Showing 18 reviews for Power Acoustik BAMF-1600/4

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik BAMF-1600/4
Average Customer Rating is 3.6 out of 5 stars:
3.6
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.3
Value
4.4
Features
4.1
Design
4.2
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 1, 2010 good for the price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jordan from chesterton IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp was great!! it defiantly made my stereo come to life. my system got surged though and ever sense then i have all kinds of stuff going wrong. i bought a second one of these to replace the first one because i was getting a bad interference later i found out it was the head unit that was causing it. after i bought a new head unit from about a week after installing it this amp got fried it was going between the green led that states its on to the red witch means its in protection so i thought it was just a bad on out of the bunch well i installed the second bamf 1600/4 i had and a week later the same thing happened to it. witch makes me think it was a bad head unit so i took it back. its weird i never had problems until i bought the new head unit. this amp made my speaker sound so clean and so loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 My BAMF AMP
Review by
Toplait from Clinton, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used it to power my door speakers. Soon as I got the amp and hooked it up channel 3 did not work. The next day on my way home from work it over heated and went into protective mode....Fried the amp in less then 40 miles of traveling.....at half gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2011 Sleek, quality, good price
Review by
Ben G from Vienna, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my Toyota Celica. I have it rigged up with an Alpine Type-R speaker system and sub. The amp puts more than enough power to my Alpine Type-R 10" sub and plays extremely clearly. The sub plays nice up to about 800 watts, and the amp puts power to the sub nicely up to around 1200 watts, so it is more than enough power for a very nice subwoofer. The amp looks very nice and performs very well. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to power a high quality sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2011 BAMF-1600/4
Review by
SubSonic from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these amplifiers. Power and ground are 2 ga. on both setups

One is running a set of Kicker mids/highs, and a pair of 12" Kicker subs. Sounds awesome... 2000 Chevy Z71 extended cab

The other 1600/4 was repurposed as a sub amp in my car out of necessity. It is running a Audiobahn DVC 2ohm Titanum cone ultra high excursion woofer. It is running bridged 1/2 and bridged 3/4 mode, LPF set at 65hz.... 50% bass boost.

SPL is high enough to force the trunk to open on just bass alone...2008 Jetta sedan...

These amps put out some raw power if you feed them properly. The SQ is really good for an inexpensive amp, but they are definitely not cheaply made by any standard.

I would recommend this product! Just make sure you have enough cooling for the amp if you are going to take it down past 4 ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 Don't buy
Review by
Adrian from Tamarac, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All I can say is....internal error! Pos when it worked, for the whole month it did, it was great. Couldn't s in my car for too long at full volume. Then all of a sudden....trunk space filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2011 Amp that could've been(part2)
Review by
Aaron from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Owned for 10months+
Cont'd from 1st review:

It took PowerAcoustik(which is previously or owned by Soundstorm) about 2 weeks of back & forth with their support about the issue i was having. All together, it took about a WHOLE month to get my amp back. I had to pay $20 shipping & another $20 to them to send me back my amp. The only thing good is that they did send me a Brand new amp. Haven't hooked it up, yet. I deeply concerned about the other amp I bought from the same maker & line.

Issue: the protection light & power light will blink intermittently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2010 Great Product!
Review by
H@ns206 from TAHITI - French Polynesia, 0, French Polynesia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great, it pushes my doors 6.5" speakers and my 6.5 midbass drivers in custom-made box. The coolest thing is that it doesn't even get hot (thanx to the shape of the amp ), just a little bit warm and it does what it's supposed to, and for the price, I recommend this product, great buy from Sonic Electronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2010 Amp that could've been
Review by
Aaron from charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
1) Good price
2) Plastic top part, reason for having the "heat sink" feature
3) Fairly small size amp for 4ch

Cons:
1) Speaker/power terminal; must insert cable at an difficult upward angle
2) Amount of sound is not loud enough(cheap price, go figure)
3) Mine died at 6-7months of use(at 75% power output & only use twice a week, not blasting the music)

Conclusion: DON'T BUY unless you get an extended warranty. On the PA manual, it states: If not installed by certified installer, warranty valid for only 6 MONTHS...WTF. I'm submitting a RMA request, we'll see what kind of service I'll be dealing with. Lucky for me, I bought an extended warranty. I will right a follow up review with the RMA & how long the process took. Buy this product at your risk, hope this review is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2010 good amp
Review by
ABDUL from ROAD TOWN, 0, Virgin Islands (British)
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this amp because of the ( RMS ) and the price , I was not sure it would play clean at a loud volume pushing my four alpine 5"x7" type S series, but I am sure now it's a very good amp for the price and I will recommend to any one sweeeeeeeet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2010 Great sound, but didn't last long
Review by
Shelby from Fulton, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
During the 4 months or so that this amp lasted, it sounded and worked great, then suddenly quit working. All it would do is flash between the power and protection modes, which someone told me was an internal error. Thus I set out to try and reset the internal memory because the warranty was terrible, 90 days because it wasn't installed by a "professional". There's no memory reset switch on it, so to me, it's now junk. I wouldn't recommend this amp to anyone unless they need lots of power that quickly dies out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2010 Not the best amp I've used
Review by
Chris from lake ronkonkoma, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After installing this amp it blew 2 of my crossovers, so i checked it with a multimeter. I found that the brand new amp was putting out dc voltage and causing my crossovers to explode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2010 Good for an everyday amp
Review by
Kris from Toronto ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have been using it 6 months no issues, works perfect every time. Pushing 1 w3, going to add one more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2010 Best Bamf for your money
Review by
Freddy from Fresno Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I found Power Acoustik a couple years ago, Specs were good so I tried them. Now thats all I buy, Value for your dollar, something everybody needs in this economy. Try them, you wont be disappointed either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2010 Awesome Amp
Review by
Tyler from Iron Station, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was great for the short time I used it for about nothing. I still have it in the closet for backup. It has great options and puts out plenty of power for any speakers and it won't take up much space. I definitely recommend it if you can't afford much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2010 sucks
Review by
nick from mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
lasted 6 months running 4 alpine type r components. worked great but quit working, there was an internal error. If I would have bought it from sonic it would be covered under warranty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2009 1600
Review by
Alexander from Ooltewah, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
more power than i would ever use, but deffinately would not choose one with less with all the sound and power options this amp gives you it makes it so you can really tune in to the exact sound and power you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2009 Awesome amp
Review by
Xplosive from New york, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased this amp and i couldnt be any happier. my voice speakers sound great, my system is the loudest and better sounding without breaking my bank. i've owned top name amps before that cost twice as much but now im a power acoustik fan. i would really recommend this product for anybody who wants a powerfull and detailed amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2009 Plenty of Power
Review by
Josh from Colorado Springs, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is more than enough to power my 4 6.5" Alpine Type R speakers. definitely worth the money, my system sounds incredible now :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz