Showing 18 reviews for Viper 5901 Responder LC3 (p/n 5702V)

Customer Review Summary for Viper 5901 Responder LC3 (p/n 5702V)
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 67 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
November 4, 2010 Viper 5901
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rex the Teaser from Denton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Even though it was harder for the guys at the shop to install it in my car because I have a 2007 Cobalt, it is by far the best purchase I've ever done. Love the way auto-starter works very smoothly. Price was great. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2012 Decent product
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall good value. Lots of features, most of which I didn't use, as I only wanted to prevent someone tampering with my vehicle as I have a lockable manual battery switch so I can disable the starter. The biggest disappointment for me is that the remote range is nowhere near 1 mile as advertised and is actually no more than 1/4 mile, even over open ground. I also purchased the proximity sensor and found that it did not function as well as I would have thought either. The sensor itself has a cheap, Taiwanese look and feel to it, so does the overall system. Nowhere near as rugged as I would like to see it, but overall decent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2010 Amazing system! (Mostly)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Knoj from Ames, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off, don't try to install this by yourself. Crazy! In addition, you'll probably need about $100 more parts and such.

I had this installed on a manual, it's a Honda S2000 that I wanted to drive all winter. I absolutely love the system, and the alarm is great for a convertible.

Now, on for the bad parts: Don't let anyone step on your remote, replacements are $120 or more. Sometimes the sequence to enable remote start on a manual vehicle yields different results, and doesn't always work.

There is no better system out there, but there are bugs that can be worked out yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2012 Viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mullet from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this for my 2000 Corvette convertible. The wiring was already in place, the Vette had a motion sensor (optional) in the console and works very well, you will know when someone is looking into the windows. The key fob will vibrate and buzz in your pocket to warn you.

Also, installed the voice box (optional) to shout out warning messages when someone is too close to the car. Had trouble with the remote start working correctly, never got the siren and horn to go off together. I only got audible warning sounds, and the car horn to go off.

If you're thinking of buying this product, get a shop to install it. NOT for beginners; way too many wires, he also had to put in a resistor on the ignition switch, because the Vette key has a chip on it. The battery on the fob lasts a long time, I have had it 6 months, and have had to charge it only about 3 times.

I give 3 stars for ease of use. Had to have my installer set the time on the fob. Nothing in the instructions on how to set the time or clear instructions on setting the level of protection. I am still learning how to operate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2012 Another great product from DEI!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vu from New Iberia, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great alarm system by DEI. My 3rd install, and works like a charm. Instructions are incorrect though. The 3rd ignition wire, if I remember correctly, requires a 12V source, not a 3rd ignition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2011 Good value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PATRICK from DORCHESTER, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a good alarm and isn't overly sensitive. It's worth the price and will buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2011 Okkay
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hector from vallejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this system in my Honda civic and it runs pretty good I can't complain about it. When hit my alarm goes off and has a great keyless entry system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2010 viper 5901
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Damian from Cookeville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this on my zx3 focus and it easy to use the only thing I don't like it that the remote breaks easy other than that I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2010 NOT FOR FIRST TIMERS
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
the1nonlybanker from WISCONSIN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have done several other alarms and remote starts, Crime Guards, Commandos, and Bulldog systems. And Viper is definitely not a simple install. In my opinion it has way to many options and accessories that i couldn't even find a reason to use. Other than to turn on heated mirrors and seats. I probably cut more than half the wires just because their not used. Directions can be confusing at times because one wire can be used 3 different ways depending how you set the programming options. Am happy with the range and 2 way pager. The blue LED is bright and visible, and the alarm features work great once tweaked. I recommend that you definitely do your homework before you tear into your car and find out what wires you actually need and tag 'em with tape on the unit and your car, i spent plenty of time going "now where does this wire need to go."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 Great product!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this Viper for about six months now and I am extremely happy with it. It always works from where ever I'm at. The usb charger is one of my favorite things because i don't have to worry about batteries and being able to change the sensitivity is also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2010 Viper system is pretty nice
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Like my whip from Springfield, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
System works well, it does work at extended distances, but have not been successful at 1 mile even with line of sight. Temperature reading of inside of vehicle leaves a bit to be desired. Accidental button press on the one way remote, often results in accidental starting of vehicle...so be careful with that remote as the car can start whether the doors are locked or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2010 good product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Viper 5901 from ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
many look at viper as overpriced however you get what you pay for with any product really, no alarm starter out there actually gives the range that the packaging claims. i knew that when buying the starter (even though its not full mile range it still beats others with its specs) but i bought it because i know they have really sensitive security features and many upgrades (attachments) which was my primary concern as i have high value engine mods and off-road parts. the alarm has just been great and the ultra bright blue led deters violators clearly even through 5% tint (installed directly facing rear from front). works even better with level and proximity sensor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2010 Good buy
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sambo from Indian trail, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. Not exactly a mile and sometimes the remote delays on the command. Pros: Remote start works great on my standard trans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2010 Great value
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mr walters from San Jose, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great! I really like the fact that I can charge it through the plug and not have to buy batteries all the time. It has a great screen and you can change the background color and easy to use and change the features. The cons I would say that once in a blue moon it wouldn't lock or unlock nomatter how close or far I was. Not sure if it's just my car or not but over all great product. In addition I like the fact that the led light is all in one with the receiver(antenna thingy). There's a newer model out there so I wouldn't say best product but not bad for what it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2009 Great Product
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
D from Lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this installed in my truck for about 6 months now. Great product but plan on having a licensed installer do the install. The parent company will not help you with any questions. Lucky for me I have installed there equipment in the past and had a copy of my vehicle schematics already. Just had to buy an ignition over ride, had an installer program it and I was off and running. Again, great product, just be prepared for the extra $200-$300 install fee on top of your purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Great Value
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Flaco from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. I like it.
pros: tell you when the car is on or when you leave the door open
cons: i can't get it to 1 mile range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Viper 5901
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tienkertoy15 from spring, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a great system. I think the guys who installed it from best buy messed up the sensitivity levels though. But its very good model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2010 Good value
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
pancho from reading, pa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Is a good alarm, but they should work on transmitters, I can see images on mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz