Showing 105 reviews for Rockford Fosgate PRIME R500-1

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate PRIME R500-1
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 105 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 5, 2010 Great amplifier, especially for the price
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from Grayling, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amplifier is top-notch, I would buy it again in a second. It comes with a birth sheet, which shows that its underrated by 35 watts RMS. You get exactly what you pay for from RF: a quality, well-built amplifier that performs great. I would recommend this amp to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2010 Impressive Amp for the price!!
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Austin from Coeur d' Alene, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put in this amp with a single 12" Kicker CRV. It pushes it very well and does not heat up at all. The base control nob is also a very great feature this amp has. Went to go pick up a new fuse at aspen sound and this amp ran for $250 there. Sonic Electronix has the best deals and will get some bump in your truck fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2010 The best brand out there
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Sheridan,wy
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Rockford fosgate has never let me down. Every product I bought was rockford and it sounds amazing. The amp powers my p3 rockfords which makes them really thump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2009 Pleased
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mend from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this from somewhere else but I hate making accounts just to review a product.

This things is pretty big but does the job. I've always been a fan of Rockford even though everyone talks about them not being what they used to be but after reading many reviews on their new lines, they seem to be making a comeback.

This amp is visually gorgeous with the dark brushed aluminum that matched my interior perfectly and was a little smaller than I thought based on reading the measurements.

I've had it for only a day but I've put it through some paces in the 2 hours I've used it and it works very well.

Very few reviews anywhere on the net post birth sheet/ certificat numbers and that bugs me, I feel its vital to the purchase. My amp cam with just a plain looking sheet and its has its actual watts for only a 2 ohm load which it doesnt even state, It just has the serial number, stamp and actual wattage of 553!

Nice choice of settings, quality feel and look, excellent sound out of new 10"W3v3-2. This amp is sort of over kill but I have the gain set to my headunits output voltage and it sounds great. My sub loves the power coming out of it, since I have it down, its getting very clean power, making it extremely accurate. I

had the gain full blast at point for about 20 mins and the amp felt what I would call "very warm". From my experience and knowledge of the brand, RF typically run warm/hot but it doesnt effect their performance. Running for 1 hours at medium volume with gain set to 5 (my head units output voltage) the amp barely felt luke warm, very nice.

Anyway I give this 2 thumbs up, I love rockford amps, I used their 4 gauge amp kit (the best you can get, worth the coin) with this so its getting optimal power flow, grounding and comes with twisted rca's. This obviously leads to stable voltages and quality signals which are KEY when dealing with electronics, car audio in particular.

Get this if you need 500 clean watts of power @ 2 ohms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 Rockford fosgate 500
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tee Mat from lufkin, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is the absolute truth.. For what they are selling it for is a absolute steal and you get a top of the line amp that will push your subs or subs to it's max. I have it hooked to a 1200 watt Sony Xplode sub an it pushes that one sub to the max an I don't even have the amp turned all the way up an it the amp doesn't overheat with long periods of use just make sure to keep the trunk somewhat ventilated on those hot summer days when using for long trips to keep it from getting to hot an shutting off for a few seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2010 great amp for the price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Charles from Missoula, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think this amp is bang for your buck. Running Orion XTR Pro154 15" dual 4ohm sub wired at 2 ohms and can play loud all day. Gets hot but never shuts off. Going to buy one more of these amps to power one more 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2010 This is a great amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
brandon from Chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 12' kicker cvr's and this amp is tiny but pushes them hard . a little to hard and I have the bess down to !! trust me if your the one who says that U want a bang but not to to to much ! then this is it!!!!! I also have a hifonics 2610 and i would rather use the rockford because it pushes them with the perfect hit. the hifonic blew my last 2 pioneers that ran on the same wattage as the kickers.

Great deal to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2010 Typical of Fosgate Amps
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Santana from San Diego, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product for only 150 dollars. I've had mine for almost a year and it's still pushing! Even on these hot California days where it gets pretty hot in my mustang no problems at all. You should definitely get this product! I would say the only bad thing is it's kinda long so it might be a problem installing it in smaller cars..I had to screw it in on the back of my back seats haha but outside of that no problems at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2010 Rockford Rocks!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joker from El Dorado, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The birth sheet on this amp has it at 553 watts RMS @ 2 ohm. I have this amp running two Rockford P2D210 and I am scared for their life. If you want an amp that you get your moneys worth out of buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2010 Greatest Investment Ever
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DJ After Hours from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
OMG! Ive been in the car audio game for a while... Have had many different subs and amps and nothing was to my satisfaction.

Super Duper Bass. I have this amp paired with just one 12" alpine type-r in a ported box and it is the best it has ever been. RIDICULOUS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2010 Great amp and good price!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Toe Joe from Clarksdale, MS 38614
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp is very very very powerful! I have this amp on 2 12's CVRs 2 ohm! The only problem is that is heats up! But overall this thing is booming! I am only running the amp halfway and it is crazy beatin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2010 Good Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tommy from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really Good amp. Looks clean and pushes a good amount of power to the subs. Overall i would say this is a really good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2010 Great value!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ZAchary from ocala, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would definitely recommend this amp. Got it on 2 p312D4s and these things slam like crazy. Even though I am only pushing 300 watts to each speaker they are really loud no lie. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2010 fosgate
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JUN THE PIMP from CALIFORNIA, HANFORD KT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
cant go wrong with fosgate amps.. best amps ever. even rf amps with low watts. this 500.1 amp hits harder then most 1500.1 other brand amps. i have this 500.1 pushing 3 kickr cvr's. couldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2010 Sweetness
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Anthony from Yuma, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just recently bought this amp for my RF PD415, the sound quality was just mind blowing and i'm only runnin 450 w/ 40hz.
i highly recommend this amp if ur looking 4 an easy system 4 rite now an a bit tight on money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2010 Good Amplifier
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eatie F. Baby from MO.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is good for its price. I was needing a amp but short with money so i bought this one. I had two rockfordfosgate P3D412's and this amp. The bass was so clean and fairly loud! I recommend this amp if short on cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2009 TOTALY PLEASED
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
eddie fonzareli from el cajon, california
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i'm a fan of RF. long lasting equipment. i just installed this over the weekend. it's pushin 2 12" nicely with minimum gain. beautiful exterior with a certified rating of 550 i think it said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2009 Nice amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex from Nebrask
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a pretty sweet amp. It works great with my 12in Orion sub, lacks no power. The best thing is the remote power adjuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2009 Great Quality Sound
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ray from Washington, DC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Rockford Fosgate R500-1 amplifier delivers an awesome, yet not too grimey sound. For a pure quality sound with the right amount of kick, pick up the Fosgate R500-1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2009 Powerful Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tyson from fort dodge, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Amp Lots Of Power Pushes My 2 12's Easy. Love The Power Great Price Also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2009 Well worth the price!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex from Saratoga Springs, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Definitely the way to go if you're looking for something inexpensive to stick in the back of your car! This thing pushes my Rockford P3D412 12" like no other, I'm honestly afraid that it's going to shake my rear view mirror off my windshield! (Again) The only complaint I have about it is that after 2 solid hours of playing Kid Cudi's "Dan N' Night" at max volume the sub overheated and shut itself off (The self preservation feature is way nice). But keep in mind, the amp had no ventilation at all and it was almost 100 degrees outside today in my black car. I turned it down a bit and had no problem since, even driving home from work in traffic. I also had some trouble wiring it in, but that's because I'm a noob. :p

All in all, this is THE amp for beginners! It almost puts out too much bass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2009 Great Amp!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great for the price! My only quarrel with it is that it was a little bigger than I thought, but I found a place to mount it nicely to the back of my rear seat. Make sure that if you get this you take careful measurements and you know where you'll put it! This amp is running a single punch bass 12" RF sub and it sounds great. The punch bass when it's turned up does exactly that, it punches rather than rumbles (but note, this is only with the dial turned far up on the amp). I ran it through a burn in session on a trip of mine where for two days (separated by a few days) it ran for about 10 hours straight with no problems. It did get warm (and it was already warm since it's summer) but I love it! You won't be disappointed with this if you want 500 watts RMS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2009 pushes 2 cvr"s
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
kix from napa ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i currently have this amp pushin 2 cvrs at 1 ohm yup 1 ohm its a good amp pushes them cvr the certified rms watts was 540W rms now i am lookin to get the kicker zx750.1 but this amp is good no problems with it yet u will be happy with this amp for the value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
Derek from apple creek, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Rockford Fosgate has never let me down. This thing will do what it says and then some. I like the design because it gives it a powerful look. This will do 600 watts easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 Great Amp For the Money
Review by
Ron from Springfield, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp on 2 Rockford P1 15's and it does the trick. Played it for over an hour full tilt and never got hot or shut off. I highly recommend. Sonics service was great to I got this in only 2 days with standard shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2013 !!
Review by
Randy from Grand Island, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW!!! I thought this amp was like not gonna be so great because i got another amp its 1200 watts but this amp is like hardcore bang!! im so gonna buy another one. if you want a good amp go with this it bangs hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 Dont try to Burn In
Review by
skides from Piedmont, ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received a R500 1 and had it professionally installed along with 2 8
0 Infinity subwoofers in my g37s Coupe. I decided based on past experiences with Rockford, I pushed the amp to the limit... 4 hours is what it took to burn the amp. What a piece of Crap. I remember ten hour road trips back in the day with a punch 150 at .5 ohms no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 Awesome
Review by
Don from Castro Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just a plain awesome amp. Total wattage on my amp was 547. Makes my P1 15s slam. very good amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2013 This Amp...
Review by
Dillon from RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Attached this to a Rockford Fosgate P2-1X12. Sounds great, works great. Research your subs and how much power they need. Most people spend excess $ on amps that dont work to half their potential with the subs they're running. I recommend this product. Combined with my above listed sub, it makes my 06 TL sound great, from pop punk lows, to deeeep bass that shakes the cars around me. It's a lot bigger size wise than I expected. About a foot long.. Comes with a cable that I ran to my glovebox to control the power of the bass. Good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2013 Wow!!
Review by
Alexander from Largo, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is an incredible bang for your buck. I was running a Kicker 125.2 to two, 10" Drive Crunches. But this Rockford is just excellent, it makes that old kicker sound like trash.

Pros: Higher RMS than 500 (mine was 514), Bass Control (this won me over the competing amps), enough power to make your car shake (with the right sub(s), of course.).

Cons: It does get pretty hot, but it's nothing a cooling fan couldn't fix (also, I doubt it'll get hot enough to damage anything it's probably just me), and installing the wires can be a nuisance (again that's just me)

Get this amp, you won't go wrong. In fact, I'm thinking about buying another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2013 Good AB amp for the money.
Review by
Maynard from Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have this amp hooked up and running 2 Rockford Fosgate R2D2-10 subs at 2 ohms each in a dual-sub, sealed enclosure. The subs require 250 watts RMS a piece and this amp does that with ease. I've only had it powered up for about a week and I see no issues what-so-ever.

I don't use the Bass Boost feature on the amp. I tune with the Head Unit. The amp I received has a power rating of 530 watts. I had this amp along with the rest of my stereo installed professionally and I haven't had any problems with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2013 this amp rocks
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this amp hooked to one 15" kicker solo baric round that was rated at 750 rms and let me tell you it banged and banged hard. Would get hot at long plays times but i would recommend this Rockford 500/1 to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2012 amp
Review by
rolly68 from Twin City, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp ive had it for 1 year and no problems. I have it hooked to 2 15s and they really beat hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 Excellent amp!
Review by
Cata-Cata from Toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a small good amplifier. It has its pros and cons.
Pros: Doesn't add engine noise. Awesome bass for inside the car music. Low consumption.

Cons: The remote cable must be connected in a specific way. After I run this cable, the amp didn't work until I disconnect it (45 min troubleshooting). Then I realized the cable was the problem and I reverse it and start working properly. Rockford Fosgate please, indicates the way to connect this cable (ex: this end to amp and the other end to punch bass remote).

I highly recommend this amp if you are looking to boost your bass for your "inside car music" but, if you are looking to be heard a block away then this amp is not for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2012 Great amp
Review by
chris from evans, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great. I used in on my boat and have had no problems. Love the remote power control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2012 Extremely happy!
Review by
Steve from New Port Richey, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installing this amp was a breeze, It came to me rated at 515 wrms which is enough for my sub. It runs cool and there are no odd sounds that come from it when the power is turned on or while the car is running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 junk
Review by
kevin from Encinitas, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Made in China, not made by MTX, terminals look like swap meet amplifiers from 1988. It struggled to properly push one ten. It also regularly overheated sitting in a box in my garage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Great Amp
Review by
Jared from Fayetteville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works awesome! It faded within time due to having a hatchback and the sun hitting it. It is now brown. Still works great though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2012 real good value
Review by
darrell from pembroke,ont, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp. It puts out powerful bass to my two tens. I love Rockford Fosgate. They have never let me down. It even has a bass control knob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2012 Great product and value.
Review by
Dylan from Fairport, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this RF R500-1 on saturday shipped monday (UPS doesn't work weekends) and recieved it in 2 days on the standard shipping for free.

I opened the box eagerly to see that CEA certified RMS rating of 518 watts. Then went to install into my 08 Scion tC. The amp is not very big and fits nearly anywhere (in my small hatchback) and still leaves tons of room.

I bought this because my old amp wasn't made for subs but I could with my old car (HU had a LPF built-in) and RF has never let me down (or my friends) and needed something with a built-in LPF crossover for my stock HU (Pioneer). I have a budget system (PYLE pl1290bl sub/used 12" sub box) and after I tuned this amp, it made a crappy sub sound really decent. People ask to see what I'm using and can't believe I made a garvage sub sound so nice, and loud.

This amp produces power extremely well for a class A/B monoblock with minimal quality loss. It does run mildly warm and can get pretty hot, after I have been running it loud for 1.5 hours but has yet to need protection. Since I started using RF amps in early 2000 they always ran warm, and it doesn't help having a very dark grey car.

When I get the cash, I'll be coming back to SE for a RF P2D412 and a bandpass box.

If you want a great amp for a steal of a price, get a R500-1. You won't be dissapointed. And it won't attract cops on the outside, but the inside might be another story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2012 Perfect
Review by
josh from lafayette, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have it pushing 2 10" kicker comps at 2 ohms and smashing them hard I have it to where it's barely overpowering them and they're taking it good. The amp looks nice and is sweet. I used it hard for about an hour though and it overheated. It was in a tight spot but now moving it into more open and putting a fan on it for extra airflow. All around a sweet amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2012 Great Amp for the price!!!
Review by
Shredder234 from Cochrane, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this amp to power my punch P3L shallow mount sub and was very pleased with how this amp sounds. This amp on my sub stands up to and even exceeds the sound quality of a friends Alpine type-r. Very pleased with this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 Great Amp
Review by
Michael from West Yellowstone, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp i would recommend this to everyone that want's to add some bump in the trunk! I thought when i bought this amp my head light's would dim but they dont this amp pushes my JL 13.5 W3 perfect. Bass control works great, i purchased the DB link wiring kit goes good. You wont go wrong with this. Amp birth sheet reads 539 watts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Sick Amp!
Review by
Tyler from Canyon Country, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Where to begin. This amp puts out more than enough power for a nice sub. have it powering my (new model) fosgate p2 4ohm, with the gain all the way down, and decibal knob all the way down, and i still get headaches. It is very easy to install/tune too. Not too shabby looking either. The blue power LED puts out alot of light too, if its an exposed amp, the led looks badass at night. runs pretty cool, has yet to overheat on me, and lets just say i dont drive quietly. You wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2012 Great amp
Review by
V from RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This RF amp is great. It was recommended to me, and I am happy that I got it. I have had it for 6 months and have had no issues at all. It does get a little warm in the summer time but it never shuts off or cuts out on me. It is very effective =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 Rockford Fosgate RELIABILITY
Review by
alan from Fort Hood, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had always counted on Rockford Fosgate and they have never failed me. I run this amp on two RF P1s and they sound amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 Awesome little amp.
Review by
Michael from North Vernon, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a beast! It gets slammed on and keeps up with no problem. Would recommend this amp to someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2011 great value
Review by
Mike from kokomo, Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tried to cut corners buying a cheaper amp to power my fosgate10 in sub. Realised something was missing. It was this amp. This is a quality made amp and has performed as one should expect from the fosgate brand. Usually don't post reviews but this amp has really impressed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
fordguy from loogootee, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp for a great price. I had one already and wanted to go louder so I got another. Awesome amp it doesnt get hot it puts out great power. Its just overall a great amp and i would recommend it to everyone. Rockford fosgate amps are the best amps you can get and Sonic Electronix is the best place to buy any car audio stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 Amazing Amp
Review by
Eric from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would 100% reccommend this amp. I have had it pushing various 12" subs for over a year now, and it is a dream! Rockford makes only the best of the best, and this amp is no exception. No complaints of any kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2011 too small of terminals
Review by
alex from bothell, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good amp if you need 500-600 watts. Only complaint is the terminal sizes are not true 4awg. I just spent 40 minutes trying to get the 4 gauge wire for my ground to fit in the terminal. i had to cut it in half to make it fit. It was unnecessary. Other then that great amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 best price around!
Review by
jeremy from youngsville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was in excellent shape upon arrival. It was shipped immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 more bang 4 your buck
Review by
thomas from Burkeville, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I definitely recommend this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2011 Major Overheating Problems
Review by
David from Berwyn, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp along as a package deal with Sonic Electronix. It was my first subwoofer kit and I got it professionally installed by Best Buy just to make sure everything would go smoothly. I was so excited - I had it hooked up with a 10" Alpine Type R.

Automatically I started having problems. The amp would get scalding hot within 5 minutes. There are no visible heat sinks and the only place for the heat to go was the metallic cover. After 20 minutes of playing (and not even that loud mind you) it would go into protect mode from the heat. I got all the wiring triple checked at two different locations. I figured it had to be a defective amp so I returned it.

Sonic Electronix had great customer service and sent me a new one - same model - right away. I got the new amp installed... same problem. I don't know if I just have terrible luck or if this amp wasn't built for me but it has only been problems.

I returned the 2nd amp and ended up buying a Hifonics 1000W amp (750 at 2 Ohms) and I haven't had a problem since. That amp stays completely cold.

So for all those great reviews out there - I must have gotten something different. I had put a lot of research into Rockford Fosgate before my purchase and was very hopeful this would work out. Unfortunately, it didn't.

So for those looking to buy this - just be careful. There are a lot of 5* ratings on here but know it's not gonna work for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2011 Excellent
Review by
Austin from Smithfield, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp makes my sub bump almost too hard. This paired with a Rockford p2-12 hits crazy hard and sounds awesome at the same time

Look and design- Larger amplifier, harder to mount.
Durability- made of softer metal, looses it's shape easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Great amp
Review by
Ryan from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp, good price for what you get, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2011 Fosgate is back!!!
Review by
jarrod from chowchilla, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
all i can say is wow this thing pumps out the clean and clear power. i first got into fosgate in the late 90's and was blown away. Into the 2000's fosgate sold out and i was sadly disapointed by their products, however i thought i would give them another try. i got this fosgate r500.1 pushing a vega 102.2 and it sounds great. hits lows hard and i only have the gain at about 1/3 to 1/2. i honestly was not expecting much when i purchased it but i can honestly say i am very pleasantly suprised. the amp does get hot even at 4 ohms but it has not shut down yet. i just hooked it up today so we will see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2011 Amazing AMP
Review by
safwat from Trenton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp for a year and it pushing me to RE 10 and they sounded amazing. I loved this amp, they made my RE POUND HARD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 Best amp I have ever bought
Review by
Justin from Jenison, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp about a year ago to power my single Kicker CV-R 15 and it really hits hard. I bought it to replace my Pyle (Pyle of crap) amp that could barely move my Kicker. When i opened the box i was greeted with a certificate of power stating the RF amps are underrated. This has been the best investment I have ever made in an amp. As of right now the only non RF product I am running is my sub and my headunit everything else is Rockford Fosgate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 Loved it
Review by
Grant from OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amplifier with the package. I sure do love it. I had it pushing a 12" dual voice Alpine Type R. My birth sheet said 524 watt rms. I only had it go into protect once because it was hot out and it wasn't in an open area. I have it mounted on the back of a fold down seat. So if I was going anywhere and was going to be hittin hard I would fold down the seat and with the windows down it wouldn't even heat up. But this amplifier NEEDS to breathe. The bass gain remote was iffy. You could turn it and not notice a difference with the bass. Almost like it had only four settings, disort, loud, quiet, off. Not much in between. Other than that I would certainly reccamend this amplifier. It sure does put out the bang for the buck. I am going to be getting another Type R 12" and will be upgrading to a bigger amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2011 Sick amp
Review by
Dylan from TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp. I have it wired at 2 ohms and it slams with my single P315!

Pros: good looking, cea compliant, rockford name

Cons: it goes into protect often because i dont have a/c in my classic vw and its been reaching triple digit temps!, i would like the amp to be able to directly connect bare wire for the power/ground, and thats about it.

I would definitely recommend this amp for someone just getting into car audio or even professionals that love SQ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2011 Great amp with a lot of kick
Review by
brady from Damascus, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp. I have my thunder thin hooked up to it and it sounds great. Truly a great amp. Rockford fosgate in my opinion have the best amps out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2011 AMAZING AMP!!!
Review by
anthony from Britton, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have it powering two 15" subwoofers bridged to two ohms and there being pushed to the fullest!!!! Has good crossovers within the amp. Much enjoyed amp. going to buy it agian to power my 3 10"s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
Fletch from Orange City, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp keeps up to Rockfords Rep. I got this amp running 1 P3D412 and slams the h*** out of it. Does tend to heat up so make sure you have it in a well vented area, but would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
Kabir from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this amp because it definitely helps my Type R 12" hit hard. I didn't think it was going to be that good since it's only the Prime and not the Power or RF's other amps but it works wonderfully. There are no cons yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2011 Perfect
Review by
Joe from N.Y.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was for me the best way to get the power i need without a lot pf money, pushes my P2L 2X12's very nice, i would recommend this amp to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 Awesome amp
Review by
Bill from Belleview, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp is powerful and does not run hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 Great amp
Review by
Matthew from Quinton, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp works great with the P3 shallows I bought. Can't beat it for the price. I haven't had any kind of problems either. I mounted it under my bench seat in my '90 model Chevy Silverado and has over heated or cut off once, not even when my heat was running full blast at the floor boards during the winter months after a hour and half drive with the stereo going full blast the whole time. So great amp! I'm going to be moving up to the Prime R1000 for sure, because I got this one just wanting a good sound with a little bit of bass, and now I want even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2011 Solid deal
Review by
Brandon from Vermillion, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A decent and respectable amp. It overheats a little easily in the summer time which tells me that the amp is not efficiently using the power its trying to generate. All that heat is wasted energy. However it has never been hot to the touch. It shuts itself off when overheating so your investment will be safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2011 Rockford Fosgate PrimeR500-1
Review by
jfiala92 from Binghamton, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 built to last
Review by
drew from Vineland,NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tested at 522 watts RMS @ 2 ohm. best amp i ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2011 Rockford Fosgate prime series is awesome
Review by
Edward from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked it up in a rush to get to heatwave in Austin tx hooked it up and bumped all the way there on to two Sony Xplodes I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 Great product
Review by
phelan from Salina KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is just AMAZING. I have this amp in my cobalt and my s10, both amps are hooked up to 2 alpineType S12s and the just pound the amp is se tup perfect for 2 subs the are 300 rms or just one that is 500 rms. I have pushed this amp to run a Type R and even thought it doents have the rms rating to handle it it does an amazing job at making my cars sound great. All and all i would give this amp a 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2011 Its straight
Review by
Billy from Norfolk, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a good buy. It is powering my 12 inch W6 and so far it has been great. The amp gets a bit hot and could use a better cooling system but other than that it is a great amp. No problems after 5 months of use. It is also a bit long so its hard to fit into a place that is hidden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Superb
Review by
pro10is from VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Even better than expected. Produces clear, clean bass with more than enough power. Super quiet signal to noise. Fantastic performance for the price. The connectors could be a bit better but you only need to deal with that once during installation. Overall a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
EL O.G. from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best amps out there on the market its extremely powerful for a simple set of two 10 or 12 inch subs it pounds rock on Rockford Fosgate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2011 good amp
Review by
Trey from Mantachie, ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great budget or beginner amp. This amp puts out more than rated as you can always expect from Rockford. This is a class A/B amp not class D so if you dont tune it right, it will heat up. All you have to do is crank the bass boost and go easy on the gain and you will have no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2011 Pretty Good
Review by
Steven from Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the only bad thing about this amp is it gets really hot, I have it powering a W6V3 dual voice coil running it at two ohms. it came with a birth sheet saying 538 rms. Would recommend to anyone great amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2010 Awesome sonic Electronix
Review by
Mia from atwater ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Any product I get from this place has always been top quality. This Rockford amp that I bought sounds great. It does what it says for how many watts it is. Got it running one 10 sub does pretty good bridged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2010 Powerfull Amplifier
Review by
Rene' from Arkansas City, Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amplifier for my wife's Lincoln MKZ.
This is a very powerful amplifier for a very reasonable price that will for sure do the job. My son now has it and ran 2 12" subwoofers with no problems at all. It never gets hot and just keeps running. I would recommend this amplifier to anyone looking for power and stability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2010 Excellent Equipment!!! Great Price!!!
Review by
Ericvansolo from Bedford, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Rockford Fosgate (Prime R500-1) amp works wonderfully in my car. This amp was more than enough power for my dual 10" MTX Subs, and it came with everything I needed for an easy installation. With its slender, clean look and professional electrical connections you can tell they uesd quailty parts for this amp. As an automotive technician I would recommend this amp if you want clean, hard hitting bass for your compact car or truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2010 gets soooo hot!
Review by
Chris from Va beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The amp was very good, but after 10 or 20 mins of bumpin hard, the thing either shuts down or gets hotter than an oven. dont buy this if you plan to bump hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2010 Fantastic Amp!
Review by
IROC2000 from Lubbock, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this amp to push two single voice coil 12 inch Rockford Fosgate Punch subwoofers P1S812. The R500-1 is much more powerful than what the specs say. In a 2011 Dodge crew cab, they really hit hard with the factory Alpine deck that comes in these vehicles. Use 4 gauge wire or 2 gauge wire and you too will be happy with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2010 nice begineer amp!
Review by
Alec from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recomeend this amp for a beginner setup. I have it on 4 ohm 12's and it hits hard but the amp runs hot. It's a great amp for occasionally bumpin hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2010 Quality Sound!
Review by
Frederick from Riverbank, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this amp for a few months now, and I have to say for the price it was a great decision. I paired it up with a P3 10" also bought here at Sonic and I always get compliments on how hard it hits. Purchased another for my daughters 17th Christmas.
Sonic is great about Shipping and answering questions over the phone. Only note is I would make sure it has good ventilation for those hot days.
Definitely recommend this product and Sonic services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Alpine great product
Review by
Thomas.R from Atlanta, G,A
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great run, great thump...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 great amp
Review by
Chris from dallas, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wired it up to two Polk db1040's at 2 ohm and it powers them way better than my 250 watt Crunch amp. My subs are now loud and clear with no distortion or clipping. I have noticed that after a trip the sides of the amp will get hot enough that I can't hold my hand there for long so I might add a fan or two, however it doesn't smell like its burning like my old crunch did. The amp is pretty good sized but it fit under the front seat of my single cab 99 f150. The bass remote is also a nice feature to have. For the money this amp is awesome and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2010 amazing
Review by
Anthony from Laval, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is just amazing, is almost never heats up and when it does, it never gets that hot, is always works and is able to perfect power my JBL sub 1400 watts peak that I bought at Sonic as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2010 don't waste your time
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Mineral Wells, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp over heats extremly quick. mine is was located in the back of a 2000 jeep. I ran 4ga power direct from the batt. at full power the amp hit hard but would only last about 10 mins before you could fry a hamburger on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2010 Great item
Review by
JMC from Fort Worth, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item is simply great, works great on my two Rockford Fosgate shallow 12" subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2010 Great item
Review by
JMC from Fort Worth, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item is simply great, works great on my two Rockford Fosgate shallow 12" subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2010 Probably the best bang for the buck going right now
Review by
Christopher from Katy, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have installed, designed and built dozens of systems for me and friends over the years so I do know a thing or two about this stuff. I love Fosgate mono amps and run the Power series on my personal system. I put together a system for my wife's car but needed to keep the cost down so I picked up this amp to push a single 12" Kicker Solo-Baric L5 DVC 4 ohm bridged to 2ohm.

The test sheet claims 539watts RMS at 2ohm and the little amp delivers it. It is more than enough for that Solobaric and produces a clean sound.

Goods:
- Price. You are really getting a lot of amp for the price and it should output more power than advertised.

Bads:
- You can only bridge it to 2ohms so make sure to get your subwoofer configuration right before hooking up or buying the subs.
- Also, this little amp gets HOT. I have not had it shut down but it will really get hot and I am running 4ga power wire. Keep that in mind during installs. My Power series Fosgate amp is always cool no matter how hard I push it.
- Power and ground terminals could be a bit bigger. It is a struggle to get 4ga wire in there but I pulled it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2010 bumps the punch p2
Review by
Gator from alapaha, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp wired to a dual vc P2 subwoofer at 2 ohms and it really hits. Got the air space at about 1.5 ft. cubed and it really sounds clear and no distortion at all! I love Rockford Fosgate and Sonic Electronix...I love you more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2010 good buy
Review by
markos from Brentwood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great true power, hits hard with most subs, Sonic's price is unbeatable!

Rockford is one of the most respected brands, can't get this kind of deal anywhere else I didn't even need an amp right now I just bought it for the heck of it 129 is the lowest price you'll see for this amp (even used it would be around 150)

I'll either use it or sell it for like 220
great deal sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2010 Great amp
Review by
Deeezy504 from Marrero, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product no problems would definitely recommend well worth the money fast shipping!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2010 Awesome
Review by
Anthony from McClellan, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was freaking amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2010 update on old review
Review by
brandon from colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ok there is some good and some bad, we will start with the bad, since i have this installed in a suv i have to roll the back windows down so air will circulate over the amp otherwise it will overheat fairly quickly. and thats about it for the bad. in my old review i had this amp hooked to a pair of old school pioneer 12's and they literally went up in flames, this amp is under rated, now its way under powering a pair of power acoustik mofo 12's. they still sound good but each of my subs will take 3 of these amps so i will be upgrading soon. and as always i will be upgrading through sonic. but all in all for the price if you are just going to power one or two mild subs this amp will serve you well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2010 RF great product
Review by
jared from findlay oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i purchased two of these awesome amps to push two alpine type r's in a bassworx box ..they kick like no other i heard many good things about rockford fosgate before but until u own one u wont understand. its a great price i got screwed by store mark ups an paid $225 an amp well worth the extra buck to buy RF though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2010 2 Days!
Review by
Christian from White, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp for the price, if you can afford more buy the Punch or Power series and save some room. My birth sheet read 576 RMS power. I have it on a Kicker CVR in a 1993 Ranger.

Best part was i was expecting this amp the following week. Credit to UPS and Sonic Electronix. I ordered Tuesday, received it Thursday(I'm in Georgia folks), i bought it with the 4 gauge wiring kit and it provides plenty of power.

Who says you cant have power in a single cab??? The controller works miracles and has the POPO wondering where that bass is coming from. It takes under a second after seeing a cop to turn the bass down. Customer for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2010 Good Power for the money
Review by
totalcontrol from augusta,ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy install. Already bridged internally. Just hook your wires up and you are at 2 ohms if you are using 4 ohm speakers. Had these for while now and have only clipped when I dropped to 1 ohm. Would recommend to anyone who need Fosgate power on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2010 Excellent Product
Review by
DT from ROAN MTN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm very impressed with this amp. I'm pushing 2 12's now and was pushing 2 10's with this amp and it performs flawlessly. The Price was very affordable also. I Highly recommend this amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2010 Great sound and quality for a low budget sound system
Review by
NissanPRO from Virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp to power my 10" Rockford Fosgate Power sub in my 350Z. It fit perfectly mounted to my custom box, and provides amazing kick. I was amazed at how much one 10" could put out, even when only pushing 500 watts!

I would recommend this to anyone who is running one 10" or 12" subwoofer, regardless of brand. The quality is great, (Rockford, of course) its durable, easy to set up, and provides great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2010 Awesome.
Review by
Josh Ua from Vancouver, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp set up in my Ford Ranger with one 12" Alpine Type S in a sealed box. Oh my! It sounds amazing!! The mirrors shake and the amp is at half its possible output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2010 great amp for the money
Review by
Kenny from greenwood,de
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just bought this amp and got it wired at 2ohms to one 12" P3 and it sounds awesome, got the gain about 75% and tuned to 85 hz hooked a eq to it as well and once i tuned it, it sounds like i got 2 15's. supposed to be a 500 watt amp but when i got it in my birth sheet said it put out 574 watts so cant complain about the power. very good amp for the price. only downfall to the amp is it gets hot but has not gone into protect mode yet. shipping was great received product in 4 days and i live all the way on the east coast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2010 overall i am impressed
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
brandon from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this amp hooked to a pair of old school pioneer ts-w300r 12's in a custom slot ported box(big box), in a 1997 ford explorer, and it bangs, i know i need to upgrade my subs because at full gain with 3/4 bass after about 3 or 4 minutes i can smell the voice coils, and thats on a 4ohm load, so the power is there, i have not hooked it up 2ohm yet but im sure the power will still be there. the bass from this thing is great, pedestrians and police here me coming for 6 block in any direction now. only thing is, it does get hot, at half volume the amp overheated twice between my house and the neighboring town 13 miles away. granted it was very hot out side and it was pretty loud. i have since fabed up a cooling system for it and have not had the problem since. all and all price considered this is a great deal, probably the cheapest way to balance great bass with great sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz