Showing 11 reviews for Polk Audio db1240

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db1240
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
73%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.1
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 3, 2014 polk audio db1240
Review by
Branden from Ridgecrest, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for some new subs after my lanzer max st blew out, I got two of these subs and the sound way better have a deeper sound and shakes my truck a lot more then the lanzers did, buy these subs they are worth the money and feel amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2013 Bump hard
Review by
Jeff from MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Polks sound great and definitely bump hard and handle the power with ease. Great freq response in a sealed box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2012 Awesome product
Review by
Justin from magalia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a complete sound system for my car a few months ago and I was a little worried that only a 12 inch sub wasn't going to do much...I was wrong! This sub is awesome and is a lot more powerful than I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2012 awesome
Review by
Palgume from Baltimore MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
installed in home subwoofer 150 W rms and could not love it more
awesome low Response
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 Precise
Review by
808Mag from Kona, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these on a Boston GT-2200 and they are loud and accurate. Granted I have them on a very good amp but they deliver on both sound quality and punch. They hit very hard but are stil able to make good midbass hum.

The only complaints I have is that you have to use quick slides to connect your speaker wires and the screws are allen wrench but other than that these a great subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2012 Accurate Bass
Review by
808Mag from Kona, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these on a Boston GT-2200 in the trunk of my Mazda 3 in a sealed box. The gain is less than half and are wired at 2ohm getting around 900 RMS to the pair and they sound very clean. I had more of an SPL setup before I got these and I wanted to get more sound quality then rattle. These aren't even broken in yet and they hit pretty good. I switched from a class d monoblock to this Boston class A/B and I dont think I am going back anytime soon.


Can't wait till they break in so I can let them buck. If you dont have money for a good amp and care more about booming get the kicker comps.

Couple things I dont like about them is they dont hit the higher mid bass notes all that great but maybe I just need more fiberfill but as I said earlier I havent broken them in yet. Also the cone material is pretty light compared to the last subs I had (polypro vs hemp fiber glass) I would suggest purchasing the grills. Lastly to hook these up I had to purchase quick slides, would be nice if they accepted bare wire like most of the new school subs. They also use allen wrench screws which I thought was rather strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 Great Buy
Review by
Jesus Burgess from Bay City, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had bought 2 of these subs in the box built to spec by Polk, and wow was I blown away. Had them at 2 ohms on an alpine mrp-500(500 rms at 2ohms) and they could easily take more. Not to mention the sound quality is some of the best I've heard. Had them in my 96 accord with Alpine 6.5s, Alpine 6x9s, and a Sony gtr-550 head unit. Was an amazing set up, with pristine sound quality, for a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 Polk Audio db1240
Review by
Jack from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really didn't expect much when I got this sub, but I figured I'd give it a try. WOW... I LOVE this sub! I have Alpine Type-R 6.5's and 4x6's in my truck, my amp is an SPL Dynamics Z2X-820, and I made a 0.88 ft^3 sealed box (Polk's recommended). I have the sub bridged to the amp, with the gain about 3/4 and the sound quality is unmatched. Very good design, doesn't get hot, and keeps up with every style of music. This sub blends so well with my Type-R's, it brings a tear to my eye.

However, run the gain on the amp at full twang, filter out anything above 50hz, turn off everything that enhances bass, and she will do work. I have the sub and box mounted on top of the back seat (with hopes that the cushion would absorb some of the rattling) and my iPhone jumps around in my dash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2011 Polk Audio db1240 subwoofer
Review by
Robert from Orlando
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This subwoofer provides a good thump for its price which I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2011 Great bang for the buck...
Review by
Jeffrey from Spring Hill, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these subs with 350 watts on them. A good pair of basic subs. More of a sound quality piece than an spl one. Very low air space was an important factor for me, at .88 each sealed, these fit the bill. I have learned that a 12 inch sub is perfect for me. This is my 10th plus set of subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2010 pretty good sub for value
Review by
George from Austin,MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far so good i've only owned them for like a month now. I bought 4 of these subs for my 05 navigator running them with a 1500 watt rms power bass mono amp in a custom fiberglass box and they hit pretty good! all i gotta say is that you can hear me coming from a couple blocks away!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz