Showing 42 reviews for PAC SWI-PSv1

Customer Review Summary for PAC SWI-PSv1
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 61 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.3
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
October 6, 2010 Very good, fantastic
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Teide from Canarias, Spain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I drive in a Land Rover Freelander II-LR2 in America, and using this product to control an Avic F900BT, and it is working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2010 GREAT
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mitch from West Bend, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed on 2003 Silverado fully loaded. Everything worked as supposed to. Installation was a breeze. Don't hack up your factory wiring harness, spend the money and purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 PAC SWI PSv1
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Marcus from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do not recommend this unless you like cutting and sodering on your stock existing wires which is never recommended, safe and voids your manufacturers warranty. I purchased this and was told this is what was needed and easy to install. Incorrect. Waste of money and now sits on my shelf... buy the easy to use plug harness, no cutting or sodering required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 works great
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great...initial setup steps could have clearer, but has worked without fail once setup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 Great interface but make sure you get the other interface for it to work with some chrysler vehicles
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eduardo from Borger, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great interface as always with all the PAC equipment but you have to make sure you get the second interface so that it works correctly with some Chrysler vehicles. In my case it took three interfaces to make my Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD work in my dodge nitro but once I got it all installed and programed it works like a dream. Two thumbs up to PAC and the SONIC crew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Great product!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ktouz from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this product because I bought a new deck for my 2005 Nissan Altima. The car had radio controls on the steering wheel and best buy wanted $200 to install it. So I purchased one through Sonic and installed it with my brother. It took almost 2 hours but was definitely worth it. This product works great and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to be able to use their steering wheel controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Works perfect
Review by
Mark from Barrie, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install and setup. Maps all the functions on a 2012 Outlander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2013 Great
Review by
Marcus from Covington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love this product. it worked great for me. you should get one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2013 Great Product!
Review by
viinakaru from Harjumaa, Estonia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything works just fine on my excursion, I managed to set up all the buttons to operate just what I want on a Pioneer Avic F40BT edition. When installing take a good look at the color of the cables! There are two almost the same colored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2013 works great
Review by
moises from freeport, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ease too program and install.I have it installed in my 08 Tahoe and haven't had any problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Useful Product, does exactly what it says
Review by
Josh from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Needed for a customer with a dodge caravan and a pioneer headunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2012 Pretty good
Review by
YungWill from Dallas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm overall happy with the psv1. There IS an issue I'm not sure is with the product or with the installation itself. The up/down steering control will sometimes activate the Bluetooth commands if I press for more than a few seconds at a time. May just be installation error. Overall works like a champ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 great price. good value
Review by
Mark from Greenville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for inexpensive speakers that sounded good. I found them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Works great
Review by
Daniel from Mount Clemens, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does exactly what it's supposed to. Works perfect. I recommend this to anyone who has an aftermarket head unit and wants to use their steering wheel controls again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2012 good value
Review by
Biker from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was shipped when promised and works great. I wish I had ordered it first instead of buying another product which requires solder. Very easy to install and required no programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2012 great accessory
Review by
Julian from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My wife wanted a different radio in her car but didn't wanna lose her steering wheel controls and we saw this item. Hands down this is a must have!!!! Does and controls every function you want controlled and controls them flawlessly, great product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2012 Installation could have been smoother
Review by
Sam from Visalia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had some difficulty getting the unit to work until I realized that I need to hook up a wire to a plug that wasn't being used. Once I figured that out it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 Great equipment
Review by
Alfredo from Laval, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It took me a little time to configure this but is worth it, all my wheal controls works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 a must for chevy fans!!!
Review by
Michael from Springhill, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great glad i bought this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 Perfect!
Review by
Stracy from Colorado Springs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very easy to install on an 03 mini cooper with Sony deck. Would highly recomend for any application that you don't want to loose steering wheel controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 Works great
Review by
BEN from FOREST JUNCTION, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this so I could use my steering wheel controls with my new pioneer head unit and it controls everything I need it to. Very easy to read instructions and simple to program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 Must have for factory steering wheel buttons
Review by
Shane from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
User friendly and allows you to keep the factory steering wheel controls. Half hour to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2011 Works decent
Review by
Adam from Danville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had problems with the mode button changing the input on my receiver out of the blue but the volume and song skip work great so I just deactivated the mode button, I may have got a defected one who knows I never tried to send it back because it just seamed to be more work to take it out then it was even with for one button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Great Product
Review by
joe from Morrisville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed it about 4 months and has been working great. Haven't had any issue with it and was easy to install as long as you follow the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Happy with this brand
Review by
Steven from Clinton Twp, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a Saturn Vue 2008, and the PAC audio adapter and Steering Wheel controls worked very well to install this and my other radio. For my particular car, however, I was not able to retain factory XM radio functionality. The PAC provides 2 audio RCA plugs (L/R) for the XM, but I am unable to change the stations, so it just stays on the preview station for XM.

I recommend buying the PAC Steering Wheel adapter if you are using the PAC factory adapter and not mixing with Axxess since this product has the exact plug to use with a PAC adapter so you donít have to splice additional wires (or worry about the included resistors). I tried the PAC adapter with two radios, two different steering wheel adapters, and both worked well for their part.

Iím back on the market for a different radio because I wasnít impressed with features of currently available models of head units, so I had to return the head unit specific steering wheel adapter. But Iím definitely keeping the PAC radio adapter for whatever I decide to use, and will buy whatever PAC steering wheel adapter is necessary for that particular head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2011 fairly easy to install, works well
Review by
Adam from Morton Grove, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First time for me using steering wheel controls and the adapter has performed flawlessly for me. So nice to not have to reach for the stereo all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 Worth the money
Review by
BRIAN from MENIFEE, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A great way to integrate an after market stereo to the factory control buttons. Just make sure whoever installs it knows how to set it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Works great. No issues.
Review by
Dean from Hutto, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this installed for several months now. Works flawlessly! Controls my iPod too, which I like. Installation can be tricky, I had to get into the steering column to find the signal wire. Thankfully PAC has an extensive list of makes and models of vehicles and how to properly wire in the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Works great.
Review by
Ben from Anaheim, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sure enough I'm able to use the controls on wheel, used it on 07 Yukon Denali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 great product-great service
Review by
worm from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had problem while installing, called customer service and quickly found problem was with one of my connections not their product. Service rep was extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2010 Worked as advertised
Review by
Robert from Jekyll Island, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this adapter on my 2002 BMW X5 after installing a used Pioneer AVIC Z2. It worked as advertised, and now I can use all the steering wheel buttons to control the radio.

The version I had claimed to have expanded features to allow for ancillary controls, but these did not seem to work in my combination of vehicle, control, and radio. However, the volume, mute, track select, and source select programmed fine (and that was all the buttons I had anyway) so it worked out very well.

The programming instructions were very clear, but you must follow them carefully. Patience pays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2010 Excellent price
Review by
Gio from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great, for the low price it has. It works perfectly in a Lincoln Mark LT that I installed with a pioneer touchscreen stereo.
I would definitely recommend this product if you don't want to loose your steering controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2010 Great unit
Review by
Paul from South Australia, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works perfectly with my Mitsubishi Lancer steering wheel controls and Pioneer deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2010 Very good product
Review by
John from Rogers, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product worked great. Just follow the instructions. Very simple. It worked the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2010 Very nice product and excellent service from sonic
Review by
ARAVIND from SAN DIEGO, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product is working very nice and i love it on my Toyota sienna / pioneer DVD system

excellent price, super fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2010 Great on 2008 Subaru Impreza
Review by
Matt from Ogden, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in my 2008 Subaru Impreza 2.5i with my new Pioneer Double-Din deck, and it works great. Only had to splice in 2 wires, and zip tie the rest. Also was very easy to program. There is a small lag time between when you push the steering wheel buttons and the actual operation, but nothing drastic. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2010 Don't Always Believe It
Review by
Daniel from Jackson, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a professional installer and have installed numerous PAC SWC units. For this reason I trusted the SWI-PS to be the solution to my own systems SWC's.

I installed the SWI-PS into a 99 Monte Carlo LS in conjunction with the Sony XAV7W. The SWI-PS worked as an interface for the SWC's functions with no operational difficulty.

Here's the problem. PAC and Sony both claimed that these units were compatible with each other but upon installing the SWC interface, the Sony XAV7W would lose the back-light on both the front display as well as the primary 7" display any time the car's Ignition was turned off and then on again for an undetermined amount of time.

If you have a Sony XAV7W, I cannot recommend the SWI-PS as a solution to the SWC interfacing. Don't always believe the manufacturers when they claim the unit being offered is compatible with the device it's being connected to. PAC claims there are no known problems with their SWC interfaces to this particular Sony model. Now they know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2010 Great item!
Review by
kasey from ruskin, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great item & a low price. It installed easily and works great. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2009 Must Buy!!!!
Review by
. from .
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would highly recommend this product if you want to keep your factory controls. Easy to install and program, overall great product that does what it says.

2007 Chevrolet Suburban
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2009 sweet interface
Review by
jeffrey from hemlock, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works as promised with only minor difficulty in installation and setup..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2009 great product
Review by
mike from Placerville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your steering wheel controls don't work because of a stereo upgrade, don't hesitate get this product! I just installed this in my 2010 corrolla S. I ordered the old version but they sent me the new version for the same price. I dont know why. For those of you confused with new / old version, they are the same except for one thing: the new one is for those steering wheels with blue tooth buttons ( answer, hang up, mute). so if you dont have blue tooth controls on your steering wheel, save money and get the old version ( even If its a new car).
Installation would have been difficult but: I TOOK MY TIME. And I went to PAC's website and printed out directions specific to MY CAR.
After install my steering wheel was fully functional again.

PS. be careful with the ohm resistors, I twisted the wire nut too hard and I broke mine. I called Radio Shack and they had them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2009 EXCELLENT.
Review by
CESAR A from MEXICO DF, 0, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I still don't know the difference with the original version, anyway, it works great with the AVH-P5050DVD (AVH-P5000DVD). I replaced a PAC-SWIX with this item and it works so well, programming was easy, buttons respond really fast. And I think the improvements with this version are usefull with the CD-BTB200 bluetooth module, where you can see your phone status, accept or reject a call... I think... maybe I'll never know... but you can do these tings...

can't do them wit the previous version???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz