Showing 32 reviews for PAC SWI-JACKv1 (New Version of SWI-JACK)

Customer Review Summary for PAC SWI-JACKv1 (New Version of SWI-JACK)
Average Customer Rating is 4.0 out of 5 stars:
4.0
based on 32 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.0
Features
4.0
Design
4.2
Usability
3.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Excellent Product

Worked first time. Unlike a competitor's product, this steering wheel control is solid and reliable. Don't fall for the automatic setup ruse: all these products require some form of setup and car-specific wiring. This one was clear and it has worked perfectly ever since I installed it in a 2004 Buick Century to control an Alpine car stereo.

VS
Costs to much to have so many problems

This adapter is one of the most aggravating things I have ever had to use. I had one go completely bad and am on my second one now. Both have randomly quit working just to start back 5 minutes later. I've tried reprogramming it several times and the problem always comes back. It seems to happen if the temperature changes or if I turn the volume on the radio up more than half way. It will then start doing random things such as the volume button skips tracks, the seek button will mute the radio, or none of the buttons work at all. Other than the times I want to rip it out and throw it out the window it works fine.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 3, 2013 Excellent Product
Review by
Billtr from Telford, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked first time. Unlike a competitor's product, this steering wheel control is solid and reliable. Don't fall for the automatic setup ruse: all these products require some form of setup and car-specific wiring. This one was clear and it has worked perfectly ever since I installed it in a 2004 Buick Century to control an Alpine car stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 Great Purchase
Review by
LRobb from toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an awesome device that has a huge compatibility list, I've been using it for the past couple months and loving it. One caution, from time to time the wiring causes to trigger the mute button or menu button. But barely noticeable and otherwise awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 Not bad
Review by
Ed from Shelby twp. Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A good after market product but reaction time is slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 PAC SWI-JACKv1 (New Version of SWI-JACK)
Review by
Gervais from Granby, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product fast delivery will not hesitate to order again more products from SONIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2012 Great product for the money
Review by
Mark from Peterborough, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm not recommending this product for a car with steering wheel controls. I had to trade this in for another product to make them work. Other than that, no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 Great Product
Review by
Ty from Aurora, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So a few months ago i had purchased this item for a customer because another would not integrate with the analog system in a 96' cherokee i would deffinently recomend this for an alternative product for installers to use on the job or even consumers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2012 Easy to use.
Review by
Rik from Hinesville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The instructions are straight forward, easy to understand. I wanted to keep my steering wheel controls as factory as possible, mission completed! Unless I missed something, when you program it while the vehicle is running, that is how it will remember the programming. While the vehicle is off and in the "time out mode", the controls do not work the same as when the vehicle is running. Using the controls during the "time out mode" seems to erase the memory some how. Like I said, I may have missed something, but that seems to be the only flaw the unit has. Other than that, I am very pleased and would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2012 Great Value!
Review by
Niels from Stahnsdorf, 0, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very easy installation and works great. The communication and shipping to Germany were just perfect. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Lo recomiendo
Review by
Omar m García from Riverside ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Don't lose control from steering wheel. Works good, I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 Producto de primera calidad
Review by
Reinaldo from Cumana, Sucre - Venezuela, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy installation and easy handling, recommended 100% compatibility with the functions of the steering wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 Installed it but haven't used it because....
Review by
Jeremy from orem, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
In order for this unit to work on a 2010 Scion XB, you have to install the little dampener in one of the wires that connects to your steering wheel controls. Well it only came with one of those little guys, which was very small and got lost even after an hour long search. So i would assume that the product is fabulous if you don't lose that little guy and can make it all work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2011 Great Product
Review by
Rodney from Havelock, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product worked as advertised. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to keep their OnStar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2011 GREAT VALUE
Review by
ISAAC from CHICAGO, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is wonderful. It works just the same as my factory steering wheel controls. Great price and very fast shipping. Will recommend to others and will use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2011 Great adapter
Review by
andre from jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simple to install. Idiot proof as the PAC-4 has a direct connect for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2011 Sonic make shopping easy
Review by
Anthony from acton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
With Sonic reps i got the right parts.
PAC is a great name and with Sonic you get a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 It works
Review by
David from Little Rock, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Setup is a little tricky. You must follow the instructions. A little geeky, but it has worked trouble free for the 6 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2010 Crap!
Review by
Dustin from Genoa City, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Thing Turns My Headunit Off Radom Times And Sometimes Ill Raise The Volume And The Song Will Change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2010 works great but a little slow
Review by
jacob from Spring Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this in my car for about 6-7 months or so. I would say that it works pretty good. Though it was a chore figuring out how to program and install. It also doesn't react very quick to button taps on my steering wheel. I have to hold the button down versus simply tapping it with my stock radio.

Other than that though I like it alot and does all the features I need it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2010 SWI-JACK --> good, but could be better!
Review by
Curtis from Huntsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit to adapt my Tacoma's steering wheel controls to my new Kenwood receiver. Here's what I'd say:
PRO'S:
It works as advertised (most of the time).
Very thorough instructions.
CON's:
Tedious--> you have to determine what resistor you need (if any), pick it out of the kit via deciphering the resistor's color bars, break into the wiring, and solder the resistor/wiring into the harness. Why don't they just have a few pre-soldered & heat-shrink'd resistor assemblies with connectors on the ends that you "plug in" to the device. This could be as easy setting a DIP switch or even jumpers.
Needs to be "smarter" --> it doesn't seem to have the ability to interpret a "hold" vs a "tap." Many car's steering wheel switches/oem radios do have that functionality, giving each button more than one function.
Regardless, I love having the steering wheel buttons functional, and would definitely buy this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2010 pac swi
Review by
hd from louisburg, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great. My steering wheel buttons control my new head unit just like they did the factory one. Setup is easy. Response is a little slower than with the factory head unit but once you get used to it there are no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 SWI
Review by
ENOX from Donna, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Probably not the easiest device to install as an amplifier or a speaker but still can be installed by anyone, just follow the instructions and you'll be fine.

I installed this on a friends 06 impala SS, he had never complained about it not working nor malfunctioning, in fact he is a bit on the show off side. :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2010 good vlaue
Review by
Wassim from Al-Manar, Riyadh,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
took time to hook but did the job it is supposed to do... very good overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2010 Great item
Review by
Russ from Pulaski, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was worried about keeping the factory steering controls by using an aftermarket radio. This unit is easy to install and program. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2010 Unit gets confused
Review by
CK from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The installation was EZ. The unit worked perfect for 2 months, after that the unit gets confused. What I mean I like to control the volume and down on the steering wheel controls but it will skip tracks or go to the next track instead. Playing with it a few more times it goes back to working right. It seems that the unit needs to relearn the function over and over again. It does this by its self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2010 what?!?
Review by
Spyke from Melissa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
really difficult to install. i recommend going to the the website and getting the vehicle specific diagram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2010 decent (only thing on the market)
Review by
Chris from Gainesville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This adapter is incredibly laggy. not impossible to use once you get used to it; but definitely not like factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2010 Turns 3 very useless buttons to 3 very useful ones...
Review by
Cyrus from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I added the SWI-JACK to my new Clarion NX409 in my 2000 Acura 3.5RL. Installation was not very difficult, even for a novice such as myself. Programming, however, was quite a feat. Mostly user error, but partly a finicky device - it did take me many days to program it successfully. In the end, the volume up and down buttons work perfectly, and the track up button seeks the next station up on my radio. I'd prefer if the latter would change presets like it used to before, but perhaps I'm asking for too much (let this be a warning to all CLARION owners, it will probably do the same for you). It does change tracks on my Ipod as it should. Delay at first was a pain, but I was used to it after 5 minutes. I am so happy to have these buttons back again, this device is absolutely worth the money to me. To save yourself hassle, it is best if you install it while you install the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2010 don't waste your time
Review by
daniel from chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this thing was a pain to hook up. all the instruction are there and if you follow them it does work, but it was like schematics for a nasa space ship. i bought it for two bottons on my steering wheel to continue to work but if i had to do it all over again.... i wouldn't. it took me longer to install this than soldering my wiring harness, mounting a dash kit, and installing the radio.... it's kind of like when you have to do all programing on a car alarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2009 Does the trick - sort of...
Review by
James from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can't speak for the install as I had someone install this. The functionality is ok at best. There are delays for every function pretty much. I am told that is how they work. Bluetooth functionality would have been nice too as my car has buttons for that too that are now non-functional. I am told by PAC that they have an updated version out now that allows for minimal Bluetooth functions now but too late for me now. Sonic was cheapest out there and their service was speedy and reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2009 u will have to call the pac tech line
Review by
CISCO from NEW YORK, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the instructions that come with it are all wrong. u have to go to their website or call them so they can tell u what wire is what..at the end of the day after all the headaches it did work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2011 Costs to much to have so many problems
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dustin from Boaz, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This adapter is one of the most aggravating things I have ever had to use. I had one go completely bad and am on my second one now. Both have randomly quit working just to start back 5 minutes later. I've tried reprogramming it several times and the problem always comes back. It seems to happen if the temperature changes or if I turn the volume on the radio up more than half way. It will then start doing random things such as the volume button skips tracks, the seek button will mute the radio, or none of the buttons work at all. Other than the times I want to rip it out and throw it out the window it works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Junk
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dean from Paducah, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Junk, gave out 30 seconds after connected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz