Showing 27 reviews for Power Acoustik PTID-7002NR

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik PTID-7002NR
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.8
Features
4.3
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 9, 2011 overall. AWESOME!
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ramon from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
About 4 months back I installed my Power Acoustik, and I love it! overall I'm very satisfied with this buy and would totally recommend it. now the cons and pros
PROS-
-i love the fact that you are able to detach the faceplate, my car has been broken into before and this feature helps prevent temptation
-this is an all in one package, its easily upgradeable, navigation, ipod navigation, tv and reads almost all types of video format
-i like that you can have your own background on the main screen as well as some other components
-you have a choice of three different syles to choose from so if i get bored of the same style or screen i can change it
-motorized faceplate, very fancy :)
-you are able to adjust screen settings
-very easy screen navigation
-nice responsive touchscreen
-comes with a great carrying case
CONS-
-since this is a single din with a larger faceplate it wont fit all cars, i have a double din setup so i thought i was good on screen space but when installing the actual single din slot needed to come out further in order to put the faceplate on all the way, but after some modding to the dash kit i made it work
-the slide show only works in radio, and aux input, but will not for cd playback, its just the power acoustik logo
- all the screens have been nicely desighned except for certain info screens, the cd info displays as a blue line with just the track number and time and such, i was hopeing it would be able to read the actual name on the cd
-when playing cds or dvd its a bit touchy to scratched discs, i do have cds that it will play that are seriously scrached up but once it gets to a bad part it will stop and keep trying to read the cd instead of skippin the unreadable area
-when navigating through dvds or your usb, you must put a navigation panel on the front rather than just touching what you want, you must first highlight it through the panel then hit select
-there is people saying that this device does freeze and reboot itself, at one point or another. well.... its only happened to me once so far, the screen froze and most of the touch screen components werent working, but after leaving my battery disconnected for abit all factory settings restored and it was fine, and still had all my pictures in its internal memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2013 Very Nice Head Unit
Review by
Bloopbloop from Buffalo, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great unit:
Touch screen is like an ipad, I have had many car units, but I had to return most of them because of poor design flaws. This unit is designed with quality, made in china, but looks like it was put together very well. I had it for a couple of days now...loving it!!!

The only flaw I found is the EQ, when you set it manually (user) it is not as loud as when you set it to the presets (pop,rock...)

For music, I burned a dvd, but made folders for each artist, which works out because when it plays on screen, there are 2 menus, on the right is the songs, on the left if you press on the remote the arrow to the left where on screen it displays the artist,song... it switches to the folder, so i can just click on the remote what folder (artist) I want, then click on the remote arrow right to the song in that folder I want. Note, it is a good idea to get a program for your pc to convert your music like music monkey, I would take out track numbers and everything except artist,song title and album because the head unit will auto create track numbers.
The first time i put a dvd in this unit, it would not elect...i detached the face plate and reconnected it and it worked, but it has not gotten stuck again since then. This unit is upgradable for nav, digital TV which is nice and the extras are way cheaper then any other unit, look it up 89 bucks for nav when any other unit its 200. This unit fit my Honda civic perfectly. If your unit seems like you cannot get it to fit right, on both sides of the unit (front sides) there are adjusters, use needle nose pliers to adjust it so the trim bezel fits perfectly, if it doesn't the face panel will not lock in. Most head units like this only has 2v pre amp, this one has 4v although it says 2v online, its not.

it does not have blue tooth and I do not think there is an upgrade for it, but i do not need it.
I would recommend this to everyone, it is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2013 what a joke
Review by
michael from Groesbeck, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the radio is ok its just the shipping that was a joke it took a week and a half to get it do to there mistake and didnt even offer faster shipping like i said what a joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2013 Great Addition for the money
Review by
Orlando from Wake Forest, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit for my 91 Jeep Wrangler due to is one of very few 7 1/2 inch Touch Screens that will fit the dash and the price was right. Looks great, sound great, if you take the time and properly install "most important calibrate the display screen" prior to adjusting unit to your likings and in order for touch screen to funtion properly. Running 2 Kenwood AMP's 1,000 monoblock for 2 10" Kicker Subs & Kenwood 600 watt for Kicker 6X9 and 4X6 mid and highs Speakers. Radio has pounding bass and crisp high adjustments. Will not be dissapointed of results, but again "must take the time to tweak the unit" The only con is the remote control should have main keys lighted for better view at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2011 :-D
Review by
Edgar from Round Rock, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this unit a week ago and love it what I like the best was the price I got a friend that got the same at the pawn shop for 350 USD. I like that is a datachable face to keep thiefs away. Picture is nice I love the fact that Sonic gives you for free the wire harness and the dash kit. Saves me a lot more money. What I really didn't like was the wait but it was because I got the free shipping took about a week but it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2011 Good buy
Review by
Nigel from Decatur, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was a great buy I picked it up for one of my friends who wanted a dual din in his car but his dash wouldn't allow. True dual din (older model BMW) he loved the end results and the funcuality of the unit deff worth the money! Buy this if you want a dual din and your dash doesnt allow or if you don't want to fork out the money for a nice dual din unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2011 Great Radio
Review by
Jonathon from Radcliff, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great radio but i did have to make some mod's to my visible dash in order to have it fit is about 1/4 of an inch wider than a regular aftermarket radio, so be sure that it will fit, but other than that it is really great to have, price is great, and shipment was quick. This is one of the best places i have found to get aftermarket electronics at. Highly recommend to any one to order their radio's from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2011 awesome product
Review by
zach from Murfreesboro, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing product. and thank you sonic electronix for great customer service when i had to exchange and there was a mix up. Very friendly service and helpful. Thank you SonicElectronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 good buy
Review by
DERICK from DALLAS, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a good price, and the durability is great I love this radio is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 good buy
Review by
DERICK from DALLAS, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a good price, and the durability is great I love this radio it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2011 Great Product
Review by
jesus from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received it on friday. Installed same day. Its a great value and a great product. followed the instructions and read the wires to connect the to the write ones, the adapter fit perfect. the only con i have is that the USB does not work with the ipod, you have to get the adapter seperate but its not a hassle its all worth it. great sound and video is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2011 Not bad for the money!!!
Review by
Mike from Olive Branch, Ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this just to upgrade from my regular unit... Install went fairly smooth. I think it is a good deal for the money. Picture is alright, features are pretty good. It is pretty solid and you can take the screen which is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2011 7002nr
Review by
BigD70SS from denver colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this unit to have the reverse camera to back up to my trailer easier. I had it professionally installed and the camera does not work all the time. I am having to swap out the unit first to see if that is it and if not I will swap out the camera. Other then that it is a great touch screen for the price and would buy again it needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2011 great!
Review by
Ryan from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product. it is in my jeep Cherokee and I love it. It isn't extremely durable but its not fragile either. The only major problems I've had with it is the release for the faceplate broke off once (bummer. I can use a screwdriver and get it out still) and for some reason it had just locked up on me 2 or 3 times mid driving. just a simple restart fixes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2010 Great headunit
Review by
Dave from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this thing looks great and is easy to install at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2010 7002NR
Review by
Gaz from Calgary, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All good no prob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2010 mid level exception
Review by
darryl from detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit is close to/on par with Sony,Panasonic,Clarion,Jensen etc. It has just about everything available in a head unit. It lacks very few bells and whistles such as Bluetooth and a easy to purchase cd changer. Quality was great and even better has been customer service. Only gripe it needs better wire placement/consideration. Does as advertised at a mid level price bracket and it's cheaper than when i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2010 Great Sound and Picture!
Review by
Janice from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this as a gift for my brother. To say that we were blown away is an understatement. He loves this unit in this truck. He primarily used the radio features and the touchscreen is a great feature. I love playing with it when in his truck. He also loves the convenience of being able to watch dvds when he is waiting to pick his girlfriend up from work. Overall he is very pleased with the product. He installed this unit himself with a friend so I believe installation was fairly easy. The only problem he has it sometimes it is difficult to lock the screen in place but that may be a flaw design in his truck and not a problem with the device itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2010 7002NR
Review by
Goudy from Lewisville,TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Over all this head unit is nice, as for the up side Its a touch screen with many options and a great display. Down sides, FM isn't the clearest and being and over size screen you must make sure it will fit in your vehicle before you buy. It looked great in my 626 but now I have to do some custom work in my Durango. It is almost as big as a 2 din.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2010 User/Owner review of Power Acoustik PTID-7002NR
Review by
Chuck from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall, for MY needs, it serves its purpose. I do not have any options/modules added, such as TV/NAV/Bluetooth. Some things could be better. I think AM/FM radio reception is poor, compared to original car radio. Unit freezes up in one mode (radio, USB) , not allowing you to change modes or do much else. Must reset unit, which loses all settings. Doesn't happen frequently, but pain when it does happen (and it WILL happen). If you have the USB mini-plug plugged into radio, depending on where you placed your USB device, be aware before trying to insert or eject a CD or DVD. DVD playback and image is good, but this is my first mobile device so I have no comparative experience. I have no complaints with that aspect. For the price, I can't really complain so if your looking for function on a tight budget, it will probably suffice as it does for me. But if you have the money to spare, I suspect there are better units available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2010 Power Acoustik 7002nr
Review by
Da Whiz 317 from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all, I would like to say that this unit is great depending on what kind of car you have. I have a 03 buick century and found out that I could not do a double din unit or single din flip out because it catches the plastic on top of the dash. I got this unit not from sonic electronix, but I would like to say that they have great prices.

The Power Acoustik 7002nr that I have is the one that has 4 pre outs. Anyways with that being said this unit is great. It does MP3, MP4, DVD, WMA and other formats including pictures and videos. Many people think they have to get an expensive head unit well with this unit is better than some of the expensive units. This unit has screen savers for the main dash. It does functions like ATSC which does digital tv to watch tv like you would with a digital converter box, IPOD ( have to have extra connector), AUX in which can hook up mp3 player or IPOD with 3.5 mm cord.

I am currently powering this unit with a hifonics 1210d amp, and not only that I am powering this with Alpine Type R. This is a great head unit and it is good because it has subwoofer volumes that go up to 15, treble and bass go up to 9. Now I know that I don't have a CEA compliant amp, but honestly my system bangs. This head unit does 80 120 or 160 hz for your subs. I would say that it is a fair head unit for the system. There is little to no distortion depending on whether or not the mp3 is a good song.. bitrate or not.

One thing that stood out from the other power acoustik head units that I had bought is that it has system dimmer. It is good because when u want to power your system u don't have to over stress your system with power.

This is a great buy, if you want versatility then go with this unit. It is detachable for security which is great so that when people look in your car to steal it is a waste of time. Overall, please buy power acoustik people give them a lot of s***, but most of the stuff is the same. Yes, at times they may over rate there power, but it is not by much. Thanks for your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2010 Luv It
Review by
Joann from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed it myself... only needed wire strippers, pliers, and some connector caps... sonic supplied everything else i needed! great price, great look. i highly recommend it. Only took me a couple of hours to get the stock radio out (don't forget your din release keys), to wire the new harnesses, install the mounting bracket, and get the head unit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2010 good dvd player
Review by
steelcode005 from beloit, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good deck picture is good sound is good just wish equalizer was better only has bass and treble adjustments and the sd slot is external thru usb not built in like i expected but over all good for money. would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2009 NICE DVD PLAYER FOR THE PRICE
Review by
BIG E from DETROIT MICHIGAN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I JUST GOT THE RADIO INSALL AND IT WORK GREAT,THE DVD FEATURE IS SO CLEAR AND SOUND IS SO GREAT SOUND MUCH BETTER THEN MY FACTORY RADIO AND THE CASE THAT COME WITH THE RADIO IS AWESOME. THANX SONIC FOR QUICK DELIVERY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2009 Excellent
Review by
Keem from Macon, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Actually... worth MORE than the price, lovely device that doesn't cost a grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2009 GREAT!!!
Review by
ROME from SPARKS,NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
GOT THIS DECK ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND ITS WORTH EVERY BIT OF THE PRICE. NICE RESOLUTION AND LOVE THAT IT FLIPS DOWN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2010 great value
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Patrick from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works great love it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz