Showing 10 reviews for PAC SWI-PSv1

Customer Review Summary for PAC SWI-PSv1
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 61 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.3
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
July 30, 2011 Neat little unit that works (almost perfectly) well.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luis from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in an '06 Mazda 3 and paired with a Pioneer DEH-4300UB deck. The only odd issue I've encountered is that it'll sporadically mute the stereo. It happens pretty infrequently, however, and all the steering wheel controls otherwise function normally and as expected

In my experience the installation was fairly simple (then again, I didn't have to cut any wires on the unit or add any of those tiny resistors). I decided to connect the necessary wires to the harness I received with the Pioneer deck instead of splicing into my car's factory wiring. Easier and less destructive.

Programming the unit was also fairly straightforward in my opinion. You press and hold the buttons on the steering wheel for a few seconds > release > watch the LED on the unit blink for programming confirmation > repeat until all functions are programed. Just follow the programing sequence in the order outlined in the instructions and you're golden. If you mess up, start over. You'll have it down by your third try (IF you even need to make that many attempts).

OVERALL, I like it and I still recommend it even with it's odd little muting glitch. Had to ding it one star because of that, though.

As for "Look/Design": I gave it five stars for it's stealthy, seamless integration into my car's interior ;-)

As for durability: it's held up quite nicely in the extreme weather changes we experience here in upstate NY (below freezing winters, unbearably hot summer days).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 Good Product, Challenging Instructions
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zeke from Springfield, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this with a Sony XAV-62BT in my 07 Toyota Highlander. It took me several tries to get the programming right, but once I did it worked great. The instructions leave a bit to be desired, both in terms of the physical installation and in how to program the device. I thought I had it right, but found that only one button (volume up) worked right. Other buttons didn't work as intended. Eventually I re-read the instructions and examples and figured out my error. Once I did that it worked flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2010 Great product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Willie from Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this product on my truck F-150 with my Panasonic radio and it works fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2013 Well done
Review by
David from Tehachapi, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this item to keep the steering controls in my suv hooked it up and was ready to roll again. nice quality and buy. thanks sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 Good result!
Review by
Bluenose from Hamilton, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked first time (after I followed the instructions). Very adaptable unit to suit most cars; no delay after pushing steering wheel buttons.

Works as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 lags
Review by
mandip from brampton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Item works great most of the times, but lags like crazyyy at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2011 Good product
Review by
Joshua from Kenosha, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall good product. Took a while to program/install. Does what it's supposed to do. Only con is that it's a little slow, there is a noticeable delay from when you press the button and when the device responds, but it's not too bad. Also for some reason every once and a while when I hit my turn signal the device will switch the source on the receiver, but that's probably an error on my part. Its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2010 Great Product! Bad Instructions
Review by
Alex from Lexington, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product works awesome! Previously had the Pac adapter that was wireless which worked intermittently. I wanted something that was hard wired and so far this is working awesome. Only down side were the instructions. They were incorrect for my Jeep liberty and I received very little input from PAC's tech support. They tried to say that the voltage was too low without knowing anything about it and didn't listen to what I had to say. Ended up trying several different programs and a program for a different Jeep worked(99-04 Grand Cherokee). Sent them an email explaining how the instructions were wrong and all they said back was I needed to call tech for support. Pretty much useless. Either way, if you can figure out how to program it, its a great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2009 A little complex but works great
Review by
Brian from Blue Anchor, New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am fairly mechanical/technical but this item is fairly complex to install. But if you follow the directions very closely, it really does work. And once it is installed correctly, it works great. It took me about 3 hours to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2009 Very Pleased
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
A Guy from Gray, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works well, and installation was as easy as could be expected. It comes with long lead wires.

Here is my setup:
2001 Impala
Metra GMOS-04 - converter necessary for GM Car
PAC SWI-PSv1 - Steering wheel controls
iPod Classic
XM SkiFi3 radio used through Aux port
Alpine MRP-F300 amp
Kenwood KFC-X1710 front speakers
Kenwood KFC-X692 rear speakers
Bluetooth with Sprint Mogul phone & Motorolla RAZR phone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz