Showing 54 reviews for Polk Audio MM6501

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM6501
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 54 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
85%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
2%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Very impressed!

I ordered these speakers after already owning a pair of Polk DB6501. I had had the DB6501 set up in the front sound stage, but when I received the MM6501 I replaced the front with the MM's and moved the DB's to the back. WHAT A HUGE DIFFERENCE! The MM's absolutely blow the DB's away (and I was a fan of the DB's). In my opinion, if you are on the fence for an extra 60-70 dollars the difference between the two Polk series is more than worth it. Very good bass response, crystal clear highs. Loving life!

VS
Don't sound warm

I got these speakers and I would NOT recommend them. While they are very loud and clean I don't like the way they sound. I feel like they are too tinny, and I have the treble boost turned off. The real issue is that vocals aren't warm and are too high pitched. I've spent many, many hours trying to get them to sound right but it just isn't happening. They produce a lot of low bass ( with the my Soundstream ref 2.370 bass boost turned up ). However I feel like the midbass tones for vocals and such are nonexistent. Also the tweeters are too high pitched. I bought these because in my experience silk tweeters sound more natural.....guess not. I thought they would sound better once broken in.....guess not.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 8, 2011 Very impressed!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Aaron from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered these speakers after already owning a pair of Polk DB6501. I had had the DB6501 set up in the front sound stage, but when I received the MM6501 I replaced the front with the MM's and moved the DB's to the back. WHAT A HUGE DIFFERENCE! The MM's absolutely blow the DB's away (and I was a fan of the DB's). In my opinion, if you are on the fence for an extra 60-70 dollars the difference between the two Polk series is more than worth it. Very good bass response, crystal clear highs. Loving life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2010 Great Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ardent1 from Louisville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can find a few better sounding speakers out there, but not for this price. Not even close. Crisp and clear sound as long as your source equipment driving them are good. You won't be disappointed. Don't expect them to replace sub-woofer's, you will be disappointed, but they are not supposed to. You have to be creative mounting the tweeters, but an easy task for an experienced installer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2009 Great Mid Bass, great looks!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
johan from Redondo Beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
40 to 25khz frequency response at 2.7 Ohms, and 94db!

These speakers offer a warm sound, compared to similar Infinity or MbQuart component speakers. In my opinion they also blow the Polk Db series speakers out of the water.

They sound great with or without an Amp or Sub. I highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2009 Polk Does it Again!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Stamford, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used Polk speakers in many of my cars. The shallow depth and scattered mounting holes made the install less difficult. Although no install in an '02 BMW 330xi is easy. Comparing these to stock speakers is not fair, so I won't. The bass is rich and not punchy. Midrange is well ballanced. The hi's are crisp and not brassy. I would like to have a little more power handling, but for the price it's just right.
Other components:
Eclipse AVN 6600 with ipod & Sirius
Hifonics Zeus ZXi8006
Polk MM651 (Rear)
Polk Momo 2104 Sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2014 Phenomenal sound!
Review by
Jamest from Fortson, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put these in an 07 tundra double cab. Running these speakers off alpine mrp f300 amp and they sound phenomenal. Make sure to mount the tweeters on the sail panels instead of the dash location as staging is much better. Highly recommend if running an amp and a small sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2013 I actually preferred the DXIs
Review by
Dantheman from new york, new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these 6501s seeing as they were the next step up from the DXIs which I had in my old car. I was really expecting a night/day difference which I just didn't get.

I will have to report back once my doors have been sound deadened, but for now, the first impression let me down a little bit. When I put my DXIs in for the first time it hit me like "Bam".

I have done some reading on the polk forums however and many say you really just need to let these speakers break in. We will see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2013 Polk mm's best waterproof audio on the market
Review by
Buellski from Trinity fla
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been using these in Harley's for years. Great quality and hold up to elements in Florida! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2013 Focus ST Transformation - AMAZING
Review by
Jon from Manchester, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best car speakers I have ever laid my ears on!! They transformed the muddy, weak sound of my "Premium" 10 speaker Sony system in my car into an audiophile quality experience!

Pros: Perfectly accurate sound, warm highs, strong mid-bass, VERY lightweight (I was surprised by that) and VERY loud, but they don't require much power thanks to their 94db sensitivity

Cons: The tweeters don't have as many mounting options as the infinity 6030cs I previously had, so I had to modify the door panels for fit. it would be nice to have more flexibility there. Also, I had to modify the door frame to clear the woofer baskets, but I really can't blame that on Polk. The factory design from Ford was pretty awkward.

Overall I am very happy with these units and I would buy them again in a heartbeat! In order to get really good sound out of them though you need to drive them with a clean signal. I installed the speakers first with plenty of Dynamat. They were already a huge improvement, but because of the poor quality factory amp, they did sound tinny and crackly like one person mentioned in their review. As soon as I installed my JBL MS-8 (The MS-8 drives the 2 front woofers, tweeters and center channel. A separate 100w x 2 amp drives the rear using the supplied crossovers, then a separate 720 watts to a 10" RF Sub, all powered through a 1 farad cap), I couldn't believe what i was hearing. the sound is full, warm, perfectly accurate and I could hear details in the music I had never heard before. This system seriously puts my Infinity home theater to shame!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2013 What can I say that others haven't? These are VERY impressive speakers!
Review by
Seth from Lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I work in Home Audio / Video and I would never utilize Polk in a home installation. But when it comes to Car Audio, you CANNOT GO WRONG with these speakers. Excellent mid tones, clear highs... you hear everything as you should.

These Polk Components provide far more than speakers costing multiples more. With the right amplifier, matching subs, and a decent deck - audiophile grade performance is possible with these speakers. So if you appreciate speakers that properly reproduce sound, these are the ones you should pick unless budget doesn't matter.

Thanks Polk for engineering amazing speakers at such a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2013 Absolutely Great Product
Review by
Polk = Great Speaker from Hansberg, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these in my 2006 Honda CR-V for about 2 years now. The doors required some customization (cutting a larger speaker hole to fit the speaker cage) but it was well worth it. I should also note that I did a full dynomatting of each door panel and secured any openings with 1/8' vinyl.

The MM 6501's (front) and MM651 (rear) are being powered by an JVC double-din navigation head unit and an Alpine MRP-F300 4-channel amp - and they really are as great as the reviews say. Loud and clear. They handle enough volume to the point where it will hurt your ears.

I recommend dynamatting your doors upon installation - especially if you are using an amp to power them. Don't let the small magnet on the back of these guys make you think they won't rattle your doors. They do - surprisingly so.

If you do not plan to power them with an external amp, save yourself some money and look at the Polk Db line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 sound quality MM6501
Review by
Ivan from Grodno, Belarus
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
MM6501 speakers rock, crystal clear highs and mids. They sound great with or without an Amp or Sub. I recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2013 Better than Infinity and Alpine Type R
Review by
Dave from Strasburg, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've installed Alpine Type R components in my wife's car, put Infinity's in my older daughters car and I just put these in my youngest daughters car and these are the best! Super clear and loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2013 Great speakers
Review by
Mike from Fontana, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very clear sound quality, I hear instruments in the music I never knew were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2013 Incredible Clarity!
Review by
jam757 from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things rock hard with incredible high notes and an awesome midrange. Paired with a nice amp and subwoofer your car is set for years to come. These are some of the best speakers that money can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2013 Absolutely STUNNING sound
Review by
white chicken from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these as my front speakers, paired with POlk db691s in the rear (running off my head unit), a Kenwood KAC-8405 amp and a Kenwood 10 inch sub. The amp is driving the sub and the MM6501. All I can say is that I'm completely blown away by the sound. The professional install was not cheap, but well worth it. These speakers sound incredible and they haven't even broken in yet. I've got the tweeter crossovers set at -3 and a little emphasis on the front speakers as the db691 are there to fill out the sound. I have NEVER been disappointed by a Polk product and these things will compare to the best speakers you can buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2013 Loud speakers, good sound.
Review by
Donnie E. from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers look great and get more power of your amp by running at 2.7 ohms. Great set to buy if you're pockets are a little light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2013 Silverado perfection
Review by
Kent from Oacoma, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in the stock location, drilled out the tweeter and used the oval piece to flush mount the tweeter. Sound deadened the door skin. Put the crossover on -3db and hooked them to a RF amp. I couldn't be happier with my purchased! I decided to splurge on components and all of the reviews are true! Awesome sound, warm and not sharp. If you are on the fence, they are worth it and Polk has won me over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 very detailed sound.
Review by
Jacob from Elk City, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It sounds good but i would recommend mounting the tweeter no more than a foot away from the mid-woofer. Once you get it all equalized it sounds amazing. Im powering them with a rockford fosgate p300.2 and i can take about 50 watts more without a doubt. Very good quality overall. And sounds way better than my old kicker speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2012 Polk Audio 6 1/2 components
Review by
Matt from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far I am impressed with the speakers. Recently went active from my Pioneer DEH-80prs so I no longer use the supplied passive crossover from Polk. Between the speakers and the Pioneer headunit's auto calibration they sound even better. Still have a lot of tweaking to do to get the front stage I am looking for but I am glad I got the Polks to help me on the way. I have and old MTX-RT4180 running the Polks which is rated at 45x4 at 12.5 volts 4 ohm...it is bumped up a little more when 13.8 volts are given to the amp...gains are set about 3/4 on the mids and 1/2 on the tweets. The Polks put out plenty of db for an SQ setup. Still need to sound deaden my doors for the mids...they are vibrating the hell out of them. I am hoping when the doors are done properly the mid bass will be that much better.

The only bad thing I can think of at this point is the supplied crossovers that came in the box. They do a good job but there should be more adjustments as far as the tweeters output goes. For the tweeter level you have a choice of 0db or -3db, more selections would have been nice. Me personally I would have liked to have tested them at -6db. Don't get me wrong these are silk soft dome tweets...nothing like titanium or aluminum made tweets which get really harsh when the volume goes up. For a little over 200.00 it would be hard to find better sound....Hope this info helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2012 Great speakers
Review by
Jerry from Manila, Philippines
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this from another site. I used to have HiVi's in my front doors powered by Sound Magus HS 500. When i changed it to Polk MMs, it was totally different! It was a good decision that i changed my front separates to Polk MM, now im enjoying a very crisp and clear music while driving. Now im planning to change all my set up to Polk Audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Very Nice!
Review by
Bill from Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers for the price, better in my opinion than Focal's entry level components. Polks are warmer and the mids are great. One area where they could improve: highs with a bit better definition but all in all, great value. I'm using it with Alpine's CDA 117 with Imprint, a JL Audio Sub and a Fosgate Punch 400 oldschool black grille.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Great Speakers
Review by
bruce from Colorado Springs, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I liked these speakers so much I purchased 2 pair for another car. Did look around at local shops for other speakers including some at $500 a pair that don't sound as good as the polks. You can get better sounding speakers but be prepared to spend a lot more money, don't waste your time or money hooking up cheap head units or amps to these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2012 SIMPLY AMAZING!!!
Review by
Larry from Dallas TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My g/f has been complaining that the stock speakers in her Suzuki just don't get it done. So I looked around for a good component set of speakers to upgrade to. So I decided to give the DB 651's and MM6501s a shot. I also put in a small Kenwood 4 channel amp. After putting in some sound deadner in the doors (this is a must for the MM6501 going in the front door) I got everything wired up and it was far beyond a night and day difference. After playing it for a few seconds, out comes the g/f. She sat down and was blown away by what she was hearing. Now give these speakers a good amount of time to break in (I would say about 2 months) and the sound just gets better. I love the sound of these speakers, that I am going to put the same setup in my 08 Maxima, but with a bigger 4 channel amp to really bring these to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 best value in its price range
Review by
amrit from sunnyside, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For around 200 dollars this set is amazing. I installed them in my friends car and they were amazing. The bass on these speakers shocked me. The reproduction of sound was up there with the expensive brands and speaker. I must say they are the best bang for the buck speaker. If you are in the market for a budget build... INCLUDE THESE IN YOUR BUILD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2011 Can't be beat for price range.
Review by
Alexander from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The tweeters in this set are amazing, best I've heard for under $400. My mids are still loosening up, but leave a little to be desired when compared to the highs. When paired with a sub, or two, all that goes away though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 Amazing,sound quality
Review by
button from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A birthday gift to my wife, a pair of MM6501 Polk Audio Component speakers. She has been complaining or offering negitive freedback in a positive way about the sound quality in her 2012 Matrix AWD. Those front door speaker locations are so low, limitations are many, namely sound quality.
The Polk Audio MM6501 were a breeze to install once you figured out how everything was going to come together. Just follow the magic picture from the guide. I dynomaxed the speaker enclosure and installed a foam lining before installation of the speakers. The tweeter I installed surface mount, one hole for the wire, alittle silicone and a screw. Pop in the tweeter and your away. She is running an Alpine 105 head unit with the 45w x 4 additional alpine amp. Infinity 6.5 inch in the rear doors adds a nice addition to the Polk Audio.
Well, I finished the install just as she came out to bring me a coffee, so we cranked her up for the first listen. OH MY GOD, truly amazing difference, sounds so much better. She is so happy. Happy Wife, Happy Life. I have ordered an additional pair for my Tacoma, can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2011 great value
Review by
Jason from Labadieville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great output. The tweeters are a tad harsh at first. Once you allow sufficient break in time, they're amazing. Untouchable performance in this price range. Good overall midbass performance. Break in is key with these components. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Adding a second set soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 very nice!
Review by
crystal-lee from campbell river, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent qualty, very well built. Big improvment over my stockers, and will get better once I hook up a more powerful amp to better match the power ratings of the speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 Polk audio MM6501
Review by
Gerald from Independence, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers work great. Would reccomend to others. Great highs and decent mid's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2011 polk audio mm6501
Review by
jacob from san antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had these in my doors on a civic powered by auto teck mean machine amp putting about 75 watt rms where very loud and clear. These look weird because of the small magnet from the back but the front looks good. I used to have infinity kappa coaxials and got these and love them. They are not too bright on the tweeter but get just as loud and a lot more clear in sound. I have bought many things from sonic and have not been disapointed fast shipping good service highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Fantastic sound...easy install!
Review by
Robert from Pickerington, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These component speakers rock, crystal clear highs and mids, great soundstage and the brackets that came with them made the install easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 I'm floored
Review by
Ben from Fort Walton Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Truly dynamic, now I may be loosing a little bit of my hearing at my age, but I can tell you these are as good as the original Quart's of 1992 which I still own. I'm powering them with the new MB Quart ONX4.125 and paired in parallel with Quart 1.6 tweeters. I was leary about what ohms the amp might see being the Polks are 2.7 ohms and quarts being 4. The amp has plenty of headroom and runs cool to the touch.Have to love technology in manufacturing. Great product.I hope they stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2011 Flat out unbelieveable
Review by
Robert from Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My goodness all I have to say is these speakers are absolutely incredible! I have the 6 1/2 inch components in the front kick panels and the 6x9s in the back sitting on the sub box facing the front (I drive an suv) I have 100 watts rms going to each speaker. I also have 2 12 inch MMs in a small sealed box with 425 rms going to each one of those as well.
I love showing these things off they sound so clear and warm. If your worried about having a harsh tingy sounding tweeter at high volumes these are not harsh. I had previously installed the same set up but with the db series about a year ago. I bought them from C******** and then I found the MM's on Sonicelectronix for practically the same price I paid for the DBs so I had to sell the dbs and get the MM's. If you are on the fence weather to get the dbs or the MM's as far as the difference between the two, the MM's blow the DBs out of the water. There is really no comparison although the tweeters look the same on both of them they are completely different the mms sound better in every way. I was pretty skeptical as to how much better they would actually be. Just give them some time to break in and they just sound better and better. After I install a more up to date head unit (mine is over 6 years old) that will improve the quality as well
All I'm wondering now is how well the sr series sound or how they could sound any better than the mms... hmm

Thanks Sonicelectronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Chris from San Juan, Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound quality, better than most high end model like morel, focal and dynaudio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2011 NICE!
Review by
YOSLO from San Luis Obispo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These little speakers are amazing! They take high power all day and sound awesome doing it. I have 125rms pushing them, but since they are 2.7 ohms, it is actually more than that and they sound fantastic. I would definitely purchase these again, and I would recommend to all that are looking to just buy them.

I have owned so many speakers over the years and have been let down so many times that I have a very skeptical ear, and these did not disappoint at all, in fact I am totally impressed. They make my old Infinity coax speakers sound terrible.

Crossed over at about 60hz and they sound perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2011 top deal
Review by
matthew from australia,toowoomba, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2011 Slick and sexy
Review by
munzy from canada tdot, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The mid is tight. The highs clear and warm. Running off a JL 300/4. Went from the dbs to the mms. At first was like huh a little better. But then after about 5 hours of break in WOW. These are so sweet. Had to do a custom install in my 09 tribute. I have had people looking in my a pillars for tweeters. The highs blend that well with the mid. Slick crossover too. Top quality materials used. Best speakers for the money. Better then JL (and I am a JL guy), better then Focals. Please know the specs of a speaker before you buy. Just don't buy for the name. Learn some stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2011 Very pleased
Review by
Barry from Greenville, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Finally installed in '59 Ford project...tight fit in center console but

Holy Cow...they sound great!

Pushing them with a Polk 200.4 amp and only an iPod!

Plan to add a sub, which will improve even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2011 would buy again
Review by
redfox from Springfield Gardens, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
proud to have it

Strong Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2011 give them time and tune them
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Damon from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was thoroughly disappointed when I first threw these in. I had the xover set at +3db, and my head unit set as I generally have in the past, for example lows, mids and highs at 4, 1, 4. It sounded bad. Tweeters were completely overbearing and harsh, with no mid at all.
So I set the xover at 0db, it was a little better but still overpowering. After playing with them for 2 weeks and breaking them in at the same time they finally sound amazing. I ended up at 2, 2, -1 for my settings and had to adjust the high and mid equalizer curves.
They sound good enough to give me goosebumps with certain songs and I would certainly buy them again. I will buy the coax version for my rear doors after I deaden the doors these are in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 Awsome
Review by
tomas from austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced factory speakers in my 2009 Monterey 278-SC as part of a stereo upgrade. Very good strong sound delivery with no distortion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 GREAT BUY
Review by
chris from Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best set of splits under $800 in my opinion. Great midrange, versatile imdepance. Great power handling, Well built. Sound amazing in my mx5 with a heap of deadening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2011 A steal for the price
Review by
Jesus from Fallbrook, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You cant get much better than this for the price. The sq on this speakers is great it rivals speaker that cost much much more. The tweeter on them its one of my favorites so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2011 Can't go wrong
Review by
overload from san antonio, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound clean, decent low and mids, great high notes thanks to the seperate tweeters, have them running of a JL Audio G series amp. Wouldn't hesitate to buy these again for my next vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2010 Tuff product
Review by
John from Silver Creek, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm currently running 2 pair of these speakers on my ATV. They are holding up very well. Will purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 Polk MM6501 -
Review by
Brian from Idaho Falls, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a set of db series separates with these speakers and all I can say is I loved the sound of the db's but these are 10 times better. The highs are superb and much better mid range. I would highly recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2010 MM6501
Review by
Jimmy from stockdale, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very happy with these speakers. Very clean sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2009 Killer Mid's and smooth hi's
Review by
Jones Audio from Copperas Cove, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component set has amazing quality, polk audio has outdone themselves. I had this set on my stock radio in my GMC truck but didn't care for the sq so i purchased the pioneer premier DEH-610BT and the quality improved but i still thought it could be better, so I put this set on an amplifier, and WOW I had finally realized why I purchased this component set. I had never heard such a great sound from such small drivers. I was only pushing 150 watts per channel but i'm working on getting a new amplifier (Polk audio Pa1100.5) that should drive them to their max 250 watts, and see about the output then. Absolutely the greatest car mid range and hi range system I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2009 polk audio 6501
Review by
lylah from quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very good speakers !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2009 MM6501's are great speakers
Review by
Heywood J from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put them in all 4 doors of my 04 Tahoe with 80 RMS going to each. They sound beyond great. Would buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2009 Great speakers
Review by
Dominick from Long Island City. NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers are awesome. Happy with service, price, and sound! Good price and good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2011 Love em
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Germwar from Salinas, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I paired these with the Polk Audio 500.4 amp and I couldn't be happier. They truly sound beautiful, I'd recommend these to anyone who is looking for amazing at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2010 Decent components from 40~ above!
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
deethe from Raleigh Sprgs/Mphs, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
x-over mounting location is critical to the policy of the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Thanks for your feedback.
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2011 Don't sound warm
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JohnCali from Cutchogue, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these speakers and I would NOT recommend them. While they are very loud and clean I don't like the way they sound. I feel like they are too tinny, and I have the treble boost turned off. The real issue is that vocals aren't warm and are too high pitched. I've spent many, many hours trying to get them to sound right but it just isn't happening. They produce a lot of low bass ( with the my Soundstream ref 2.370 bass boost turned up ). However I feel like the midbass tones for vocals and such are nonexistent. Also the tweeters are too high pitched. I bought these because in my experience silk tweeters sound more natural.....guess not. I thought they would sound better once broken in.....guess not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz