Showing 67 reviews for Viper 5901 Responder LC3 (p/n 5702V)

Customer Review Summary for Viper 5901 Responder LC3 (p/n 5702V)
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 67 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
great value!

Great product! Awesome value. Would always do business with u guys again!

VS
Great system if you dont mind paying for installation.

I love the system however I am disapointed that you can not get install instructions for the unit unless you are an authorized dealer. I have always installed my own vehicle electronics on my own mainly because I don't trust an 18 year old kid with maybe a high school education to do it when I know that I will do it right and take no shortcuts. Would be a 5 if directed electronics would give you access to this information. Why would I want to pay between $500.00 and $900.00 to have this installed when i am perfectly capable of doing it myself.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 27, 2013 great value!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Victor from Staten Island, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product! Awesome value. Would always do business with u guys again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 my car is in my pocket!!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tomas churizoe from berkeley, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love the viper 5901! Hooked it all up myself with tons of custom features like window roll-up and an mp3 siren! The remote works even when my car is in the underground garage from my 3rd story aptmnt. Wired a microwave proximity sensor that rolls the windows up with the warn away output and triggers the alarm on full output. My favorite feature is I can have the alarm on silent at the car but full vibrate beep etc on my key fob so I can actually catch someone before they get away!! I didnt get around to remote starting yet bc its a 5spd and havent had time to wire it all correctly but I will edit this review once its installed. regardless ***** and well worth the price for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2010 Viper 5901
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rex the Teaser from Denton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Even though it was harder for the guys at the shop to install it in my car because I have a 2007 Cobalt, it is by far the best purchase I've ever done. Love the way auto-starter works very smoothly. Price was great. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MILOS from MEMPHIS,TENNESSEE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this for my TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2005 i love this alarm. Viper is my first and really works great. I vill buy again. Sonic Electronix you are doing a great job. Shipping in one day! Wow that's really great to me!!! I will recommend to all my friends. THANK YOU!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 The Best
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kevin from Idaho Falls, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I now have two of the Viper 5901 alarms. The range is incredible. I haven't ever measured the distance I can arm/disarm the system, but I can tell you I've never been someplace where I needed to arm or disarm them that I was too far away. The extra distance is most important to me when it comes to the paging capability. I know that no matter how far away from my cars I am (within reason), the 2-way fob is going to alert me if the alarm triggers. I sleep much better at night knowing that the 5901s are keeping an eye on my gear for me. The remote start works perfectly, and it sure is nice to get into a car that isn't scorching hot in the summer, or freezing cold in the winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2012 Decent product
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall good value. Lots of features, most of which I didn't use, as I only wanted to prevent someone tampering with my vehicle as I have a lockable manual battery switch so I can disable the starter. The biggest disappointment for me is that the remote range is nowhere near 1 mile as advertised and is actually no more than 1/4 mile, even over open ground. I also purchased the proximity sensor and found that it did not function as well as I would have thought either. The sensor itself has a cheap, Taiwanese look and feel to it, so does the overall system. Nowhere near as rugged as I would like to see it, but overall decent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Viper alarm systems FTW!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this installed in my '94 civic and what an alarm system! Being that I had invested a lot of money into the car audio portion of my car I wanted it all to be protected and with this it was done! Installation was a breeze and the hardware viper uses is nothing but the best! A+ viper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2011 Best alarm system
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Flavio from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great alarm system to have it comes with two different controls in case you lose one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Beast of an alarm
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mr. Slumps from Macon, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend has this exact alarm and its fierce as hell. its like his car is alive and knows every move of a person getting close to his car. the alarm is clear and loud as hell. He also was in his room about a half a mile away and his car was still accessible even inside a concrete brick building, so im definitely getting this especially because i have a lot of car audio stuff in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2011 Perfect.
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
juan from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put this on my honda accord and love it. Works perfect. Actually caught someone trying to break into my car with this alarm. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Great Alarm!!!!!!
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from Brownsville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a really good alarm it was kind of hard to install but it was worth it. my car is manual so i didint connect the auto start but all the other features work very good. and the price was really cheap iv seen the same alarm at the store and it costs three times as much.

The pros on this alarm is that you can install both a hood pin and the trunk pin and the range is very good also the two way remote is very cool and it has status report and temperature report and the battery lasts about a month. The cons it not sensitive i can shake the car tap on the window and it wont alert also the range is not bad but its no where near a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2011 best
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Troy from hinchinbrook, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
best value and a good alarm I have one with all the extras must have for car if u have heaps of audio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2011 Great alarm
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
narciso118 from Antioch, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm is very good and for the price it even better. It work great in every aspect, only one think I don't like is that it don't come with. Shock sensor. That is the only problem I found. Thanks for this great alarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Great system if you dont mind paying for installation.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cowboy from Groton, ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love the system however I am disapointed that you can not get install instructions for the unit unless you are an authorized dealer. I have always installed my own vehicle electronics on my own mainly because I don't trust an 18 year old kid with maybe a high school education to do it when I know that I will do it right and take no shortcuts. Would be a 5 if directed electronics would give you access to this information. Why would I want to pay between $500.00 and $900.00 to have this installed when i am perfectly capable of doing it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2010 Amazing system! (Mostly)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Knoj from Ames, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off, don't try to install this by yourself. Crazy! In addition, you'll probably need about $100 more parts and such.

I had this installed on a manual, it's a Honda S2000 that I wanted to drive all winter. I absolutely love the system, and the alarm is great for a convertible.

Now, on for the bad parts: Don't let anyone step on your remote, replacements are $120 or more. Sometimes the sequence to enable remote start on a manual vehicle yields different results, and doesn't always work.

There is no better system out there, but there are bugs that can be worked out yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2009 WONDERFUL
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
phil from Concord, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had many Vipers and other various alarms systems and this is by far the best one i have ever had. The rechargeable battery last up to a month and beyond and I use all the functions on mine a lot. I have also installed many RS security systems(viper 791xv included) and have never had any problems till this one. This is a complex system but works amazingly. I don't know how they measure the range on these things but I definitely cannot get a mile out of mine granted it is not a salt flat where I live so i don't expect 100% of what they say. But over all this is the best alarm i have ever seen or had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2009 This is Awesome!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
J from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have installed this product at my place of work and it is great! the older model would just show you a door was opened... this will even show you which door (drivers front or passenger rear etc..) it has a digital temperature reading at the bottom of the display on the remote and the 1 mile range is super if you live in an apartment complex, or have to park a long way from work. the alarm offers all of vipers convenience features which basically make your car a rolling fortress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2012 Viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mullet from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this for my 2000 Corvette convertible. The wiring was already in place, the Vette had a motion sensor (optional) in the console and works very well, you will know when someone is looking into the windows. The key fob will vibrate and buzz in your pocket to warn you.

Also, installed the voice box (optional) to shout out warning messages when someone is too close to the car. Had trouble with the remote start working correctly, never got the siren and horn to go off together. I only got audible warning sounds, and the car horn to go off.

If you're thinking of buying this product, get a shop to install it. NOT for beginners; way too many wires, he also had to put in a resistor on the ignition switch, because the Vette key has a chip on it. The battery on the fob lasts a long time, I have had it 6 months, and have had to charge it only about 3 times.

I give 3 stars for ease of use. Had to have my installer set the time on the fob. Nothing in the instructions on how to set the time or clear instructions on setting the level of protection. I am still learning how to operate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2012 best deal
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
chris from Lagrange, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would you believe that a place in my town was wanting to charge me hundreds for this system. And I found it on here for a hell of a lot cheaper. Great price for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2012 Awesome product.. Intense install!!!!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
SmokinXXX from North Las Vegas Nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Viper 5901 is an awesome alarm system. It is completely upgradable and offers a ton of features. I would recommend a professional to install this unit unless you have a LOT of time and the vehicle is not your daily driver. It took me three plus weeks of researching the internet to find enough information on the system to be able to install it myself. Viper is a proprietary alarm system and you CAN NOT get information on the unit or how to install it easily. Other than that it is a great unit does everything I want and the remote start is awesome. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2012 great value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alan from phoenix
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its an great alarm that i have had no issues with & recomend for others that are intrested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2012 Another great product from DEI!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vu from New Iberia, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great alarm system by DEI. My 3rd install, and works like a charm. Instructions are incorrect though. The 3rd ignition wire, if I remember correctly, requires a 12V source, not a 3rd ignition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 Better than factory!Range is amazing!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fatty from Minneoplis,MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went to the park, alot of hills and trees at least 1/2 mile away remote pointed away from car and it started! It works through brick walls at work like no others. BEST! Worth every penny, pro better then factory remote in my Buick! The range is amazzzzing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2011 Very dependable
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Adam from Chattanooga TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the features and the fact u can charge the main fob and it buzzes when the battery is low great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 awesome
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ZAchary from Ocalaocala, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2011 Works very well
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Corolla Boy from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in a 2010 Toyota Corolla

Works just as advertised. However I did notice that with the glass breakage sensor and mini piezo (optional sensors) installed, they piezo would emit a high enough frequency to trigger the glass breakage sensor whenever I locked the car. This would result in numerous error codes every now and then. After turning down the sensitivity, the problem was solved. Hurray.

Doesn't quite work up to 1 mile. Maybe its the buildings and trees in the way, but otherwise its very reliable. I love being able to tell what the temperature is in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2011 What A Bargain, Safe, and Secure!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
EJohnson from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far, so good. We really appreciate the product, and it was well received and recommended by others. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2011 Great Value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mychal from Portland, Oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A great product & very reasonable price.. Recommended !!!!

Loving the features available for this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 Very Good product!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greg from sorrento, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very Good!
Very Far distance!
Rechargeable batteries are awesome!
Professional Install!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2011 Impressed!!!!!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eli from Fort Meade, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a factory alarm system in my car which it didn't work at all. My car got broken in to and stole my radio, digital camera, and my thumb drive that has valuable pictures of my family. I went to a car alarm specialist and showed me the ropes. He told me to get the Viper 5901 or 5902. I settled with 5901 and i got it installed with five sensors on it. By far this is the best car alarm system i have ever had. NO COMPLAINTS HERE, I LOVE THIS ALARM PERIOD..............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2011 viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
francisco from houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great deal easy to install and remote star option is outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2011 Good value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PATRICK from DORCHESTER, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a good alarm and isn't overly sensitive. It's worth the price and will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2011 Awesome Unit!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jetta from LA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had my parents buy me this unit for my birthday in December and it is awesome!! On those cold mornings I just press that start button and my Jetta fires up with no problem at all! This unit has lots of goodies on it so just be sure to read the short little booklet, other than that I love the range on this Viper 5901 as well! Great Product! This is my second item I have bought from Sonic, and I love them! Always will be a returning customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2011 Okkay
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hector from vallejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this system in my Honda civic and it runs pretty good I can't complain about it. When hit my alarm goes off and has a great keyless entry system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2011 great value i always use dei products cause i never have any problems.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
G from Bridgeport CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do recommend this cause its easy to install very user friendly and the name viper says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2010 viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Damian from Cookeville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this on my zx3 focus and it easy to use the only thing I don't like it that the remote breaks easy other than that I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2010 great alarm.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MIGS from NEW YORK.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always had a Viper alarm in my cars. This last one I put in my car is very good. The 5901 is worth the money it cost. I'd tell any body to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2010 Works great. Installed it myself, no problems.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RECTIFIER from Corning, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this thing. It works very far away. Sometimes it has problems in bluildings, but it still has a better range than any other remote start system I have used.

Installation was a bit tricky. It took several attempts to get everything to work exactly the way I wanted it to, especially because the manufacturer doesn't want to give the end user any installation information - they really prefer that you take it to a dealer. I would recommend taking it to a dealer to have it installed if you don't know wiring very well. I had to use resistors to connect to my parking lights and door locks. I also had to use diodes to connect my door open triggers properly.

All is well, it has been six months now, no problems. Every so often it tells me the battery is low, so I plug it into power somewhere. It is a standard mini-usb plug, so i can charge it from a laptop, or a car charger, or from the supplied charger. I like the flexibility.

There are still some options and settings I have not explored... I will wait until the snow flies to get some time to play with those settings. I also see it has an option to turn on your dome light when you unlock the door or shut off the engine, which I will use to turn on some exterior lighting as well. Like I said, there are a lot of things that can be done with this.

All this was put into my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 with the Hemi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2010 Perfect Alarm system!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jazz Man from Dorchester MA,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is perfect for any car. And it is easy to install with a professional of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2010 Install for Newbies
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
William L. from Colorado Springs Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a professional Audio/ Video engineer as far as installing the system in the car this was a day process to install. If you plan on doing it yourself save your time and find a qualified install tech. Mine works but confused on installing the remote start as well as the turbo timer since i already have one in the car. I love the distance it lets you know if some one is tampering with the car. I wouldn't say that it is a Mile range though i think it is line of site if nothing between u and the car/truck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2010 NOT FOR FIRST TIMERS
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
the1nonlybanker from WISCONSIN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have done several other alarms and remote starts, Crime Guards, Commandos, and Bulldog systems. And Viper is definitely not a simple install. In my opinion it has way to many options and accessories that i couldn't even find a reason to use. Other than to turn on heated mirrors and seats. I probably cut more than half the wires just because their not used. Directions can be confusing at times because one wire can be used 3 different ways depending how you set the programming options. Am happy with the range and 2 way pager. The blue LED is bright and visible, and the alarm features work great once tweaked. I recommend that you definitely do your homework before you tear into your car and find out what wires you actually need and tag 'em with tape on the unit and your car, i spent plenty of time going "now where does this wire need to go."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2010 Awesome Alarm
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kyle from S S, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this about 6 months ago and got it installed in my 99 Explorer a few months ago.

I honestly have no complaints about this alarm, its great overall. The remote from inside my work building to my Explorer parked in the lot a ways away. The receiver has a bright blue LED in it that flashes constantly, great for deterring theft. The "warn" and "shock' sensors are a nice feature, depending on how hard something hits the vehicle it will chirp or flat out go nuts.

Definitely recommend. My Explorer has PATS in it already, but I still didnt feel safe leaving it till I got the Viper 5901.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 Great product!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this Viper for about six months now and I am extremely happy with it. It always works from where ever I'm at. The usb charger is one of my favorite things because i don't have to worry about batteries and being able to change the sensitivity is also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2010 Viper system is pretty nice
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Like my whip from Springfield, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
System works well, it does work at extended distances, but have not been successful at 1 mile even with line of sight. Temperature reading of inside of vehicle leaves a bit to be desired. Accidental button press on the one way remote, often results in accidental starting of vehicle...so be careful with that remote as the car can start whether the doors are locked or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2010 Viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam from Pensacola, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a really good system. It is my first one and I have had no problems with it. i would recommend it to anyone looking for a remote start or security system!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2010 good product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Viper 5901 from ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
many look at viper as overpriced however you get what you pay for with any product really, no alarm starter out there actually gives the range that the packaging claims. i knew that when buying the starter (even though its not full mile range it still beats others with its specs) but i bought it because i know they have really sensitive security features and many upgrades (attachments) which was my primary concern as i have high value engine mods and off-road parts. the alarm has just been great and the ultra bright blue led deters violators clearly even through 5% tint (installed directly facing rear from front). works even better with level and proximity sensor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2010 Good buy
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sambo from Indian trail, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. Not exactly a mile and sometimes the remote delays on the command. Pros: Remote start works great on my standard trans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2010 Viper alarm is excellent
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from Morristown, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm works as advertised and has many programmable features beyond the needs of most. The remotes work well and programming with the valet switch is straightforward. The only problem is the difficulty inherent in installing it yourself. I installed this unit deep in the dash of a 2006 F150 truck with the help of folks on the internet who could provide relevant wiring diagrams. I wish the Viper folks took a different attitude regarding do-it-yourselfers. Most folks don't want to, but a few of us are too demanding and hands-on to want the work done by an installer. Installation is difficult and should not be attempted by a novice. Sonic was terrific to deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2010 I'm not so sure I like this
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
alrmmn from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used this Alarm/RS system a lot. and i have seen all the flaws in it. like how the interior temperature thing is off by sometimes up to 20 degrees (the temp sensor was inside the main unit), not that good when you hook up the rear defrost, which default is set to turn on automatically at 55 degrees or below. The range is also not close to a mile. I've had friends say it may be a half mile if your lucky and its a clear day out. I bought a scytek alarm/rs with all the same features and then some above and beyond this unit and i'm happy with my purchase which cost's over $100 less than this. also the side buttons are kind of hard to press. most times it takes both hands to use the remote 2 way remote. its not user friendly. I have used the model above this one that had a fancy screen and a wheel to control the remote, it was a lot nicer, but i'd never spend the money for it. I keep seeing problems with the models below this like the 5301 and the 5701 losing the remote programming. viper has released new versions of all these i believe that had some problems fixed. hope you don't get the old version if your buying one of these. and also i hate the shock sensor being on board. it's always really sensitive in one area near where it's located, and never sensitive on the opposite corner of the car so it's easy to break in without setting the shock sensor off, unless you have it set REALLY sensitive then you get the false alarms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2010 Excellent Alarm System
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
AJ from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DEI has designed another great Vehicle Security/Remote Start System! Next to the newer Viper 5902 that has an HD Color Transmitter, this is alarm system leads the way in vehicle security and is among of the very best on the market. It has a built-in double guard shock sensor and allows for easy plug-n-play upgrades like the 508D-Field Disturbance Sensor, 506T-Glass Break Sensor, or the 507M-Digital Tilt Sensor. The USB charging feature on the 2-way transmitter is great and eliminates the constant replacement of batteries (just wish the Remote Start button was in a better location instead of on the side of the 2-Way transmitter). I have purchased/installed one of these alarms for each of my vehicles. It has proven to be a very reliable alarm system over the last 10 months. Would definitely recommend buying if you are looking for the best quality and features at a great price with Sonic Electronix.

Recommend professional installation due to lack of customer support by manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2010 Great value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mr walters from San Jose, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great! I really like the fact that I can charge it through the plug and not have to buy batteries all the time. It has a great screen and you can change the background color and easy to use and change the features. The cons I would say that once in a blue moon it wouldn't lock or unlock nomatter how close or far I was. Not sure if it's just my car or not but over all great product. In addition I like the fact that the led light is all in one with the receiver(antenna thingy). There's a newer model out there so I wouldn't say best product but not bad for what it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2010 Superb vehicle security system
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dragos from Sabadell, Spain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the 5901 installed on my Toyota RAV4, and it works like a charm. Not only does it protect the vehicle, but it also adds a lot of convenience and fun.

Pros:
- Very reliable. Loud when attacked, quiet when left alone. No false alarms.
- Two-way communication with remote gives you peace of mind.
- Integrated remote starter keeps your vehicle in good shape, no matter how harsh the weather. You can even check the inside temperature from the remote.
- Very extensible. Multiple auxiliary outputs to control whatever you want (garage door, lights, windows etc).

Cons:
- No option to turn off remote notification on warn-away chirps. Whenever a loud bike drives by, your remote lets you know.
- Temperature sensor is built into the main body. This poses some constraints on where to place the body, if you want a reliable temperature reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2009 Excellent value for money
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
gap84 from Katherine, NT, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this installed and enjoy using it everyday. Sonic Electronix.com were excellent in their service and the delivery of the item to Australia was super quick. Thanks guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2009 GREAT PRODUCT
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JJ from Akron, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a wonderful product. one of the best out. I did a lot of due diligence on car alarms and starters. You can't lose with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2009 viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
mike from riverside, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great alarm. got it for my 03' s-10 and its been awesome. the manual is a little confusing took me forever to figure out how to use it but its great. would be better with all the features, but great price. remote face is easy to scratch soo be careful. would recommend this alarm to anyone..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2009 Awesome Alarm!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tarantula1 from Urbancrest, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this alarm. the remote is great even the additional remote is not bad my girl knows how to work both with no problem! lol
i love the display and the range on it and the fact it lets you know if you alarm is going off even if you can't hear your car/truck calling for help! lol
the remote beeps and vibrates to let you know even for the warn away shock! this is a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2009 great product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
fidi from las vegas, nv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
you get the best when you buy the best, and this viper 5901 its top of the line. thank you sonic e my favorite on line store
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2009 Great Product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
D from Lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this installed in my truck for about 6 months now. Great product but plan on having a licensed installer do the install. The parent company will not help you with any questions. Lucky for me I have installed there equipment in the past and had a copy of my vehicle schematics already. Just had to buy an ignition over ride, had an installer program it and I was off and running. Again, great product, just be prepared for the extra $200-$300 install fee on top of your purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2009 More Features than I'll ever need. Ever...
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Randy from Naperville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value... I recommend this product to everyone I meet. I installed it myself in under 3hrs. Do your homework before considering installing it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2009 Great Product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Riptide from Providence
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Possibly the best of Viper's lineup this season. No Batteries for the 2 way keyfob and now is rechargable making life much easier for the end user. Distance is great and the response is even better. Still up in the air about the intergrated shock sensor, but so far no issues (If you are that worried about it, buy and install a seperate 2 zone shock sensor). Great unit from DEI!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2009 Great price + service + productt
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ronald from Carol Stream, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, this is by far the best remote starter/alarm system available. Awesome pricing and service from Sonic electronix, could not be happier, will come again!!! Thanks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Great Value
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Flaco from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. I like it.
pros: tell you when the car is on or when you leave the door open
cons: i can't get it to 1 mile range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Viper 5901
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tienkertoy15 from spring, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a great system. I think the guys who installed it from best buy messed up the sensitivity levels though. But its very good model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2011 Viper 5901
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Oliver from Salem, Mass.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product. Also fast shipping. will recommend to anyone looking for a alarm remote start combo, great feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2011 One of the top 5 alarms on the market
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
SALCEDO PRO SOUND from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great alarm, this is my 3rd one purchased. 100% satisfied with sale and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2010 Good value
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
pancho from reading, pa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Is a good alarm, but they should work on transmitters, I can see images on mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2013 Skyline R34 Self Installed
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
post2me from Auckland, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Viper 5904, I installed this unit into my Nissan skyline R34 1998. Took me 3 days in total, I didn't have much to go on with where wires go I don't install alarms as a profession, so it was a little hard for me, then Instructions don't give much away either, actually they are bad, You'll need to google a lot of diagrams for the model car and sensors etc for wire colors and where to find things behind and under the dash, some you tube videos helped me. This unit is supposed to be installed by an authorized dealer, then you'll also get the full life warranty however in NZ their is none.

Would have liked to have purchased the smart start (Smartphone app) but it is not supported in NZ either. Not all the wires are used in the harness only some.

The only part I don't like is the auto start on the remote, the button to start the car can be pressed easy, you'll need the key guard on, It would make more sense to have this key pressed down for 4 seconds, liked the trunk release, where you have to keep the button pressed for 4 seconds for it to pop the trunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz