power it says it does, but it does the job with no problem. Plus it is actually 1 ohm stable like it says. If your in the market for a budget amp that will still make every piece of glass rattle this is definitely the amp to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2014 Power Acoustik
Review by
Donlee from Chase City, Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am glad to have this amp it is what I need to push my 15s and now it sounds a whole lot better so thanks for my 5500 and this is not going to be the last thing I am going to get from this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2014 Power Acoustik BAMF 5500
Review by
JL from tampa. fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp. I have it powering 2 solo baric 12 L7s and its pouring out the bass to these subs. Small and compact but a good bang for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2013 best value amp I've ever used
Review by
Thomas from Ft. Washington, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had an mtx blue thunder then a California 1600w for years that I loved. I beat the hell out of the California and it pushed hard without ever having a problem. I was using it to run my mtx 9500. One day after about ten years it finally died. Being older and having a kid and wife I couldn't justify getting another really expensive amp so when I came across the bamf 5500 I said ill give it a try. It pushes my mtx blue thunder subs hard and never has a problem. I also love the remote gain it makes turning it down or tuning it for the music playing easy. I havnt had any problems with it so far. Over all im glad I got it and im thinking about getting another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2013 Moderately Surprised
Review by
YouMomma from Arkansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Buddy of mine had this in his Tahoe pushing 4 15's, True 0 gauge and a yellow top. We were really surprised the amount of power that this thing put out. Got moderately warm, but never had any issues with it cutting off. Great amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 Works well
Review by
Mike from Denison, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great for the price, don't be like the other people on here and fry them with less than sufficient power, meaning buy the 0 gauge wire and the extra battery and don't get a capacitor a battery will work best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2013 Good amp
Review by
Talon from Pocatello, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It stood 5 months of serious abuse finally caught fire, it slammed the hell outta my 2 12's alpines at 1 ohm. I dont recommend it at 1 ohm. Dont think its truely stable. Anyways goy my money out of it, pissed plenty of neighbors off. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2011 superp performance
Review by
rob from marion,ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running 2 12 power acoustic mofos. Rated 2700 watts a piece an this amp is putting out awesome power an an clean clear bass. I would recommend this amp for to any one who was looking for a deal with alotta power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2011 worth the price
Review by
BlkItalian from Leesburg, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've gone through 4 other amps before this one, Kenwood, XXX, Boss, Legecy, Kicker, by far this one is the best ive purchaced, hits hard, never gone into protect, GET ANOTHER BATTERY/ CAP/ ALT/ cus it will suck power. Not so bad if you have it at a reasonable level but if you wanna crank... just expect to get some noise violations. i reccomend using a stearieo with a preamp output, just for better signal. Ive had this for 2 years, NO problems at all and my amps to get a break, im always goin hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2010 Great amp for the price
Review by
Boom Boom installer from Polk, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is a great amp for the money i doubted it when i ordered it but when it came in and i hooked it up and did some testing on it, it beats
it will beat 415 inch cvrs at 2 ohms ridiculously.
Comes stock with 4 40 amp fuses which shocked me.
Do the math a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2009 sweet amp...awesome price!!!
Review by
rick from citrus springs, fl.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love the amp...the only thing is it does'nt have a cooling fan, but however it does not get hot! I recommend it for somebody using four -
2 ohm dual voice coil subwoofer's that can handle 800-1000 watts rms each, so it can be ran at 1 ohm for the full 3200 watts rms that the amp can push. It's the best amp i've ever had for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 good for the money. but not a good design at all for the cover plate. it bowed up on me one day after i bought it.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
justin from Houston Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm pushin 2x Kicker L7 15's no problem. the only thing i would recommend is dont expect the cover plate to look good. but sound wise. worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz