Showing 15 reviews for Metra 95-5817

Customer Review Summary for Metra 95-5817
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
47%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
13%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
7%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.9
Value
4.1
Features
4.1
Design
4.2
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 11, 2012 Great product for my 2000 Ford F350
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
toastr from Victoria, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was just what I needed to finish the installation of a double DIN player into my DIN and a half opening on my Ford F350.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2012 Excellent Product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
mrobbi from Fruita CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are adding a touchscreen to your F-250 pickup this is the perfect
install kit to go with it. It is very easy to install did not have to file to much of the dash out to make it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2012 good value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked well, sticks out a little as the Sportrac dash is angled vertically, but still functions well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 dash kit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Woody from Benson, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cool, works good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2011 very good
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stoddard from Cocoa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
made istallation very easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2010 I wanted to replace it after I got it installed
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hrdtofnd from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed a Pioneer AVIC-X910BT into my 2002 Ford Escape XLT. Putting a 2Din headunit into this vehicle involves cutting the sub-dash to clearance for the unit. This was disclosed on the website and wasn't much of a surprise to me. I tarped off the inside of my car with old bedsheets and used a rotozip with a carbide rasp attachment which made quick work of removing the plastic material.

The Installation kit attached easily to the head-unit with a couple of screws and I used a harness adapter so I didn't have to cut my factory wires. After making making the connections and soldering them together, I bound them up with zip ties and inserted the unit into the dash.

The dash in my vehicle has quite a bit of room behind it so with a bit of maneuvering I was able to slide the unit and all it's wires (there are a lot of them!) into the dash opening. Unfortunately, the kit doesn't have the fit & finish like my factory stereo had. This kit has uneven gaps between the bezel and the mounting kit. I think it falls short of what an OEM installation would be.

(This website should let you upload a pic)

I brought my car over to my local "Extreme" audio installation center and they admitted to using a slightly different mounting system but which is essentially the same. It would have been better being a black metal plate with a DD hole to stick the radio through. This would have eliminated the gap at the bottom which is filled with a thin plastic filler piece.

Overall, I'm really disappointed with the available dash kits for the 2001-07 Ford Escapes but now that it's been in my car for six months I've kind of gotten used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2010 Work Good
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joseph from Maricopa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good fitment and good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2009 Metra in dash kit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from Beacon, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The kit is great, my Mercury Marauder has what Ford likes to cal 2 din radio opening but the dash is not big enough to fit a normal 2 din radio. With a little shaving of the top of the dash board and the Metra install kit I was able to fit a Kenwood touch screen DVD navigation head unit in my car. I would recommend this product for anyone wanting to install a 2 din radio on a Ford product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2014 Works as advertised
Review by
Ed from Gilroy, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used to install in a 2000 Ford F350 CC. The supplied screws were almost too short, but seem to be holding. Fairly easy to install, but does require the top and bottom of the dash opening to be trimmed. The sides can be left alone except near the corners to allow brackets to sit in flush. Instructions are okay, but as with most things, rather vague. Looks are pretty decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2014 Adapters for PyleView GPS/Radio to Crown Victoria
Review by
Mark from Apopka, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an odd review since I did not use the product as it was intended. But it works fine for me.

The adapter plates go on the sides of the core device. They are designed to lock the PyleView GPS/Radio into dash board I guess to prevent theft.

Well in my case I wanted to be able to access the PyleView GPS/Radio with out a big job of removing the dash. (This was because I was going to add a Back Up Camera later.)

I took a Dremel and cut the tabs off that perform the locking function.
Now I can take the PyleView GPS/Radio in and out at will. I made a pair of removal tools from heavy solid iron wire. The PyleView GPS/Radio is held in the dash by a lot of friction and the lack of any place to grab the PyleView GPS/Radio when it is in the dash.
My wire tools give me the ability to "grab" the PyleView GPS/Radio for removal.

It is nice to be able to buy the adapter plates in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2014 Made the install look great
Review by
M. Scott from Lincoln, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item I needed to install a 4" radio into my 2000 F250. Worked like a charm. When using you have to grind a little on the bottom of dash to except this but once on radio snapped right into the truck.. Gave it a totally finished look.. Very pleased..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2013 F-650 Metra Dash Kit
Review by
SaturnDoc from Cincinnati,Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this metra dash kit to install a JCV Full Din Stereo In My 2008 F-650 (Same Dash As F250-F350) You have to grindtheupper& lower lip off factory dash panel but the kit locks in tight & fits real nice.Just make sure you have it wred right before you push in all the way because when it locks its in for good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2013 Good for Ford Crown Victoria
Review by
Strongcoffee from Regina, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in both a 2003 & 2007 Ford Crown Victoria. Lots of questions around installing a double DIN unit in the early cars, but I did not have any issues. The only modification needed is the trimming of the small plastic ridge that surrounds the opening, then the Metra 95-5817 will slide right in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2013 Making life easy
Review by
Cole from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Goes in easy, looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2013 german22
Review by
edik from Glendale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
yes the bespradacktt shiping is good and good coalite dddddddddd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz