Showing 16 reviews for Power Acoustik PTID-8940NR

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik PTID-8940NR
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 16 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
50%
4 star:
.
.
19%
3 star:
.
.
19%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
13%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.6
Value
4.1
Features
3.8
Design
4.4
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 2, 2011 Not Bad
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Danny Caetz from los angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok, I've had this unit for 6 months now, here a full review. First things first, the price is truly awesome for what you are getting. Now this may not have blutooth or TV turner, but with the ability to play MP3/MP4/DVD, does it really matter. This unit sounds great, great audio range, if you have a good sub you will feel, if you have some great tweeters (like me; Boss TW-18 or 15 or something), then it gives great highs. A lot of options but here the niggles. When you do want to change settings for example, if in USB mode, the unit stops while you adjust then resumes. Not bad but I would like to do it while listening. There's a hum from the ground side that I guess would be rid off with a filter, I expected none but this is sensitive equipment. If you are using USB files the tiles are short, it does scroll but no more than maybe 10 thru 12 characters, if you know your music its fine but heres the thing...if you arrange your files in a certain order on you computer, the unit list them by alphabetical order, then adds numbers to it! Again if you know your music...It wont read past 27 files, if you have more it will list them under film, but then it wont play. Mp4's? Plays well, wish it had a resume function for all files really, kind of hard to watch my top gear when i got to fast forward everytime. Anytime you restart your vehicle it shuts down, though it may be a vehicle function for starting, again i have to wait to load usb files (i have 6gbs of music). The screen? Nice picture quality, i never had an in dash, i thought i would dissapointed but it looks good like my old tube tv. If viewing in the sun, you may have to tilt the screen to get a better picture. The subtitles sometimes automatically come on and sometimes they dont. It sometimes want to tilt up before its fully out, it will stop and back up though, which is great, but this is a regular operation, if i had to take a guess it happens every 10 screen flip out cycles. Oh by the way the display on the outside with the screen closed is great! Wish there were more buttons to operate the presets though. I have to rely on the remote for many a function. Remote: it seems you have to memorize the buttons if you have to operate it while driving, it has no nubs to let you know where your finger is at, i sanded down the center button for myself. The detachable face is cool but again the screen sometimes doesnt retract correctly so the screen comes back out and stays in a open position even with the faceplate removed. I try too hide that i have one, so i dont get jacked. Im somtimes come back to my car and find the screen in the fully up position, or halfway there, it may have a timer. Final verdict... well worthe the money, thase problems are me living with it for six months now, after a while you get used to it. As with anything in life, your results will vary. I am pleased with the product, for the price it gives good sound and good options. Just some little stuff, its not perfect but it will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2011 quirky but not bad
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
danny cat from los angeles, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If I'm honest this is a great unit for the price, plays mp4 so I can watch TV in my car(converted off the net I mean). It sound better than the BOSE that came in my Altima. So here the bad part... the sub out gave out the first day, I hooked up to speaker out, its actually better! The USB does take a bit to load, I have a 6gig card I use. So I use that for trips longer than 10minutes, it takes about a minute to load 1200 song. If you cheap out on the bit rate you'll notice, a bit.. anyway. The screws need to be longer. Another thing... it has a loud function from 400mhz,800mhz,2400mhz, that sometimes turns off. I have to cycle it back to 24 to get the bass back. Also final quirk, sometimes the screen will try to open half way so it gets stuck in your dash, it will reverse because of the safety feature so its kinda ok but I wonder how long those micro motorswill last because of it. I will recommend it as a great starter unit, you just have to live with drama sometimes I guess. Good Unit, I still love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2011 A reveiw of this unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bobo from Fridley , MN.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit sence march and what I thought to be a great unit turned out tobe real bust at first it would blow fuses and smoke so I sent it to the shop to be repaired when it came back I was hoping that it would be fixed but wasn't next it started with a loud popping sound from the rca's it's back the shop agin so as a review I would have to say that I would not recomend it to anyone on a bad day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2010 GOOD VALUE
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
GARRETT from Cheltenham, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THE PRODUCT IS VERY GOOD, I THOUGHT THE GRAPHICS COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL BETTER BUT FOR THE MOST PART I AM SATISFIED WITH IT AND U CANT BEAT THAT PRICE ANYWHERE ELSE, THANKS SONIC ELECTRONIX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2009 Installed Three Days Ago
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Taylor from Vero Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Delivered on time, although there were a few installation issues. The main issue was the sleeve that came with the product wouldn't fit, and the screws that were given with the mounting kit weren't long enough to screw the receiver onto it. However, overall it went fairly smooth. The sound quality is very clear and much louder than my stock head unit. It also has many cool features, although my mp3 player won't register with the USB.

Overall it's a wonderful product for its price. I'm very glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2012 awesome
Review by
urgreathero from deltona,fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit for a year now in my 03 ram 2500 pickup, i haven't had any issues whatsoever, the display is awesome. works great for overnight stays at motocross tracks and with the 16gb micro sd car i can have all the music ill ever need on it. if it ever goes i will def be buying another. :]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 Excellent
Review by
SaintJ from Anaheim Ca,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this head unit its clean in sound and the touch screen is amazing and the DVD player picture quality is awesome and sounds good best deal for the best price. AAA+++++++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2011 like but dislike
Review by
dude098 from fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love the head unit pic is good sound is good my head unit wont read my ipod touch an when i try to play a movie it says cant be played wile driving when car is not on no funny noises or anything like that from this head unit so far so good - i hate haveing tons of cds wish my ipod would connect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2011 VERY NICE
Review by
jeremy from Washington il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product has a beautiful screen and does everything i need it to do!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Save your money
Review by
Sherry from Pine Hill, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is not worth the money - worked 4 months then the front screen went out - cheap made - warrenty is only for 90 days with self installation so I'm out 230 dollars since it lasted approx 30 days after the warrenty expired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2011 dvd problem
Review by
lee from ny ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got 1 of these and every time i try to watch a dvd it play's the sound but wont let me watch the video it says (no watch videos while driving) even wen im not driving. Does any one know why this happens and how i can fix it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2011 I LOVE IT
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
anthony from Britton, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend just showed me it and i want it so bad. we watched saving private ryan on the way to ohio and it was so fun to watch with subwoofers!!! Great product savin up to buy one myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2011 Problems
Review by
Kevin from west palm beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Startup time is around 15-20 seconds. On a trip more than 5 min it is ok but overall its annoying. The front detachable faceplate does not fit very snug on the front of the unit so it pops off at some random times for me. Although I do not know if my headunit is defective or not this would be a deal breaker if I had known before. Screen looks great. sounds wonderful. Touch screen is not as sensitive as I'd like but I'm getting nit picky here.

i have owned several headunits and this is the only one i have had to return.
i will research more on the front faceplate and a way to make it more permanent, but even if i fix it there is just too many things i did not like, and not enough things i did like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2011 Great Product
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andrew from Rutland, VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What can I say great price for a great product. I've never had a problem with Power Acoustik products, and this head unit is no different. Amazing picture amazing sound just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 This is great
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Brookfield, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this deck in my car and it looks great, I hear amazin noise around me and feels great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2011 i love it
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MR.ike from chicago il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it its in my Imapla sounds good the usb take to long to load when its cold outside it make loud sounds the memory sucks i have to set my station every day make long story short it look good in my car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz