Showing 26 reviews for Power Acoustik PTID-8970NRB

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik PTID-8970NRB
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
46%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
.
23%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 17, 2011 Best head unit for the price
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
julian from Junction City, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good price for this head unit nun really wrong with it alot of easy menus but the only thing wrong with it is the volume knob will get confused when u try to turn it down it turns up but it only happens once every blue moon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2011 ok
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kev from Perth, western Australia, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this head unit to control a large car stareo, I will never go cheap on a head unit again. The RCA outputs from this head unit are derived from an internal in-line converter (not true RCA outputs). Because of the poor subwoofer outputs I amplified a poor signal which in turn burnt out both of my new Kicker L5 subs and output processor in my Hifonics BRZ1700 mono amp. Very pissed off.

Although the sound quality and tuning capabilities are not up to par on the high end equipment, this is a good deck to play basic music on and watch dvds. do not attempt to run a sub off this deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2011 Great!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DRAKE from Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought this product a year a good its amazing. the control works fine i love the bluetooth on it! it overpowers my subs but with a couple tunning it great i think its great and it looks sick in my camaro! I installed it in 15 mintues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2010 Good product for the price!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
scott from Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good unit for the price. I have this unit installed in an RV so it doesn't get used everyday. I don't think this product would last very long for everyday use but have had no issues with its operation yet other than sometimes when you lower the volume it goes up. Not a big issue and I was expecting at least something funny with this unit. GPS is real good and fast. The unit is easy to use. I have it connected to several displays in the RV. The remote works in the rear of the RV. I have the TV tuner also. Reception with the supplied antenna is not great. Great unit with so many features. I wonder how long she will last!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2010 yeaaaa
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
bmann from brunswick, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it is a pretty good unit. only thing is that its annoying not being able to touch a song on the list and it play. other then that A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2012 good deck
Review by
jr from comfort texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all I did not trust the brand Power Acoustik but when I installed it and started listening to music it actually sounded good. Next I connected my subs and amp which are both Rockford Fosgate and that's why I didn't want to use this deck, but I've had it for six months and i can say it sounds and holds up good. So, I would recommend this product and the price is not bad for all the features it comes with. I especially like the bluetooth features since I can listen to music from my phone and I can control it from my phone too. The one thing I can say is I don't really like how long it takes to read a MP3 CD, but everything is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2012 power acoustic flip screen radio
Review by
jay from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product because it has everything I want for a very fair price. Although I don't like how my volume on Bluetooth audio streaming resets to 14 every time it connects to my galaxy tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2012 good product for the price
Review by
DC from Horn Lake, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this radio for christams and installed it Christmas morning i would like to add if your installing it in a 95-98 chevrolet or gmc pickup, tahoe, suburban you have to have an extention dash kit because the screen doesnt clear the dash. I had an extention laying around the house.

It's a pretty good radio for the price. If your swapping for somthing like an Alpine (like i did) keep the alpine it has much better sound quality. The only problem i have had with this radio is when it turns on when its really cold outside it makes a squealing noise but stops after a minute and every time i turn the radio off or switch between radio, dvd, etc. my subs thump really hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2011 Good
Review by
Anthony from junction city, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its was ok nothing major.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2011 good unit
Review by
ferg from plaquemine louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this for about 4 months now and i love it no problems so far but im gettin an amp and subs soon and cant figure out how to wire rcas to the one sub out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2011 Power Acoustik PTID-8970NRB
Review by
Florida User from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product does what it said it would do. I am glad to have it. It must have the correct format on the video, it will not play. But overall very good value for price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2011 Work fine !!!!
Review by
MichaŽl from Quebec, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The radio work really well. The only negative point I can say it's when I listen to a music dvd. The radio doesn't show the hour, we need to touch the screen to see the hour and it only stay a few sec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Well Satisfied
Review by
Keith from Galeton, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I researched these types of products for over a month before I finally pulled the trigger on this PTID-8970NRD. I have no regrets either. I believe I got a quality product full of value for my dollars. I would recommend it to anyone looking for these features. I have it installed in my Jeep Liberty to the OEM speakers and the sound quality is great. I don't consider myself an audiophyle so I'm not gonna nit pick it. The video is great, features all work as advertised. The bluetooth works great. For the money I'm not sure it could be beat.

To protect myself, I bought the 3 year Square Trade Warranty. Throw in the free mounting accessories and you can't beat Sonic's deals. I had the unit in 3 days on standard shipping!

I did note where some reviewers were saying how they had installed their units in 30 minutes......I say take your time. I didn't time myself, but it was way past 30 minutes. In fact I did it in phases over several evenings to assure a quality job. I think that will help assure a long life too.

Again I would recommend this product for anyone wondering if Power Accoustic is a Quality Product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2010 Good buy.
Review by
Matt from Simi Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: It looks really good and the features are really cool. iPod, and bluetooth works great.

Cons: I've tried everything but the FM/AM doesn't work at all. All I get is static.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2010 Great!!!
Review by
Dreasta from Austin,Tx.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great product. It's a go get it!!!! One of the things I like about it is that, it attaches to most cell phone. I keep all my music on my phone. The phone's that work well on the blue tooth mode are sprint and the iPhone. Its touch screen is great!!! Good for driving. I had no problem out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2010 Great buy.
Review by
phil from Costa Mesa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I only have 2 issues with the unit and both seem to be related to heat. It will occasionally shutoff and restart itself . And no its not an electrical problem. When listening to CD's/DVD's it will sometimes either freeze and you have to switch it to the radio then back to DVD player or it will switch over to the radio by itself for a second then switch back to the DVD player. it will do this several times until you turn it off for a while. Other than that It is an exceptional unit. I love all the features except the screen saver feature. the images are kinda lame. The blue tooth feature works great with my droid. Just wish there was a way to update the firmware to fix my heat issues and allow us to upload a few images for the screen saver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2010 ehh
Review by
jude from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was decent at first but its radio feature isn't the best and you have to but add ons just to charge your iPod which blows but the CDd quality is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2010 very powerful radio, but...
Review by
Stephen from Revere, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok so far i wouldn't recommend this radio because although it is powerful and sounds great with the right speakers, it has its freezing moments and i had to restart it from scratch 3 times already in the 6 months I've owned it. Other than this issue, everything works just fine, oh, except one more issue i have had twice since owning it. The flip out screen has gotten stuck in the out position and i had to perform a full reset both times.
All in all it still works ok up till now, those issues were about 2 months ago and havn't had any since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2010 Impressive Product
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Indio from Bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit in February for my Formula Firebird convertible and just installed it this weekend. All I can say is that there is absolutely NO REASON to spend 3 or even 4 times the money when for under $300, you can get a top notch unit. Power Acoustik has not let me down yet. I bought the OVN1-4000D Amp, the OVN4-1600 Amp, and of course this PTID-8970NRB unit. I also have a Boss 20-Farad Cap (bought before I knew about PA). No ones system sounds any better than mine, and I'm talking about guys that spent $1,000's on their systems. At the very least, a system would have to cost WAY more than mine to sound appreciably better. And of course, Sonic's outstanding service makes it all that much better. I have to comment on what Sonic did recently. Instead of not shipping this unit for weeks on end when it was out of stock, they immediately shipped a comparably higher quality unit from the same manufacturer. What other store does this? None as far as I have experienced. As far as the unit is concerned, I recommend it 100%. I won't go into detail because I think some of the previous reviews are very detailed and accurate. Just keep shopping with Sonic and you won't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2010 Much Better Than Expected
Review by
Indio from Bronx, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This DVD Head Unit is much better than I expected. The features found on this unit are available only in very high end "brand name" models. I am quite pleased with my purchase. Finally, I would like to thank Sonic for their fantastic customer service, fast and accurate shipping, and rock bottom prices on high quality products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2010 Lots of features with a competitive price
Review by
t.wil from trini, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this a couple of weeks ago and I'm pleased with my purchase. The features are most impressive. The 50Watt X4 speaker output is a plus that must be noted, and the divx video support is great comparable to higher-end car stereos that I owned that did not support it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2010 Awesome head unit for the price!
Review by
Tekgyrl from Kingstowne, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this unit shipped to my installer and when I went to pick-up my vehicle was extremely impressed with almost everything about this head unit. from the customizable background and screen savers, to the audio quality and blue tooth feature of the unit. It is definitely worth the price!
Small issue with first time I used the unit and shut the car off the monitor did not want to retract...but a simple push of the reset button solved this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2009 GREAT unit, with loads of features.
Review by
300M from US, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this reciever for a few months now, and LOVE it. The 7' flip touch-screen is sick, and the touch works well. I don't have the NavBox, TV tuner, or iPod connection cable, but have used every other feature.

Pros: Great looking, in or out, useful remote, powerfull, great coloring on the screen, good User Interface, very customizable, LOTS of imputs, works with what it says, screen motor protection from being stopped, etc. Bluetooth works well.

Cons: Unit needs directional pad; not just on remote, screen has trouble flipping out the 1st time after powering on every time, wish the Bluetooth music quality was better.

Overall, this is an amazing product, well worth the money. Don't pay twice as much for the "BIG" brands, that still have less features. It's a mess of wires in the back, as there's a million imputs and outputs, but that's no biggie; I just hope you know what you're doing. I didn't list all the pros, but I don't think I could fit those on the page. It does everything, and more than you'd ever even use; buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2011 not made for 04-08 mustangs
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
phillip from kinnelon, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They say it does work for mustangs but it doesnt open fully when installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2010 Best Flip out for th money
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
bozzhogg from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Man i just got this unit today installation is easy as 1,2,3 and the unit has a lot of funtions the bluetooth hooked up to my Palm Pixi with no problems. Display quality is among the best i've seen. The only thing I don't like is that is has to load all of the songs on the SD card everytime you turn it on. But other than that it is off the chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2010 good value with problems
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
robert from chesapeake, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
unit sometimes wont even play radio when vehicle first started. I have to change the band or eject and reinsert. Looks like it's playing no sound and the unit makes a lot of whining sound even on start with no CD in the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz