Showing 10 reviews for Polk Audio MM5251

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio MM5251
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
30%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.6
Features
4.7
Design
4.4
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 17, 2013 Amazing sound
Review by
gdrakec22 from Liberty, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned Boston Acoustics, MB Quartz, and Infinity component speakers. The Boston and the Infinity sounded great, but they could not handle power well. This time I decided to try the Polk Audio MM series components, WOW! These speakers sound so good and they have no problem with power. I`m running a Rockford Fosgate Power series 600-4 on my mids and highs with these speakers. They sound so good that I have bought 3 sets to replace all of the speakers in my two vehicles (97 Buick Lesabre and 06 Infiniti G35). I have be into aftermarket stereos for over 20 years and for the price you can`t beat these components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Good Speaker
Review by
Ryan K. from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had these polks installed for about 7 months in my audi for the front doors. They are wonderful sounding speakers. Crisp highs that sound great, good mids to fill in the gap, but no lows. Do not think that these make bass. That is wrong. They are for really capturing the upper to mid notes and reproducing them as clean as only these speakers can. No rap or rock song will pound on these. It will just sound clean. I give them a five star on pure sound quality. Polk is a great brand and these prove that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2012 Clean sound
Review by
Beatbank from Santan Valley
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose this set over the db series based on the freguency range and Polks reputation for there home monitors. I was taken back by the size of the driver magnet, or the lack thereof. It provides easy fitment in tight spaces. The sound is amazing, capturing sounds that weren't heard on other systems that I've used. One draw back, if your looking for mid bass response, it lacks kick. Of course, that's not really what the mm series were intended for. My listening experience has been enjoyable on the long drive to work, and overall I believe that this is an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2011 Great marine speakers, but only good car speakers
Review by
proud2b from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The frequency response, distortion levels, and punch on these speakers are second to none; however, those attributes come at the cost of fidelity. I purchased a set of JBL GTO938 6X9 Speakers, and based on the reviews and relative cost, I expected the MM5251 to blow them away. I was wrong: the 938's reminded me that I purchased marine speakers. If you want maximum sound for your money, get these speakers. HOWEVER, if you're looking for a high quality sound, I recommend you look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2010 Great Value
Review by
Ardent1 from Louisville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There are a few better sounding speakers out there, but not many. And nothing even close to this price range. Very clean and crisp sound. You have to get creative with the tweeter mounting, but it's easy for someone with installation experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2010 Polk Audio MM5251 Review
Review by
Chris from Roswell, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend this product.

What I like: The speakers produce accurate and clear music - they sound excellent. The highs are extremely crisp and the mids are strong, but not overwhelming. The sound quality continues into the ear-bleeding intensity levels - I have not yet heard noticeable distortion.

What I don't like: The mounting on the tweeters is not conducive to flush mounting. Neither me nor the stereo installer could find a way to flush mound the tweets, so my truck has them protruding from the dash and it looks terrible. If I had known that they would not flush mount, I would have selected an alternate brand, even through the sound is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2010 Just go ahead and buy these
Review by
Matt K. from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I want to say don't go cheap on your speakers, but these really aren't even that expensive. especially for how great they sound. I have these up front and a pair of 90w coaxial polk speakers in the rear powered by a 90w x 4 channel polk amp, with a pioneer deck. and i couldn't be happier with the way it sounds. crystal clear. songs literally sound better with these. I wish i could help to give a more well rounded rating by giving some cons, but i cant think of any. buy these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2010 Great Speaker
Review by
deckerm45 from Kirksville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound amazing. They produce great highs and amazing lows and mids. The best speakers I have ever owned! I recommend these speakers to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2009 Great speakers if you don't have the room for the 6501s!
Review by
johan from Redondo Beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The MM5251s are awesome speakers, but the slightly larger MM6501s have a much lower frequency response and therefore sound much better.

If you don't have the space, or if you have a sub, then it does not matter!

I know because I have both sets in two different cars.

I highly recommend all Polk MM series speakers for their build quality, design, and warm clear sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2009 Polk Audio MM5251
Review by
Mike from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have read other speaker reviews when the writer would speak to "hearing notes and instruments I had not heard before..." Now I know what they're talking about. I haven't even installed my sound processor or amp and my OEM stereo sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz