Showing 61 reviews for PAC SWI-PSv1

Customer Review Summary for PAC SWI-PSv1
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 61 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.3
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Very good, fantastic

I drive in a Land Rover Freelander II-LR2 in America, and using this product to control an Avic F900BT, and it is working perfectly.

VS
Not worth it in my vehicle.......

I had a car audio shop install this for me and they had issues with it. It was installed it in a Buick Lesabre 2001. The only control that works 95% of the time is the volume up and down. all of the other buttons on the steering wheel either do nothing or not what they were supposed to do. I could hit the next track and it starts the song over again. Hit the mute button and it does the source. Not worth it for me, I wind up using the radio buttones instead.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 6, 2010 Very good, fantastic
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Teide from Canarias, Spain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I drive in a Land Rover Freelander II-LR2 in America, and using this product to control an Avic F900BT, and it is working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2010 GREAT
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mitch from West Bend, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed on 2003 Silverado fully loaded. Everything worked as supposed to. Installation was a breeze. Don't hack up your factory wiring harness, spend the money and purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 PAC SWI PSv1
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Marcus from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do not recommend this unless you like cutting and sodering on your stock existing wires which is never recommended, safe and voids your manufacturers warranty. I purchased this and was told this is what was needed and easy to install. Incorrect. Waste of money and now sits on my shelf... buy the easy to use plug harness, no cutting or sodering required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2011 Neat little unit that works (almost perfectly) well.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luis from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in an '06 Mazda 3 and paired with a Pioneer DEH-4300UB deck. The only odd issue I've encountered is that it'll sporadically mute the stereo. It happens pretty infrequently, however, and all the steering wheel controls otherwise function normally and as expected

In my experience the installation was fairly simple (then again, I didn't have to cut any wires on the unit or add any of those tiny resistors). I decided to connect the necessary wires to the harness I received with the Pioneer deck instead of splicing into my car's factory wiring. Easier and less destructive.

Programming the unit was also fairly straightforward in my opinion. You press and hold the buttons on the steering wheel for a few seconds > release > watch the LED on the unit blink for programming confirmation > repeat until all functions are programed. Just follow the programing sequence in the order outlined in the instructions and you're golden. If you mess up, start over. You'll have it down by your third try (IF you even need to make that many attempts).

OVERALL, I like it and I still recommend it even with it's odd little muting glitch. Had to ding it one star because of that, though.

As for "Look/Design": I gave it five stars for it's stealthy, seamless integration into my car's interior ;-)

As for durability: it's held up quite nicely in the extreme weather changes we experience here in upstate NY (below freezing winters, unbearably hot summer days).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 works great
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great...initial setup steps could have clearer, but has worked without fail once setup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 Great interface but make sure you get the other interface for it to work with some chrysler vehicles
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eduardo from Borger, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great interface as always with all the PAC equipment but you have to make sure you get the second interface so that it works correctly with some Chrysler vehicles. In my case it took three interfaces to make my Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD work in my dodge nitro but once I got it all installed and programed it works like a dream. Two thumbs up to PAC and the SONIC crew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 Good Product, Challenging Instructions
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zeke from Springfield, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this with a Sony XAV-62BT in my 07 Toyota Highlander. It took me several tries to get the programming right, but once I did it worked great. The instructions leave a bit to be desired, both in terms of the physical installation and in how to program the device. I thought I had it right, but found that only one button (volume up) worked right. Other buttons didn't work as intended. Eventually I re-read the instructions and examples and figured out my error. Once I did that it worked flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2010 Not worth it in my vehicle.......
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Apolloshep from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a car audio shop install this for me and they had issues with it. It was installed it in a Buick Lesabre 2001. The only control that works 95% of the time is the volume up and down. all of the other buttons on the steering wheel either do nothing or not what they were supposed to do. I could hit the next track and it starts the song over again. Hit the mute button and it does the source. Not worth it for me, I wind up using the radio buttones instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2010 Great product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Willie from Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this product on my truck F-150 with my Panasonic radio and it works fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Great product!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ktouz from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this product because I bought a new deck for my 2005 Nissan Altima. The car had radio controls on the steering wheel and best buy wanted $200 to install it. So I purchased one through Sonic and installed it with my brother. It took almost 2 hours but was definitely worth it. This product works great and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to be able to use their steering wheel controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Works perfect
Review by
Mark from Barrie, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install and setup. Maps all the functions on a 2012 Outlander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2013 Great
Review by
Marcus from Covington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love this product. it worked great for me. you should get one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2013 Well done
Review by
David from Tehachapi, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this item to keep the steering controls in my suv hooked it up and was ready to roll again. nice quality and buy. thanks sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2013 Great Product!
Review by
viinakaru from Harjumaa, Estonia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything works just fine on my excursion, I managed to set up all the buttons to operate just what I want on a Pioneer Avic F40BT edition. When installing take a good look at the color of the cables! There are two almost the same colored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2013 works great
Review by
moises from freeport, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ease too program and install.I have it installed in my 08 Tahoe and haven't had any problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Useful Product, does exactly what it says
Review by
Josh from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Needed for a customer with a dodge caravan and a pioneer headunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2012 Not so easy
Review by
Steve from Charleston,SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would not recommend this product. It was not an easy installation. I have installed this in a 2006 Ford Explorer. The resistor needed to be added in line. Wires from the PAC need to be spliced into the factory connection. It would periodically raise the volume.

I do not care for this product, I have spoken to someone who installed the competitors, it was much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2012 Pretty good
Review by
YungWill from Dallas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm overall happy with the psv1. There IS an issue I'm not sure is with the product or with the installation itself. The up/down steering control will sometimes activate the Bluetooth commands if I press for more than a few seconds at a time. May just be installation error. Overall works like a champ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 great price. good value
Review by
Mark from Greenville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for inexpensive speakers that sounded good. I found them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Works great
Review by
Daniel from Mount Clemens, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does exactly what it's supposed to. Works perfect. I recommend this to anyone who has an aftermarket head unit and wants to use their steering wheel controls again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 could not program
Review by
Pablo from Winnemucca, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was not able to program it to a 06 1500 sierra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2012 Will not work with any Nissan or Infiniti
Review by
Dan from Bridgeview, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You need to figure out how to wire 3 out of 8 cheap resistors that are not labeled and somehow jam them into your factory harness and keep them from falling out. Once you have achieved this, it doesn't work like it should and won't program. A vehicle specific clip would be worth every penny, but none is offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 Good result!
Review by
Bluenose from Hamilton, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked first time (after I followed the instructions). Very adaptable unit to suit most cars; no delay after pushing steering wheel buttons.

Works as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2012 good value
Review by
Biker from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was shipped when promised and works great. I wish I had ordered it first instead of buying another product which requires solder. Very easy to install and required no programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2012 Flaky
Review by
Harv664 from Decatur, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installing was easy for me, but the problem I have is no stability. When I turn the car on, I don't know what button is going to operate what. (The volume button may operate the temperature setting or the channel button may operate the fan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2012 No value
Review by
Jelena from Copenhagen, Kgs. Lyngby, 0, Denmark
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It didn't fit my car - SCION XD 2009. Just no compatibility.
On the web site, when I was ordering it, I saw this model in the list of supported cars. However when I received the product, it had another list, where there was no SCION XD 2009.

I'm really dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2012 great accessory
Review by
Julian from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My wife wanted a different radio in her car but didn't wanna lose her steering wheel controls and we saw this item. Hands down this is a must have!!!! Does and controls every function you want controlled and controls them flawlessly, great product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2012 Installation could have been smoother
Review by
Sam from Visalia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had some difficulty getting the unit to work until I realized that I need to hook up a wire to a plug that wasn't being used. Once I figured that out it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 Great equipment
Review by
Alfredo from Laval, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It took me a little time to configure this but is worth it, all my wheal controls works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 a must for chevy fans!!!
Review by
Michael from Springhill, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great glad i bought this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 Perfect!
Review by
Stracy from Colorado Springs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very easy to install on an 03 mini cooper with Sony deck. Would highly recomend for any application that you don't want to loose steering wheel controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 Works great
Review by
BEN from FOREST JUNCTION, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this so I could use my steering wheel controls with my new pioneer head unit and it controls everything I need it to. Very easy to read instructions and simple to program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Terrible Design
Review by
T. J. from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this adapter per the instructions and just could not get it to program for my steering wheel buttons. The installation and programming instructions for this device are poorly written. I wasted hours trying to get this thing to work. The quality and design is pretty awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 Must have for factory steering wheel buttons
Review by
Shane from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
User friendly and allows you to keep the factory steering wheel controls. Half hour to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2011 Works decent
Review by
Adam from Danville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had problems with the mode button changing the input on my receiver out of the blue but the volume and song skip work great so I just deactivated the mode button, I may have got a defected one who knows I never tried to send it back because it just seamed to be more work to take it out then it was even with for one button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 lags
Review by
mandip from brampton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Item works great most of the times, but lags like crazyyy at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Great Product
Review by
joe from Morrisville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed it about 4 months and has been working great. Haven't had any issue with it and was easy to install as long as you follow the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Happy with this brand
Review by
Steven from Clinton Twp, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a Saturn Vue 2008, and the PAC audio adapter and Steering Wheel controls worked very well to install this and my other radio. For my particular car, however, I was not able to retain factory XM radio functionality. The PAC provides 2 audio RCA plugs (L/R) for the XM, but I am unable to change the stations, so it just stays on the preview station for XM.

I recommend buying the PAC Steering Wheel adapter if you are using the PAC factory adapter and not mixing with Axxess since this product has the exact plug to use with a PAC adapter so you donít have to splice additional wires (or worry about the included resistors). I tried the PAC adapter with two radios, two different steering wheel adapters, and both worked well for their part.

Iím back on the market for a different radio because I wasnít impressed with features of currently available models of head units, so I had to return the head unit specific steering wheel adapter. But Iím definitely keeping the PAC radio adapter for whatever I decide to use, and will buy whatever PAC steering wheel adapter is necessary for that particular head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2011 fairly easy to install, works well
Review by
Adam from Morton Grove, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First time for me using steering wheel controls and the adapter has performed flawlessly for me. So nice to not have to reach for the stereo all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2011 Good product
Review by
Joshua from Kenosha, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall good product. Took a while to program/install. Does what it's supposed to do. Only con is that it's a little slow, there is a noticeable delay from when you press the button and when the device responds, but it's not too bad. Also for some reason every once and a while when I hit my turn signal the device will switch the source on the receiver, but that's probably an error on my part. Its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 Worth the money
Review by
BRIAN from MENIFEE, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A great way to integrate an after market stereo to the factory control buttons. Just make sure whoever installs it knows how to set it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Works great. No issues.
Review by
Dean from Hutto, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this installed for several months now. Works flawlessly! Controls my iPod too, which I like. Installation can be tricky, I had to get into the steering column to find the signal wire. Thankfully PAC has an extensive list of makes and models of vehicles and how to properly wire in the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Works great.
Review by
Ben from Anaheim, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sure enough I'm able to use the controls on wheel, used it on 07 Yukon Denali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 great product-great service
Review by
worm from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had problem while installing, called customer service and quickly found problem was with one of my connections not their product. Service rep was extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2010 Worked as advertised
Review by
Robert from Jekyll Island, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this adapter on my 2002 BMW X5 after installing a used Pioneer AVIC Z2. It worked as advertised, and now I can use all the steering wheel buttons to control the radio.

The version I had claimed to have expanded features to allow for ancillary controls, but these did not seem to work in my combination of vehicle, control, and radio. However, the volume, mute, track select, and source select programmed fine (and that was all the buttons I had anyway) so it worked out very well.

The programming instructions were very clear, but you must follow them carefully. Patience pays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2010 Excellent price
Review by
Gio from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great, for the low price it has. It works perfectly in a Lincoln Mark LT that I installed with a pioneer touchscreen stereo.
I would definitely recommend this product if you don't want to loose your steering controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2010 Unsatisfactory
Review by
Roch from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My experience with this product wasn't so good. Probably worked better for others. Too complicated to use. A lot of tedious steps in the programming process. If you have the patience for it then great. Another thing I noticed, in my case (installing it in my 07 Ford Expedition) a lot of options in my steering wheel commands would've been unused because the PAC SWI-PSv1 doesn't offer temperature control commands. After noticing that I went with the Axxess ASWC (that's a total plug-n-play item)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2010 works so-so
Review by
Steve Odyssey from Columbus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is installed on a Honda Odyssey (2006) and connected to a Pioneer AVIC Z110BT. Two issues keep me from rating it higher:
1. The Mode button on the steering column originally worked and would change the AV mode of the AVIC Z110 (radio -> CD --> iPOD, etc). However, it stopped working and the installer couldn't get it to work. so now I have to switch AV mode via the AVIC, which is more dangerous and less convenient.
2. When in radio mode on the AVIC, The track/channel up/down buttons on the steering column don't put the radio to the next preset. Instead, they just increment the frequency one notch. This may be a deficiency in the AVIC. If so, the manufacturer needs to partner with Pioneer and get it fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2010 Great unit
Review by
Paul from South Australia, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works perfectly with my Mitsubishi Lancer steering wheel controls and Pioneer deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2010 Great Product! Bad Instructions
Review by
Alex from Lexington, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product works awesome! Previously had the Pac adapter that was wireless which worked intermittently. I wanted something that was hard wired and so far this is working awesome. Only down side were the instructions. They were incorrect for my Jeep liberty and I received very little input from PAC's tech support. They tried to say that the voltage was too low without knowing anything about it and didn't listen to what I had to say. Ended up trying several different programs and a program for a different Jeep worked(99-04 Grand Cherokee). Sent them an email explaining how the instructions were wrong and all they said back was I needed to call tech for support. Pretty much useless. Either way, if you can figure out how to program it, its a great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2010 Very good product
Review by
John from Rogers, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product worked great. Just follow the instructions. Very simple. It worked the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2010 Very nice product and excellent service from sonic
Review by
ARAVIND from SAN DIEGO, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product is working very nice and i love it on my Toyota sienna / pioneer DVD system

excellent price, super fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2010 Great on 2008 Subaru Impreza
Review by
Matt from Ogden, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in my 2008 Subaru Impreza 2.5i with my new Pioneer Double-Din deck, and it works great. Only had to splice in 2 wires, and zip tie the rest. Also was very easy to program. There is a small lag time between when you push the steering wheel buttons and the actual operation, but nothing drastic. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2010 Don't Always Believe It
Review by
Daniel from Jackson, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a professional installer and have installed numerous PAC SWC units. For this reason I trusted the SWI-PS to be the solution to my own systems SWC's.

I installed the SWI-PS into a 99 Monte Carlo LS in conjunction with the Sony XAV7W. The SWI-PS worked as an interface for the SWC's functions with no operational difficulty.

Here's the problem. PAC and Sony both claimed that these units were compatible with each other but upon installing the SWC interface, the Sony XAV7W would lose the back-light on both the front display as well as the primary 7" display any time the car's Ignition was turned off and then on again for an undetermined amount of time.

If you have a Sony XAV7W, I cannot recommend the SWI-PS as a solution to the SWC interfacing. Don't always believe the manufacturers when they claim the unit being offered is compatible with the device it's being connected to. PAC claims there are no known problems with their SWC interfaces to this particular Sony model. Now they know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2010 Great item!
Review by
kasey from ruskin, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great item & a low price. It installed easily and works great. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2009 Must Buy!!!!
Review by
. from .
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would highly recommend this product if you want to keep your factory controls. Easy to install and program, overall great product that does what it says.

2007 Chevrolet Suburban
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2009 sweet interface
Review by
jeffrey from hemlock, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works as promised with only minor difficulty in installation and setup..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2009 great product
Review by
mike from Placerville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your steering wheel controls don't work because of a stereo upgrade, don't hesitate get this product! I just installed this in my 2010 corrolla S. I ordered the old version but they sent me the new version for the same price. I dont know why. For those of you confused with new / old version, they are the same except for one thing: the new one is for those steering wheels with blue tooth buttons ( answer, hang up, mute). so if you dont have blue tooth controls on your steering wheel, save money and get the old version ( even If its a new car).
Installation would have been difficult but: I TOOK MY TIME. And I went to PAC's website and printed out directions specific to MY CAR.
After install my steering wheel was fully functional again.

PS. be careful with the ohm resistors, I twisted the wire nut too hard and I broke mine. I called Radio Shack and they had them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2009 A little complex but works great
Review by
Brian from Blue Anchor, New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am fairly mechanical/technical but this item is fairly complex to install. But if you follow the directions very closely, it really does work. And once it is installed correctly, it works great. It took me about 3 hours to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2009 Very Pleased
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
A Guy from Gray, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works well, and installation was as easy as could be expected. It comes with long lead wires.

Here is my setup:
2001 Impala
Metra GMOS-04 - converter necessary for GM Car
PAC SWI-PSv1 - Steering wheel controls
iPod Classic
XM SkiFi3 radio used through Aux port
Alpine MRP-F300 amp
Kenwood KFC-X1710 front speakers
Kenwood KFC-X692 rear speakers
Bluetooth with Sprint Mogul phone & Motorolla RAZR phone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2009 EXCELLENT.
Review by
CESAR A from MEXICO DF, 0, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I still don't know the difference with the original version, anyway, it works great with the AVH-P5050DVD (AVH-P5000DVD). I replaced a PAC-SWIX with this item and it works so well, programming was easy, buttons respond really fast. And I think the improvements with this version are usefull with the CD-BTB200 bluetooth module, where you can see your phone status, accept or reject a call... I think... maybe I'll never know... but you can do these tings...

can't do them wit the previous version???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz