Showing 11 reviews for JBL GTO608C

Customer Review Summary for JBL GTO608C
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
64%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
9%
2 star:
.
.
9%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.4
Features
4.5
Design
4.1
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Way way more than I expected!

First I want to say I am very very pleased with these speakers. My main priority in a component speaker were the tweeters not being too bright. Most component crossover tweeter settings are 0, -2, -4 db. These are 0, -6 db so I said let me give them a try. I own a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. I added Dynamat Xtreme to my doors. Installed these and set the tweeter to -6db. I'm giving them 70 watts RMS @ 2ohms from an Eclispe EA4200. Absolutely amazing. The tweeters are not bright but what blows me away is the mid bass punch. Cover every hole possible with the dynamat and give these babies 70 watts and the mid bass punch will be there. They also will play very very loud without distortion. I love them!

VS
Meh

I'm pretty disappointed with these speakers, even for their price. The high frequencies are always too harsh and bright, even at the -6db setting. They are advertised as mylar-titanium composite, but in reality they seem to be mylar with a titanium paint coating, which doesn't do much. The soldered wires on the tweeters break easily and are a pain to fix. The crossovers are really just filters in a box instead of inline. And the woofers handle bass so poorly it would be hilarious if it weren't so depressing to hear. That said the midrange is fairly decent, and they do produce a big soundstage. If you block pretty much all bass going to them they will get loud as well. Overall I can't say I'd recommend them, even at the price, unless you want a lot of harsh treble, no bass or even midbass to speak off, and want all that at high volumes. I'm replacing them with a set of Massive Audio components and hoping for some better results.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 5, 2011 Way way more than I expected!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from North Plainfield, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First I want to say I am very very pleased with these speakers. My main priority in a component speaker were the tweeters not being too bright. Most component crossover tweeter settings are 0, -2, -4 db. These are 0, -6 db so I said let me give them a try. I own a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. I added Dynamat Xtreme to my doors. Installed these and set the tweeter to -6db. I'm giving them 70 watts RMS @ 2ohms from an Eclispe EA4200. Absolutely amazing. The tweeters are not bright but what blows me away is the mid bass punch. Cover every hole possible with the dynamat and give these babies 70 watts and the mid bass punch will be there. They also will play very very loud without distortion. I love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2014 JBL GTO 608C
Review by
scavman from old forge pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this two piece speaker system works well. it is solid in construction and sound. I have the tweeter mounted high and they are bright in sound, crisp and not ringing. The bass and mids are tight and efficient. I used them on a stock Chevy 2011 Silverado cd player and they make such a difference that I am not changing the head unit...PS, I have dennon and B&W at home, so if the sound wasn't good, I would change in a heartbeat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 JBL GTO608C
Review by
CN3809 from DALLAS, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great speakers for the price that I paid for them..I put them in my 2006 chevy silverado and connected them to a rockford fosgate amp. They sound great at high volume with no distortion on vocals or mids. The only bad thing that ive encountered with these speakers is that the JBL cover is big and bulky and will not fit on my door panel. Overall JBL makes awesome vocal speakers and subwoofers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 I Enjoy Them
Review by
Chris from South Central, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these speakers today. I'm pretty new to the game and I paid $200 for them, which I think is very salty. They sound great, and everything I have is completely stock otherwise. (2006 Monte Carlo SS) They do sound slightly distorted if you crank up the bass, but then again they're not bass speakers. Once I'm done with the entire build I know they're gonna sound better, but for now I love them as is, just wish the price was lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2012 Tweeters not so hot, but may be my fault.
Review by
Bill from Palmdale, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I got a lot of distortion from these, I thought that was a combination of installing with adapters (factory were... small, 2002 Subaru Impreza) and the fact that I bought a cut rate POS 5 channel amp. I recently replaced the amp with a pair of JBL amps and wallah! Amazing difference. The tweeters are still fairly muted at low volumes, but at higher volumes I get MUCH better results. Unfortunately I don't feel like listening to my music at deafening levels all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2012 not a bad swap for stock speakers
Review by
charlie from merrillville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Silverados speakers finally gave up. Wished I changed them sooner. Good full range. Have older Pioneer head unit and man what a difference. Still need a sub for lows. Still good bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 jbl gto 608c
Review by
ELI from CHURCHS FERRY ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very sensitive, good bass, included x-over does not have a coil only a cap and resistors, this driver rolls over smoothly enough to not need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2011 Meh
Review by
Matt from Newark, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm pretty disappointed with these speakers, even for their price. The high frequencies are always too harsh and bright, even at the -6db setting. They are advertised as mylar-titanium composite, but in reality they seem to be mylar with a titanium paint coating, which doesn't do much. The soldered wires on the tweeters break easily and are a pain to fix. The crossovers are really just filters in a box instead of inline. And the woofers handle bass so poorly it would be hilarious if it weren't so depressing to hear.

That said the midrange is fairly decent, and they do produce a big soundstage. If you block pretty much all bass going to them they will get loud as well. Overall I can't say I'd recommend them, even at the price, unless you want a lot of harsh treble, no bass or even midbass to speak off, and want all that at high volumes. I'm replacing them with a set of Massive Audio components and hoping for some better results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2011 mids, highs
Review by
jpmo82 from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great materials and accessories for this price, speakers can produce great mids and highs but they really need a subwoofer to complete all ranges because cant produce a rich bass, however great for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2010 Great Fidelity and Clarity
Review by
Spanish Fly from Flowood, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Don't let the looks of this system fool you, the sound quality produced by this component set is excellent. The mids and highs are crystal clear, not overwhelming. I would definitely recommend purchasing these speakers, I was a little skeptical at first, I couldn't find any reviews and never known anyone with JBLs; however, I took the chance and do not regret it. I have owned MB Quartz and Dyneaudio in the past years, both of which I was please with, but I wanted to try something new and wanted to stay within budget. Don't hesitate, buy these speakers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2009 Sweet Speakers
Review by
Alex from New Philadelphia , Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are absolutely amazing. I would recommend these to anyone for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz