Showing 35 reviews for Sony XM-ZZR3301

Customer Review Summary for Sony XM-ZZR3301
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 35 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
11%
3 star:
.
.
9%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 30, 2010 Top Notch
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Reubin from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is powerful. I can't say a single bad thing about it. I have it hooked up to a Hifonics 12 inch Square, and it hits harder than Mike Tyson, 90 seconds into a prize fight in 1993!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2014 Not quite what I expected
Review by
TIMMY D from Toledo OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Did not produce like I had hoped. I was looking for more bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2014 best bang for ur buck!
Review by
kelly from gardners, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp kicks ass easy to hook up n pushes "600rms".Its running a 12" comp. pro Pioneer sub which peak rms is 600 so its a perfect match. It hits so hard it hurts my chest!!! That Really amazing coming from one sub in a non-ported sealed box!!! I just love it.:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2014 So y amp
Review by
Jeffy from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp awesome service... No hassles!!! Fast return shipping and easy package replacement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Great product great price
Review by
Pat from N babylon ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Small but powerful 1100 watt amp great crisp sound and quality. Highly reccamend this product. Great price. Go out and buy this amp for the price you cant go wrong compared at 200 nd up elsewhere for a 800 watt amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2014 sony xplod amp
Review by
bootleg from Jonesville, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp in my 02 tahoe hooked up to 1 15 kicker cvr n it sounds bad as my amp heating up problem stopped big time im a happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2014 Great
Review by
Sharan from ABBOTSFORD, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is powerful. I can't say a single bad thing about it, it doesn't get hot or anything. Its a very good amp for less money, very powerful, clean look, clean sound, and easy install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2011 Pretty good for a sony
Review by
Farrukh from Golden Valley, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I usually don't buy Sony products specially amps, but i got this amp to power a couple kicker comps and this thing was surprisingly not bad. it's cea certified so you know the power rating isn't Sony rated, it is what its actually advertised. The settings could have been easier to get to though, i like how kicker did their knob controls on the top for easy access. and there is no remote bass knob control, which is a lot more useful than one would think. overall it's a good 600watt amp (realistically 500 - 550, unless your car runs at constant 14.4 volts). All in all i would give it a 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2011 Sony
Review by
Justin from Lexington, Kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this hooked up to two sony 12's wired at 2 ohms and this set up bangs first hour i installed it my rear view mirror un screwed itself and fell off. Don't let Sony haters fool you, this thing eats!
pros: loud, clear, hits the lows
cons: blue led light doesnt match my orange leds through out my car but il change it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 5, 2011 Sony XM-ZZR3301
Review by
it is what it is from fresno,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i believe that is very well priced amp, it excellent it don't get too hot like other amps, also it CEA compliant so you know for sure that you are going to get the right RMS needed, overall this Sony amp is the best i been doing audio for a long time and i know when i see a good amp and this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2011 good amp.
Review by
zach from Harrisburg, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a good product. It is very powerful. Pros: powerful, clean look, clean sound, and easy install. Cons: none. If you want a good amp and have a good sub this will work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 great
Review by
izzy from tulsa, ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's the best ever. I bought it for my husbands truck. But since i drive the truck i get to hear it more. and let me tell you its awesome. the best sound ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2011 great buy!
Review by
Kevin from Mansfield, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 2006 impala SS. I bought this amp to match up with the sony 12" subs I got from the "nation's super center" and they match up perfect! no clipping or disortion. i have them installed in a ported box with the labyrinth venting design. Sounds goood! Doesn't get hot at all. i did it via loc tagged at the factory bose amp and with the out rca's, i ran two sets of clarion tweets on a jensen power 400 2 channel amp. with the sony mono on the subs, the bose running the mids, and the jensen running the clarion tweets from sonic elec. i'm booming , clear,and the mids are really talking. Sonic is the best thing since the dollar menu! lol!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 Blows the competition out of the water
Review by
Jon from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is amazing strong and powerful, i've had a mono rockfordfosgate amp before that had higher rms ratings but didn't come close to the actual power this has. It's bass is super clean not muddy at all. It's strong and you have the option to make the bass more loose or tight. The amp i have running on full every day and is definitely a keeper ever since last year i had this amp in runs just amazingly never heats up always runs really cool even in hot summer days it never heats up. It draws power a good bit but that power drawn is given to the speakers.

I have my subs mounted in the rear deck so for it to work as well it needs to push more and wow does it push.

I highly recommend this and at it's price point it's definitely a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 Sony XM-ZZR3301
Review by
Ron from Jackson, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product ok for the money. Amp is a little week for its rating. May be a little better with a better box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2011 Satisfied customer
Review by
Robinstormi from bolton nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the sony XM-ZZR3301 sight unseen. The product arrived in a timely manner and with easy insructions. I bought the product for my oldest son and I have the great pleasure of hearing it almost daily! My son is very satisfied with this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2011 Sony as usual for me!!!
Review by
Matt from Jonesboro, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The only thing that needs changed with this product is more proficient cooling. I've got two of the new 12" subs running on 2 ohms each off of here and the amp will overheat sometimes, and throws on protection mode. Simple power reset and it goes away, but for real needs a cooling fan or two. Also, would greatly benefit from being able to run both of the subs at 2 ohms at a higher wattage. The amp is only turned up about 2/3's of the way and would like to squeeze a little more, but gonna have to get second amp for that...o well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2011 Excellent and cheap
Review by
3Poodles from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amplifier after reading the reviews and finding that it does not get hot. Well, it doesn't!

I am driving a 10" sub, so I do not need a lot of power, but it definitely has more than enough to drive th sub.
I definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a decent amp at an excellent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 greeat value
Review by
matthew from peachtree City, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is the best you can get for the price! It goes perfectly with my new RE Audio SE-x woofer. I haven't even heated it up yet but i don't think it puts out the full 600w @ 1channel 2 ohms. more around 450-550. Never the less the value is unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 good amp
Review by
COOK from tahoka,texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this amp pushing a kicker L5 12" and its slammin it. doesnt get hott or anything. good amp for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2011 NOTHING BETTER!
Review by
Beans from Kettering, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one of these amps for my first system and it was amazing. I couldn't have been happier with it! Really delivers great power, true to its ratings I believe. Has never ever shut off or even gotten warm! Good amount of tuning options and very durable (had it rumbling around in my truck for 6 months before I changed setup to a honda) Its yet to disappoint me, I actually loved it so much I just bought another one! Definite buy and you can not beat the price and value. I would never guess coming from Sony but I would certainly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2010 Great amplifier
Review by
Berserker from Gainesville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I never buy a product I don't research first and this amp was no exception. For the price you really can't beat this amplifier. It gives 1000 watts of power for your subs and then some. My 600 watt Earthquake sub has never sounded better. I crank my system up and this amp doesn't even flinch. It stays nice and cool unlike my other amp that overheated and fried after a few years. Overall this thing rocks and if you're gonna push under 1,000 watts then you should definitely check this amp out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2010 Good amp...
Review by
Ben from Spokane, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was ok. It didn't really give out as much as it was rated for, but what more can you ask for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2010 Great price + quality
Review by
Vladimir from Jamaica, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, for cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2010 takes a beating and keeps on bumping
Review by
cccirks from Marshall, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 RE Audio subs running on this amp and it pushes both of them nicely; as most people with subs know, if you have subs you uses generally push them hard and this amp does the job nicely. I have this amp in my truck and i go off roading alot and the amp has taken some pretty good beatings and keeps on working
Pros: good design, plenty of power, simple to wire, safe mode
Cons: fairly large
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Reliable, meets expectations,
Review by
Jack from Shenandoah, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product is dependable, powerful, and drives my kicker solo baric 15" L7 effortlessly. Doesn't even get warm, and I place it under my driver's seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 WOW!
Review by
Colby from Willis, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cant say one bad thing about this amp I have two of these each running a Memphis Mojo Woofer (1000W rms)
Pounds The trunk.....so worth 130$$
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2010 Get what you pay for
Review by
Rece from Philadelphia,Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this amp on a 15" Kicker Cvr wired at 2 ohm and this amp doesn't truly put out 600 rms at 2 ohm it's probably 400 rms at 2 ohm . I cant complain too much its priced at a reasonable price but doesn't deliver true 600 rms watts at 2 ohm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2010 Extremely Good Quality
Review by
Andrew from Wooster, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Powers my Sony XS-GTX120L 12" subs perfectly. They hit so hard, they snapped my mirror clean off my windshield. Buy this. Never even gets hot. Even after an hour of more at full power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2010 Really Good Amp.
Review by
WHiiT3 B0i from Marianna, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is really worth the money. I used to have it hooked up to 2 JL 12W1's and it pushed them great. Now I have it pushing 2 Kicker 15 CVR's and they are so loud. It is wonderful how well this amp has worked for me. Never has messed up once and only went into power protect mode maybe once or twice. The blue light also light's up my trunk at night. Great amp for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2010 Great amp for one sub
Review by
Joshua from Athens, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a great budget amp for one good sub and it is cea compliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2010 This Amp should be more expensive
Review by
Souleraser from North Hills, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been using this amp to power a 500wrms Rockford Fosgate P3 sub. The sub is wired @ 1 ohm and this Amp barely breaks a sweat. The owners manual says that the amp is stable down to only 2 ohms, but I've been running this setup for at least 6 months now and haven't had any problems whatsoever. In fact, the amp doesn't even get warm at all! Worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2010 Super bang for your buck!
Review by
norbac from Wheaton, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I traded a Rockford Fosgate amp for this one because the Fosgate was too long and didn't fit underneath the passenger seat. However, after comparing the two amps, I must say that the Sony XM-ZZR3301 does blow away the Fosgate! It was a close call but I have to give a slight advantage to this Sony because of the features and the fact that it's responsive to lower frequencies than the Fosgate. I've been a Fosgate guy all my life, but I was very pleasantly surprise with this Sony. It does provides clear and tight bass at very close to 600 Watts with a Boston Acoustics, 2 ohm sub, in a small enclosure. It was also extremely easy to install.
Perhaps the only drawback to this amp is the lack of manual (remote) controls but if you have head unit that controls the amp, you can very well forget about the controls. This unit also gives off a very cool blue light that's very visible at night time or in dark places.
Overall, you will not be disappointed with this amp--especially if you use it on a 2 ohm sub configuration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2009 Really cool Amp
Review by
Prakashit Kumar from Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am using this amp for past 8 months on my MS WagonR Lxi with
2 12" pioneer TS-W1208D2 subs and my setup gives envy to my friends
setups. My car is so loud that when i'm on street everybody looks at me.
My subs are 400w RMS each, yeah i know i'm underpowering my subs
but this amp is so powerful that i have to keep my gain less than half.
If you are looking for a mono amp in a tight budget,
GO FOR THIS AMPLIFIER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2009 AMAZING!!
Review by
Maverick from Lexington,SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a really great amp with plenty of power, at least for my subs, and it looks sexy!! Very impressed with Sony and their product. Also feels very very durable and was very cheap. I got it for 130 on Sonic Electronix online eBay store with free shipping!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz