Showing 22 reviews for JVC KD-AVX77

Customer Review Summary for JVC KD-AVX77
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
96%
4 star:
.
.
4%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.7
Features
4.9
Design
5.0
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
September 20, 2010 A Must Have!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cornelius from Randolph, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The {JVC KD-AVX77} a.k.a The Kameleon is a phenomenal Single Din head unit. With Features like Built In Blue-tooth, Ipod Control, and USB capability, not to forget Clear Fm/Am radio as well as DVD/Cd capabilities. I give it an A on features.
Value: When i bought this from this site it was priced at $464.99. Now its up to $599. Its worth it.I give it a C on Value.
Durability: Ive had this product for 6 months and not a single scratch or dent. id advise wrapping it in a small cloth before placing it in the case it comes with. A+ for durability.
Look/Design: Not eye candy which is a major plus to minimize theft. I would recommended removing it seeing how much you spent on cost. Its touch screen single Din what gets better than that?? A+ on Design!
Ease of use: Takes time to get everything down. I'm not one to read manuals, I'm a guy, we are born to build and fix things (Sometimes) without books. But i do admit you well have to refer to it to get to know everything. B on ease of use

*My Dislikes*
iPOD Connections DO NOT COME with the head unit, Must BUY Separate. along with Satellite radio and HD radio. I didn't know this till last minute! it also doesn't charge your iPhone.

Overall: this product turns heads when your showing off to friends and family. I had Best Buy install this and they hadn't seen anything like this before. Take my word for it. you gotta buy this you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 good thing
Review by
Alexey from Saint-Petersburg,, Russian Federation
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
surpassed all my expectations, it works perfectly, ideally for distant trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2013 Jvc kd avx77
Review by
MATTHEW from WICHITA, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great unit, bought for my 05 ram quad cab, has great picture and sound, the surround sound on videos is amazing if you have a good system. Great stereo, read your manual, it's kind of confusing at first to find all of the functions. Blue tooth and pandora work great also. Great unit for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2013 best single din head unit
Review by
robert from charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this unit plain and simple. It has about a two hour learning curve but after that its at the head of the class in every way. Best unit I ever own and will make your system look and sound better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2013 The Best I've Ever Owned!!!!!
Review by
Drizzy from laurinburg,n.c.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Big ups to Sonic on the fast delivery.... This unit has a ton of features friends are amazed by it.The bluetooth feature is great for hands free calling.It's the BEST!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2013 What others havent mentioned...
Review by
SoCalSteve from So Cal
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I purchased my car it had a pretty cool head unit, but when i removed the faceplace to get the product details the unit started acting wonkey and has been getting worse over the last 6 months. My back up camera now results in a black screen. Not to mention the volume only goes up to 30 and it doesnt have automatic volume adjustment so i am constantly changing the volume. I also have issues with it playing music from my iPod nano. So I decided to come here to see what was better.

I've decided that this head unit might be an upgrade and I havent found anything remotely as great. Now heres the funny part, the unit I'm looking to replace is the KD-AVX77!

I'm pretty convienced that the issue is either from damage to the unit or a wiring problem on the back end. Until I find out otherwise, my only 2 complaints are the lack of auto adjusting volume and my iPod issue.

One cool feature not mentioned is the proximity sensor. My car is orange with black accents, so i use the black screen with the orange ring & time display. when something gets within an inch of the display it shows full controls. the screen requires no force what so ever. a light touch will cause the unit to react, however it may take a second before doing so. some folks detect this as a lack of recognition and press harder. this usually isnt necessary, but the unit seems durable enough to handle the abuse on a regular basis.

For the average guy, i'd say read the manual, however until today i've never seen the manual and with enough fiddling, you'll figure everything out.

I strongly dislike badging on electronics. I mean if you spend a few hundred or even thousand dollars on something, you are going to remember what brand it is, it doesnt need to be stamped on the face, that little round hole, thats an aux jack, i dont need it labeled, i'm not going to forget. So another strong point, there is no badging or script on the faceplate at all unless you remove the faceplate and check the top (hidden) edge.

overall its great. could use some higher resolution graphics, but these are good. Value gets docked a bit as it is far from a budget unit
design it wins plenty of points for the lack of badging
duribility this thing takes a licking
features the only thing it doesnt do is play blue ray
ease of use you can figure out all the important stuff in 15 min
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2012 if you want good compliments on your stereo this radio is definitely you key to that
Review by
Anthony from East meadow, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this was highly recommended by 1 of my friends so I took his word purchased it and I'm in love with this radio it is 1 of the best purchases I've ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2012 Great Item
Review by
Gtizzal from campbellsville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own this item and it has a great pic quality and amazing built-in EQ. Overall 5 accross the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2011 Got exactly what I expected
Review by
Jean from Montreal QC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
That car audio/video system is all you need. I own a very small car (Smart ForTwo) and the space allowed to install the radio equipment is rather compact. This product offer tons of features and deliver very good sound quality. Bluetooth connection with my Samsung Galaxy Vibrant S was real easy, the MP3 music on my phone can be played directly on the radio without the use of a cable, dvd are played without problem. I know lots of people feel that the display is too small, but for me, since my car is so small, it is a perfect fit.

In order to deliver proper sound quality, I used a pair of Infinity 6810cs Reference series component system as the front speakers, and I added up a pair of JBL P953 for rear speakers. The result is a clear natural sound. I used the included sound equalizer to boost the low and real high frequency to suit my aging hearing capacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2011 Best Radio Every
Review by
sean from tolleson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this radio up on my motorcycle and it rocks. Best radio I have ever owned. Radio looks sweet also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2011 One of the best head-units I have bought in years
Review by
Tim from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own one and I have used it for other peoples builds too. You can't go wrong with this bad boy. I've had mine for about six months and I have never had an issues at all. DVD picture is really good on it and for the price you pay with all the opposition you get, you really can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 JVC KD-AVX77
Review by
Marcus from Covington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great indash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2011 good head unit
Review by
Maurice from Panama City, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good head unit i had it in my 99' gmc suburban then put it in my 05' gmc yukon xl now i'm putting it in my 97' gmc suburban i put the jvc kw-avx840 7inch screen in the 05' gmc yukon xl both units are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2010 best value
Review by
jayfifty from riverdale ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, the best car stereo that i have ever owned, i will purchase this stereo for my next auto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2010 JVC KD-AVX77 Rocks
Review by
sam from Paso Robles , CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit has some of the most features I have ever seen in a single din unit. Both the Bluetooth and the iPod functionality are built in. Screen in really bright, and easy to see in direct sunlight. Lots of customization options. Plays plethora of media types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2010 Best 1 DIN / One iPhone glitch
Review by
Matt from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Didn't want to make any changes to the bezel on my 2004 Vette so I searched the web for the best 1 DIN I could find. It didn't disappoint.
Cool points are: watchin movies , expandability , clear bluetooth, electronically tilting deck, and all of the audio/video options are amazing.
Low points: Every time I connect my iPhone to the USB it disconnects after 5 seconds and then I have to reconnect and then everything is fine from there on. Strange. It would be nice to see a touchscreen that is similar to the iPhone that doesn't require any pressure(I'm sure this will be in a few yrs. Sonicelectronix had a few problems with a couple of my orders but the customer service and assistance, along with the internet's most user friendly website, will make me shop with sonicelectronix for many more times.
Great website!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2010 Epic single DIN
Review by
Juice Steez from So Cal, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best single DIN Head Units (and beats many Double DIN) I've ever installed or owned, this is a must have for any mobile audio system. This thing has every bell and whistle or options you might need and if its not on here you don't need it lol JK Navigation would have been nice. The screen is just superb for its form factor (glare can be an issue with direct sunlight for convertibles). The Bluetooth works phenomenal with both my Blackberry and HTC Hero (AT THE SAME TIME!), unit has the ability to pair with two separate devices simultaneously. A prime example is having my Blackberry stream Pandora and having the head unit switch to incoming calls on my HTC Hero. The iPod functionality with JVC KS-U30 connection (sold separately) is every iPod lovers dream, there's a delay right after a new song is played that prevents you from skipping to next/previous song but with the search capability this should be thrown out as an actual concern.

The only thing that disappoints me besides the helpfulness of JVC is the Wallpaper capture feature which is used to set up the custom wallpapers. It only has two modes normal and zoon (witch is pathetic for such an advance head unit) first the zoom pixelates everything which makes it completely useless and when using the normal mode is scales down the image and doesn't come close to filling the screen even when capturing from a DVD play back. I've tried every possible resolution from 800x240 to 2560x2048 and 72,000 PPI 576,000 PPI all file sizes from 140KB to 1MB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2010 Great value
Review by
runar from kragero, 0, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good player .. Play all cd DVD .. All format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2009 Amazing Japanese Technology!
Review by
Gups M from Panjab, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After hearing so much hooha on the internet and in car audio magazines, I bought an Eclipse 7200 and within a week, it went blank on me. It just wouldn't turn on.

Being in India, I decided to put it aside. I decided to buy the JVC KD-AVX77. It is amazing all the way.

Never a problem, futuristic touch panel. Quick processor, vibrant colours, absolutely stunning.

I would recommend anyone who is looking for an incredible headunit that never lets you down, this is the one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2009 Awesome Deck!
Review by
Jaime from Columbus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got this Deck and installed it it has a beautiful display and tons of features. the bluetooth is crystal clear the sound is great the menus are easy to navigate and the touch screen is easy to use. I can hook my blackberry storm up via the usb and the radio will play the songs on my sd card in my phone and it charges it. My only complaint is my zune wont work via the usb port. Also the gui customization on this deck is nice u can change the color of the background ,menus and text or just upload ur own picture as a background overall an awesome deck if you dont buy it your missing out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 Good touch screen
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cris from SAN DIEGO, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love it, just needs a new update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2011 over price
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
sergio from Yorkville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
itz preetty good dvd player just the thing that sux there only 1 output for subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz