Showing 15 reviews for JL Audio 13TW5-3

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 13TW5-3
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
20%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.3
Features
4.8
Design
5.0
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 21, 2013 Awesome Sub!!
Review by
Tyler from Elmira, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this in my car for almost six months now and I love it as much as the first time I got it hooked up! It takes up next to no space because its so thin and I built a box for it to fit right in my trunk. It pounds out a lot of bass and I'm very impressed. It's very expensive, but I would easily recommend it to anyone willing to spend the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2012 very good bass
Review by
Juan from Brownsville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
recomiendo estos bajos por que son muy delgados y tienen un sonido muy fuerte 144 db en db drag con un amp orion HCCA 275
OCUPAN POCO ESPACIO ES LO MEJOR
usadas en silverado 2003 cabina senciilla

GOOGLE TRANSLATION:
recommend this shallow because they are very thin and have a very loud 144 db in db drag Orion HCCA amp with a small footprint 275 IS BEST silverado 2003 cabin used in senciilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2011 JL w5 Crew Cab GMC
Review by
lucas from Frederick, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I bought a pair of these subs because of JL's reputation. I have a 05 GMC Crew Cab and really wanted to put them behind the rear seat. I've had boxes on the seat and it uses up too much space and makes a crew cab worthless. and i like to use the space under the seat and its just a mess to build a box for there. I also enjoy listening to my music very loud. I ordered a pair of these and hooked them to a Kenwood 1904D Amp and it pushes the pair pretty good. I have them in one box built to JL specs with a divider and sealed. They are pretty loud. I listen mosty to rock, and a lot of country. The subs aren't quite quick enough for quick pounding rock songs but they dont keep up bad for 13's. I talked to the local stereo shop and they didn't like them. They said when the JL rep came by and showed them in a spec box they werent very impressed. They said themselves they would put them in a much larger ported box and they sound better but that is a waste of the point of putting this thin of a sub in a large box. They were impressed with the sound of them in a spec box in my truck. I myself personally will probably step down to about 10's in a pair or maybe three for my crew cab. Bottom line if u like loud bass and have very little room or where you want to put them is a very thin space these are probably good to get but beware the 13's arent the quickest if your anal about very quick hitting bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 Very nice
Review by
Marcus from Covington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I heard it and it sounds good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 jl
Review by
crf250rider from palermo,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sub iv had so far bought it from a buddy of mine but I wanna get a nother one soon to make it dual's. I'd recomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2011 JL Audio 13TW5-3
Review by
Markel from Mabelvale, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very Nice sounding sub have it in my Cadillac Escalade its sounds awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 13tw5
Review by
dave from slc, ut
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub, it sounds great! Once it gets broke in it will sound a lot better... Also i just bought a second one of these subs and im getting the box built next week by my buddy justin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2011 Awesome Thumper!!
Review by
Mike from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This woofer is an awesome addition to my system! Between this and a 10W3v3 the low end is completely covered. It handles an Alpine PDX6 amp nicely and I have it tucked under the back seat in my F150 iin a 0.8 cubic foot box where it sits in less that six inches of clearance.

I don't think there is a better performing shallow anywhere!! I also think that this would outperform most standard speakers.

I highly recommend this speaker!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2011 WOW
Review by
DS from Anaheim
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got Three of them in Ford f-150 regular cab in a custom box powered by a Rockford Fosgate 1500 db1 amp. I love it. Great sub if limited on space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2010 Amazing SUB
Review by
JoDe from Eau Claire, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is such a great sub. Dont let the "2 inch thick" fool you. This thing pounds my truck. Easily louder then most car systems in my area. I have two of these powered by a rockford amp, but these subs make it happen! Great product by JL like usual, if you have the money..spend it on this! wont let you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2010 Amazing sub!!
Review by
SQ fanatic from FLorida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was a little skeptical of how much bass a 2" thick sub could actually put out, but my 13TW5 is no joke. It puts out more bass than my 2 old Rockford 10's I had before it. I am running this sub off of a JL 500/1v2 and it hits hard and loud. I'm running this sub in a sealed enclosure so the bass it very tight and accurate. I love this sub and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great SQ sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2010 Great Sub
Review by
Dew53 from Eau Claire, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Heck of a sub, had one running on the JL 750/1 slash series hitting real good. friends heard me coming in my regular cab truck from quite a distance, and I am putting in a second one real soon! sounds great, great sound quality, and hits hard! If your looking for an outstanding sub without a lot of room, I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2009 VERY IMPRESSIVE. POWERFUL
Review by
nick from Slatington P.A.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed facing down into the spare tire well of a 94 civic.Powered by a 500/1. I have had the 13w7 12w6v2's etc. and love them. I purchase this in hopes of retaining my trunk space by using nothing more then my spare tire well. and if it wasn't loud enough i would just put it under the seat of my truck and use the one of the other jl models in the civic. Thats not going to happen though. This thing not only sounds good. it is powerful.... Looks like i will be selling my other models for these. Only drawback is the mounting flange is rather small between the tabs. Will need to get the mounting hole just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2009 JL TW5
Review by
Tommy from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub. Put two in 08 gmc crew cab with 1000/1. Sound like my old w6. Cant ask for a better thin mount sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2009 Great for its size...
Review by
Philip from Ontario, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this sub. It is very loud, the depth of it is very thin and it looks good. My only gripe is that it seems a little slow on response. Now that can be due to the box type, the amp settings, the deck, etc... So far however, this is a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz