Showing 27 reviews for Sony CDX-GT630UI

Customer Review Summary for Sony CDX-GT630UI
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
19%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 26, 2010 Buy it!
Review by
Michael from East Meadow, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You will not find a better system for the price. The sound quality is fantastic, even with stock speakers. The AM/FM pickup is great, along with the CD player. It hasn't skipped on me yet. More importantly, the USB port is the best way to listen to your own collection. Plug in a flash drive and you're ready to go. Sony's zap button allows you to listen to short clips of songs to choose what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2010 very good high quality radio
Review by
jose from hattiesburg, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i was more than satisfied with my sony radio i purchased from this company. upon opening it you can tell right away its very solid and made of high quality components. it has so many different ways to customize the radio to your liking . very happy with it . you wont find one nicer for the price. ive seen alpines that arent as nice and cost twice as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2010 Best Stereo in this price range
Review by
Bob from Boulder, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally purchased one of the leading Kenwood's in this class, but it got ripped off. And I'm glad it did. This Sony is so superior it's a joke. The Sony's interface is much more intuitive and the controls feel better to the touch. I would agree with other reviewers that the presets can be hard to see, but after a short while you get used to their positions. All in all, you can't go wrong with this unit for the money. I would give it 5 stars except for the likely failure of some of the plastic components and the shortcomings of the button layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2009 Great player at a Great price.
Review by
Laura from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best stereo ever. It has cd/tuner/usb, etc. What more can you ask for? It's also for the great price if you buy here on sonicelectronix. At b*** b** it's for $169.99+tax. Also the illuminations are pretty cool. The blue looks good whether it's day/night. As for the green, in the daytime it's very dim and you can't really see the color, but at night it looks good. Also the remote control is easy to use. I've owned this for about 6 months, and so far so good. No problems with it at all! Overall, the stereo, price, features are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2009 great
Review by
vincent from east moriches, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This has been an excellent head unit coupled with my factory speakers and an external amp with dual kicker subwoofers. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for an inexpensive way to improve factory performance and an add full iPod control. For the price of most iPod adapters you get the best of both worlds in one awesome package.
I purchased this unit based on functionality as I liked the idea of Zapplin and Quick Browser. I was not let down as I can surf some 7K songs on my iPod Classic in a jiffy. This unit is incredibly easy to use and has enough power to push my factory speakers effortlessly.
I liked this head unit so much that I ended up purchasing a second one from Sonic for my other vehicle.
The positives speak for themselves and are too many to list. The only down, if you'd call it that, is that the display has a limited number of colors to match your dash. Two to be exact. Unfortunately Orange is not an option.

Best bang for the buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2009 Great Headunit
Review by
Kyle from South Slocan, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best Sony unit I have had. Very easy to play with, I love how its 2nd illumination matches my Explorers dash lights. Searching through my iPod is OK, not the greatest but it is only because I have 4000+ songs on there and its tough to go through them all. Would do great with the smaller iPods or with someone who doesn't have a ton of songs like I do.
The sub-out sounds pretty good at high volume considering its 2V.


About the only thing I don't like about this unit is that it doesn't have a search memory, which sucks because I have to start from the beginning after each time I find a song.

I didn't get this from Sonic Electronix, found it at W**M*** on sale for $150 after I bought my Explorer.

Overall its great and I highly recommend to others who are looking for a low budget good quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2009 excellent
Review by
Nestor from Long Beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i like this head unit very easy to understand and everything i especially like the design it stands out and it has a nice look to it i would recommend this unit to any one looking for something nice at a low price i think this is one of the best designed units and best everything Sony has came out with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2009 Super Nice improvement over stock!
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been upgrading car audio in the wifes '07 Nissan XTERRA for an early BDay present. Had her all setup with sub, new door speakers, and amp to pump'em both. Then she mentions to me how she'd "really like one (a headunit) that she can just plug her MP3 player right into it!"

I instantly noticed a difference in the sound quality and presence of the music... especially with the EQ3 set to the "XPLOD" tone curve.

When I first tried playing songs from the USB drive, the first couple of tunes I had on my flash drive must have not been a good quality encoding... because I bumped a couple of tracks forward until WOW... OKAY! I hit a nice cleanly encoded MP3 contained on the USB drive and the sudden fear I had that the USB was crud.... went away nicely ;)

I found the menus totally simple to blast thru rather quickly after the first 2 or 3 times thru them. I am a very techie oriented dude though.

Today I just swapped this radio in and relied upon existing connections (sub is piggybacked on rear outputs). Next week I'll go back and lay-down the RCA's to the rear where the amp is, so I can make use of the separate SUB controlling this headunit offers.

With my order there were supposed to be "Free Installation Accessories"... but oddly they weren't in the box. I called sonic and they apologize and the very next day the installation accessories were at my door. Unfortunately the dash kit had one of hte plastic tabs broken off during shipping... luckily I was able to call them back that same day before 5p and they sent me a 2nd Dash Kit...

Well...somebody in the delivery service that was used was a little heavy-handed yet again.... this second one had the same tab snapped off.

I called again, explained the sitch, support genuinely apologized and told me he was going to personally have a particular person process the order this time after he'd spoken with them so there'd be no more dis-appointment... at least... as much as they can control it anyway.

I already installed the radio with one of the slightly broken dash-kits so that I could at least use my time I had today to crimp the wire connections from the radio connector to the provided Scoosche integration harness connectors. That part was very straightforward and easy.

I like the unit enough I've already told Mama that Papa wants one of these babies for Christmas so he can upgrade his car too ;}

P.S. I'm only giving a 4 on Look/Design because those of us with bigger fingers may occasionally press unwanted buttons on occasion. Overall no biggie though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2009 Great stereo!
Review by
J from Voorhees, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound, awesome number of inputs... especially the USB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2009 THANKS GOOD
Review by
MALBY from NEWYORK, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THE RADIO AND CONNECTION WERE VERY GOOD AND I AM VERY SATISFIED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2009 good deal
Review by
pete from frbg va,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
put this unit in my boat and it worked out great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2009 Best Daggum Stereo Ever!
Review by
Michael from Madison, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this Sony for about 6 months and I Love IT! I had a Pioneer, and it was a good stereo also, especially the receiver, but when the CD player quit, I bought the Sony. The tuner picks up almost as good as my old one which is good enough, but where this thing really shines is the USB drive! I hardly have to use the CD. I just load my thumb-drive on my computer and I'm set! The only problem I've noticed is when I wanted to listen to an audio-book, I had to convert it to mp-3 format as the Sony would not read it. I Highly Recommend the Sony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2009 awesome
Review by
Rivera from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the product works great, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2009 I like it
Review by
Joe D from SLC, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this item for anyone who enjoys the USB flash drive feature. It works great and have had no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2009 Good Price!
Review by
Dereco from Anderson, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The features are nice. I love the front usb that allows me to listen to my music that i have on my mp3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2009 A Good Deck for a Fair Price
Review by
Brad from Lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Lots of features in a small package.

Pluses: If you want to connect something to a car stereo, this one will make the connection. On a recent trip we listened to AM, FM (HD), iPod, XM, 10 disc changer, and the in-dash CD player. Crisp clear display makes keeping track easy and the unit provides good feedback. Faceplate tricky to get back on.

Minuses: For those of us with less than stellar vision, the control buttons are many and small. Hard to see, but.well laid out. Had to add a switch in order to control the HD radio with the disc changer. Lots to remember in controlling everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2009 great value
Review by
OSCAR from San Jacinto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do recommend this product to anyone who wants to have a great radio I'm 100 percent satisfied with my purchase, I am planing to buy another one for my other truck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2009 Sony CD /tuner . Nice unit !
Review by
Thomas E from Priest River, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Operation is easy with a little reading/practice, even for us over "60" guys. I listen to radio & CDs a lot, mostly old stuff like Steppenwolf,
or Moody Blues. The unit sounds great! Plenty of volume for my pickup, & has all the adjustments to make it sound the way you like.
I'll buy another if my car unit needs replaced.
Sony has always been good, bought my first one in 1971 or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2009 Fantastic Cd player
Review by
Silvestre from Winchester, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This cd player is a good one. I would highly recommend it to anyone who would want a cd player with an outside USB hook up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 I love it
Review by
Anthony from Ulster Park, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I researched and searched out this product ahead of time so I knew what I was getting. It plays the USB sticks great and keeps track of the folders, with easy jump to album. The faint blue glow is cool. The only two downfalls are: If you are installing in a Hyundai you have to take the entire dashboard out. Secondly, if you choose to raise and lower the volume by hand (instead of by remote), you must be careful. If you push the button while twisting it, you change the bass instead of the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 great vvalue for the money
Review by
buck from sioux falls, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
fantastic sound, ease of use, multi-function. hook up with some 3 way speakers and the audio will blow you away. like the usb feature on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2009 Great Deal!
Review by
Sarah from Vilonia, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product that can light blue or green. MANY features. For the price I got it, it was WAYYYYYYY worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2009 Awesome item
Review by
Christian from La Puente, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is an awesome radio due to the fact that it can connect your ipod to the radio directly and charges the ipod, gives the full sound quality over a dinky male to male audio jack cable. Radio broadcast is super awesome in telling the name of the song and album plus its lights from blue to green is great too. HD add-ons are great if you have it hooked up to this bad boy. Great quality on sound even on AM frequency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2009 Sony CDX-GT630UI 6M Review
Review by
Goblin from Vienna, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This has been an excellent head unit coupled with my factory speakers and an external amp with dual kicker subwoofers. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for an inexpensive way to improve factory performance and an add full iPod control. For the price of most iPod adapters you get the best of both worlds in one awesome package.
I purchased this unit based on functionality as I liked the ideal of Zapplin and Quick Browser. I was not let down as I can surf some 7K songs on my iPod Classic in a jiffy. This unit is incredibly easy to use and has enough power to push my factory speakers effortlessly.
I liked this head unit so much that I ended up purchasing a second one from Sonic for my other vehicle.
The positives speak for themselves and are too many to list. The only down, if you'd call it that, is that the display has a limited number of colors to match your dash. Two to be exact. Unfortunately Orange is not an option.

Best bang for the buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2009 Great stereo.
Review by
Kenneth from Calais, ME
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sound. Nice features. Great that the back ground can be changed to green as it fits my color scheme much nicer than the red. Love the front USB and it works flawlessly. Controls are a little cumbersome but okay once you get used to them. Nice product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2009 Great value
Review by
John from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love everything about this stereo. Easy to read in the sunlight, user friendly, and love the fact of the USB and auxilary outputs. Would reccommend this stereo to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2009 Great Value
Review by
Jesse from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is an excellent one. Service from Sonic Electronic is reliable. I would recommend to anyone to buy from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz