Showing 20 reviews for SPL SP3-15

Customer Review Summary for SPL SP3-15
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.8
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 13, 2011 Amazing sound quality, even at high power.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joseph from Madison, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's Friday the 13th for the month of May. It's been exactly 5 months since I have owned and used this subwoofer. I never would have thought I would trust a brand I never used to satisfy the quality and strength of my intentions. I'm using this in my room with a car amplifier powered by an AC to DC converter (given only powers about 600rms) with my shelf Sony system. The lows fulfill a love to audiophiles who love the lowest bass that almost goes out of your hearing range. For the price Sonic Electronix gives, why would you go into any other audio shop? These hit amazing clean and knocks picture frames off the inside of the house if the volume is just right. If you have to make a decision, go sealed. Excursion looks like a paint mixer for those who are curious for that kind of ability. I would recommend this to everyone looking for a subwoofer that can cause sickness to your stomach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2013 Honest Review
Review by
JBoy from Louisa, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a couple of these for 3 months now and I honestly have to report that the SPL SP3-15 is a great value. I beat them extremely hard on rock n' roll, powering them with a Rockford Fosgate DB2000T amp, 2 batteries and an 120 amp alt. with 0 ga wire. They take it like a champ but be careful if your doing alot of bass sweeps they can get hot and heat will kill any sub. If your like me and broke...these subs will do you right with some common sense. Box them right and if they start to get smelly turn it down and readjust your system. They'll do what you want if you have patience and tune your system in. Be smart don't just cook them but that goes with any sub. P.S Got these on eBay for $92 a piece. Thanks Sonic love your eBay items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 love it.
Review by
will from tone city from san antonio texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had 2 sp3-12s for 9 months'. then went with these 15s. they hit great, amazing subs. the only con is. the ohm loads are off, and even with the mfd rec wire their still off, they are dual 2ohm subs but read 3.3 to 2.8... and if you run in series they jump to almost 6.3 ohm, and ran in par they drop to .3... and only the spring term clips are cheap and break easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2012 It was good until...
Review by
Dave from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Honestly I was looking for a decent sub and wanted to experiment with a 15 without breaking the bank. Having never listened to SPL before, I took a leap of faith. Originally she sat in a 2.4 cu foot sealed box. It hit well but I wanted a bit more room in the trunk and wanted it to be crisper. I brought the box down to 1.9 cu feet. Definitely an improvement.

It was nice for about 6 months. Then it stopped playing. My amp was fine. The sub wouldn't play on 3 different amps that I tried. Sent it back to SE and they gave me a replacement. Well.. 5 months have passed and it did it again. Not sure if I'd recommend this product after the problems it's been giving me. While it played though, it was worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 Bang for your buck!
Review by
SpeakerKnockz from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had never owned 15s before and these were my first pair. I had them each wired down to it's own amp on 0ga at 1ohm with a battery in the rear. The enclosure was vented, of course! These things SLAMMED! Trunk rattling! Window shaking! Head turning! For the money, it's a good buy. You just have to feed it properly. They don't put out NEARLY as much rms as they proclaim and I wouldn't recommend trying to give it to them.

Pros: Affordable, Produce a lot of bass, Heavy, Durable
Cons: At the price, none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2012 TRULY MONSTER SUBS!!! BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK
Review by
155THINF from Brookhaven, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these monster 15"s in a sealed enclosure and they smash da competition. I have beat alot of people with more expensive setups with these subs using less power. If you know how to install these subs properly and use the right amount of power, you can have one banging system that can hold its own with the best!! The sick part about my system is these subs are not broken in yet and I'm using a sealed box, so they can only get louder an deeper with time. Make sure you have a quality mono amp that produces a clean 800-1400 watts rms @ 2 ohms!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 Awesome Value
Review by
Sam from Olathe, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub and had it running in literally a (badly) sealed old bass amp box for a while and it still knocked pretty good. I now have it in a custom box for my Civic, feeding it all of 1500w RMS and it outlasted the amp! I plan on getting at least another 1500w amp to power this thing. I would get another if I had the space. Had a JL 13W7-D1.5 before this, and I think this one is louder. Sure it's a 15" and being given an extra 500w, but for $100 sub this thing is crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2011 The Biz-omb
Review by
Dj HiT 1, Jerome H from Detroit
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had an SPL sub in the past and it made my head hurt every time it hit. Till I got jacked! It works very well with my Rockford class D 1500 just like the last one I had. It rocks believe me (hooked up right) I got hearing loss to prove it!

Dj Hit 1, I'm out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2011 slaaaappppssss
Review by
joseph from stockton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love it its been 5 months nd it hits really hard im goin to purchase another nd wire it with a seperate amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2011 spl sp3 this is the boom
Review by
junbug from washington dc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wuz up guys all I have to say is this sub hits really hard. I have one 15 SPL SP3 and it is power by a 2000 watt spl class D amp and note that I have it running of my factory car stereo so I can't wait until I get my flip out or a in dash to see what it really can do. and also I did not even tweak my amp ether so for my first system this is a really good system and for the price I would recommend this sub for a person that like they car flexing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2011 SPL Sp3 15
Review by
RaiderRay from Colorado Springs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two in a ported box with about 800 watts rms to each of them. They hit pretty hard and sound really good for the price. They are broken in now so
I plan on putting 1100 - 1200 watts to both and see what they can really do. I would recommend to anyone who wants loud loud bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Good 15's
Review by
RaiderRay88 from Colo Spgs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these subs for a week and they pound real hard. Only puttin 800 watts at 2 omhs to each sub and they pound. I can still turn up the amp but waitin till they break in. Would recomend to anyone who wants alot of bass. Go ported and have a good amp that will push about 800 to 1000 watts RMS at 2 ohms. Might buy two more for competition purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2011 hits hard.
Review by
shane from carmichael, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love this sub, great price, amazing quality, loks good inverted, powered by an SSL amp, hit so hard my windshield, roof windows, trunk, back and front seats flexed or vibrated like crazy, definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 5, 2010 perfect subs
Review by
nino from streamwood
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this are one of the best subwoofers i ever bought. I am running 4 of these on my truck. And they sound loud my windows came down..... so i replaced them with flexing windows. And by the way i was running them at 4000 rms with one mono block rockford fosgate. and i wish they made this 18s also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2010 Greatest Sub I've Ever Bought.,,, PERIOD!
Review by
Scott from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A fantastic subwoofer. has much good excursion and is extremely flexible. Works very well under large amounts of wattage, and with the right box for it, such as my custom made, ported box, I have never been happier! Runs loud and true, and hasn't failed on me yet. I've had mine for about five months now so in order to write a good review all I can say is WOW! It's strong and loud. You only need one to be impressed by one, and you'll be excited to buy! Just don't think about it, just do it. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2010 Great Product!
Review by
Jessica from Charleston W.V.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a Ford Explorer and it sound awesome! These r the best i have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2010 Excellent Buy
Review by
Pauly from New York, Buffalo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have previously owned one of these sub woofers. The excursion is great, price is great, spider is extremely flexible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2010 Wooo!
Review by
Paulyfr3sh from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing Subwoofer. The excursion goes beyond any subwoofer within 80-100$ in its class. 1 ohm stable meaning you can get maximum power out of your amplifier. Tinsil Lead is thin, but its a 120$ sub. Great price, Great Buy. I hit a 136 db with 1 of these and a low frequency. Knocks hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2010 SPL SP3-15
Review by
Josh from Appomattox
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a Toyota Solara and I have two of the Power Acoustik Bamf 2000 ID amps and these things knock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2009 SPL SP3-15
Review by
Bill from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these and I kid you not they hit about two times harder than my old two twelve inch Kicker CVXs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz